Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Mountain View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Hereford > Black Mountain View Caravan Park Reviews

Black Mountain View Caravan Park
Bushfield Farm
Clyro
Hay On Wye
Hereford
Powys   (Browse area)
HR3 5RX
Tel: 07971 842997
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: 8th March To October15th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LIZ20557 11 reviews from this member

What a great campsite, we spent 2 nights here in mid august. I judge campsites by the shower / toilet facilities and these were perfect. They had a disabled / family room which made showering a 2 year old easy. The main showers were lovely and clean, with lots of hot water. Only slight downside was that the showers were quite powerful so did spray water quite widely. Don't put too much on the floor! But I would rather that, than a little trickle of water! Overall the site was very clean and tidy.

The owners were very friendly and helpful and would stop for a chat. We have a large unit and although they had allocated us a pitch, they changed it so that we didn't obscure the view for others but still had a great view ourselves.

Although there is no play area (they are considering it I believe), there is a big field for kids to play in.

Close to Hay on Wye, easy to cycle there on our bikes. We didn't try the walk but that was just down to time. Hay is a lovely small town with plenty of places to eat and drink and local shops.

If we are in the area again then we would definitely stay there. Highly recommended and a good price too.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Socon6 5 reviews from this member

This site is excellent for touring the beautiful countryside around Hay on Wye, Hay Bluff and the Black mountains. There is a pub within walking distance, and shops in nearby Hay on Wye. It is alongside a road which can be a bit noisy, but this did not bother us. We were given a hardstanding with a beautiful view towards the mountains, and my sister and her son had their tent pitched opposite us. The owners were welcoming and friendly. We wanted a site with a dog walk, which this one advertised as having. Unfortunately for us, it is very small, and shared by the children's play area, so wasn't great for our very exuberant pair. This was immediately solved by the owner who allowed us to walk in the adjacent sheep free field, and also pointed us in the direction of a fabulous footpath to Hay very close by. The toilet block is very well maintained, with great showers, all kept scrupulously clean. A covered dishwashing area is also available. A very well maintained and clean site which we would use again when visiting the area.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Foley799 16 reviews from this member

A beautiful location - couldn't be bettered. It's quiet and peaceful, just a bit of road noise, but not enough to spoil the stay.

The site is easy to find, and the welcome was excellent. The ground was far from level, but quite a few blocks and bricks were available to help levelling.

The shower/toilet block is good for this type of site, (ie not a huge 'holiday park' type with huge prices) and is cleaned regularly.

The pitches are well spaced, even with the awning erected there was lots of room around our pitch.

We'll use this site again when we want to be near Hay on Wye.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sianangharadgrant 14 reviews from this member

This site is a gem, I searched broadly for a good, small site in this area and this one seemed to tick all of the boxes. The owner was so helpful and friendly over the phone and we were really looking forward to our trip. Upon arrival it was clear where our pitch was (if no-one is about there's a noticeboard) and it was no hassle when we inquired as to whether we could have a pitch a bit further away from the block; The owner had a wander round with us and we found the ideal pitch for us, despite it being a busy bank holiday weekend.

The site has a lovely, rural feel and the views are terrific; it was very peaceful despite the site being full on some nights and the other campers were friendly too - I'm convinced this is as a result of The owner's approach and keenness to ensure that everyone's happy with their pitch and the site in general. This is certainly not a site for large groups and that suited us fine, as far as we're concerned camping is about relaxing and enjoying the local area. The toilet block is immaculate - 2 powerful showers in both male and female with plenty of hot water.

There are plenty of good walks from the site - we walked to Hay Bluff along the Offa's Dyke path and back a slightly different route (15 miles round trip); 15ish miles further afield there are the fantastic Brecon Beacons so no shortage. Hay is lovely with all of it's bookshops although we did our shopping in Brecon (Morrisons, Co-op and Aldi plus local shops) and there's no shortage of things to keep you occupied in the area at all.

One thing I'm puzzled at is how a previous reviewer can say that the dog walk is small - there's 2 good sized fields for dogs to run off the lead so don't let that put you off, we watched numerous energetic dogs having a great time! The site is very reasonably priced, even cheaper if you don't have electric (we don't usually but were lent a lead so we could charge phones and camera gear, very convenient).

We both felt really sad when it was time to leave because we'd had a great time and loved the site, one of the few where the owners take the time to get to know you and are keen to see people return year on year - I have a feeling that won't be a problem!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulsvernon 5 reviews from this member

Second visit to this site. Last time we thought it was great and left little room for improvement, but The owner had somehow managed to find a few things to tweak.

All in all a cracking site, run by someone who really cares and, unusually for a site owner, has actually been camping so knows what we want.

Easy access to Hay, either by car or along the river, and the views - amazing.

Visit this site - you'll not be disappointed.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Peter Downey 1 review from this member

Great well looked after site with very clean washrooms. The site has nice views out over fields and the Black Mountains. There are only 16 pitches and 3 static caravans and no shop so come prepared as the nearest shops are in Hay.

The pitches are reasonably level and the owner is usually on site to lend a helping hand and offer advice and information on the surrounding area.

Only a 40 minute walk from Hay-on-Wye along the Offas Dyke Path and a shortish (20 mins)walk from the Baskerville Arms which sells reasonably priced good pub food and nice beer.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulanddifitzy 5 reviews from this member

We visited Site last year on passing just to take a quick inspection, and said we would return. We Did, and are so glad that we did.

The Site is fairly small with impeccable pitches, neatly mowed by James. Each pitch has access to Water and T. V hook-up (Sky Sat socket also ! bring your sky box !)

As already stated, Toilets and showers are very high standard, 2 Toilets and Two Showers in each. Also a disabled / Family toilet and Shower room if required.

James and his wife are very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable of local area. Always there if needed.

If we go to Hay on Wye again, we will definitely stay here.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Timotheus 4 reviews from this member

This was the second year that we had spent the Hay Festival week at this campsite. It is well run by the owner and his wife. He is always around to help users and ensure that the facilities are up to scratch. The ablutions block is modern, well designed and kept spotless. There is plenty of hot water for the showers and the washing up sinks.

The view over the Wye Valley is spectacular and access to the site is easy from the main Brecon to Hereford Road.

There is good on-site dog walking in two large fields adjoining the camp site itself.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Annelies Scott 1 review from this member

Great stay at very short notice. James who runs the place really goes the extra mile and cares about his customers. It was the busiest weekend of the year (during the Hay Festival) but instead of turning us away, he made such an effort to find space for us.

It's a lovely small site, with excellent loos and showers (free) and great views. Just a mile and a half from Hay centre. Small field for a children's play area, and another field for dog walking. Some hardstanding pitches, some on grass.

Plenty of water points. I really appreciated the quietness of such a small site. We will definitely be returning next year.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tibbs69 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site over the Easter bank holiday weekend. We were greeted by the owner who showed us where to pitch and was then extremely helpful when we had problems trying to get our caravan level. He was always around if you needed him for anything but in no way intrusive.

It's a small campsite, very clean and tidy with spotless showers and loos. Even though it was fully booked we didn't have to wait for a shower and there was always hot water.

The pitches are of an adequate size but we were right in the middle and I did feel a little exposed with caravans all around us. I think that some hedging between between the pitches would be an improvement as you can see straight into your neighbours van and vice versa.

There is a field for children to play in so plenty of space for them. However whilst we were there, for an hour or so in the evenings, there were several boys who kept riding their bikes round and round the site as if it were a race track! This was a bit annoying as they could have easily knocked you over if you had happened to have come out of the toilet block at an inopportune moment. But they did stop though once it got dark and then it was very quiet.

Even though this site is situated next to quite a busy main road I can't say we noticed any noise from it and you can enjoy some lovely views of the black mountains which were snow capped when we were there.

Hay on wye is a quaint little old town with lots of lovely galleries, antique shops and coffee shops. And of course is well known for being a book lovers paradise as there are many book shops.

You can reach it on foot in about an hour by taking a lovely walk through some fields and along the river bank. Just make sure you stick to the footpath as we got told off by a farmer for trying to take a short cut across his land! I think this must happen quite often as he was there as quick as a flash! We also rode in on our bikes going via some quiet country lanes.

In summary this is a small, well kept site with friendly helpful owners. It's probably very peaceful during school term time and is very reasonably priced. If you're visiting this neck of the woods I would recommend this campsite as a great base for exploring the surrounding area.

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Hereford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4312 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019