Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Chant D Oiseau

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Mouliherne > Le Chant D Oiseau Reviews

Le Chant D Oiseau
1821 Route De La Vente
Ld Le Chant D Oiseau
Mouliherne
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49390
Tel: 0033 241 67 09 76
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 EHU
Open: 1 March - 1 November

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 94 Reviews
                10/10 from 94 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  94 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 102 reviews from this member

 This was probably our 6th visit to Le ChantD'Oiseau and we love it! Stu and Syb are wonderful hosts and the pizza nights, meal nights and now barbecue evenings are great. In spite of the wet weather we were made welcome and were pitched up by the barn on our first visit this year as the ground was so wet. ( this was the same throughout our time in France this year!) on our return the land drains were working very effectively and the camping ground was being used. The cups of tea on arrival are very welcome. Our friend stayed in the little gite and loved her stay there. We went out to the market at Bourgeuil which we love and visited the Church at Candes St Martin and the Panorama from above the church, well worth the walk. It was interesting to see the heavily flooded Loire. We will be back next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kempsons 13 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 10 nights from end of July to early August. I booked this site after many hours of research online looking for the perfect site. All reviews were great and when I booked in January I got the last pitch so we had high expectations. We had a nightmare journey and really hoped the site wasn't too good to be true. When we eventually arrived we were greeted by Stu & Syb who are the loveliest couple. They are always smiling, helpful and make you feel very welcome.

The site is very spacious and you don't feel the pitches are on top of each other. There is a small pool which our daughter used a few times, a table tennis table, pool table, bikes which you are welcome to borrow, play area for younger kids and for ours there was was the all important wifi! The kampers kitchen was great with sinks for washing up, kettle, microwave, fridges and cooker. There were also books to borrow and lots of leaflets for places to visit. The covered barn had the table tennis which was great on a rainy day (yes we did have one of those) and also had tables with benches for eating and even playing Lego on. There were 2 toilets and 2 great showers which given that the site was always full we never queued. The building was a bit rustic in keeping with in character of the converted barn they were in, but we're always clean with a basket of toiletries to use if you had run out or forgotten something. I am a bit fussy about toilet blocks and these were just fine.

Stu & Syb cook 4 nights out of 7 which is just fantastic meaning I had a break. This is eaten in the covered barn and means you get to know some of the other campers. You can buy wine by the carafe to enjoy with your meal. Syb was there every morning with our bread order and was even kind enough to realise when we had forgotten and ordered us some anyway. There isn't a shop on site but you can buy milk. Also there is a very good supermarket in Vernoil about 10 minute drive.

Days out.

We went to Chateau l'Islette, near Azay le Rideau, which is family owned and has very pretty gardens.

In Saumur we did a wine cellar tour at Bouvet Ladubay which has some lovely sculpture in the stone walls. They even do a cycle tour which we couldn't do as you have to be over 14 years old. We enjoyed some crepes in the square which had pretty umbrellas hanging across the road.

We also went to Chateau Villandry but only to walk through the stunning gardens. They are definitely worth a visit if you like gardening.

The kids borrowed bikes a couple of times and we walked around the quiet roads meeting a couple of friendly locals.

We had planned to go out more but our kids aged 16 and nearly 12 were very happy just to relax on the site as were we. They have already said they want to back there next year. I just hope by giving this site a well deserved great review that I can book again myself. Thanks Stu & Syb for a wonderful time. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aileen 3 reviews from this member

 Another fabulous 3 weeks spent at the best campsite in France! Weather was excellent, fellow campers were great company and, most of all, Stu & Syb--the owners-- did their utmost, as usual, to make this the perfect holiday. The new barn is looking wonderful and hosted several 'meal evenings' where everyone got to know one another better and new friends were made.

Hope to be back at my favourite campsite very soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SueandGlenn 12 reviews from this member

 This was the 4th and last camp site of our 3 weeks trip to France and in terms of hosts, location and atmosphere it was the best. Owners Stu and Syb welcomed us on arrival and gave us a free run in terms of how the caravans were positioned on the adjoining pitches we had pre-booked. The site is well laid out with plenty of shade, the picnic tables and benches are a nice touch.

This is a lovely site and the absence of children during our 6 night stay meant it was very quiet. Showers and loos are adequate - loads of hot water and good water pressure (no running around to get wet here !), the newly completed barn makes a fantastic centre piece (our builder friend was very impressed with the quality of the workmanship) and a lovely setting for the meals Stu & Syb cook for the guests. Sadly we were only able to partake on one night but the food and the company were great (excellent value as well), a lovely way to get to know your fellow campers.

Like most small sites electric hook up is only 6 amp but this didn't cause any issues as we come prepared with a low amp kettle. Both Stu and Syb are a mine of local knowledge and all their recommendations were sound (cycle routes, chateau and places to eat), the extensive welcome pack is probably the best we've seen and provides good reference material. The pool was a godsend as it was over 30 degrees for most of our stay - a lovely way to cool off.

The area is great for cycling - loads of shady woodland tracks and the roads are exceptionally quiet. We really enjoyed our stay and found the set up very relaxing - Stu and Syb are fantastic hosts and the site is a delight and a world away from the larger more commercial ones - we all loved it. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Agri 6 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say that has not been said already. This was our first visit to Le Chant D Oiseau and was not in the least disappointed. Stu and Sib are wonderful host's and nothing is to much trouble, they have an uncanny knack of bringing people together and the dinner evenings are not to be missed. The only negative thing I can say is we had to leave, this is definitely a site for our next visit to France. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 102 reviews from this member

 As always, our favourite site. The dinner and pizza evenings in the barn, the pool, the birdsong, the welcome. Stu and Syb are caring and friendly hosts. Saumur is a 20 minute drive away with all its attractions and Saturday market Bouergeil market on a Tuesday is great too. The chateaus are within an easy drive. The campers kitchen is excellent, especially for tent campers with fridge and freezer freely available. We will be back next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Aparsons16 1 review from this member

 As the last review appears to be a little old we thought we would update it. Its simple, we really cannot add to what has already been said, it is camping at its best. Stu and Syb are superb hosts, and nothing is too much trouble. The campers kitchen and the barn are both great innovations that enhance the opportunity to mix with your fellow campers, especially on ‘Dinner’ evenings that Stu & Syb host.

Quiet, friendly and beautiful, whatever your mode of camping we recommend this site.

Alun & Trish, May 2015 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lbn26 4 reviews from this member

 We left Le Chant today after 8 days and we're quite honestly really sad to leave, kids included, even though we're heading to Disneyland! We booked Le Chant after recommendations from the forum here on UKCampsite.co.uk and there was a lot of pressure on me from the rest of the family as it wasn't a site with 10 swimming pools with slides, beaches etc. Within 12 hours we had all fallen in love. We arrived after a pretty horrible journey to the owner (and Bracken) meeting us at the gates offering us a cuppa and showing us around. We were on pitch 1 which was huge! The kids instantly liked the site because of the space, they could run free after 2 days in the car! We have a 6 month old, almost 5 year old and a 14 year old and Le Chant really caters for all, the 6 month old loved the baby swing in the park and the chickens which roam around, the 4 year old loved the tree house in the park, the chickens, the barn where he could play with his toys when it was raining and the pool table and the 14 year old loved the pool table, the table tennis and having enough space to get away from us and his brothers! There is a fab Kampers Kitchen which is really well equipped with 2 sinks, an oven, hob, kettle, microwave, fridges and pots and pans galore. The owner will do your washing for you for 5 euros a load and there is a garden specifically for pegging out washing with plenty of lines, pegs etc.

They have meal nights on a Monday and Friday which is gorgeous homecooked food by the owner in the barn, 15euros each for adults with lovely wine, it's a great way to meet new friends and so unique for a campsite. Wednesday is pizza night. Have the bolognaise pizza, you won't be disappointed! The owner painstakingly cooks each one in a bread oven in the barn whilst you chat to all the other campers and the kids play. Sunday is fouee which we didn't have as it was the owners birthday but they invited us all over to join in the festivities which was really lovely and we got cake!

Nearby we visited chateau de Breze which the boys loved, great for a rainy day as a huge system of underground caves that used to be used as defence systems and underground dwelling. You can also go in the chateau which is really well preserved.

I cannot recommend Puy De Fou enough, we only went because the owners were so passionate about it and I can see why. We only saw three shows as we were late getting there but it really was incredible and well worth the drive and admission fee, we will def be going back there next year. The tank museum also thrilled my rabble of boys, particularly since you can get in some of them.

I genuinely cannot recommend Le Chant enough, it is unlike any place we have ever stayed before, there truly is something magical about the place which is purely down to the owners who really do put their hearts and souls into it. I am loathed to even call it a campsite as it is so much more than that. We have made some great friends there and have already booked to go back for 2 weeks next year and cannot wait. Go. You won't regret it. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aileen 3 reviews from this member

 Another wonderful 3 weeks spent with the owners at Le Chant. The many changes made this year have enhanced the site even further. The new barn is superb, offering guests a central spot in which to socialise and eat the wonderful food prepared by the owner.

The Kampers' Kitchen is an excellent idea and was very much appreciated by several other campers on site who only had limited cooking and cooling facilities and were able to make full use of the gas cooker and fridges supplied by the owners. Also, please remember, these facilities are offered free of charge. I have never seen this on any other French campsite. The hot water is perfectly adequate for washing dishes and should boiling water be required to clean pots then kettles, both electric and gas, are available in the kitchen to supply boiling water.

To finish off, all I can say is that when you visit Le Chant you will find your little bit of paradise in the Loire Valley---that's why I shall continue to return! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bridie 102 reviews from this member

 Once again, we were very sorry to leave after a wonderful time here with the Fouee evening a meal evening the wonderful weather, so the pool was great. The owners, as always were as welcoming as ever. The new look barn is a great asset. Well done ! We will be back next year for our 5th visit we think! 


Previous     94 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Le Chant D Oiseau child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Le Chant D Oiseau have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Chant D Oiseau?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Le Chant D Oiseau dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mouliherne      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2096 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement