Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lincolnshire Lanes

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen > Lincolnshire Lanes Reviews

Lincolnshire Lanes
Manor Farm
East Firsby
Lincoln
Market Rasen
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN8 2DB
Tel: 01673 878258
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 21
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 64 Reviews
                8/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cmaj7th 3 reviews from this member

I visited this site while doing some family tree research in the Lincoln area. What a friendly site! I arrived and followed a well signed roadway to the field. I was allowed to pitch up, make a brew and get settled before even being expected to sort out the fees.

I arrived on a quiet weekend and as such there were very few people there but those who were had nothing but praise for the peace and quiet.

The shower block is excellent although a little basic. There is good information to be found on site and the owner is a mine of local information.

The only disturbance I had was from curious rabbits and the occasional owl at night. Other than that, it was bliss! Being able to see so many stars without light pollution certainly helped.

Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Busymum04 2 reviews from this member

Just had our second visit to this site - 2 adults, 4 kids and 2 dogs. We love it, as it's not too far for us to go, but once there we really feel like we're 'away'.

Robert really helpful - even lent us his electric cable as ours wasn't working!

Lovely site for kids - small play area with swings, climbing frame, rabbits and a football area. Don't take your expensive football though - we've popped two on the hedge!

Toilets basic, and could be cleaner. Showers are 20p on a timer, but hot water, and long enough for what you need. Washing up facilities basic too, and hot water is a bit hit and miss.

However, a great little site for a weekend away, reasonable price too.

We'll definitely be back!

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pazzachel 4 reviews from this member

Deciding we wanted to spend more time away throughout the year than our trailer tent would comfortably allow (British weather), we have invested in a cheap but tidy caravan.

This was our maiden voyage and we decided to use this site as it is local to us so easy to get home if necessary.

Well sign posted off the A15- just follow the brown signs.

Firstly, please bear in mind that this is February and still very dull, wet and cold.

The only pitches that were open for use were no's 1-6 in the quiet area. We chose our own pitch and set up. Later in the afternoon Robert came round to welcome us.

This was half-term week but we were still quite surprised to see that there were 3 other caravan units pitched and one of the log cabins in use.

Good generous sized pitch, electric hook-up on a meter- Robert explained that these have been installed because of rising electricity costs and having received a very hefty bill felt it was better to adopt this approach as you are now paying for what you are using. We had no objection to this and our usage was £8.00 for 2 days.

The pitch was £10.00 per night so not expensive at all!

There was a chicken and a cockerel that frequented our pitch and much to our dog's disgust and disbelief, the chicken took to eating her food from her bowl!

We did walk the 'Pet Walk' and beyond which was lovely. The area and site is very rural and I would imagine even more appealing in the spring and summer when it would be less muddy.

The main field- although empty also had generous size pitches which led on to the Rally Field.

Facilities:

Robert does give out an information sheet that tells you where local amenities are- Welton is the closest for a Co-op, Fish & Chip Shop & there's also a Pub.

The site rules are also on this sheet.

There is a wooden information hut/ games room which has tourist information leaflets available.

The reception wasn't open at any point (due to the season) but Robert came round on our day of departure at which point we paid him and then we were left to pack up in our own time. There was no pressure to leave in a hurry.

The shower/toilet block however didn't appear to match what other reviews have said. We can only conclude that there are additional facilities but that these are perhaps only opened up for the season. On our visit there was 2 ladies loos, 2 wash basins and 1 shower- with the 20p meter on the wall near the basins. Not ideal if like me, you forget to put the money in before starting to undress.

The shower was not particularly powerful but it was hot.

According to my husband, in the men's there was 1 loo, 1 urinal, 2 wash basins and 1 shower.

Outside of the shower/toilet block was a sink presumably for dish washing. The laundry facilities were not available at this time.

There were clear signs that preparations were under way for the forthcoming season ie Paint pots, creosote etc.

Overall opinion:

I am sure that this is a lovely friendly site during the main season and I can imagine it to be really quite pretty.

IF the facilities that we saw are the total then I would think the summer could be difficult for campers BUT from other reviews, I suspect this is not the case.

We enjoyed our maiden voyage and think that we would probably visit this site again for a weekend away.

We wouldn't spend any longer purely because we are local anyway so know the area and the attractions around.

If you are looking for a base to explore Lincolnshire and are happy to be away from it all with nothing in the way of on-site entertainment, clubhouses etc. Then put this site on your potential visit list!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paul- n-linda 5 reviews from this member

We chose this site as it is only half hour from home. When we rang to book we were told to go to the rally field on arrival which was easy to find.

There was no one to greet us so we chose our own spot which was newly mown, flat and sheltered and eventually saw the owner when he opened the office for an hour in the evening.

There was a playground in the family field next door and a small info point with leaflets of local attractions, but no nearby shop or pub.

The toilets (3 ladies and 3 gents) were clean and there were showers, but we did not use them. This was a basic site but well kept, although it was a little noisy at night due to several families in the next field playing until late in the playground, although by 10.30 it did quieten down.

The 5mph speed limit is enforced rigorously by the owner if you exceed it! At £10 for 2 of us a night it was good value, will return.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Mick Deakin 1 review from this member

We stayed for 3 nights in the 'Romany' caravan and enjoyed the experience immensely. Robert Cox is very friendly and helpful - a thoroughly decent chap.

The facilities are basic but clean and in good working order and we did not have any problems with anything. The site was central to the area we were interested in and Robert loaned us a detailed OS map of the area which we found very useful indeed.

We shared a huge field with one other family - Ted, Sandra and their daughter Dawn. I only wish our stay could have been longer as we really enjoyed their company.

Whilst we do have our own tent and equipment, the stay in the caravan was much appreciated and we even liked the look of the log cabins situated amidst the pine trees.

We shall visit here again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ruane 10 reviews from this member

We booked this site for 2 nights for the 'Waddington air show' in early July. We arrived around 8pm & there was a board with our name on as you came up the lane. We found Robert the owner on the site & he gave us a choice of pitches. We chose the no children field even though we had three! We pitched and had a beer. The next morning I paid Robert & then went to the Air show, brilliant!

The site is rural & quiet with a few walks just off site. Robert is really friendly & helpful. The showers were great I think it was 20p but lovely & hot.

Washing up was under cover with a water heater which you turn on wait a while & turn off when you've finished. We didn't see much of the area but there was loads of tourist leaflets in a type of shed,along with games, balls etc. Overall a great stay & would certainly return later in the season if we can?

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sparkles82 2 reviews from this member

We have just arrived back from a long weekend at Lincolnshire Lanes and had a fantastic time!

We found that pitch sizes varied quite greatly - if you have a particularly large tent, it might be worth mentioning when booking as some of the non-ehu pitches were quite small. They are all flat though, and some were very well shaded and protected from wind.

The EHU points were spotted all over the field, and so make sure you have an extension just in case you cant pitch close to the point.

The toilets and showers were clean and well maintained. I do begrudge paying for showers as a rule and so the 20p for 5 minutes charge disgruntled me. However, it was hot, clean and 5 minutes was plenty long enough. The main problem was that the lights in the block are on a motion sensor that doesn't cover the shower, so about a minute before the end of my shower, the block was plunged into darkness!

The owner enforces a strict 5mph speed limit, and a strict no noise after 10.30 rule - this is fair enough, however he came and asked us to be quite at about 11.45pm one night, even though the rally field next door were making a noise much later.

This is the kind of site where you really do need to arrive with everything you need, as the nearest major supermarket is in Market Rasen which is 9 miles away and takes a good 20-25 minutes to get to. There is a Co-op closer for essentials should you need it.

My only downsides were having to pay for showers, the cockrel waking us up every morning, and paying £4 per night for EHU - I have never paid more than £2.50 before!

All in all, this is a lovely site, and being only 45 minutes from home, it is ideal for us for a weekend away

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JudithB 11 reviews from this member

Just come back from our Easter Break at this site. We were allocated the Rally field as we were a family group of 13 for two days and 8 for two days. The field was flat and well drained considering the weather. It seemed to dry out very quickly after rain except in the heavy traffic area. Robert, the owner, was very helpful. He organised a tug-o-war on Easter Sunday unfortunately I don't think he got many takers due to the inclement weather.

