Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Calne > Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes Reviews

Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes
Stockley Lane
Calne
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN11 0NQ
Tel: 01249 810943
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 82 Reviews
                7/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MaCast 1 review from this member

 I wanted to say how good this site is.

After a really bad camping experience about 10 years ago I vowed I wouldn't ever camp again. Then some friends were organising a rally and I wanted to be part of it.

I was so impressed with the whole site that I have now booked to camp there again (my 3rd time). I've been on other sites that were considered to be more modern but they seem to have less loos and showers than at Blacklands. In the two weeks I've stayed there (May 2011 and May 2012) I didn't have to queue for a shower or loo. Not even once!

I agree with another reviewer on the point of the washbasins being a bit high for us shorter people (I'm 5'1') but there are plenty of them and there are little stools provided. The lighting in the shower block could be a little better but it was adequate.

The staff at Blacklands were helpful and cheerful. And the grass was kept really well cut.

I don't think the site is suitable for small children unless they are supervised at all times as there are a few lakes. And older children should be sensible and warned of the dangers of water. There is a small playground suitable for 5 to 12 year olds.

Calne is a walkable distance and has lots of eating places. And we had takeaways delivered right to the Blacklands gate entrance too.

I love it at Blacklands and will be returning again in 2013. And most likely in 2014 too 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Solsticedreamer 3 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at Blacklands for the past three years as part of a rally and found it a great site.

We base ourselves there for getting out to Avebury and Glastonbury and find it easy acess to get to nearby supermarkets when we need to stock up on food.

We have always been given paddock 9 (this year all to ourselves) and this year we were even permitted to have a campfire with the wood provided~all we had to do was mark out and roll out the turf and put it back to as it was when we left (we watered it too to make sure the grass was happy!.

Not having children I cannot pass comment but I did enjoy the peace that does not come with having loads of children around (sorry to parents out there!)~there is a small playground that was used by the few children were on the site but I imagine if parents wanted lots for their kids they would find a site with more attractions for them.

The facilities are good as per the AA three pennants it has been awarded. Okay so they are not super plush but way better than some sites facilities I have used over the past 13 years camping

They were clean and functional and getting spruced up a bit which is always a good thing.

I used the sites facilities once for a shower but as I have a camper with a sink and portable loo I use my on-board facilities and give myself a good wash down in the sink.

I love how peaceful the site is and being in the paddock we get to enjoy the views and the lake behind us.

All in all a good site for peace and relaxing! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Djm04 1 review from this member

 Stayed here a week ago for the bank holiday weekend and it was absolutely lovely. Really quiet and beautiful. The site has 2 fishing lakes which are great to sit by and chill out. The main toilet block (block 2) is currently being renovated and looks brilliant so far! All pitches are a very reasonable size and are laid out clearly. You can tell the grass is very well looked after, and even after all the rain, the campsite manager was there with his tractor offering to help tow people onto and off of their pitches.

I would recommend anyone wanting to have a peaceful time away from home and the campsite is close by to many attractions like Avebury, Bath, Devizes canal, Lacock and many more.

Definitely will be returning again soon! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Beantighe 2 reviews from this member

 My husband and I are familiar with Blacklands, having stayed there on about 6 occasions over the last few years, always as part of a rally where it wasn't our personal choice to stay there.

Although the paddocks are spacious and flat, especially the furthest paddock where we stayed, I have always taken issue with the facilities. As others have also said, the shower blocks need completely modernising. The hot water is hit and miss and the lights have a habit of going out when you're in the shower, which could be very dangerous. They are also cold and very badly lit. Last year I had to take a torch with me to use the toilet - in the daytime! There was no working light in the washroom and, being only 5ft tall, I found the sinks set too high and too far back to reach without having something to stand on. Also the hand drier was too high, and the socket for hairdryers was set impossibly high up on the wall.

I am also amazed that patrons should be expected to do the cleaning, which is completely different to leaving things tidy after use, which I would automatically do anyway. We pay for the privilege of staying and should be able to expect clean facilities without having to do it ourselves.

However, the place was being given a lick of paint on our last visit at the end of May 2012, but I feel this was merely cosmetic and a great deal more needs to be done.

The site shop was more often closed than open. There is a code which you have to tap in to open the gate for exiting vehicles which is changed every few days. On one occasion there were some new arrivals who couldn't get out of the site because there was no-one to be found to give them the code, which had just been changed without telling anyone.

I don't feel this site is suitable for anyone with very young children, as there is a sign warning of deep water in the lake, which is very close by the paddocks and the children's' play area, but there are no safety precautions to prevent little ones from falling in, so parents would have to be extremely vigilant at all times.

In all the occasions we have stayed at Blacklands, nothing has radically altered or improved, and we would not be willing to stay there again. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jfla8906 1 review from this member

 On arrival found it very relaxed. Pitch size are very generous.

It is a small site with two fishing lakes and a small nature reserve.

It is quite and peaceful and kept to a good standard. Play ground was good fun, but could do with a spruce up!

Showers are good. Plenty of hot water. No complaints from the ladies. However, the gents in the main block seemed to be an after thought though. It's a bit tight!

There's a little on site shop that is adequate for emergency supplies.

Plenty to do nearby. The Standing Stones at Avebury, the locks at Devizes. You simply can't go wrong if you just want to kick back and relax. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Familyivory 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site with friends for the August Bank Holiday weekend. The site is in what they called paddocks which are easy to access and reasonably level. The pitches are slightly smaller than we have been used to but good. Plenty of space in the centre of the paddock etc.

The facilities were good although I do think that a bit more cleaning would have been better. Certainly it didn't help that fellow campers were slacking in cleaning the showers etc. After use. The campsite owners should account for this and have more frequent cleans during busy times.

That said the facilities were good with plenty of hot water. The shop was adequate but basic.

We visited the nearby Black Horse at Cherhill and found both a warm welcome and fantastic food at extremely reasonable prices. Will definitely be going back there again!

All in all a very enjoyable stay at a reasonable price. Certainly one for us to use again as we do like to camp locally as well as a bit further off. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skoda yeti 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived when it was sunny, the park is large and well looked after. The office and first toilet block look good and the staff friendly.

We were given paddock 9 which was not too far from the second toilet block. A clean water tap and a dirty water drain are close by. The ground was covered in low cut grass and well looked after.

We had an electric point ( plenty on offer at this site)

The second toilet block was big and had a gents /ladies section but the showers are shared. The only problem with this block was that every where you looked there was spiders / moths.

This is due to the construction of the toilet block (logs) The showers are ok and have Hot and I mean HOT water. The showers are lacking curtains so watch your shoes as you take a shower! The tiles on the floor are rigged, which stops you from slipping, but also collect water. The owners provide a blade to get rid off the water but it still collects, and not everyone cleans up!

The toilets are the same with paper all over the floor, yet again caused by careless punters. Some light bulbs need replacing as it can be dark at night.

All in all a good site that needs a little tender care to make it more comfortable, a good shop would be most welcome too as you need a car to get into Calne.

In Calne you have Chinese / Indian / Italian restaurants. A Sainsburys / Co-op shops.

The camp site is in ideal position to visit Wiltshire. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oriana 2 reviews from this member

 It could be a good camping, but it was too crowded and full of families and groups who often didn't respect normal rules: children were impolite and noisy and pitches have no great space each other. During the evening a large group of 20 and more people played drums and danced around the fire.

Bathrooms were good, but often quite dirty. The taps which you have to keep pressed down for washing yourself. Some showers were uncomfortable too, because hot temperature of water wasn't adjustable and they could work only pulling a rope outside the shower. Maybe other showers' block was better, I don't know.

Pitches have good ground, but it isn't flat.

We spent there eight nights and also my children couldn't stand the noise of the other children! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kyezer 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights to try out our newer tent as it's fairly local. It was a lovely site but the toilets and showers were a real let down. They weren't clean at all, my wife said she felt dirtier after having a shower than before!

The dirt just seemed to get moved along the floor rather than cleaned up. Some of the toilets had broken seats. The toilet/shower block was very dark inside even in the day time and although the showers were hot there was no temp control so not great with children.

We had a large pitch and it was very narrow, our tent filled it and we were lucky it was friends staying in the next pitch as our guy ropes were on their pitch.

Playground was good for older kids but not toddlers. The paddock we stayed in was very good for the kids as they could run around with us watching and it was very safe for them.

Overall a lovely site but the facilities really let it down, we wouldn't go there again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spectralmirror 1 review from this member

 I've stayed here many times with different friends and also by myself with a solo tent.

Although I normally prefer small sites which are less commercialised, I've always found quite secluded areas to pitch even when there have been large groups there such as the Caravan Club.

My friends and I are walkers and one of the most important things to me/us is being able to have hot water showers, all times both daytime and evening which, of course, has always been the case here and for which there is no extra charge or meter.

As the site is a fair way from the nearest store, the reception sells basics (indeed essentials!) including gaz and matches, as well as teabags, some tinned and packet foods, and so forth.

Driving into and around the site and parking-up has never been a problem and it's quite flat all around the site. Even when it's been very wet weather I've never found it water-logged.

I've always found the staff polite and helpful and they've always managed to fit me in whether in the peak season or other times including the odd occasion in the winter!

Location-wise, it's great being quite close to Avebury, Marlebough, Devizes and the Vale of Pewsey. Great for walks, great for crop circles and discovering all the delights Wiltshire has to offer.

I like to return once, sometimes twice a year! 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Calne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4829 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement