Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Calne > Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes Reviews

Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes
Stockley Lane
Calne
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN11 0NQ
Tel: 01249 810943
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 83 Reviews
                7/10 from 83 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  83 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pete1946 10 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week on this site as part of a Halloween meet in field 6. The site is generally flat, but field 6 has a big hump in it, but easy to get round it, pitches are of a good size with nice grass, electric hook ups were very good, and no trips all week. We had some very nasty weather with high winds and heavy rain, but the ground coped with it and never got boggy, as it drained very well. Toilets were a little dated, but always very clean. The fishing lake was well stocked I was told, but did not use it myself. We had the use of the timber cabin for a couple of nights, but it`s a real shame it has been neglected, as this barn would be very good for rallies to use with some money spent on it, the roof leaks badly in parts, but as said, could be a good asset to the site if repaired. Fire pits are allowed off the grass, and had a few good nights sitting round them, drinking and laughing. There is a nice pub called the Talbot Inn within easy walking distance, but take a good strong torch with you, as the road has no kerbs, and no street lighting, and is pitch black at night. All in all, a very enjoyable week despite the bad weather at times. The site is in a lovely setting, and very peaceful, and would return to it on another meet if one is set up again, or a nice peaceful week for just relaxing, and visiting the surrounding places near it. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Absinthe_boy 17 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a week on the site as part of a rally in field 6.

This is a difficult site to review, as we were visiting off-season (late October to early November). First impressions, pitches were large with plenty of space for large units and lots of green grass left free to run around, play etc.

There's a small toilet block at the West end of field 6, which looks lovely outside. It's been refurbished in the sense that the original exterior wall has been clad in very fetching logs. It really gives the impression of a new toilet/shower block. However inside it's very 1980. The shower units here really need replacing, though the toilets and sinks are fine and everything is kept clean. Even here, one cubicle in the gents has no lock and the staff have provided a broom handle to jam between the door and wall. This block also has a dish washing area which is also dated but very functional. There's also a *very* reasonably priced commercial washing machine and dryer, cheaper than launderettes.

The block at the East end of the field serves a couple of fields and is much better. It is either new or has had a recent full refurb, the only issues here were that it was cold (no heating, whereas the old block had radiators) and the roof seems unfinished. The ceiling is simply not there in some points and you can see the water tanks and plumbing. Otherwise a very modern, pleasant toilet block which will be lovely during warmer months. Both toilet/shower blocks had a plentiful supply of hot water. Showers are the usual pushbutton type and took a while to heat up but once going were lovely.

The field was not flat, but most pitches were reasonably flat. Pitches are quite large, EHU was very reliable with no outages. We did have a lot of rain and while there were puddles, the area drained quite well and there were no bogs.

The fishing lakes looked good, and our friends commented positively on the dog walk. Generally the site is attractive and upkeep is adequate.

There is a barn, dubbed 'covered BBQ area' which could be a great addition to the site. Indeed with some TLC it could be the jewel in the crown. Sadly it's been left to decay, and while our rally used it we had to put up with a leaky roof, de-activated facilities (bar, field kitchen with cooking pit, BBQs all left to rot). The barn could be something really special with some money spent on it. Indeed the site in general looks like it's part-way through a refurb that was never quite finished. I was told they have spent money on the barn but it's not repaid them in usage (you have to hire it). Maybe they're charging too much?

Overall we had a lovely time, and this is a tricky review to write as we've never been camping this late in the year or out of season. Staff were friendly, check-in was handled quickly. We didn't use the shop but others reported that it's small but adequately stocked.

I certainly wouldn't suggest you avoid the site. I think it falls into the 'nothing special' category unless you are a keen angler. But with a bit more TLC and money spent on it, the site could be excellent.

So overall there's nothing especially wrong here, but some of the facilities show signs that they could be much better than they are. The site is located in a lovely part of Wiltshire, not too far from the motorway (30 minutes mostly on good A roads), and there are a couple of pubs within walking distance. There are several towns nearby (Calne, Trowbridge, Melksham for example) where you can stock up. Longleat Safari Park is about 45 minutes away, and there are some local attractions. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SUGARFOOT123 1 review from this member

 Had only two nights here but must say how great it was. Initially We could not get a Satellite signal but was allowed to move away from trees then it was fine.

The fishing was amazing, my best day ever. Fishing Stans Lake I caught 55 fish in total including Perch, Roach, Tench, Bream, Hybrids, Rudd, common Carp and Mirror Carp. The Carp ranged from 4lb to 12lb. A fishing Paradise.

Thanks to all. We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sheila (Moose) 2 reviews from this member

 Just had a fantastic week at Blacklands. Its a beautiful lush green and tranquil site with good fishing! It's a safe site for young children with a small playpark for them. The main toilet and shower block has just been refurbished and the showers now have lovely slate tiled floors.

There are no arcades or bingo you go to places like Blackpool for that! To recharge you batteries and enjoy the bird song and wild life this is THE place. Plus its not far from Bowood House, Stonehenge Longleat etc, we can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Itinerant-Potters 2 reviews from this member

 We are a family of five and stayed at Blackland Lakes for 5 nights camping after a pre-dawn/sunrise visit to Stonehenge. (If you haven't, it's worth the trip)

From Blackland we also visited Silbury Hill, West Kennet Long Barrow and Avebury as they are all within easy reach.

The section where we pitched was glorious, the grass was gert lush and the ground was bowling green flat, all around the perimeter there are large trees which provide great wind protection.

It's like a clearing in the middle of the woods but from the 'Shire'. Peaceful, really relaxing.

We turned up at the site on spec after a brief phone call and found the staff very helpful and accommodating.

There is a shop on site which has all the basic needs. There's anything else in nearby Calne.

The shower and toilet facilities are reasonable and clean.

It is perfectly safe for children with plenty of room to run around without disturbing anyone else's pitch and keeping them within sight and earshot.

There are swimming & fishing facilities on site, however, we didn't partake, so cannot comment on those aspects.

We will definitely be visiting this site again in the future. With the rod and tackle next time. Thanks. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pecker 20 reviews from this member

 An ideal site for a short break to just get away from everything. I found the site to be ok for our needs enough to keep our youngest happy with the park and the ducks around the various lakes. We pitched in Field 9 and had plenty of room. The ground drained well after rain and a short burst of sun. The unisex toilet block was clean and tidy and no issues with hot water or ques for the showers. No issues with noise at all from anyone on site or off site as the A4 is far enough away not to cause any disturbance. Ideally placed for exploring the sites of Wiltshire with good routes that lead you back to the M4. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GStrudwick 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a great time a blacklands. We travelled with 5 other families with kids ranging from 3 to 13 and everyone had a great time. We were in paddock 7 which gave us great access to all facilities as well as the 2 lakes.

Washing and shower facilities were good with family rooms available - you need a key from reception for the family shower rooms and my only complaint would be that some people hold on to these and do not give back to reception [we had an issue with people on long stay pitches holding on to the key], would be better if reception asked for pitch number and returnable deposit to keep a track of the key.

If you like your fishing the lakes are accessible and prices are cheap, they are quite small and do get very busy so plann ahead if you want to fish.

Staff are friendly and helpful giving good advise on the local area and places to go. Caln is only 1 mile away with all shops, facilities and softplay area for smaller children. We visited Devises locks while we were there [only 15 mins away], a great place for all ages and a good cafe.

The only complaint would be some noisy campers who partied well into the night - there did not seem to be any control on when noise should be reduce, not helpful when you have small kids (that said it was only one group and they left after our 3rd day).

We all enjoyed our stay and will look to go back in the future. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Blackland Lakes 2 reviews from this member

 Hello everyone, Sam here posting on behalf of Blackland Lakes.

Some very nice reviews recently so thank you. I'm really pleased that you have enjoyed our site. All of us here at Blackland Lakes take great pride in working on a very beautiful park and are delighted when it is enjoyed by our visitors.

We can't always get it right but we try very hard to amend any problems raised. Justpassing - I'm sorry to hear about your disappointing stay. You may be glad to hear that the play bark has been replenished, the main shower block has had a refurbishment with wet room showers added and all the locks and handles have been checked. Deep cleaning is underway, ready for reopening, and our cleaning schedule is being reviewed for busy periods. Also, in response to your comments about the noise, I assure you that, although there was a drumming workshop taking place that evening, they did stop at 9pm and the loud music that continued until late was coming from a wedding party in the village at least a mile away! We considered complaining ourselves but such an event is very rare and has not happened since. '

Many other improvements have been made over the last six months and I'm sure that, as always, the vast majority will enjoy their holiday with us this year. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Felicity Rose 1 review from this member

 I have stayed at this site twice as part of a rally and was very impressed overall. It is an ideal base for places of local interest such as Lacock and Avebury (the latter an easy journey back onto the road). It's also a short walk into Calne where you can visit shops/supermarkets and banks if needed.

The campsite itself is secure, clean and well laid out. We had a whole paddock to ourselves which was clean and neat. The owner was extremely accommodating and permitted us to dig out the turf for a fire pit which I thought was very obliging and a kind thought as there were many of us at the rally. We had no children with us though I can see it would be child friendly and there was a playground in use there. We were also permitted to use the large BBQ covered area which was ideal in the evenings.

The ablution facilities are plentiful and I didn't have to queue up as I have had to do at some other sites. The water was hot and I enjoyed my morning showers after a cold night or two in the tent! There's nothing fancy but everything was perfectly adequate for our needs.

This is a really well run campsite and I would definitely recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mollp 1 review from this member

 First time I have left a review but wanted to praise this site.

It is a really lovely, beautiful site, immaculately clean and well kept.

We have just returned from a weekend in the school holidays and whilst it was busy, there was plenty of space and it was quiet which with 2 small children going to bed earlier was ideal. Large pitches did not feel confined.

Toilet/shower facilities were very clean and no queues.

The shop is well stocked and is reasonably priced.

Our children only used the play park once however it was well received and well used by others.

Staff very friendly and very helpful.

Would definitely recommend and will return. 


Previous     83 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Calne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3353 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement