Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seacote Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > St Bees > Seacote Caravan Park Reviews

Seacote Caravan Park
Beach Road
(lake District)
St Bees
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA27 0ES
Tel: 01946 822 777
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 47 Reviews
                7/10 from 47 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Newton22 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed at seacote for 2 weeks.

Site is mainly static vans but has 2 areas for touring vans, we stayed in both areas.

The site was very reasonably priced for the 6 weeks holiday.

First week spent on the back field which was quiet in the main and pleasant.

Second week we moved to the seafront where no awnings are aloud but you are right on the sea wall and overlook the beach and sea.

The pitches are fully serviced although the drainage is literally a soak away.

The main compromise here is the toilet and shower facilities which were constantly in need of a clean and could do with a complete overhaul.

The area is very dog friendly and they can be taken in the Seacote Hotel bar area.

If you can live with a poor amenities block then the views from the seafront pitches are worthwhile. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debicj 2 reviews from this member

 I won't describe the site too much as it has all been said before. Mainly statics with a few pitches for tourers.

We booked a seafront pitch and couldn't have been closer to the sea - if the weather was rough I think we would have been swept away! It was great for the views and being close to the beach. Even though it wasn't warm enough for us to sit outside all evening, we still enjoyed watching the waves from the comfort of our caravan. One night we even had ringside seats for watching the lifeboat crew practice launching their boat.

We loved this site and would go back again as it is so close to the beach. Whitehaven is not far away although we went in the car as we didn't see any buses during the time we were there. It is an ideal site for us as it was fairly quiet with the sea and fields all around but near enough to several towns and villages if we fancied going out.

The only negative point was the toilet block. It was filthy. It appears that people in the statics use the showers on the way back from the beach and leave them in a mess. The block is also quite a way from the touring pitches and I wouldn't have walked there on my own in the dark. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hazysunshine 2 reviews from this member

 Just one overnight stay and no complaints really, the tent area was quite a pleasant area. My only complaint was the toilet block was situated in the middle of a lot of static caravans and seemed to be furthest away from the people who really need it.

The tent camping area was a grassy area with sea views.

St Bees is the start of the coast to coast route and is on the edge of area which seems to be ignored by the majority of people visiting the lake district.

The campsite is not too far from the town centre and the railway station 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wettim 11 reviews from this member

 Seacoates is mainly a static site with 2 separate areas for tourers, one hard standing facing the beach and another well drained grassy area at the back. All have electric hook-up and water. There is also an area over the bridge for tents.

The toilet block is in the middle of the site, each having 3 toilets and 2 showers for men and women. The block is quite dated, but was kept clean, and the showers were free and piping hot.

There is a hotel just outside the site that sells reasonably priced food, and also a shop that sells the basics, with a great little cafe attached.

A bus leaves for Whitehaven and the surrounding area from the beach carpark, and a 5 min walk away takes you to the train station. The village is 2 mins away up the hill, where there is a shop, a few pubs and a few people selling fresh homegrown veg, etc. We bought a dozen duck eggs from a house near the station and they were delicious!

We stayed at St Bees May Day weekend for 4 days and had a wonderful time. It's the 4th time we have stayed here and love it. Everyone is so friendly, the beach is great for all the family, with fine sand and rock pools, and dogs are allowed on the beach all year round. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ontheroadtonowhere 3 reviews from this member

 Visited Seacote during Easter holidays 2011, on arrival we were very pleased as we had a seafront pitch in the lifeboat section which we had booked in December.

Each pitch in that section has hookup and water and the weather was really good so the views were great, it was very busy on the beach area with groups of young teens for some reason, not sure where they all came from as there is nothing for miles around!

I took our 6 year old to the toilets only to find them very dirty, full of muddy water grass and toilet paper, they were not cleaned until day 3 of our holiday which was very disappointing as they really were a disgrace and had run out of toilet paper as well.

The other thing was the distance that the toilet and shower block was from the pitches, too far to walk in the night especially trying to enter the code in the dark, it made taking daughter to the toilet( very regularly ) a pain.

We braved a shower which we didn't look forward to due the dirtiness of the place but there was plenty of hot water and no tokens or money needed. We ordered a takeaway from Ropers after getting a leaflet and menu from reception and was told it would be here in half an hour only for it to arrive 1 and a half hours later, but the food was good and reasonably priced.

I think the site is aimed more at statics but if they cleaned toilets more and had toilets nearer to the pitches then this would be a brilliant place. We left a day before we were due to only because the weather had turned bad. Despite the toilets we would return as the location is great especially if the weather is good. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suejam 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a day and a night before we started the Coast to Coast walk. This campsite is not cheap however the standard of the site is very high. It's in a great location right on the beach.

The campsite is very well maintained and the toilet/shower block were spacious, warm and clean. Nice flat ground for pitching the tent. St Bees is a lovely coastal village with a nice sea-front cafe close to the campsite.

The campsite itself is only 5 min walk from the train station. Would definitely recommend this campsite - it is worth the money. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K599rag 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first outing in our new tent and I can safely say that we now have the camping bug. This site is excellent and has all the facilities you need. St Bees has an excellent beach only a stones throw away and, yes this is not a Spanish Stone, which has been known to travel many miles!

The site itself has plenty of space for camping and you never felt cramped even when it got busy.

Toilets and showers are clean and tidy with plenty of hot water.

Play park for kids is perfect, however with all the things to do in the area, we hardly used it.

All in all this site is A1 and in a great location to explore the lakes, without being in the tourist central sections around Windermere etc. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blandy81 1 review from this member

 I found the whole experience wonderful. The Pitch was situated next to some beautiful views of Fields and hills and you could also see the Sea.

There was Fresh drinking water available and the Toilets are only a short walk away.

The Beach is a Stones throw away and is a great attraction, surrounded by Hills and the Countryside it makes for a Surreal experience.

The Local Shop has plenty to offer and has a Cafe situated within. Make sure you pack what you need as all other amenities are a fair distance away.

On the whole this was a very pleasant and enjoyable experience and I will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: January 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MineIs29ft 3 reviews from this member

 Went to Seacote for the final days of our Winter tour as we left Scotland. Had a front pitch overlooking the beach with hook and water which was perfect. Beach is amazing and the tide is fast and bracing with the windy weather providing amazing surf!

Took both my dogs who ran absolutely riot around the beach and loved it. My five year old also loved the beach. The Beach Shop and cafe are awful, take all with you that you can. The Post Office in St Bees is ok [has wine, so hey what else is needed?] and is 1/2 a mile away. Did not eat at any of the pubs and never used the toilets as we were self sufficient.

If you want breathtaking views, amazing walks and a wonderful beach then this is the place for you.

Staff were also very friendly. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Busterpot33 42 reviews from this member

 I agree with the previous writer, a lot of 'dog waste', however it seemed as though the 'visitors' picked up, it was the locals that walked on and could not be bothered. There is a 'Dog Toilet' in the car park, brilliant idea, a small fenced area, sanded, so that dogs can 'pop' in, poop scoop provided too.So no excuse.
St Bees is a lovely place, plenty of walks within the area, superb views, beach and children's play area. The site itself seems to be more biased to statics, we stopped on the sea view hardstandings.Very close to each other, gravel standings rather muddy in places. Although each pitch has water tap and drain. Excellent view of the lifeboat station we spent many hours watching the comings and goings of the boat, and the very brave crew.
There is a gate onto the front from this area. Toilets were not the cleanest, and would certainly not cope, toilets had wash basin and toilet, 2 showers for ladies, make sure you keep clothes out of reach of spray.
Apart from that staff were very helpful and friendly, the views from the sea view pitches are second to none, and we did have a very relaxing break there. One day we may return! 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seacote Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seacote Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seacote Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Bees      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2293 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement