Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Black Mountain View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Hereford > Black Mountain View Caravan Park Reviews

Black Mountain View Caravan Park
Bushfield Farm
Clyro
Hay On Wye
Hereford
Powys   (Browse area)
HR3 5RX
Tel: 07971 842997
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: 8th March To October15th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Landcaper 7 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site over Easter with extended family (8 adults and 2 children) - nothing is too much trouble for the owner and his wife who even offered to help put a tent up at 10 pm when one of our party arrived late. The showers are warm and spotless; and no periods of it being shut because of cleaning. It is always clean. The site is grass with stone hardstandings. The grass isn't tightly manicured so no annoying sounds of mowers when you are just about to have a snooze after lunch. The 40 min walk into Hay-on-Wye is easy going and picturesque. The children enjoyed playing on the edge of the river on the small stoney beaches. Lots of cafes and restaurants and independent shops in Hay to stroll around and the place is buzzing. The site is easy to find and well signposted. The local pub (one mile away) does good food and accommodated 10 of us for Sunday lunch - and made the children feel very welcome.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DAC1083 4 reviews from this member

Lovely little site. About 10 hard standing pitches for Motorhomes or caravans. Central grassed area for caravans or tents. All EHU. Also 3 statics available for hire. Good views of Black Mountains. Small but modern, clean toilet blocks. Showers/EHU inc in price. Owners very friendly and helpful. About 1. 5 mile walk to Hay on Wye on Offa's Dyke path and part along the Wye. Took us about 40 minutes each way just strolling most of it. TV signal not bad, just had to raise the van aerial but you can hook into the site signal if required. Field adjacent for ball games etc and exercising dogs.

All in all, a great little site!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Happy campervaner 1 review from this member

Just spent a night at Black Mountain View which was only the second in our new motorhome! We loved the site which was small and well cared for with magnificent views as the name suggests! The facilities were new and very clean. James, the owner, was friendly and very helpful. It was only a 35/40 minute walk into Hay which was perfect for us. We hope to be back soon.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TheMindDoctor 9 reviews from this member

This is a very nice site. Even in the depths of winter, the shower block was warm and the water hot. The owner took time to get me settled in and was obviously proud of what was being achieved at the site. This was my second visit, but last time it was so foggy I couldn't see the view! This time, well, the view is magnificent. The owner has tempted me back next summer to walk from the site to the Black Mountains.

When approaching by road, slow down in good time as the turning into the site is quite sharp and easily missed!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hippyc 9 reviews from this member

Arrived to a warm and friendly welcome from owner James who provided me with a map of the site and the walks available from it through to Hay on Wye and Offa's Dyke.

Superbly laid out site with awesome views of the Black Mountains. The pitch was generous and level. There is some road noise at the top of the site but this does get noticeably less as the day ends so does not disturb your sleep.

The toilet/shower block was well laid out, with a beautiful floral hanging basket display. Inside was as good as outside, clean, warm and with plenty of hot water.

The site is open almost all year round (except for 2 weeks in December). I only stayed one night as a break returning home from Cornwall but am already planning to revisit for a long weekend later this year.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scotty12 2 reviews from this member

This is an absolute gem of a site. Was met by the owner who couldn't have been nicer. Unfortunately the owner was just off to a funeral but said he would come back and see us when he returned.

The site is small and perfect. Lovely views over to the mountains across the fields. Very quite when we were there. Toilet block is immaculate and always kept clean.

Site is only about a mile and half walk to Hay on Wye and James supplied a map for us and explained they way. Lovely walk into the village. Some road noise but soon got used to it.

The surrounding countryside and imposing Black Mountains and owners make this a must come back to site.

Well done on all your hard work, you have a wonderful site and long may it continue.

See you again soon!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geraldinerocks 17 reviews from this member

Loved this site. It's one of those gems you find that are small but have excellent facilities.

Beautiful views, lovely walk of about 2-3 miles into Hay on Wye. Good hardstanding pitches with electricity and water right behind each pitch. Toilets/free showers very clean. Nice washing up area.

We toured with friends and had 3 caravans, 2 tents and a static between us. All our various needs were perfectly met.

The owner couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful.

Would definitely recommend and would go back tomorrow, if I could!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Swanseajack13 7 reviews from this member

Thank you. We arrived at the site to be greeted by the owner who was very friendly and helpful. The site is a credit to all the people who have worked on it. The shower block was immaculate and the views spectacular. We only intended to stay Friday and Saturday night but stayed an extra night with no problems. We went to the steam fare in Hay and the weather was lovely. Hay is about a mile and a half away and the pub about a mile. We can't recommend this site highly enough if you want a warm friendly family site that is dog and child friendly.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Socon6 5 reviews from this member

Second visit to this site. Pitches are generous, there are plenty of water points and individual electric hook ups. Tourers and tents share the same field and pitches. Using the caravan mover, we were allowed to park 'nose in' to the hedge, which gave us a lovely private spot at the bottom end of the site, adjacent to the dog walking area, perfect for our two dogs to run free - it's large and well fenced. The toilet and shower block was spotless throughout, with two showers, toilets and handbasins in each section, as well as a dishwashing area and disposal points. James, the owner, was friendly and helpful, giving any help you need in getting on and off the pitch. The views are beautiful towards the Black Mountain and Hay Bluff. The walk to Hay on Wye is great, and James was in the process of making a footpath to join the walk directly from the site, which will make it even better. There are several pubs nearby, and shops and a Co-op supermarket in Hay. No specific kids area, though there is a field with football goals to play in, and the children there enjoyed riding their bikes around the site.

A peaceful site in a beautiful location and within easy reach of local facilities. My rating for child friendliness is based on facilities, not the welcome!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Glampingladie 1 review from this member

We visited Black Mountain View, staying only for a couple of nights. The owners are welcoming and helpful. The site is neat, tidy and well maintained. The shower/toilet block is kept immaculately clean. The whole set up is spot on. Our dogs were able to have a good run in a large attached fenced paddock area. We also saw a safe fenced area for children to play. The site is small, peaceful (other than some road noise) and has amazing views. We visited Hay on Wye which is very close by and within walking distance, the owners kindly gave us a map detailing a route across country. I wouldn't hesitate to visit again or recommend.

Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Hereford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3836 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019