Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seacote Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > St Bees > Seacote Caravan Park Reviews

Seacote Caravan Park
Beach Road
(lake District)
St Bees
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA27 0ES
Tel: 01946 822 777
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 46 Reviews
                7/10 from 46 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Motley 26 reviews from this member

 We've been here 3 times in the last 3 months.

It could be a wonderful site, almost on the beach, lots of places to visit and tremendous views, but no drainage!

The place where our awning should have been on our last visit, was a sea of mud. OK, we expected bad weather, but had field drainage been adequate it would have coped. I suspect there's a bigger problem as the drains beside the water standpipes were slow running away too.

Toilets and showers were perfectly adequate, but their location in the middle of the static caravans?

Every pitch had it's own hookup and standpipe, a definite plus, but bear in mind the slow drainage under the stand pipes. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cerijd 2 reviews from this member

 We were new to camping and I was really excited. I decided on the Lake District and specifically Seacote because of the facilities it claimed to have, however when we arrived we were disappointed to discover the facilities were actually not on site the park was a fair way from the camping field actually outside of Seacote Holiday Park, and the pub/restaurant was way over the otherside of the carpark outside Seacote.

The field was on a slope which if it was well drained would be ok, we were sinking through the mud and it was seeping through our tent by the end of the week. The field itself is accessed by a rickety old bridge which has all sorts of rubbish thrown underneath it.

I would never return and think it is a camp catered for mainly for statics and tourers. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Len barson 29 reviews from this member

 The site was very busy for the earlier part of Spring Bank week, and the sanitary facilities were just not adequate. They were not clean enough, there are insufficient cubicles, and they are too far from the field of the people (tenters) who need them. There are no on site shopping facilities.

The site seems expensive, in view of the above, at 21 per night for a pitch with hook up and water.

A shame because the area is interesting and attractive, with good walking and other visitor attractions within 1/2 hour. There are some lovely down-loadable walks available from the St. Bees website. The locals were friendly and helpful.

A few on-the-spot litter fines might be in order as the beach area was a disgrace at the end of the day. There's no shortage of litter bins.

The pubs in St Bees are fine, with the beer garden at The Queen's especially pleasant with good food. The Seacote Hotel by the beach needs a fettle.

I would advise you to take all your requirements because the supermarkets are a good drive away in Whitehaven or Egremont. The harbour area in Whitehaven has benefited from millennium money and is a real attraction. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Buster175 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights 2nd-4th may bank holiday weekend.The tent field is on a slope but not a problem. The site is right next to the beach which has rock pools to the right which can keep kids(and my girlfriend) busy for hours.

The site has good showers with plenty of hot water but the toilets in the gents were disgusting it seems as if people were using the to empty there chemical toilets in! I think this is because of the signs were not very prominent they were like this from Saturday till we left on Monday we told reception they apologized for the state we had found them and said they are cleaned in the morning and evening but it didn't look like it. My girlfriend said The ladies toilets were better and were very warm as the radiators were on in there

There are some leaflets in reception get the one for Rokers chippy its about 4miles away towards Whitehaven well worth the trip they do fish and chips kebabs burgers lots of choice there's also an Indian & chinese takeaway and and off license for essentials or if you carry on the main road to Whitehaven you'll find a netto aldi and Iceland

The only thing stopping us going back is the toilets but if you've got a tourer and porta loo you wont need them nearly forgot the toilets are some distance from the tents which if you need to go in the middle of the night could be a problem or just take a bucket! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RigLee 7 reviews from this member

 We decided to have our Easter Break here at Seacotes St Bees. We arrived on the Thursday. Weather was awful. We had pitch number 4. Front view. Amazing position. Hardstanding with electric and water hook up.

Good Friday weather mixed, but Easter Saturday, Sunday and Monday weather was amazing.

We sat outside our caravan. Barbie going, just chilling, watching peaople on the beach, jet skiers, and walkers taking advantage of the coastal walk that starts from the beach. Lovely.

The showers were not the best. If this had been my first visit as a camper. It would have put me off for life. !

I can put up with most things as long as they are clean. !

There is a hotel in walking distance from the campsite and they serve pub meals. We ate there thursday evening. Not bad. They have a lounge with a singer on three times a week and a games room with two pool tables and satellite tv.

It also has a beer garden that could do with some new tables and chairs for sitting out on.

In St Bees there are three pubs. About a 15 min walk down from the campsite. Maybe 20-25 back. A lovely walk. But recovering from a broken ankle meant we had to take the car. A small car park at the bottom of the main street and then it was a two minute walk to the pubs.

We ate at one of them on Good Friday. The Queens Head. Excellent. Loved it. And very reasonable.

As I said Saturday, Sunday and Monday we barbequed. And loved every minute of it.

We loved the position of this site and it was very busy with locals coming for the day with their families and dogs. There is a playground for the children and when the tide goes out it is great for crabbing in the rock pools.

We would return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Hazi820 3 reviews from this member

 This was my second stay here and both times I opted to book into one of the sites own static caravans.

The site is brilliantly located for the beach, as it's right next door. It's a really quiet site and there are pitches for tents/caravans/motorhomes with facilities which I didn't use.

There are some great walks and it's really dog-friendly place which is why I picked it and a return visitor. The walks range in ability and time and you can download some walk routes from the St Bees village website and some take you on the start of the coast to coast walk.

When the sea is out the beach is really wide and is very popular with dog-walkers, horses and anyone who fancies exploring. The beach is a misture of sand, pebbles and some rock-pools where kids can explore.

The village is about 7 minutes walk away with a choice of pubs and shops as well as a regular train. You can catch the bus into Whitehaven from the carpark near the site and they run regularly and I would recommended venturing out on public transport as it takes you through scenery you may not see in the car.

The statics are very clean with everything you need, they even include bedding if you need it.

I liked it so much that I'm thinking about a third visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ian 430 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights on the way home from Scotland - mixed review really. Fantastic location. Pitched practically on the beach as we had a small unit with no awning etc. Views are stunning. 20/night with hook up.

Toilet block is average and in the middle of the static site. Pitches were large with plenty of space in between.

No real facilities on site - The pub; shop etc are not on the site but a couple of minutes walk away. Hotel where the bar is was very tired looking and very quiet. Bar food was OK. Entertainment on Thursday night was alright - a local singer - but I think that the majority of customers were on a coach trip to the hotel and not there through choice!

Some very pretty areas around and about but if the weather was good I don't think you would be able to move any children off the fantastic beach!

Whitehaven is a bit run down but has all you need with regard to shops; fuel etc. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karly owen 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night at the beginning of easter. The site was large and well kept. Toilet blocks were clean and well maintained with hairdryers available at reception if needed. There was only one toilet block and staying in a tent we were on the back field past the caravans and static's which was quite a trek in a morning!

The beach was a 5minute walk and was lovely and plenty of walks in the area. St bees was a quaint village and offered the local shop etc, whilst whitehaven was the nearest town that had all you would need.

All in all the site was nice but not really catered for tents? 


Date of Visit: November 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Harvey80 5 reviews from this member

 Had long weekend here - caravan great and practically on the beach. Area is exceptionally quiet and nearest pub closed due to non-payment of electricity so ended up staying in at night-time at weekend! Don't think we could stay more that a few days as nothing really to do, no entertainment on site just sightseeing and walking so too quiet for us. Enjoyed break though. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elaine dodge 4 reviews from this member

 I like it here, The toilet block was very clean when we were there, the weather was glorious for 2 weeks, and when it rains! you leave before you get swept in the sea As I had pitched at the bottom of the road, my self, granddaughter and dog got drenched and had to stop and change clothes on layby on A66.

The owners of the site were very good to us, when I was out walking with the dog and my granddaughter locked the key in the motorhome, they gave us a cup of tea and let us wait for the AA. Shops, I tend to shop at Tesco in Whitehaven as it seemed to be very convenient, also for diesel. It is an ideal location for children, playing on the grass, rockpools, walking along the headland and walking into St Bees itself. Dodge the dog also loved playing on the beach and being taken walkes on the lead. Cumbria when you get good weather seems the ideal place to be.  


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seacote Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seacote Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seacote Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Bees      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1293 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement