Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Mountain View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Hereford > Black Mountain View Caravan Park Reviews

Black Mountain View Caravan Park
Bushfield Farm
Clyro
Hay On Wye
Hereford
Powys   (Browse area)
HR3 5RX
Tel: 07971 842997
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: 8th March To October15th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dw5110 3 reviews from this member

Excellent well thought out site with immaculate facilities. Very good value for money and friendly, helpful owners. 40 minutes walk all off road and safe, easy to follow into Hay-on-Wye on good paths makes it ideal for families. Peaceful nights sleep, we will return to this very good site.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hadenmaiden 5 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a four night stay on this lovely site. It comprises three static vans, eight grass pitches for tents and seven hard standing pitches. The site is well laid out and maintained. Toilets/showers are clean and spacious, with subdued outdoor lighting for night time visits. Two sinks in the washing up area are also kept clean and tidy, and the rubbish/recycling area immaculate.

We were there at a quiet time, and there was little pressure on the facilities. We were not sure how they might cope if all pitches were in use.

James and Nerys were both friendly and very helpful.

The walk along the riverside into Hay is brilliant, and quite level until the last five minutes or so.

This site has possibly the best dog walking area of any we've visited - two fields where the dogs are able to run free to their hearts content. Shops are a bit of a way off, so organisation is the key if you don't want to be going off site to shop. One you get into Hay, we would recommend a trip to the Granary, which has great fresh. Y prepared food, and is very dog friendly.

Access from the road is excellent. The site is next to the main road, the statics being closest to the road. If you want a hard standing, the pitches furthest from the road are numbers 11 and 12, whilst the furthest away grass pitches would be 14 and 15. Unfortunately we went at harvest time which meant that farmers were working long hours, so the road was quite noisy though the night, but I don't think this would be a problem for most of the year.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Vaughnsins 4 reviews from this member

Great family run campsite who really made us feel welcome. Great facilities and impeccably maintained site. A stunning view from out tent. Great place for bird watches with Buzzards frequently circling overhead, and stunning walk through the countryside into Hay on Wye.

Free showers too! We had three great nights here

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stephengcooper@ 5 reviews from this member

A real find for Hay Book Festival. I was a late booker when everywhere else was jammed for Bank Hol weekend, and James squeezed me in as a single tent. He greeted me by name when I arrived and was helpful and amiable throughout my stay. Lovely views and light, and great contrails above. Immaculate loo/showers and with that great advantage of enough hooks in the shower compartments to hang BOTH sets of clothes up. 45mins walk to Hay along Offa's Dyke trail. Very peaceful. Some traffic roar late on, but I think that was everyone leaving the Festival and heading up the A438. Not a problem, and only one week a year. I'll be back.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Andrew27 3 reviews from this member

Great little site James the owner was very polite and gave us all the information we needed to get around the local area, the site toilets and showers were all ways clean at any time of the day a great site to use if its your first time out. There are lovely walks up and down the valley into hay on wye and along offas dyke.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chippenham 1 review from this member

This was our first camping weekend with our three young children. The site was clean, tidy and well laid out with a lovely view. We were made to feel welcome by the owner and other campers alike.

Showers and toilets were all clean and in good working order. The family room with baby changing table was an added bonus for us.

There was a children's play area with rugby and football posts.

No shop on site, although fresh free range eggs are available.

Hay-on-Wye was great with lots to see and do.

I recommend 'The Pandy Inn' which is a few miles along the B4348 out of Hay, at a village called Dorstone. Lovely food, ambience and child friendy.

A lovely weekend and we hope to return.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Socon6 5 reviews from this member

This was our 3rd visit here and we will be back. A small peaceful site, with good facilities - always very clean, plenty of hot water for the showers, sinks and dishwashing. Our pitch this time gave us uninterrupted views of the Black Mountains as we were at the bottom of the site. The dog walking fields are great, although this year there were too many sheep around to let one of our dogs off lead, as he showed too much interest in them for comfort. There are lots of other walks nearby.

As usual, James the owner was on hand with friendly help and advice. The site was almost full on Saturday but was still peaceful, and no queues for the showers. The walk from the site to Hay on Wye is great - and plenty do do and see when you get there.

Had a meal at the Baskerville Arms which was really good.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Miles1966 22 reviews from this member

This is an absolute gem of a site. The owner is friendly and helpful beyond belief! The shower block is spotless, and all in all we can't fault it. There is a right of way from the site to Hay, which takes about 45 minutes through fields and countryside and Offa's Dyke. Access is great, just off the A438. There is a bit of traffic noise, but it's not too bad.

Would highly recommend the site.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Landcaper 6 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site over Easter with extended family (8 adults and 2 children) - nothing is too much trouble for the owner and his wife who even offered to help put a tent up at 10 pm when one of our party arrived late. The showers are warm and spotless; and no periods of it being shut because of cleaning. It is always clean. The site is grass with stone hardstandings. The grass isn't tightly manicured so no annoying sounds of mowers when you are just about to have a snooze after lunch. The 40 min walk into Hay-on-Wye is easy going and picturesque. The children enjoyed playing on the edge of the river on the small stoney beaches. Lots of cafes and restaurants and independent shops in Hay to stroll around and the place is buzzing. The site is easy to find and well signposted. The local pub (one mile away) does good food and accommodated 10 of us for Sunday lunch - and made the children feel very welcome.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DAC1083 4 reviews from this member

Lovely little site. About 10 hard standing pitches for Motorhomes or caravans. Central grassed area for caravans or tents. All EHU. Also 3 statics available for hire. Good views of Black Mountains. Small but modern, clean toilet blocks. Showers/EHU inc in price. Owners very friendly and helpful. About 1. 5 mile walk to Hay on Wye on Offa's Dyke path and part along the Wye. Took us about 40 minutes each way just strolling most of it. TV signal not bad, just had to raise the van aerial but you can hook into the site signal if required. Field adjacent for ball games etc and exercising dogs.

All in all, a great little site!

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Hereford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6045 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019