The facilities have been up graded over the winter. There are two showers and 4 loos in the ladies. Showers are 20p for five mins and hairdryer likewise. There was a notice saying don't use shower and hairdryer at the same time or the electric will be tripped. As the site was quiet this wasn't a problem. If you are having a hook- up probably best to bring your own. Pot wash was sheltered and hot water always available. There was also a washing machine and tumble dryer but I had no cause to use them so I didn't investigate this further. Plenty of information on where to go and what to see. Fridge/freezer available at reception times. Also small shop selling confectionery.

Nearest supermarket in Market Rasen, quaint market town. I think the site would be best suited to families with young children as there were small animals and a playground to keep the young ones amused, including Flick the border collie who loves football. There are many walks and country houses to visit so couples may also enjoy this area. All in all a very peaceful part of the world.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dadsbeaniemad 7 reviews from this member

We found the site after travelling down single track roads (from the direction we travelled in from)They are def single track and if I was towing I would be hoping not to meet anything. On the way home we met the biggest machine you have seen luckily at a place we were able to pull over!

As you turn into the site there is a board with your name and pitch number on so you can find your way to your pitch.

You pass the 'quiet area' pitches on your way to the main camping field. This area is for adults only. There are also 2 log cabins that look to be very large and very nice.

The main campimg field is a good size and looks a good place to camp.

We were through the gate and in the rally field - good value for tent and family of 4 at £9 per night - £5 for pitch and £4 for ehu.

Main field is ehu but rally field is limited ehu (3 I think)

The site is very peaceful.

Recycling is an absolute must on this site and the owner is very particular that you recycle in the correct bins - paper, plastic, glass, burnable and other.

There are 2 showers in the ladies and 4 toilets and 3 wash basins. Showers are 20p for about 5 mins. There is also a hairdryer - again 20p.

The showers are in good condition and look new.

Can't comment on the gents other tan OH didn't moan about them so they must be OK.

There is a shed for the reception that is open for an hour early morning and an hour around 4.30pmish. You can find the owner there and pay your fees.A few sweets are on sale here and you can arrange to get a paper (I think)

Another shed next to this has masses of information on what to do and see in the surrounding areas and plenty of local information. It is all laid out in different sections - walks, town, cycling etc.There are a couple of games for the children too.

Around the corner is a laundry - washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board BUT I wouldn't use it. One of the people with us used the machine and it didn't wash, just covered her washing in dirty smelly water. Machines require 20ps to work (think it was£1,80 a wash)

In the main camping field there is a small are with play equipment for children but it is in serious need of updating (or making safe) or just removing. There are rabbits and guinea pigs in hutches too.

A stroll towards the dog walk and down a little path you come upon a few sheep and 2 goats in a field and some chickens in another little filed. It's a nice little stroll around the far end of the site and there are blackberry bushes ripe for picking at the right time of year. There is a public footpath to Spridlington through the potato field.

There were a lot of wasps about when we went the weekend before bank holiday.

There are no near by village shops. The nearest being about 10 mins away where there is a Costcutter and a Co-op and a chip shop.

We travelled as far as Market Rasen to the nearest supermarket (Tesco) but this is as far as we ventured out. It's about a 20 drive (roughly 10 miles. We did find a little motorbike garage/shop so just had to have a look.

It is a very quiet site and I would recommend it if you wanted a nice relaxing peaceful away from it all time BUT it is just 10 miles from market Rasen and 10 miles from Lincoln itself so situated in a perfect position for quiet and busy.

When we visited the weather was perfect (maybe a little windy on one day).

The ground was literally rock hard. Not stony or rock but very hard and when decamping we had terrible trouble getting the pegs out. Hammering the deltas in was hard work too. I'm going to invest in metal ones after this trip.

I would go back and visit again for a totally chilled out relaxed time doing absolutely nothing.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimllfixowt 4 reviews from this member

Wow! Well what a lovely site this is!

Lovely owner who made us feel very welcome. We were able to pitch our tent anywhere in the main rally field. The field is surrounded by great wind protection.

The toilets were nice and clean, plenty of hot water. There is a small charge to use the showers but we prefer this as you always get piping hot water.

The owner went around the site last thing in the evenings to hush any rowdy parties going on so we slept really well.

Quite remote, no nearby supermarkets but you could get to a village shop and there's Hemwell giant car boot on a Sunday.

Really low fees - and no pressure to vacate really early on our last day great.

Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Market Rasen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6965 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019