Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seacote Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > St Bees > Seacote Caravan Park Reviews

Seacote Caravan Park
Beach Road
(lake District)
St Bees
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA27 0ES
Tel: 01946 822 777
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 46 Reviews
                7/10 from 46 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ataylor 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights.

The Tent Field is a long way from the facilities block. It seems odd that the toilets/showers are situated in the middle of the static caravan park and not near the people who need it.

On the subject of the facilities block. It is not the cleanest place after about midday and ran out of toilet roll both days. It appears to be cleaned in the morning only.

There is good laundry facilities and two washing up sinks with hot and cold water.

The tent field is on a bit of a slope but careful pitching can help deal with that.

The views are lovely and the beach is only 5mins walk away and is great for an evening walk.

We did not eat in the village but the local store has most things campers need.

Overall the site is a bit tired and could do with better toilet/Shower facilities 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our one-night stay here, but it could have been better. The washroom had hot and cold water and was clean, but only had one sink. In the evening both the men's and ladies' toilets had no toilet paper and needed cleaning. However, at 10am they were clean and well stocked. Although the tent field is not next to the sea, it did have a limited view of it, and excellent views of the low hills around. The field was very level, with good length grass, and excellent tent pegging texture. There was some rubbish left in the field by other campers, which we tidied up. There were four other tents in the field with us overnight on a Monday to Tuesday. There were lots of caravans nearby, with one visitor generously allowing most of the site to enjoy or not enjoy his music until 10pm on the first night. Dog walkers walked through the tent field with dogs not on leads, and one mobile home resident walked through the field to the somewhat unsightly tip at the other end with his wheelbarrow. This site gets a rating of 8 out of 10 for value for money despite costing £18 for two people, a small tent and a car, only because there is a shortage of campsites close to the sea in Cumbria. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Reservoirlady 2 reviews from this member

 After reading some of the reviews about this site, I must admit, I started to panic! However, my fears were not as needed as I thought they would be.

The campsite is not the poshest of the campsites we have been too in the past, however we had a pleasant stay.

Yes, the toilets/showers/elsan point/laundry block is a tad too far from the Touring/Tent Fields. But as long as you plan your visit there it just becomes part of your daily routine. The staff do attempt to keep the showers and toilet blocks clean, but when they have some clientèle that appear to not want to help keep those facilities clean/rubbish free, then they are fighting a losing battle.

The campsite is in the majority full of statics, some of these are privately owned and the owners were really friendly people.

The beach location is wonderful and we were lucky to have the best weather of the year so far. Only downside, again is to people visiting the beach who appear to have a lack of understanding of how rubbish bins work!

Nearest shops are in Whitehaven, so make sure you plan your shopping trips around that point. The beach shop is expensive and does not stock much. Nor does the General Store in the village.

Lots of lovely walks, and from the touring pitch you can watch the Coast to Coast Walkers setting off or completing their journey.

If you are like us and have dogs, quick note, most people on the beach let their dogs off the lead, so if your dog(s) find this stressful and do stay on their leads, take this into consideration when walking on the sands.

All in all, a pleasant stay and not as worrying as I thought it would be after all the bad reviews. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tilcon123 2 reviews from this member

 We've used this site several times and have never been disappointed. If you want 'posh' facilities and entertainment laid on, this isn't the site for you. On the other hand, if you love a quiet, unspoilt beach, space to pitch your tent without someone pitching on top of you and unlimited free hot water in the showers, you won't be let down!

The site is, essentially, full of static caravans with a few tourers but the campsite is situated away from these and bordered by fields full of sheep.

Only a tiny moan about the toilet/shower block: it's a 3 minute walk from the tent and can get a bit sandy if the site is busy. It's obviously cleaned on a regular basis though but would maybe benefit from a mop and bucket for in between cleans.

The beach is two minutes walk away and is made up of large smooth pebbles and, when the tide is out, huge expanses of sand. Five minutes walk through the static caravans brings you to a children's playground and a small shop/cafe which sells essentials and newspapers along with delicious Hartley's ice-cream. The cafe is very reasonable and sells home cooked meals and cake.

If you need a supermarket, Whitehaven is a 15 minute drive. It also has a lovely harbour with an excellent fish and chip shop (crosby's) where, if you ask, they'll wrap your food well and it'll still be hot when you get back to your tent!

All in all, we'll always go back at least once a year as the location is amazing! 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Klivey 4 reviews from this member

 We normally go camping in tents and this was our first trip in a campervan and our third night at a different site. Although out of season everything was open and available to use. We found the site to be clean, friendly, organised and in a excellent location.

When they asked if we wanted a sea view you couldn't get much closer, the view was brilliant. You can walk along the beach or up over the hill.

Not much in terms of facilities around but we were told that you could walk in to the village about 20 mins away, but we stayed in and enjoyed the view and sounds of the sea. We will recommend this site to others. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moomooland 10 reviews from this member

 We arrived at Seacote to be greeted by Tom (the owner) we asked for a Seaview pitch and this is exactly what we got.

The views were outstanding and although quite pricey at £21 per night, the view certainly made up for it. Each pitch had their own water tap and electric hookup.

The toilets were clean and well lit and heated (even in July). There is a gate that leads straight onto the beach which is dog friendly.

Although it was the last week in July, it wasn't too busy and the beach was virtually empty. We walked the beautiful coast walk (accessible from the site) over to Whitehaven (7 miles) and the views were breathtaking, you could see the mountains on the Isle of Man.

All in all a fantastic site/pitch and one I will definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Motley 26 reviews from this member

 It's been 3 years since we've been here. I was hoping the drainage had improved, but if anything it is worse. Water just doesn't drain from the hardstands. Luckily we had our porch awning with us, otherwise the edges of the standard awning would have been pegged down in mud.

The toilets and showers are still in the middle of the statics! They have deteriorated over the years and are badly in need of decoration. If you do stay, take a toilet roll with you. It's obviously a luxury item!

The whole site has an unkempt look, with litter in the bushes and trees.

No warden was seen during our stay, with just the odd tractor going to and from a dilapidated garage/storage area at the bottom of the site.

Cars were parked all over the place, one tourer had 3 cars parked outside and there was a total lack of campsite etiquette.

The area itself is marvellous, with Whitehaven just 4 miles away and the market town of Keswick about 30 minutes drive.

The beaches are clean and flat, but sadly this does not deter from the fact that I rate this site zero.

We shan't be returning again. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Aulthurstside 2 reviews from this member

 The toilets were filthy which is unacceptable to us and we will not be returning because of this, we were there for 2 nights and they were not cleaned at all. The floor in the shower is lifting and there was a large hump of not stuck down floor. There was not a mop to clean up after yourself which would have helped. Its not really an issue for caravaners but for tents and small motorhomes it is a big thing. The whole site is rather unkempt. The bins were also overflowing and the seagulls had had a great feast! The pitches for caravanners and motorhomes were rather close together considering it is a huge site. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jimmy Paterson 4 reviews from this member

 The staff were very welcoming and plenty around the site if anything needed but you weren't bothered by them.

Our touring pitch was at the top end of the touring field, spacious pitch with plenty of room for our caravan, awning and car. Added advantage of having water & electric on each pitch.

We looked out onto open countryside. Pitches are overlooked slightly by the statics, pitches towards the top end overlook a large maintenance/storage building - although this was well kept.

Small river runs along side the touring pitches which can be crossed using the small bridge - this kept the kids entertained for hours! toilet/shower block was very clean and tidy with plenty of free hot water - this all during the very busy Easter weekend. Never anybody in when we used them.

Beach within a 2min walk as was the countryside/cliff top walk. Something to suit everybody. The beach and walkway was very clean & tidy. Pub nearby served food - although we didn't eat there.

All in all a nice break away for a very reasonable price - would go again 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Newton22 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed at seacote for 2 weeks.

Site is mainly static vans but has 2 areas for touring vans, we stayed in both areas.

The site was very reasonably priced for the 6 weeks holiday.

First week spent on the back field which was quiet in the main and pleasant.

Second week we moved to the seafront where no awnings are aloud but you are right on the sea wall and overlook the beach and sea.

The pitches are fully serviced although the drainage is literally a soak away.

The main compromise here is the toilet and shower facilities which were constantly in need of a clean and could do with a complete overhaul.

The area is very dog friendly and they can be taken in the Seacote Hotel bar area.

If you can live with a poor amenities block then the views from the seafront pitches are worthwhile. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seacote Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seacote Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seacote Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Bees      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


992 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement