Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Calne > Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes Reviews

Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes
Stockley Lane
Calne
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN11 0NQ
Tel: 01249 810943
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 82 Reviews
                7/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CosmicSheep 2 reviews from this member

 Very impressed by this campsite. I found it very well laid out with more than enough utilities to cater for the amount of people there.

The shower block was excellent and better than I had expected for the price of the site.

The shop was a little understocked but this didn't really matter as we found a good supermarket nearby.

Overall a very good site and one I would be very happy to recommend and stay at again. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Highgateuk 21 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site in a beautiful location. Lots of trees and wildlife on site. Its only a short walk into Calne, which is a pretty little town.

The pitches are level and big, though they were on grass. The electric hookup had plenty of power for all our appliances. There is a marvellous dog walk on site and the fishing looks great. There was also plenty of picnic tables dotted all over the site. The only thing that spoilt the site for us was the lack of proper cleaning of the toilets also the rubbish bins were overfull and could do with regular emptying.

Its obvious that the owners have spent a lot of money and time getting the site right and building splendid toilet, washing up and cleaning facilities, which had plenty of hot water, so why don't they employ somebody to clean and maintain them? If they got rid of the dirt, dust and cobwebs and had a good clean up this site would rival any Caravan Club site. It is quite expensive to stay there, but it would be worth it with said maintainance and I'm sure more people would use it and return there. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hannah29 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site during the may bank holiday with family. We were in a motorhome, parents in a caravan and sister in a tent. We found the lads running it very helpful and accomodating. The site filled up fairly quickly but we still had our own space.
The toilet and washing facilities were not too bad. There were a few cobwebs about but they are built in a barn type building with lots of wooden eaves and beams. I have certainly been in much worse. We had major heavy rain from the saturday onwards but the pitches did not get flooded. The toilets and showers however stopped working. To give the site their due the water board were out the next day and got it sorted out.
All in all not a bad place, the fishing was good, the facilities perfectly adequate, the staff helpful and the pitches were spaced quite well 


Date of Visit: February 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 From its location in the attractive Marlborough Downs, and from its publicity as a site with a nature reserve and health and fitness club I had expected this site to be good, it was well signposted and I was greeted by a very friendly young lad who could not have been more helpful.

Although it was getting dark, superficially the site looked good and the health and fitness centre looked great with an inviting indoor pool. However, unfortunately the club was not open to campsite members which was a shame and a bit of a surprise. The site was practically empty, there were a few residents caravans that looked a bit shabby, but the fully serviced touring pitches were spaced out nicely and had the full works.

The overriding memory of this site however, will unfortunately be the horrific state of the toilet facilities The toilets to start with were very tight and pokey but it was the dirty state of them that was truly off putting. The numerous rust stains that abounded clearly showed that these toilets had not been cleaned in some time and the state of some of the cubicals only reaffirmed this in graphic detail. It was winter and the site was quiet, but if you don't want to clean the toilets all year round then don't take peoples money.

In the light of the morning it was visible that the whole site was a bit shabby, work that needed to be done and piles of building debris to be cleared, and to make this worse it was evident that due it's layout and surroundings that this could be a fantastic site.

I had contacted the nearest other site on the day I was going to camp and it is obvious now why that one was full and this site was empty. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Newmancp 2 reviews from this member

 This site is set in a lovely area and on its plus side the pitches were reasonably flat.
 
Security wise, a new barrier system is present although it is point less as the exit barrier is permanently open so you only have to go through the exit to gain access to the pitches which most residents seemed to do to avoid entering the code.
 
The toilet and shower block was very poor with broken toilet furniture and doors that didn't actually block line of site into the cubicles. The blocks seemed to only be sprint cleaned and had very poor floor drainage so the slightest bit of water meant for a lethal/grassy ice rink.
 
The staff were mainly teenagers and hence the experience and customer service ability were limited.
 
The shop facilities on site were basic but there are plenty of supermarkets within a 5min drive.
 
For the cost of the pitches and extras next time when in the area we will definitely be looking for another site. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Deborah Sainsbury 112 reviews from this member

 June 2002
This site has several fields - the tents are at the end which is fine because the toilets are nearby and you can see the children's play area from your tent. Plenty of nice walks in the area and there is a circular walk right round the park. The site has a large barbecue area which was on the go when we got there as it was Golden Jubilee weekend - it was lovely, very nice people all round. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bluearmadillow 1 review from this member

 Just arrived home from a great weekend at Blackland lakes. Arrived Friday lunchtime and had the pick of the field which was very flat and the grass was nice and short. The paddock was close to all the facilities and we were next to the children's play park which was nice and safe. The shower and toilet block was OK but not brilliant.
Overall the site was peaceful and very safe for children the only downside is if you don't have a fridge to keep milk and butter etc the shop didn't open until 9am which is quite late if you are an early riser, but we look forward to using this site again.  


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scooby34 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from here. Not impressed at all with the shower blocks and toilets. They seemed very grotty and out dated. We paid for a family of 4 £82.00 for 3 nights. Very expensive for the facilities on offer. Staff were very friendly, site was safe for the children. We have been to lots of sites last year and the facilities that Blackland offered were nothing compared to some of our previous sites for less money. We would go back to Blackland if the price reflected its facilities 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sam Cross 7 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a few nights here as part of a UKCS meet. We were on the rally field which was very muddy when we arrived even 4x4s were struggling. We couldn't set up on our allocated pitch as the pitches are so close together and due to the mud another unit had needed to pitch further over, fortunately we had a long hook up lead so we were ok. The toilet blocks were clean and heated. There is a very good dog walk.

The main downside is the cost of the site and the lack of organisation by the site staff. Despite being told there was a flat UK CS rally rate we were still charged the increased EHU charge and the member of staff who booked me in didn't seem to know about the rate we were to be charged. 


Reviewer: Weasle3566 4 reviews from this member

 September 2005
Again another great visit to this fantastic site.
The site is a lovely clean quiet and secluded site with excellent security so your kids can wander around without having to worry.
The tent pitches are very level the grass is nice and short and the paddocks dry and drain well even after the torrential rain we had.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and on hand even at night if needs be by radio points dotted around the site.The shop is well equiped freezer block exchange service is available and free.
Showers are also free and there is plenty of hot water.
Yes the site is on the expensive site but you get what you pay for visit you wont regret it.  


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Calne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5144 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement