Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seacote Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > St Bees > Seacote Caravan Park Reviews

Seacote Caravan Park
Beach Road
(lake District)
St Bees
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA27 0ES
Tel: 01946 822 777
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 46 Reviews
                7/10 from 46 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bootlucy 12 reviews from this member

 Great location, hardstanding pitches are situated right on the foreshore with outstanding views with each pitch having water and electric.

20/25 minutes walk into the village of St Bees where there are pubs serving food, shop/Post office and railway station.

5 minutes from site is a shop/cafe selling most essentials and the Seacote Hotel serving great food and sports showing on TV and dogs most welcome.

Now the bad news!, amenities just about the worst we have come across in almost 30 years of camping, not enough toilets for the size of the site (two in each) and my wife refused to use the ladies, choosing to use the ones in the motorhome.

A real shame as this is a lovely place and £21 a night for a bank holiday weekend can't be bad but we would rather pay a little bit more for better facilities.


via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Njwinn 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for new year to get some piece and quiet. Fabulous location looking onto the beach. We were very fortunate to wake up to brilliant weather which helped. No reception on site as new year but very helpful on phone and left very clear instructions for pitch as arranged. Toilets clean and showers warm, facilities nothing fancy but very adequate. Pitches close to each other, not a problem in winter as quiet but may be tight in the busy season. Easy walk into St Bees for pubs and friendly welcome in hotel on the beach for drinks. Will definitely return. Itís was exactly what we wanted. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 541 reviews from this member

 This is a large site which mainly caters for static caravans. There is a small area for tourers, which are in a cracking spot right on the sea front.

Facilities on site are fairly basic but more than adequate.

Excellent base for coastal walks and Western Lakes. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Haynew 11 reviews from this member

 We loved our stay at this site. Very easy to find and check in, friendly welcome at the reception. We drove through the static caravan section and were amazed at our pitch with uninterrupted sea view stunning. The narrow promenade and beach we just at the other side of the fence. We spent hours in the sun watching the waves and at night the dark sky's meant we could see so many stars. There is a pub and cafe a short stroll (5 mins) away the food was good. We also ate at the Queens hotel in st Bees (20 mins) walk away good there too and the most wonderful beer garden. We had drinks at the manor ct hotel the food ooked great but we should have booked as it was so popular.

I have read the reviews re the grounds sand location of the loos. I thought the grounds were ok, we live near the sea so appreciate it would be very difficult to have manicured flower beds. The toilet block is located nearer to the tent field which to me makes perfect sense, the tents after all don't have on board facilities.

We took the train to Whitehaven but were disappointed with the town.

Our children are grown up now, but if you are travelling with kids there is a fantastic play ground adjacent.

Seacoate site was perfect for a relaxing getaway very near to the sea,

Thank you for a lovely stay. 


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Spamette 3 reviews from this member

 The location for the hook ups is amazing as it is just off the beach. I adore the sea and as we stayed at a blustery time of year it was great to watch the waves crashing and listening to it at night was wonderfully soporific! Even in November the cafe/shop and pub were both open everyday and there are a couple of decent restaurants in St Bees. We went to The Manor and had a lovely meal there. It's worth making the effort to check out the chapel as they had an interesting find there in the 80's that is on display. There is a train station also and a trip to Carlisle fills a day nicely. Some negatives now. The toilet block is bizarrely placed and it did make me feel uncomfortable visiting it in my bathrobe. The showers were hot but not cleaned during our stay and didn't drain properly (yuck). Also, I would imagine during busy periods the facilities would be completely inadequate. The waste point was part of the shower block but was not lit, which made it impossible for me to use it before we left early in the morning. It was fine for a couple of days at a quiet time of the year but I wouldn't rush back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tina Tortoise 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and helpful staff.

The toilet block was a good walk away from our plot which had water and electric. Cleanliness was lacking in the ladies. The two showers share one plug hole which did not run freely, not nice sharing someone else's dirty water. The two toilets were not very clean. There were sinks to wash at and one had a baby changing shelf thing. The Crabby One says the gents loos were pretty clean.

Just outside the site is a lovely play park with public loos (didn't use them) there is even a dog loo area - brilliant idea. The beach was lovely and clean, it has won an award this year (don't know about other years).

The coffee shop over the other side of the car park was very busy, the Crabby One says it is very reasonably priced (he pays). The hotel on the other hand charged us £8 on the night for our drinks but the next afternoon it was £7. 50 - that will be queried tonight! There were several tv's with sky football on (if you like that sort of thing), two pool tables (mainly used by children) and one tv showing a film (I think).

There are some lovely walks in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: DavidR68 1 review from this member

 Stayed for one night so that we could be up early to vist the RSPB sea bird viewpoints so we did not have time to use all the facilities. Although the site at first glance seems full of static caravans it is a static caravan park! Don't be discouraged if you are a tourer - your site will probably be near the sea, the staff are pleasant and helpful, the toilets and showers are hygenic and warm and the site is quiet and in a beautiful part of the country. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gooner21 6 reviews from this member

 I did read other reviews before booking and by and large they got it about right. This is a big static site with space for a few tents and tourers. The hardstandings for the tourers are in a fabulous spot facing right onto the beach only yards away. There is a narrow promenade between the site and the beach and you can pass away most mornings just watching the dozens of C2C walkers starting their trips.

So the situation is great and if you have dogs and/or children it's a great place with miles of sea and sand at low tide, lots of space and a great playground. There is a hotel/pub very close by but the meals are basic pub fare. There is also a tearoom/shop but it's stock of supplies is minimal. St Bees is a 15 min walk but there's not much more there -4 pubs and a post office which doesn't stock much more than the tearoom. So go with supplies or be prepared to unhook an travel into Whitehaven or get the train (not on Sundays).

But the big disappointment is the toilet facilities. They are a bit of a walk from the tourers and the dishwashing facities were filthy and had no hot water. The toilets and showers were as bad. We were there 3 nights and they were not cleaned once. I have seen worse but not many.

So overall nearly very nice. We might go back but will use the motorhome facilities if we do as there is water on each pitch.

At £18 per night it wasn't the cheapest either. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camogirl- 15 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site. Had a pitch over looking the sea right next door to the beach and gate straight onto path. Hotel near by which serves nice meals. I though it was great value for money but camping for a samll backpackers tent was expensive. Basic toilets and showers could have done with a clean but have seen a lot lot worse. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Baboonbum 5 reviews from this member

 I always had this notion of wild camping/ caravanning on a beach, so with this site I finally got my wish with the inclusion of fresh water and an electric hookup as a bonus. We got here during the Scottish school holidays and it was quite, so I can't comment on when the English hols start around 18th July, main things that may effect you, shopping is best done before you come or in nearby Whitehaven where they have a wonderful Indian takeaway Indian spice try it you won't be disappointed, the site is very dog friendly and being on the beach our dog just ran her legs off, note that sand is only available at low tide so check tide charts for low tides to plan your beach walk, there is also a coastal walk which started right where my van was pitched so plenty to watch, it goes the 7 miles to Whitehaven and there is a train which will bring you back to St Bees, another small point to watch for is the shower block which in my opinion is a wee walk to empty gray water and chemical toilet, also men's block had 3 large disabled size toilets and 3 large showers however watch what shower you use there is only one takeaway drain and you could be standing in other folks muck if you pick the last on the right, all in all great site, great position ( NO AWNINGS OR CANOPIES) on the touring pitches as it restricts the static vans view, the dog loved it and so did we, T. V poor reception except the BBC channels and T mobile signal good I use this for tethering on internet, I write this as I'm sitting here looking out at this glorious beach, enjoy your stay 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seacote Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seacote Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seacote Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Bees      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5244 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement