Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Le Chant D Oiseau

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Mouliherne > Le Chant D Oiseau Reviews

Le Chant D Oiseau
Le Chant D Oiseau
Mouliherne
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49390
Tel: 0033 241 67 09 76
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 EHU
Open: 1 March - 1 November

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 94 Reviews
                10/10 from 94 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  94 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 99 reviews from this member

Another wonderful time here!Arrived in time for Pizzas and again on way back for a meal! Both excellent and enjoyed the company of the other campers. Cup of tea welcome is wonderful !Toilet block small but clean. New hand towel every day and soap provided. Hot showers. Pool remarkably warm as it had been coolish weather. Saumur Market on Saturday excellent. Bauges worth a visit, small town, market on Monday afternoons. Stu helped sort window problem on van. Thanks ! Well worth a first stop from Caen, St Malo, Le Havre, Cherbourg on way down and a relaxing stop for a few days on the way back. We'll be back next year, you feel like part of the family !

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Quinnk 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a two week stay at Le Chant Doiseau. It is a the best campsite we have stayed at. Stu and Syb have done a fantastic job in creating a safe and wonderful campsite suitable for young and old. We were there with our 3 children aged 1, 3, 5 and they loved the freedom they had. The site is so safe you can be completely relaxed when the children are playing. The meal nights ( especially the pizza night) are a fantastic idea and a lovley way to meet people and have a drink together. The Campers Kitchen is a fantastic facility and certainly made camping with 3 young children a lot easier. Syb was so nice that when our washing finished we were out and she hung it on the line for us! What more could you ask for. Our 5 yr old didn't to leave and is already talking about going back next year.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Happybonzo 39 reviews from this member

We had read a lot of the reviews and they are, in all fairness, correct.

The 'welcome' is a good as has been reported and the owners, Stu and Syb, have a good local knowledge that they are happy to share with you.

There are various 'nights' organised such as a Pizza Night, a proper sit down meal night etc and these go a long way in helping people to share experiences and to make suggestions to each other on places to visit.

The Loire valley is a good place to base yourself if you want to visit Châteaux

The Tank Museum at Samuer is worth a visit. It is every bit as good as Bovingdon in the UK and has the benefit of having exhibit labels in three languages: Some British museums could learn a lot from their example

It is nice to see some of the names from UKCS cropping up in the visitors book

The showers and WCs were clean and tidy and there was always a proper supply of hot water

There is an above ground type swimming pool and that should be good fun during the Summer months.

There's some interesting 'wild life' in the area and it's worth taking a very powerful torch to spot the animals watching you from the far end of the fields at night. If you are lucky, you should be rewarded with some splendid Deer watching.

The owls are great fun and there are both Barn Owls and Tawny Owls around. As you drive to Le Chant you will often see Buzzards sitting on fence posts on the field margins. We heard a woodpecker that was not one the UK ones, a totally different call to our native species, but did not get a sighting so we were unable to identify it. It should be a good area for Nightjars but September is too late in the year for them as they would have started their migration by now.

I have always found looking at the number of repeat bookings is a pretty reliable way of judging whether or not a site is worth visiting. On this basis, Le Chant must be up there amongst the top 10

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GraemeStuart99 11 reviews from this member

I have visited this site on 2 occasions, In 2010 by myself and this year with my family. The welcome received is fantastic, with refreshments on arrival. The facilities are excellent with clean showers and toilets and excellent splash pool to cool down in. There is a very peaceful feel to the site and the no noise after 11pm rule is followed by everyone. The different food nights on offer in the barn are excellent and prove value for money, this is an excellent way to socialise. The children's play equipment in the centre of the field/garden kept our 8 & 10 year old happy for the duration of the stay and they made many friends. We have again booked for summer 2012 and are already counting the days.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dunmailer53 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site because we wanted to visit chateaux and gardens in the Loire valley. It was an excellent choice. It is a small quiet site with a really rural French feel but with all the comforts of home. The owners, Stu and Syb, were really welcoming and went out of their way to help us get set up, they have a good website where you can put in orders for food packs. The site provides electricity and we were able to hire a fridge for the tent. The toilet/shower block was always clean with plenty of hot water, there is also a kitchen for visitors use with plenty of utensils so you don't even need to cart everything from home. There is a play area for children and good meals are provided two or three times a week and a daily bread delivery. Nearby Mouliherne and Vernantes provide good shops. We would definitely recommend this excellent camp site - one of its recommendations is that people return to it year after year.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Landi 1 review from this member

This was our third visit to Le Chant and I can only say that the place just gets better every year. Stu and Syb are the perfect hosts - hosts almost seems to be too impersonal since we have come to regard them as friends in the relatively short time that we have known them. From the welcome with a cuppa from Syb to the reluctant farewell two weeks later, we had a wonderful time.

This year perhaps more than on our previous two visits, we spent a great deal of time on the campsite during the day just relaxing and enjoying the priceless peace and quiet. We also spent many lovely evenings in the barn enjoying meals with our fellow campers some of whom we had met before on our visits.

There are plenty of places to visit in the area, places to suit all tastes and age groups - the list seems endless but it is the site, the owners and the friendliness of Le Chant that has drawn us back each year and will do for many more to come I am sure.

I am proud to finally be able to call myself one of the 'Boomerang Gang' - one of many who return year after year to this perfect little gem in the Loire valley.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Geocachers 6 reviews from this member

Our first time camping and we went purely by the recommendations on here. We chose well!

We found this to be a fab site with friendly owners and a fab location. Our two boys loved the freedom on the site and felt very safe.

Only possible downsides, the pool was too cold to be able to enjoy it properly and the washrooms tended to get quite muddy, despite regular cleaning.

The camp kitchen was a real bonus as was the shared fridge.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angela820 3 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our stay despite it raining heavily for probably half of our 2 week stay.

We looked at loads of sites and decided on this because of the reviews and we were not disappointed. For us the main plus point was the fact that our two kids (under 5yrs) were perfectly safe playing in the central play frame area with the other kids and as its a small site we were never worried for their safety - so it allowed us to relax more than otherwise.

The pitches are all a decent size, the campers kitchen is an excellent idea, the pool is ok but probably not ideal for our kids as it was deep for toddlers and they needed to climb in. This was not so much of a concern as the weather was bad so they did not want to go in it much. The other older kids loved it though.

The food cooked on site varied from chilli, lasagne, paella. We only had the paella but many other campers ate on-site and all said the food was good. Most attractions are a half hour or more drive but this is probably to be expected as France is so vast. What we enjoyed the most was going to a local lake/beach and having picnics and visiting one of the local markets.

We went to Puy Du Fou on one day (around 1. 5 hours) and this was excellent.

Stu and Syb are very nice and helpful also.

I would say there were only two small issues we had. Our pitch was n the corner of the site so is nearest to the covered dining central area, the main through fare for toilets, and next to the inwards track to the site. This meant that it was ocassionally a little noisy at night times as we could hear people up chatting - this was more the case the first week with some guests that were staying. Whilst normally this would not have been an issue, we have kids of 3 and 4 so they found it hard to sleep and so we sometimes had tired kids during the day as they had not slept. We did end up having to ask some people to just try and keep it a bit quiet one evening. Maybe if other guests have small kids it might be well to ask to be situated away from the central eating area to avoid this?

Also, I think it would be great if Stu and Syb could just ask guests to keep some of the older kids quiet after a reasonable time. As parents were having a good time drinking and chatting in the central eating area, some of the older kids were still running around yelling and playing loudly well after 9. 30pm and sometimes past 10pm. As its such a small site some of the younger kids were kept awake by this and us, and some of the other parents with smaller kids had the same issue and had to ask the kids to be quiet (so we knew it was not us being fussy)- I suppose we just wished the parents would have been supervising them a bit more but I know that people are on holiday so want to relax. It just became and issue for us when our kids were still awake at 10. 30pm and wanting to go out and play but completely exhausted.

The toilets were kept as clean as possible considering the muddy weather. I wish they were not unisex and that they could have a separate ladies loo as they did have that mens toilet smell (especially when lots of boys were on site)

Other than these minor things - we loved this site, and thought the owners had thought of lots of things to make campers stay relaxing and peaceful. We would love to return and really enjoyed our stay.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dave189 2 reviews from this member

What a lovely place and the owners Stu and Syb are the most accommodating I have ever come across.

Every second night they cook food for anyone on the site site that wish to partake, this is of course chargeable but is excellent value for money.

Site facilities are good and cleaned often.

Plenty to do in surrounding area, markets on most days. We would say that the one at Samour on Saturdays was the best one we visited.

There are bicycles on site that you are welcome to borrow free of charge, and the surrounding roads are very peaceful you may only see about three cars an hour.

There is a small pool on site although not heated is still nice to cool off in the mid day heat.

There is a kitchen with cooker, fridge freezer, microwave, kettle, again free for anyone who wishes to use it.

We will definitely be returning again. What a gem

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 99 reviews from this member

At last we got here! What a find! Stu and Syb are such a welcoming couple, from the cuppa when we arrived to waving us off when we left 4 days later! We got to know everyone on the site, only 7 pitches were taken when we were there and it felt like a large family! The Pizza night was our first night which made us feel very welcome and we also enjoyed the meal night on Fridays, all round one big table with wine flowing and 4 courses all for n12 euros 50 per head! Loved the chickens wandering round, the 2 cats and of course Bracken the dog! Saumur was a lovely afternoon's visit and we were told the market on Saturday is wonderful. Lovely to just take off in the van and meander around the little villages with their lovely little churches. It was very hot when we were there and the splash pool was very welcome. The loos etc were kept clean, with soap and a hand towel which was changed daily. The 2 gites I was shown round were very well equipped and beautifully arranged. Lovely little wooden playground in the centre of the site for children. Will be back!

Previous     94 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Mouliherne      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2654 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder