Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Manor Meadows

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Fordingbridge > Manor Meadows Reviews

CLOSED: Manor Meadows
Sandle Manor Farm
Sandleheath
Fordingbridge
Hampshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Site Now Closed 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 52 Reviews
                9/10 from 52 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ratcliff-Family 1 review from this member

A hidden gem. A small site selectively opening just during part of July and August. Family run, with fantastic customer service and genuinely friendly and accommodating staff. Great attention to detail.

Although the toilets are chemical, they were spotlessly clean (done several times a day, and always well stocked with toilet roll, soap and hand towels. Also surprisingly no bad smells.

Showers were also similar, very clean, plenty of hot water and free! Dishwashing facilities were really good, pink buckets were available to borrow to transport your dishes during your stay.

Other things to note:

- fire baskets are available to hire, with wood deliveries to your tent early evening to purchase.

- loan of ice blocks if needed and free freezing service again delivered to your tent early evening.

- really good pitch sizes and layout lends well to safe play for kids.

Location wise, just on the edge of the New Forest, which is easily accessible. Fordingbridge has lots of good cafes and places to eat as well as browse. There is also a good kids play park with outdoor paddling pool which ours loved! just a few min drive from the site.

Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maddyeverett 3 reviews from this member

This site is the friendliest site I've ever been to, it's run by the local teenagers and they do it better than most adults. They work so hard and are so friendly. The site facilities are temporary but clean and plenty of them. The workers come around every night, to see if you want a breakfast baguette or if you need freezer blocks refrozen. This service is free of charge- Great service. Fordingbridge is beautiful and great for children down by the river where they can have a paddle and do some pond dipping. We went on a bike ride in the new forest which was fantastic. We would definitely recommend this site and will be returning. Thanks for a lovely break.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mietziecats 6 reviews from this member

We spent three nights here on our way home from the Isle of Wight. Customer service was excellent emails quickly answered and nothing seemed to much trouble.

We had been sent a booking confirmation with a pitch number and went straight to our pitch on arrival. The pitch was level and large.

The site is well placed for visiting the New Forest and there are plenty of facilities (shops etc. ) in the nearby town of Fordingbridge.

The site itself is basic, we were pitched in the first field, which unfortunately was near a road that was busy and noisy in the morning. This field was not very full(only three of us pitched here at the time) and I think we were allocated our pitch as we had requested electric hookup and this had one of the last pitches available. The other fields, particularly the one behind ours seemed fuller.

We also pitched next to the washing up/ tooth brushing area, which had very bright lights that lit up our tent at night. Not helpful for a good nights sleep!

There is a request that campers keep noise to a minimum after 10 at night and I have to say that this did not seemed to be adhered to by a number of campers during our stay, one family in particular still seemed to be shouting at each other at midnight and on our last night a group from the BBC turned up and were still loudly partying at 3 am, although the owners had placed them in a far corner away from everyone else.

It does seem that I have moaned a lot about this site, but it wasn't all bad. The site seems to be mostly run by a group of teenagers who do a super job of keeping everything clean. The on site facilities are super clean (although the porta cabin style toilets have a unique smell)and we never had to wait for a shower, which was always warm. We loved the little details such as a box of toys for the children and the bowls plus washing up equipment available for campers use.

We enjoyed the use of a fire basket, we loved being able to bake potatoes and toast marshmallows in the evening. Logs were delivered by the teenagers in the evening, when they also offered to re-freeze your ice blocks while using some lent by them at no extra charge.

It is a nice basic site, our stay was slightly spoilt by other inconsiderate campers but this was no fault of the owners.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: M+Co 4 reviews from this member

This is the best campsite I have ever stayed on and we were here for 6 nights. The campsite itself is so pretty with lovely views from the tent! You are texted your pitch number (if you give your mobile number on booking) and told to go straight to pitch which was great. Each pitch was huge - 14m x 14m - we had our Outwell Montana 6 with awning attached and we could have fitted another tent on, plus the car and still had room to run around!

The campsite is run completely by the teenage children and their friends, but don't let this put you off - these kids could teach many adults about work ethics and how to run a campsite! I couldn't fault any one of them in any way. So polite, courteous, helpful and the campsite was absolutely spotless! We were in the bottom field, furthest from the road and there was a standard portable loo - not pretty but always clean and great if you didn't fancy the slightly longer walk to the deluxe portaloos (about 30 secs more to walk to!). Showers were hot and clean, again portable style but cleanest showers I've ever seen. Washing up area was generally spotless - washing up bowls, scourers, liquid etc provided and large buckets to carry your washing up to/from tent. There were queues at the busy times but these moved quickly and we just came back when it was quieter. I didn't once have to queue for the toilet, just the showers and washing up sinks.

When the 'crew' did their rounds (usually from 5:30pm onwards) they stopped by to collect any money and offered to refreeze our blocks and offered us a few of their own - I was expecting them to request a fee for this, but no - absolutely free! They then asked if we wanted to hire a fire basket, which we did and offered logs and kindling. We paid 20 for the hire of basket for week and enough kindling and logs for the fires we had. You could just text them if you wanted anything.

Others here have commented that the site needs a playground for kids, but I loved the fact they didn't - my 5 and 3 year old were happy searching for slugs and grasshoppers and looking at the ducks and geese on the pond and playing ball and chasing each other etc etc! I was so glad not to be nagged to take them to the playground as the playground surrounded us everywhere! So please DON'T install a playground.

My only complaint is that they are only open during school holidays! For obvious reasons as the 'crew' are at school/uni during term time! This is obviously only a campsite for the six weeks of the summer holidays so everything is temporary, hence the portaloos etc, but my goodness - they could teach other campsites a thing or two about how to run a superb quality campsite - please don't change anything, apart from maybe a few more showers!

As for things to do - we found a wonderful little bistro serving beautiful homemade food with the most wonderful service at The Fig Tree Cafe in Roman Quay in Fordingbridge. We also ate in the Indian restaurant there, which was lovely. We also went to Moors Valley Country Park just down the road - I don't recommend the Gruffalo trail - very boring and not worth the effort, but the play trail and everything else was great. Go Ape is here too for bigger kids! We also went to Lyndhurst with lovely shops and cafes and there is a great playground for children behind the ferrari/subaru garage - walk into the housing estate and it is a little further down on your right, you can't miss it - but I nearly turned back before I got there!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Browst01 3 reviews from this member

An absolutely fantastic campsite. A real example to the many we've stayed in across the UK. It's the little things that matter the most. The things I loved most included:

- Toilets cleaned several times a day and really smart on the scale of campsites. Always loo roll and hand towel.
- Hot showers
- Buckets for everyone to use while they're there for the dishes
- Ice blocks on offer to borrow or they'll freeze yours for you
- Huge pitches clearly defined.
- Hedging for shade
- Wonderful wood delivery
- Really family friendly, with lovely long avenues for the children to play ball games in safety
- Run by absolutely charming young people from the farm who were just so accommodating
- The hot baguette delivery in the morning!

There is literally very little I could suggest to better this place. We were there on a wet bank holidays and while the shower queues were moving fast, the site wasn't fully occupied so I guess the only thing would be to consider perhaps a couple more showers.

Fabulous location just moments from the best of the New Forest. We will be back, again and again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 71Scottie 7 reviews from this member

Classic camping as it should be!

From making our reservation to saying our goodbye's this was one of the most enjoyable sites we've ever visited.

On arrival we were surprised at the size of our allocated pitch, even if the site is fully booked you are guarenteed space.

The other half was initially put off that the Toilets and Showers are the portable trailer type, but after using them and seeing them cleaned at least twice a day this proved to be no problem.

All other facilities are cleaned, well maintained and beyond adequate.

We were asked to pitch straight away and the fee was collected later in the day when the crew did their rounds.

As stated in earlier reviews we were offered the freezing of our freezer blocks, loaned some replacements and offered the hire of fire grate with the supply of wood etc, all done with courtesy and politeness.

There is signage asking for quiteness after 10pm and to be fair this was well respected, only the crackling of the fires and the gentle hum of conversation heard. The atmosphere on the night time was worth the site fees alone.

The owners even came over to our fire one night and after introducing themselves asked our opinions, we chatted for a good while and enjoyed their company. We both felt this was a nice personal touch that a lot of sites miss out from.

We visited the local town of Fordingbridge, Beaulieu and Bornemouth during our stay but by no means exhausted the local area. We could of stayed another week and still not ran out of things to do.

Would highly recommend this site to anyone, including families with children.

Our only negative is that we live too far away to make this site our local, so if Manor Meadows ever feel like expanding please think about up here in the north!

The first site I have given 10 out of 10!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: *Lindy* 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at Manor Meadows and am very impressed. The pitches are enormous, the customer service the best we have ever had

Loved the outdoor/undercover washing up and teeth-cleaning sinks, provision of bin liners and recycling sacks and the ability to have a fire basket. Oh and bacon baguettes delivered to your tent!

Toilet and shower block are portable cabins - but are very nice and spotlessly clean. Loses one star as the loo's are a bit smelly, but to be expected in warm weather I guess. This is not to say that they weren't clean and well stocked. Plenty of room and hot water in the showers. There were only four but we didn't queue more than five minutes.

The New Forest National Park is about 20-30mins drive away and there are the usual facilities in Fordingbridge which is just a five minute drive.

Should imagine that some of the pitches might incur traffic noise, but that field didn't seem to be very busy, perhaps the owners are mindful of this and select pitches furthest from the road where possible (Pitches are allocated prior to arrival so might be worth checking). We were not disturbed by either traffic, neighbours or anything else.

Will definitely be back

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ellen+Andy 1 review from this member

Just returned from 5 nights at this fantastic site. As others have said the customer service is excellent with the owners visiting each tent every night to offer firebaskets, firewood and the offer of ice packs.

The kids loved toasting marshmallows every night over the fire.

The site is very well situated and we managed to visit a number of small towns within the New Forest itself but also Bournemouth which is a lovely seaside town.

Although there are only a few toilets\showers we never had to wait but then the site was surprisingly empty for the time of year. All facilities are spotless by the way - the owners seem to spend ages cleaning them!

If I had to improve on the site I would say a small children's playground would be nice but not essential.

Overall this site is highly recommended and we will definitely look at returning.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Artevie 1 review from this member

This is a great campsite, well run, friendly, very clean and excellent for families. The toilet's were always spotlessly clean and the showers were better than mine at home!

Our kids had plenty of space to play and ride around and the pitch sizes are good so that you don't end up on top of your next door neighbour. Being able to have a fire in the evening is an added bonus.

We found it easy to get into the new forest from here with loads of walks and cycle rides 15 minutes away. Fordingbridge is a very pleasant town with a supermarket and a lovely pub by the river.

The crew that looked after the site were more than helpful, even bringing over a tractor to jump start our car when the battery went flat. The breakfast baguettes were very tasty and just what we needed on the morning when we were packing up to leave. I would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mom808 2 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site! So well organised and well planned, from spotless toilets and showers to huge pitches and recycling.

Best features are the fire baskets, the bacon/sausage baguettes in the morning and the freezer blocks collection and delivery. All staff were friendly and accommodating and we'll certainly return again.

The site is near to Fordingbridge which has a fantastic park for children including a wonderfully refreshing paddling area for younger children.

Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3872 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019