Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Calne > Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes Reviews

Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes
Stockley Lane
Calne
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN11 0NQ
Tel: 01249 810943
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 82 Reviews
                7/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: Amanda and co 21 reviews from this member

 May 2005
May bank holiday found us and another family here. Couldn't get on the site we wanted. The reason for the visit was to go to Longleat which was 45mins away. Camp field was very flat and we were near the play area which was great for keeping an eye on the children. Small walk / trail around perimeter of field. Two lakes for fishing and a bird hide near a duck pool. Very basic shop on site. No shops or pubs within easy walking distance. Calne had very little to offer. Showers were kept clean but the block is uni-sex! Cost approx 23 a night for tent two adults and two children with car. Premimum for bank holiday. Hook ups available at extra cost. 


Reviewer: Caths 1 review from this member

 August 2005
This is not a good campsite if you like somewhere peaceful. Although the staff were helpful and friendly, they tried to cram as many people in as possible (although it was bank holiday). If you don't want an electrical hook up, you can't go next to a hedge/border, you are just stuck in the middle of the field.

I personally would say that this is a site for big groups, who want to meet up and don't mind being on top of each other.

The toilet block was only superficially clean, and the showers didn't have a mop or bucket, so the floor was always very wet.

There is a small road running through the site which is good for children to cycle, but the campsite staff tend to keep driving around in a noisy tractor.

Not a tranquil and peaceful haven that their leaflet tries to describe, and not much sight of nature, for a nature reserve!

But if you like large sites with plenty going on, with friendly staff, then this is the site for you!  


Reviewer: Smileycamper 1 review from this member

 August 2005
Well we arrived at the site with the distint impression from the website listing that there was more on this site than there is available for public use!!

The swimming pool on site is actually a club membership only (available at extra cost if you stay over 5 days). They do have a childrens playground with some nice equipment however for the size of the site if it fills up will be hardly enough. The laundrey room has one washing machine and tumble dryer and when your thinking in terms of a site with 180 pitches is not enough. The site was quite empty when we were there for our two days and we had trouble getting one load of washing done.

However all this said the staff were friendly and it was quite central to quite a few visiting places so if your only stopping for a short stay it would be ok. But I don't think we will be going again.  


Reviewer: MorningCampers 2 reviews from this member

 July 2005
Nice site but pricey based on cleanliness of toilets/showers/washing up sinks. Dark, dingy and dirty facilitites. Shame as rest of site lovely. There is no way the loos and showers are regularly cleaned. Owners need to address this based on
high pitch prices. Use some of the overpricing to pay a cleaner - everyday. It really lets place down to have pooh encrusted dirty smelly loos and filthy showers that only dribble out water - like a dripping tap.

Little bit of surprise to find that loos and showers were unisex and that only sinks are separate, so you pooh, wee and shower together but clean your teeth as ladies and gents !
They neglect to mention this gem
in the brochure so make sure your dressed appropriately when leaving shower, Also does this account for state and smell of loos ? Sorry guys but ladies loos just aren't usually that bad.

Bird pooh on washing up sinks. Come on owners you've got a cracking site just clean it !

Staff forgot to issue us PIN No for barrier, so had a traffic jam when we left site.

Brochure says no all male parties, this is not true, there were, due to fishing lakes and fishing weekends with drinking and foul language. One guy even fell over his tent drunk in a star shape formation! Highly entertaining except for our children and others watching. Perhaps male fishing parties could be pitched away from families ?

Very entertaining few days but wont return saddly unless we read that cleanliness has improved. So lots of foul language near u 


Reviewer: Swaudby 8 reviews from this member

 July 2005
Very "relaxed rules" and family friendly campsite.

Unfortunatly this has lead to a great deal of child noise, activity, ball games (several of which struck our camper van), dogs running around loose and a few obnoxious people. If you want a quiet weekend go elsewhere.

The staff were friendly - without actually being very helpful. We ended up parked in a field of noisy kids after specifically asking for a quiet pitch. The serviced pitch field was empty.

Facilities are only superficially cleaned, everything above eye level has seen any water for years. One toilet I visited had excrement on it's seat for the whole weekend. Showers are blocked up by limescale any barely more than a dribble.

The ponds are overfished and the carp are very challenging, plenty of easy bream to be had.

Overall somewhat expensive for the standard of facilities and clenliness. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Debsy 112 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Second time here - just for a night this time. Site still great with plenty of ducks to look at! I liked the division of the showers into hot and cooler - I had a cooler one and it was still really hot!

This site still seems really relaxed so I would recommend it to anyone!

Deborah 


Reviewer: The Evans 1 review from this member

 June 2000, Oct 2002 and June 2003
As you can see from the dates visited, we went once, liked it, and went again!!

Site warden is welcoming and the site itself is peaceful and friendly, while the facilities are clean with plenty of hot water for the free showers.

The shop is well stocked and open every day, though the times can vary out of main season - usually well posted in advance. There is a supermarket in nearby Calne for anything you need that the shop doesn't have.

There are two lakes, one for fishing and one for wildlife (I think) and these make for great bird spotting and seem to be well fenced and gated to keep children safe.

Overall, a really lovely place to stay. Would definately recommend as a good 'first' site, as it's where we started out!! 


Reviewer: Steve and Jan 2 reviews from this member

 September 2003
Just returned from a week here using our new Wynnster Venus 5 tent.

We decided to use paddock 9 as it seemed more 'pastural' and tent friendly, a nice level site and close to the shower/loo block too, very quiet and very relaxing. Nice welcome from the warden too.

This place is central to everything you may wish to see in Wiltshire, from Avebury and it's astonishing stone circles, to Lacock village just up the road. Even Stonehenge and Salisbury aren't too far away.

We just had a very lazy week, and once we decided to have our shower at 9ish rather than 7ish, even the shower block was warm enough!

We will definitely be returning next year, perhaps during the crop circle season:-)

Only one minor niggle, and it may have been due to the time of year we were there. But when the shop is supposed to be open from 9 to 11 and you turn up at 10 to retrieve your ice packs and it's shut.... This happened a lot and it was very hit and miss as to whether the shop would be open.

Overall though a very happy return to camping. We even had The University of Sheffield's Department of Archeology and Prehistory and their 20 odd tents with us for a bit of interest. They were doing a 2 week dig over at nearby Pewsey.

We were sad to leave Blacklands, which says it all really. 


Reviewer: michaeladkins 1 review from this member

 AUG 2003
Hello.
Me and my wife (Deb) and our cocker spaniel (Jaydee) visited this site. It was only our second ever go at camping and we really liked it!
The showers and loos etc were all ok and clean, The shop was a bit "basic" but again ok, It's ideal if you like country walks BUT take your own OS map as there are no maps in the on site tourist cabin and nowhere to buy one locally.
We visited on bank holiday weekend and the site was busy but NOT cramped at all, we had a great break and would definetly return.
A nice site with a good atmosphere!

Michael 


Reviewer: Rowan Cooling 2 reviews from this member

 16/5/03
This was our first time. Having purchased a 4 person tent at Easter we decided my cousin's wedding in nearby Trowbridge was an ideal time to try it out. There were only a few of us braving the weather this weekend which gave us a choice of pitch. The site was lovely, plenty of room for the kids to run around and wild life to chase!! Being only 8 and nearly 3 I was a bit concerned about security, but there was no need at Blackland Lakes, I was more than happy for them to go to and fro from the play area. The shower and toilets were execellent the only drawback was there was a party each of the 2 nights we were there but the fresh air must have tired me out as I have no idea who eventually won catch the jelly on the first night and American Pie was the last song I remember being squealed out the following night.

The weather was wet and windy and could have been warmer for the time of year but surprisingly I loved it and found camping incredibly relaxing, the campsite was fantastic (despite the noise, which I understand is very unusual)and I will definitely go back there again.  


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Calne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


50 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement