Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Black Mountain View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Hereford > Black Mountain View Caravan Park Reviews

Black Mountain View Caravan Park
Bushfield Farm
Clyro
Hay On Wye
Hereford
Powys   (Browse area)
HR3 5RX
Tel: 07971 842997
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: 8th March To October15th

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suzanne Foster 12 reviews from this member

Have stayed here several times and never been disappointed. A small site but all the better for that! Facilities excellent, always clean and very modern. Views are fantastic and James tries to ensure that all visitors get a view of the mountains.

40 minute walk into Hay, either along signed path over fields or via quiet lane. Hay is lovely, full of book shops, craft shops, clothes shops and good pubs.

The Indian restaurant 'Red Indigo' is superb but booking advisable. Also good fish & chip shop. I am new to caravanning, having always preferred hotels, but I love this site and will return again and again.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Casswag60 3 reviews from this member

Nerys & James can be justifiably proud of their creation.

Not only do the immaculately clean facilities, neat layout of pitches & good access do them credit, but when added to their warm & professional manner, a competitive tariff & the brilliant views, this site becomes a must for anyone looking to visit Hay on Wye or just walk in this beautiful area of the Wye valley along the Offa's Dyke trail.

One can quibble about the traffic noise on the nearby road during the day but it almost disappears at night & it is more than outweighed by the excellence of this site.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

What a lovely site and would agree totally with previous reviews that this is a gem.

We arrived and fund a clearly marked notice of where to park, an hour or so later owner popped over to say hello, take money and tell us a bit about the area. Really friendly and nothing too much trouble.

Shower / toilet block is immaculate, piping hot water and a credit to the site.

Although the main road is above the site very little traffic noise during the night. ASll the usual ehu, chem disposal, dish wash etc on site. Only 3 hard standings and also 3 statics for hire on site. There is a play field and dog walk at the bottom of the site too.

The owner has a couple of routes to get to Hay on Wye walking - we went across the field in just over an hour but the lanes would be quicker.

At 17 per night this site was real value for money and would recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Baloo bear 1 review from this member

Just back from a lovely two night stay at this lovely campsite. Fantastic views over the mountains and the owners were so helpful and friendly. The pitches were flat and gave you plenty of space everything was easily accessible.

Spotlessly clean toilets and showers. Hay on Wye is about 1 and a half miles away and is a very nice town with loads of bookshops and a fabulous antique market where I could have spent hours browsing.

We will definitely return here again but for longer as the site is so peaceful and in beautiful surroundings. We hopefully will bring our friends and have a rally for our Teardrop trailers in the future. This site is highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Flowergirl42 2 reviews from this member

Can only agree with all the other reviews - absolutely fabulous site.

The site is very small but perfectly situated with a fantastic view of the black mountains. The toilet block is new and was spotlessly clean, whatever time of the day we used it. There is no shop on site but there is a Co-op and a small Spar in Hay-on-Wye.

The owners are very helpful and friendly and it seemed like nothing was too much trouble. James even came round to see us on the morning we left to see if everything was o. K. As he was going out and would not be there when we left.

Hay-on-Wye is a book lovers paradise. Spent many happy hours browsing and purchased a fair few bargains.

James recommended the local pub, the Baskerville Arms, but we didn't use it as the weather was so glorious we had a barbecue instead and just enjoyed sitting out in the evening sun.

If you want a quiet site in a great location, then this one fits the bill and we definitely hope to return.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jomeelgsp 1 review from this member

Stayed two nights at this delightful site. We were welcomed by the friendly owner on arrival and given information about the surrounding area.

The site is true to its name with beautiful views of the mountains in the distance. With a short walk to Hay on Wye over Offa's Dyke this is a lovely location.

The toilet and shower facilities are immaculate with loads of hot water. Attention to detail is key on this site. James has lovely flower baskets around the toilet area, lampposts lit on an evening and a dog exercise field.

Would definitely recommend this site

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuclear pete 2 reviews from this member

A lovely little site. We're new to all of this camping business and James, the owner, was a paragon of helpfulness, taking a real interest in his customers.

The shower block was either very new or brand new. Small as befits the site, but is spotlessly clean and has everything you need, it all works perfectly and is in with the price (apart from the hairdryer - not an issue for me). A bit chilly, but that was more to do with the weather.

Pitches are good, pretty level with electric hook up and whilst not each had its own water, taps were within easy distance so unless you have a really short hose you don't have to cart it to your van. Unusually, there is also free TV hook up (James will lend you a lead), useful for us as our TV reception was dodgy - the motorhome was hired.

It's a bit of a trek into Hay on foot (we didn't have bikes as we had our dog with us), but worthwhile, the Kilverts pub is good and lets dogs in. Food over promises a bit, but it's still good.

Only minor niggle is that the grading of the hardstanding is rather fine and you end up traipsing it through the van.

All in all though, would thoroughly recommend, we would not hesitate to return.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Springer Spaniel 1 review from this member

First visit for us - chosen for its close proximity to Hay on wye and the Hay festival.

Site is lovely, very friendly and helpful owners - there when you need them but not snooping around like some site owners are !. James went out of his way to mend out our jockey wheel when we were leaving the site.

James took the time to stop and chat to us and answer any questions. Very receptive to constructive suggestions about site and explained reasons for how things were. EG the short hose pipe at the chemical toilet and wastewater disposal.

Many thanks from us all [ including our Springer spaniels who really enjoyed the two huge fields available for their exercise and great sniffing trails ]

We enjoyed the mix of campers, trailer-tents and larger caravans too.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Jazlady 1 review from this member

Just returned from this lovely site. I must agree with the previous reviews. The owner was not there to greet us on arrival but I like the fact that we could find our way to our pitch from the information on the notice board. But he did introduce himself once we were settled in. The owners were very helpful and accommodating.

We wanted a site which was walking distance to Hay-on-Wye for the festival. From this site it was easy to walk to Hay, via the Offa's Dyke path, approx 2 3/4.

The path took us through farmland and long the river Wye until we came along to bridge which leads into Hay itself.

I think this site has worked well because it is small which meant that we didn't had to queue to use the washing facilities (which were keep very clean) at any time!

If you have a well behaved dog, there is an area which is basically a field where they can walk. Superb views of Hays Bluff especially at sunset.

Definitely book this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Trigano575 6 reviews from this member

Unit= folding camper

The best campsite we have stayed on so far!

If you want to explore Hay-on-Wye or the local area this is a well-situated campsite.

Customer service is excellent - from our first enquiry to the day we left, the owner was friendly and helpful. He was always around for a cheery chat and to advise you on the local area.

The owners of this site have been campers themselves and have based their site on what they would want themselves. So the facilities are excellent. It is a small campsite and lovely with it. All pitches have hook up, water and I think a tv connection (but we don't take a tv with our unit).

They are generous in size and defined well. Views of the area are lovely. It is near the main road but this is not busy at night and never disturbed us. The site was quiet at night and we got excellent sleep in the fresh air. Our son made friends with other children on the site and being small it was ok to let him go off and play under the supervision of the other family who willingly let him play with their children(he was only 3 last year!).

The showering facilities were kept very clean and were lovely. I do love a really hot shower and this was maybe not quite as hot as I would like but my showers are really hot and these were certainly more than warm enough. As you couldn't adjust them I guess they would be too hot for children if any hotter. They were reliable and consistent at any time of day. Dishwashing is under a covered area.

I have great pleasure in really recommending this site - book early if you want to stay during the Hay festival at the end of May / beginning of June.

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Hereford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4448 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019