Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Black Mountain View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Hereford > Black Mountain View Caravan Park Reviews

Black Mountain View Caravan Park
Bushfield Farm
Clyro
Hay On Wye
Hereford
Powys   (Browse area)
HR3 5RX
Tel: 07971 842997
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: 8th March To October15th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Jazlady 1 review from this member

Just returned from this lovely site. I must agree with the previous reviews. The owner was not there to greet us on arrival but I like the fact that we could find our way to our pitch from the information on the notice board. But he did introduce himself once we were settled in. The owners were very helpful and accommodating.

We wanted a site which was walking distance to Hay-on-Wye for the festival. From this site it was easy to walk to Hay, via the Offa's Dyke path, approx 2 3/4.

The path took us through farmland and long the river Wye until we came along to bridge which leads into Hay itself.

I think this site has worked well because it is small which meant that we didn't had to queue to use the washing facilities (which were keep very clean) at any time!

If you have a well behaved dog, there is an area which is basically a field where they can walk. Superb views of Hays Bluff especially at sunset.

Definitely book this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Trigano575 6 reviews from this member

Unit= folding camper

The best campsite we have stayed on so far!

If you want to explore Hay-on-Wye or the local area this is a well-situated campsite.

Customer service is excellent - from our first enquiry to the day we left, the owner was friendly and helpful. He was always around for a cheery chat and to advise you on the local area.

The owners of this site have been campers themselves and have based their site on what they would want themselves. So the facilities are excellent. It is a small campsite and lovely with it. All pitches have hook up, water and I think a tv connection (but we don't take a tv with our unit).

They are generous in size and defined well. Views of the area are lovely. It is near the main road but this is not busy at night and never disturbed us. The site was quiet at night and we got excellent sleep in the fresh air. Our son made friends with other children on the site and being small it was ok to let him go off and play under the supervision of the other family who willingly let him play with their children(he was only 3 last year!).

The showering facilities were kept very clean and were lovely. I do love a really hot shower and this was maybe not quite as hot as I would like but my showers are really hot and these were certainly more than warm enough. As you couldn't adjust them I guess they would be too hot for children if any hotter. They were reliable and consistent at any time of day. Dishwashing is under a covered area.

I have great pleasure in really recommending this site - book early if you want to stay during the Hay festival at the end of May / beginning of June.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Elmo09 7 reviews from this member

We'd like to echo many of the comments from previous reviewers. The owner wasn't available to meet us when we arrived but our pitch was clearly marked on the notice board, so we could pitch up without any delay.

After a short while the owner came over to see us. He was very friendly, he explained the walking routes into Hay-on-Wye and the best pubs for a drink and food.

The shower block and washing-up area were spotlessly clean. The views from our pitch were excellent and we found the site very peaceful and quiet despite being near to the main road. We found the road went very quiet from late evening onwards.

We'd definitely like to return very soon. It's was a perfect base for us to explore Hay-on-Wye.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Charleygirl 20 reviews from this member

We have just returned today from a two night stay at this site. Only wish we could have stayed for two weeks! Absolutely fabulous site, views to die for, such friendly and helpful hosts, the shower block is brand new and brilliant, nothing has been spared in the extremely well thought out site. Electric hook ups are easily accessible, grey water waste is very well thought out, fresh water is close to each pitch. There are only 14 pitches + 3 statics but it is one of the best sites we have ever stayed on and will recommend to all our friends. Thank you for your very warm welcome & kindness.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulsvernon 5 reviews from this member

I could say how wonderful the site is, how nice and helpful James and Nerys are, but instead, just read all of the other reviews. They are absolutely spot on. This is a site run by guys who have been camping themselves. They went to other campsites, and then built this place, with all the little things that make that extra difference, and none of the silly things that annoy. Do go there, I promise you will not be disappointed.

I've only been home an hour and I'm planning my next visit already.

Oh, by the way, Hay is quite a nice place too!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Economysir 1 review from this member

This is an absolutely fantastic site. We have just come back from a 2 night stay and it was brilliant.

The chap who runs it could not be more helpful and accommodating. The site itself is spotless and the views are incredible. Pitch 3 or 11 guarantees a view of Hay Bluff which is an amazing backdrop for breakfast.

Dinner at the Baskerville Arms is a must the staff are friendly, the atmosphere is great and the food was awesome!

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Oldslippers 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two night stop on this site.

It is very, very good.

The toilet/shower block is spotless and heated.

We were met by the owner and he is very helpful and appears an all round all good egg!

Whilst we were there there were VERY heavy frosts both nights and the outside tap for our water had been covered with a coat and blanket, It would have been easy to just turn it off and make us use the indoor taps but I get the idea this campsite doesn't do easy but does do 'very good'

Easy walk in to Hay on wye through fields with eclectic shops.

I cant stress how nice this site is and I have been touring for about 30 yrs.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tenting brothers 1 review from this member

My brother and I just got back today from a fantastic 3 day break at this campsite. The campsite is positioned with a wonderful view of the countryside and mountains. On arrival we were met by a very friendly owner who told us the best pitches to use and a brief rundown of the local area even offering to ring some local pubs for us to check who was serving food that day. The toilet/shower block was of a good size and immaculate inside and out, and was the best we have encountered while camping. In short a wonderful campsite with top facilities and a lovely, welcoming, family atmosphere (not to mention very reasonably priced)

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackwinguk 9 reviews from this member

This campsite has a beautiful view of the countryside and mountains. We found James, the owner to be most friendly and welcoming throughout our stay. This site has everything you want in a campsite, peace and quiet, places to go within walking distance, and top grade on site facilities. Even the sheep are friendly.

We will certainly be visiting again.And will remember not to follow our satNav when she says turn right.When the campsite is 2 minutes down the road on the left.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dutch campers 3 reviews from this member

We like to look before we book when we camp and so have checked out almost all campsites in the Hay on Wye area. Arriving at Black mountain view was a great relief after seeing to many disgusting facilities on other campsites. With a toddler you just want it to be clean and it was spotless!

The owners were fantastic offering cream for my little girls hand after she fell in some nettles, a nappy when my other half accidentally took all our nappies in the car on a shopping trip. Weather forecast printed and left outside our tent and even a list of other campsites for our next destination.

So close to the fantastic Hay on Wye book town where I spent a couple of hours every day.

We were planning to stay in this area for only 2 days but we felt so much at home we just didn´t want to leave so we stayed for the week and just explored the Brecon Beacons from here.

We wish the owners the best of luck and best wishes from your Dutch campers.

Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Hereford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4021 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019