Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Le Chant D Oiseau

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Mouliherne > Le Chant D Oiseau Reviews

Le Chant D Oiseau
Le Chant D Oiseau
Mouliherne
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49390
Tel: 0033 241 67 09 76
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 EHU
Open: 1 March - 1 November

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 94 Reviews
                10/10 from 94 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  94 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M4DRP 4 reviews from this member

This is our 4th visit in 5 years to Le Chant d Oiseau, what else can we say. Anyone that has visited this site will understand why we keep returning. We had one week here and our first week in the Vendee at a Castels site. This visit mid two weeks of June. The weather could have been better, but we have no control over it? But when in paradise ‘everything is so good’

The 3 Gites have had makeovers, not that we were in one, but the owner let us have a look at them when they were empty. The meals were as good as ever, put on twice weekly, Monday & Friday, Pizza night on a Wednesday. All chargeable for those that wanted to indulge themselves.

Will we go back?

The answer is-

YES.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gimbo 2 reviews from this member

What a great place to spend a few relaxed days (or weeks)! We only had three nights and could have stayed for a lot longer. The site is small and feels intimate but still with plenty of privacy, in part due to the huge trees all over the camping area. We opted for a pitch near to the chicken pen, which gave free added entertainment when they were allowed out to roam- shy they are not! The shower and toilet facilities are great and the kitchen provided for campers was a really useful addition as it allowed us to keep items in the fridge free of charge. There is loads to do nearby and Saumur, which is within easy reach, is a joy to behold. We took bikes and there's some lovely, easy cycling all around the area. There are supermarkets within easy reach and nothing was ever too much trouble for Stu and Syb who have the incredible ability to leave you in peace but appear just when you need a query sorted out! Make sure you try the almond croissants that can be ordered on site, but don't think you'll handle more than one, because they're very, very rich. In all, a fantastic place to stay. If you're in the area and looking for a relaxed 'time out' then this is the spot.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Liz + Peter 15 reviews from this member

Five years after we first 'discovered' Le Chant, we finally arrived for our first visit. I have no idea why it took us so long! Being met at the gate, and that welcome cup of coffee on our arrival were just the beginning of a peaceful stay in delightful surroundings with excellent hosts. Syb & Stu 'pitch' everything just right - living on site, they are always unobtrusively around somewhere, just in case of any problem, and being caravanners themselves are exceptionally helpful, not to mention knowledgeable about the area around the campsite, which is steeped in history.

There are some electric hook-ups (6amp), so make sure your gas heater is functioning if you are camping early or late in the season as the early mornings can be nippy.

Free Wi-Fi was a bonus, as we were able to keep intouch with the family using Skype.

The campsite is a delight, being well-cared for both outdoors and in, The toilet/shower block, has a heater, and provides an excellent shower/toilet for wheelchair users, while the Campers Kitchen is a most thoughtful addition, housing loads of useful extras, such as the library, microwave, oven, fridge-freezer, washing machine etc. Any safety issues have been thought about very carefully - from the gates which are kept closed (no children rushing out from here), to the excellent playground in the centre of the site and above-ground swimming pool.

You may be unlucky enough to actually see a car on the road past the gate, but there probably won't be another one for an hour or two.

Peaceful, paradise is the best description I can think of for 'Le Chant' - so thank you Syb & Stu for providing it.

There are small shops in the nearby village of Mouliherne, the supermarkets and petrol station are a short drive away. Being in the Loire valley, you are never too far away from an interesting chateau, or vineyard offering the chance to sample their produce. Nature lovers will also find plenty to interest them in this area, from the abundant autumn fungi, to the deer, rabbits, bats which provide an amazing flying display at dusk, and of course those birds which seem to be singing all the time - and of course the owls at night.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Allencamp 3 reviews from this member

What a wonderful place! We stayed 5 nights, and were sorry that we hadn't booked for a longer stay. A tiny piece of paradise nestled into the Loire countryside - we are so pleased to have found it. Stu and Syb, the owners, are hard-working and the efforts they make are certainly worthwhile. We were impressed with everything; the site was level, clean, picturesque, spacious; play area central, and the site safe for children to explore; toilets/showers clean; facilities in the kampers kitchen useful especially for freezing ice blocks and chilling that wine! Stu and Syb encouraged their guests to recycle and made it easy to do so with their assorted bins! Free wifi was a bonus too.

We joined our fellow campers for a shared meal which Stu and Syb prepared, and pizza night(baked on the super outdoor oven), which encouraged everyone to get to know one another - the food was great too! The site was quiet at night, but this didn't preclude campers from having fun and socialising in the 'barn', although those of us with younger children did feel that we had missed out, what with earlier bed times!

Our children loved Le Chant d'Oiseau, even after visiting another site with more facilities, they preferred this one. We will certainly be visiting again - thanks for a great stay.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M4DRP 4 reviews from this member

We have had a 14 night stay here July 2010, our party consisted of 2 caravans a twin axle and smaller caravan with awning and bedroom annex and 6 adults. This is not our first visit; we stumbled upon it in 2007 staying for 8 nights, then again in 2008.

This English owned site will not appeal to all, it’s like a CL site with 10 pitches situated in the front grounds of a very old farm house, with the outer buildings converted into 3 Gites, a small one suitable for 2, then a mid size one for 4 and a very large one which can accommodate up to 8, which are all to a high standard. Suitable for non camping family & friends.

It is in the middle of a forest, ideal for the chill out type holiday and will appeal to walkers, cyclists. Nearest small town with supermarket, butchers are about 5 miles away.

This site is surrounded with a good maintained fence making it ideal for children. It has a central play area, with slide, swings, tree house. The pitches are around the perimeter edge of the fence? Some without electricity and the rest with, this is reflected in the tariff. It also has a small elevated, dip pool which is not manned, but if children are on site the steps are removed as a safety precaution and an adult must ask for them to be reinstalled for use.

The facilities have had a makeover for this season, consists of 1 WC (also used for chemical waste disposal), 1 Shower, 1 combined WC/shower, also 3 partitioned wash hand basins, with individual mirrors. Perhaps another shower, would be welcomed, as in peak times it could represent a problem, or use your own in the caravan, if you have one?

New for this season is a fully equipped Campers Kitchen, which has a sink for vegetable preparation, fridge/freezer, microwave, gas cooker with oven, washing machine; it is also used as the information centre, book & magazine exchange. The kitchen is free to use, between 08:00hrs & 22:00hrs, but there is a charge for washing powder for the machine. On one side of this are the recycling bins, plastic, glass, and cardboard/paper. On the other side are 2 Belfast type sinks for washing up, cold water only? But you can get hot water from the toilets if needed, with supplied bowl. Also general waste and fresh water supply. The owners offer 3 meals a week if there are enough campers who want to take part, this is chargeable, and is a good socializing event, a Sunday brunch serving local foods, and two 4 course meals with drinks on a Monday and Friday evening.

The surrounding area is full of history, from chateaus, museums, vineyards, zoo’s etc. As above this area is not the get up and go type holiday, but a step back type holiday when, there is always tomorrow to do things?

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JennyFaz 1 review from this member

We visited Le Chant in June for 11 nights, based on the excellent feedback we had seen on UKCampsite and we were not disappointed. We had a wonderful holiday, on arrival Stu & Syb met us at the gate (along with an excited Bracken the dog!) and made us feel at home, with the offer of a cold beer or a cup of tea whilst we pitched up. The facilities were excellent, the Kampers Kitchen was particularly useful, with a full fridge freezer, oven, washing machine, kettle and hob at our disposal. The washing facilities were kept very clean and nothing was too much trouble to ask from the owners, from helping us book train tickets for our day trip to Paris to suggestions for days out. The variety of wildlife on the site was wonderful, we saw so many different birds and enjoyed meeting the owners pets too! The pool was greatly enjoyed for a cool dip after a long day in the sun. Twice a week food is served to all guests in the walled barn, we greatly enjoyed this as it gave us the opportunity to socialise with other like minded people and to make new friends. We spent a lot of time on site during the day, relaxing, taking in the fresh air and peace and quiet. I would thoroughly recommend if you would like to get away from it all, and to experience the true relaxed lifestyle that France has to offer.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nchesh 1 review from this member

Welcoming, Peaceful, Tranquil, Relaxing, Friendly. Just some of the words to describe this site, actually it was more than a camping site and that was due immensely to the dedication and attention to detail by the owners Stu & Syb. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel at home, greeted with a cup of tea or coffee and a friendly chat.

The site itself is enchanting, you can just sit and listen to the birds, over 80 different breeds have been seen, watch the world go by and just relax. I managed to see some wild deer wandering through the woods by the site as well. The pitches are spacious and give you both shade and sun. The Site itself is beautiful and quiet, situated in a beautiful part of France with many places to visit. There is a Supermarket 10-15 minutes away by car. Bread and Croissants can be ordered and are delivered to the site. Stu & Syb can offer meals twice a week giving you a chance to not only put your feet up but also to meet some of the other people staying there and they do make it a wonderful evening. The ‘Kampers kitchen’ is a brilliant idea giving you access to a fully fitted kitchen if needed. There is a play area in the middle of the site allowing young children to play but always in the view of the parents. The pool is lovely to jump in to cool down and is only a few feet away. The showers and toilets are kept very clean and tidy.

Although we didn’t stay in the Gites we were shown around all 3 and they are charming, again you can see the attention to detail and the thought that has gone into each one. We stayed during the world cup and they opened up one of the Gites so that we could all watch the world cup if we wanted to.

This was perfect for us and we loved every minute of our stay and it was a real wrench to leave. At some point we will be going back having felt that we have stayed with friends rather than just at another camp site.

Thank you Stu & Syb for a wonderful time, our only regret was that it was not long enough.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Malg56 3 reviews from this member

Spent five nights on this site in March and had a wonderful time. We arrived following a straight drive from Calais and had a warm welcome from Stu & Syb.

The site was small, 10 pitches, which are placed around the edge of the site leaving a play area in the middle. There is a small outdoor swimming pool on site but due to time of the year it had been emptied.The toilet facilities were basic but always clean and warm, there was one shower unit.

The site is out in the countryside and is very quiet. It is a short drive to the shops at Vernantes. Across the road is a wooded area with some lovely walks and lots of wild life. Ideal area for walking and cycling.

Overall a nice site for a quiet break. We will certainly be going back to visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mully 8 reviews from this member

We had the most wonderful two weeks at this site. Stu and Syb are fantastic hosts and we instantly felt at home. A cup of tea whilst pitching and drinks for the kids were gratefully received.

The site has 10 pitches facing into a central play area. There are a tree house, swings, net for badminton, splash pool, table tennis and pool table. Our boys, 6 and 11, had brilliant fun as they had complete freedom to play with their friends in safety.

Twice a week guests are invited to dine together while Stu and Syb cook and serve the evening meal. This is a really sociable site and we met many fantastic people whom we hope to stay in touch with.

The toilets and showers will have been updated by summer 2010 so future guests will benefit from lovely new facilities.

There is plenty to do nearby, however, many days we simply relaxed and drank in the peace and tranquility of Le Chant d'Oiseau!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leeds 1 review from this member

Back to work after 15 fabulous nights on the site. Can only agree with all the other reviews about the site, the owners and the area.We picked the site because of these and we weren't disappointed.

From the moment we arrived and downed the first drinks provided by Stu and Syb they never stopped being friendly and helpful.Stu worked hard to keep us informed of activities going on in the area, it was very hard to leave.

Facilities were adequate and met our needs and the furture plans for a campers kitchen and extra bathroom can only enhance anyones stay.The extra fridge and freezer were very useful too.

The organised meals and wine tasting evenings went down a treat especially with our 15yr old who is such a fussy eater (he ate Syb out of goats cheese). Serious diet required after all the gorgeous bread and pastries each morning, we had to try them all. The younger children are well entertained with play equipment even our 17yr and 15yr old giants weren't bored. We would recommend this site to anyone and will definitely return and might even try the gites as they looked fab. The local villages were very friendly and the bars always welcoming and only a short bike ride away. Nearby lakes were busy at weekends but we always found a spot to relax.

Previous     94 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Mouliherne      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2795 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder