Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Mountain View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Hereford > Black Mountain View Caravan Park Reviews

Black Mountain View Caravan Park
Bushfield Farm
Clyro
Hay On Wye
Hereford
Powys   (Browse area)
HR3 5RX
Tel: 07971 842997
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: 8th March To October15th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bernie1228 3 reviews from this member

Wow what a site. The views of the black mountains from the site are fantastic even inspired us to go and climb Hey Bluff because it was there. The facilities are spotless and purpose built not a conversion and the owners James and Nerys are very helpful. It certainly deserves a visit if you are looking for some good walks. Lots of walking information in the tourist information in Hay if you want a little piece of heaven then book now.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nughesboy 3 reviews from this member

Top Class ! As simple as that. James, the site owner, was very helpful, polite, and customer caring, nothing too much trouble for him. Easy going person, and good sense of humour. Toilets and showers very clean with the site itself first class. Great for the families with kids to run about and have fun in the large field and at the same time peaceful for the campers on an adult only break also. Easy 45 minute walk into Hay on Wye, and a good local pub with good food about a mile down the road. Would strongly recommend, and will definitely return, next time with our Grandchildren.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beckerman 2 reviews from this member

I spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed the peace and quiet and also the setting that this site is located within. Any where you are pitched on this site affords you great views of the surrounding mountains. The site is well maintained, the shower and toilet block are good and it also has a covered area for dish washing. Hay on Wye is a 30 minute walk from the campsite which joins a section of the Offas Duke path into town. Plenty of pubs, cafes and chip shops to choose from. James the owner is very friendly and can give you all the local information you require. Would I come here again ? Most definitely.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dharmadoo 7 reviews from this member

This was our fourth visit to this lovely little site, we come back for a weekend every year. We have stayed here both alone and with friends in other caravans and one of the static rentals.

The fact that we keep returning says it all really and I can only echo the positive reviews left by others.

Lovely site with amazing views of the Black Mountains, James is the friendliest most helpful host ever, clean facilities, fantastic walk through the fields into Hay, easy to find and access, great communication with James via e-mail prior to arrival.

Hay itself is a charming little town that I adore wandering around. Perfect for those of us that enjoy life at a relaxed pace and like arts, crafts, antiques and, of course, books. A Plethora of cafes and many of them dog-friendly. Further afield you can walk along Offas Dyke path and the Black Mountains. The Brecon Beacons are within reach and well worth the drive if you enjoy hiking and walking. Kayaking down the river looks fun but we have never indulged in it as we always have our dogs with us when we stay.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tony Deane 1 review from this member

Excellent site, very well kept with spotless facilities. All EHU's have a TV aerial point so remember to take a long co-ax cable. Beautiful views of the Black Mountains. Easy walk over fields and along the Wye into Hay. The owner, James, is very helpful, guiding my reversing the caravan into the perfect position. Easy access into nearby Hay-on-Wye. We stayed her for three nights to visit the Hay festival. We're looking forward to returning. It is a gem of a site.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DODON 1 review from this member

We had five nights at this lovely spot. James the owner is very welcoming and maintains the site to a high standard. The walk into Hay is lovely, across fields and alongside the river and the views from any pitch are stunning.

Definitely one to return to.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindilou2013 32 reviews from this member

I don't want to rave about this site because I would love to keep it all to just us but that wouldn't be fair on James who runs this excellent small site!

The views are to die for. I could have sat all day, every day just watching the ever changing appearance of the mountains.

James gives a lovely, friendly welcome making you feel right at home and he keeps a tight reign on what is happening on site. He's all seeing and knowing and always on hand if needed.

Facilities are beautifully clean. The site is well kept and well maintained. I wish all small sites could be like this one, there are lessons to be learned, even for CC and CCC sites!

The walk into Hay is a decent one and there are so many beautiful places nearby to visit. There is a little road noise but nothing to mar your enjoyment of the peace and tranquility of the site.

We shall return!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karen bell 3 reviews from this member

We turned up before 10. 00 am on the morning we had booked to arrive, having been desperate to get away from our previous, very disappointing site, having only spent 1 night there instead of 4.

This didn't phase James, who immediately stepped in to help me manoeuvre my caravan into perfect position, saving me having to spend time using the motor mover.

The site is immaculate everywhere, beautifully maintained and everything is easily accessible, even for my mother who is a bit dicky on her feet.

The view is to die for and the footpath directly into the countryside from the site is perfect for walkers and dog-owners.

James is the host with the most; friendly, helpful and always available if needed.

The only thing we would have found useful would have been a grab rail into the family/disabled facilities, but that's just splitting hairs as Mom managed ok.

We will re-visit this site.

Thank you James!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Michelle C C 2 reviews from this member

Really lovely friendly little site. Camped for 2 nights with my daughter. Felt completely safe and relaxed there. James was really helpful and usually around if you needed anything. Block is very clean and kept tidy ( a plug to use the straighteners may be useful but did ok with the hook up). Lovely walk into Hay. Pretty quiet, little bit of road noise but nothing to bother you and more than made up for by the beautiful views. Perfect camp site for me, will definitely be back soon James thank you 😁

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dropy 1 review from this member

Small but well kept camp-site with stunning views of Black Mountain. Clean and well kept by friendly camp-site owner. Handy for Hay on Wye By car or on foot via a walk across fields and along river. Will return.

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4370 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019