Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Lincolnshire Lanes

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen > Lincolnshire Lanes Reviews

Lincolnshire Lanes
Manor Farm
East Firsby
Lincoln
Market Rasen
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN8 2DB
Tel: 01673 878258
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 21
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 64 Reviews
                8/10 from 64 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Stanhopes 1 review from this member

Date of vist Fri 30th May & 1st June 2008

Right first thing first:

Facilities: basic, but having said that it does have everything including toilets, 1 shower, hairdryer, veg prep sink, small shop, information room, outside play area for the kids, small animals for the kids to feed and look after if you ask Robert. The site is also split into 3 areas (families + tents, adults only and rally field)

There is also a lovely dog walk. In fact Robert caters for everyone and everything! Just ask him he is the fountain of all knowledge.

Surrounding area - is to die for! It is a 'get away from it all' kind a place. The only things you will hear is the sound of the countryside.

Take your bike, take your walking shoes it's fantastic. Oh and bird seed, as there are so many around.

Ok so it doesn't have all the mod cons we caravaners now expect from our site, but you are only paying £8 a night.(it means I can go more often)

Robert who runs this site all by himself does an excellent job, on arrival you recieve all the literature regarding shops, pubs, post office, banks, garage etc etc etc, he made us feel really welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Thanks Robert.

Oh by the way did I tell you about the log cabins,(we couldn't resist, so booked one for a weekend) and the fantastic local butchers (couldn't resist that either!) and the saxon house (educational bit for the kids - we did resist this though).

I booked this site because I read all about it first on this site, I wasn't disappointed it did what it said on the tin.

We liked it that much we have booked again (cos we didn't get chance to do everything last time)

The only thing I would suggest is that the 20p metre for the shower should really be positioned inside the cubicle not outside at the end of the toilet block.(I bet it was a man who decided where this should be placed! he he)

FANTASTIC - BRILLIANT - QUITE - RURAL Can't wait to go back x

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Markd1975 1 review from this member

Stayed here may bank hol weekkend and although the weather wasn't great this didn't stop us havin a great time. The site is small with a good basic toilet block, showers nice and hot although they do take 20p's, the only downfall is the slot is outside the shower room (take a friend and shout when you are ready). I found it easier to add more 20ps in 1 go as the shower only lasts 5mins per 20p. Nice and quiet.
Signage to the site not great as marked manor farm not linc lanes. Pot washing faciities poor as we couldn't get hot water working. Would still go back and would recomened for weekend breaks. Staff friendly and flick the dog good entertainment, throw ball and he's happy.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosie2007 10 reviews from this member

Just returned from our second visit to this site. We thought we had found the perfect site for us, a real escape from it all but we won't be going back. The weather was gorgeous all weekend and we just wanted to relax and enjoy the sun and the countryside, we had only booked the week before and were really looking forward to the break.

The new toilet block was in use but it was for the ladies only, the men had to use the modified old block. The new block was clean when we got there on the Friday night, 2 showers, 3 loos, 3 sinks. One of the toilet doors wouldn't close and by Saturday morning there wasn't any toilet paper in 2 of the loos. The toilet paper had been replaced later on in the day but it didn't seem as if anything had been cleaned. By Sunday morning the showers were disgusting, I decided to wait until I got home to shower and the paper hand towels had run out. I was told that in the mens block there has never been any hand towels or soap.

There were only about a dozen or so tents and caravans on the site this weekend, there is a touring field and a quiet field that were both empty, I just wonder how the shower/toilet blocks would cope if the site was full.

The washing up sink STILL didn't have any hot water, the boiler was on but the tap didn't work so we ended up boiling the kettle on the stove.

There was also a problem with the owners dog, Flick, she is allowed to run free around the site. She was on the camping field nearly all of the time, being aggresive to other dogs and every time the kids tried to play with a ball she ran off with it.

We were not on our own in moaning about this, Flick had been aggresive to other dogs during our stay and we had seen other families giving up playing ball because Flick wouldn't leave them alone.

She pooped on the grass in the camping field and when others are told to clean up after their dogs this was just left.

I felt like complaining but I was told it would be a waste of time, the owner can be quite rude at times.

We just packed up and came home earlier than planned today to have a shower and to let our kids and dog play without having to worry about Flick.

If you haven't got kids or a dog then this is a site for a relaxing break. If you take your own toilet paper and don't mind dirty showers.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ee7mjc 4 reviews from this member

We decided that for our first 'outing' of 2008 we didn't want to go far and this site is only about 20 minutes from home. It was a great little site and a real find! We would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay near Lincoln where they can get some peace and quiet.

The pitches on the site are large and the family field we stayed in was well looked after, the grass being short and pitches well marked. It is only a short walk to the toilet block, which is basic but clean. The owner is also in the process of building a new toilet block, so there will be more facilities soon. There is a small shop on the site that is open twice a day, but we didn't use it. The owner is really friendly and made us feel welcome and his dog 'Flick' will keep the kids amused!?! We spent all weekend throwing sticks and balls for her.

There is ample information about things to do in the local area. It was also nice to see that all the waste from the site is recycled. There are a number of different bins for different waste types (so remember to sort it before you bag it!). The price is good as well, being £11 for a tent with EHU. We will be visiting again and we would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere in this area to stay.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rosie2007 10 reviews from this member

We have just spent the weekend here and have really enjoyed it even though it was cold at night. We used all our gas for the heater on the first night and when I asked the owner where I could get refills he insisted on going into Mkt Rasen to get it for us. Thank you Robert.

The toilet and shower, although basic, were clean and close to the camping field.

Good sized pitches and very well kept.

The reception was open twice a day and the owners were very helpful.

The site is really out in the middle of nowhere, quiet and relaxing, great if you want to get away from it all. Nearest shops were just a short drive away.

We didn't see any nearby attractions, we were enjoying the quiet too much.

Great value at only £8 per night.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wiggy1 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a Bank Holiday Weekend at this site and what a great little place.  Very quiet with large pitches in a well maintained field.  Owners very helpful, nothing too much trouble.   Shower facilities a little basic and tatty and only one per side for ladies/gents, but, although the site was full when we stayed, it didn't seem to cause any problems and to be honest we have seen far worse.  Kids play area and small animal area with rabbits which the kids loved.  Also the owners dog, Flick, gave great entertainment on his travels around the site.  All in all, a place well worth a visit if you want a nice quiet break away from it all.  We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mauricpage@btinter 4 reviews from this member

First time at this site, for peace and quiet it was faultless, well kept grass clean and tidy,
on the negative side there was very little hot water, very limited toilet facilities and crap showers and nothing to do for older children a little park area for the little children but for 14 year olds nothing unless you like them kicking a football around.
On the whole a basic and cheap site but has a lot of room to make everyone comfortable (as a fisherman it could do with a lake)

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lux Interior 5 reviews from this member

Just back from this site and thought I'd write the review whilst it's fresh in my mind.
Booked in for the Bank Holiday weekend at the last minute only due to a cancellation at the site. The owner Robert was kind enough to ring us and let us know they had a space for us.
We arrived mid-afternoon in good weather to a well kept site with a handy info board at the entrance. On the board was the party name and pitch number allocated to us which we found helpful.
There appeared to be three areas to camp/caravan in. The first was in small area situated by the log cabins and was set amongst young fir trees.
The second was the campsite proper and we found it well mowed and tidy with close proximity to the shower block and reception.It also contained the small play area and some rabbits and guinea pigs in cages. We can't give more info than that as we stayed in the third area.
The final area which we were placed was the Rally field.
The rally field suited us just fine, it has ample room for the largest of units and has two water points for facilities. Our nearest neighbours were about 50 feet away and this was on a holiday weekend. The entire site was surrounded by hedge and trees for shelter and looked well maintained too.
As for the aforementioned facilities, the men's shower block consisted of a loo, urinal, two sinks and a shower. The shower was 5 mins for 20p and was electric so always enough hot water. Plenty of loo paper and hand towels all weekend but no soap. Clean enough overall and must have took effort on a busy weekend to keep it up. My wife tells me the ladies consists of two loos, one shower and two sinks. Same scenario as the gents for loo paper,handtowels and soap.
There is an information hut next to reception which has info aplenty every kind of day out. You will not be short of things to do at this site, if you want to be busy that is.
We found the site very quiet and relaxing, no hassle at all throughout the weekend.
A few tips though:
A torch is a must at night, there are no lights on the site to find your way around.
The small animal area is a good idea for the kids, if asked Robert will let the children look after the animals with him or his daughter for the duration of your stay.
In our view you either go stocked with food or travel the 9 miles to Lincoln as we could not find any shops closer.
We will go to this site again for that get away from it all feeling in the midst of pleasent countryside. It is basic but is also clean,tidy and welcoming.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tracyy2 1 review from this member

Having just spent a week here, well what can I say that hasn't been said before, what a wonderful place to stay, Robert the owner is a lovely man, nothing is too much trouble. The little shop he runs the kids loved it sat outside from 5pm every night waiting for their ice-pops and chocolate. And if they got up at 8.30 am they were allowed to feed the small animals. We had loads of visits from Flick the dog, who loves you to throw stones for her, and the farm cat came for a stroke.
Pitches are lovley, kids 3 girls aged 4 to 11 loved the swings on the park and could be found on there most afternoons. Toilet block nice and clean, only one shower but there was never any one waiting. He does have plans for a new toilet block for next year. There is a local costcutter about a 10min drive away, with a brilliant chinese takeaway next door. We will definatly be back. A nice laid back site, somewhere to chill.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Antelle 4 reviews from this member

Unfortunately we were not too enthusiastic about this site. A shame, as the owner (and his dog) are really friendly, nice and helpful. We spent two nights here, during the weekend.
 
The toilet facilities (both male and female) were not the cleanest, there are spiders on the ceiling, there simply wasn't enough toilet paper, so halfway during the day we had to use our own. Two toilets and one shower are just not enough; we were glad there wasn't a rally, otherwise it would have meant queueing up. There is one shower, with a wooden pallet on the floor and I haven't seen anyone using it.
 
The washing up sink wasn't working and hadn't been for some time. We ended up having to do the washing up in the toilet/shower area, which is not the most hygienic of arrangements.
 
Parts of the field were quite muddy, because of either cars or many people walking there. Those places could do with some dry sand, hay or whatever, to make sure people didn't slip.
 
The field behind the camping field was wonderful and our dog loved walking there; hundreds of rabbits!
 
The owner runs a mini-shop (one shelf), with some essentials, and the milk came in handy.
 
If you leave the A15 and come from the Saxby area, it's not signposted very well. Better from the other side.
 
When you arrive, it's not quite clear where to go with your tent if you require (and have been promised) electric hook-up. There was nobody in reception, so you just have to find your own way. There was no electric hook-up left, but the owner ran a long cable from his office to make up for it. So better signposting or someone at reception would have been helpful.
 
We paid 11 pound per night, which included electric hook-up., with 3 pound for electric, which, in the summer months when you barely need it, is quite a lot.
 
So all in all, it was alright, but not great. We had nice neighbours. The shop and chippie in Kirton in Lindsey are open until 10 and there's the petrol station up the A15 if you're desperate.

Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Market Rasen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2144 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019