Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Site Reviews

Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes
Stockley Lane
Calne
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN11 0NQ
Tel: 01249 810943
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 77 Reviews
                7/10 from 77 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Johntodd 6 reviews from this member

This site is conveniently located for visiting N. Wiltshire, is close to Calne and has convenience store and pub approx a mile away. Also very close to a small motor museum. The site is well established and nicely laid out in a selection of paddocks around the fishing lakes with different types of pitch to suit campers and caravanners. The disappointment for me was that visiting in low season the central toilet block was closed and facilities block near reception that was in use is in desperate need of some TLC, not good for a site with quite high charges.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The swifties 8 reviews from this member

Stayed 2 nights, Thursday and Friday. Lovely peaceful site. Liked the walk around the edge of the site. Staff friendly and helpful. Showers and toilets not ultra modern but who cares, nice and clean and plenty of hot water. Site neat and tidy, grass nice and short. Would stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leebee1 14 reviews from this member

Site was lovely when we turned up on Wednesday with the exception of a woman with a very loud foul mouth about 100 yards from us in the next paddock on a seasonal pitch. Now approaching bank holiday weekend and the site is full, unfortunately there are some very badly behaved children that ruin it, 2 children with golf clubs taking a swing at the gravel and smashing up the bushes and the parents watching them and saying nothing.

Other than that the site is brilliant and the dog walk is very good taking you around the edge of the site.

The staff are friendly and the facilities are kept clean although more facilities would be required around the site, not a problem for us as we use all the facilities in our caravan.

If you like peace and quiet then this site is not for you but I imagine it would be better out of holiday season which would be the only time we would return.

We normally use adult only sites and avoid the school holidays, now I know why.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: HOSPITALWORKER 17 reviews from this member

Lovely setting but rather disappointed with the toilets/showering facilities. We have stayed on smaller sites who charge less money and the facilities have been better than this site. There are a couple of blocks which both need modernising and for the number pitches there could do with being a few more blocks. We were in a touring caravan with our own toilet but I felt sorry for people in tents who had a long walk to the facilities.

Don't think we will be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue6 27 reviews from this member

The web price list is not up to date, 10. 25 a night, (not 7. 25) + 5. 25 per adult + 4. 50 electric + 2 pet + 2. 5 Awning. This is a fairly big site, so can get noisy. It does have a good dog walk route, as below the dog-poo bins need emptying at least every other day Please! The Pub nearby is the Talbot, there is a bar on site 4+ a pint. Be carful of the shower block by reception, HOT showers turned off with wet fingers with a switch! The site is well kept, a good reception and shop. The Lakes, dead fish floating, a fisherman landing a fish said most have mutilated mouths on the fish, caught too many times. There is loads to do in the area, Bowood House, Atwell-Wilson motor museum, Chewell White Horse and Monument, the Locks/canal, Devises, Lacock, Avebury.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dee and martinRV 3 reviews from this member

Love this site so quiet and tranquil

Site clean and well kept so are the shower and toilets

Staff so friendly and helpful

Only one complaint the doggy doo bins

On the woodland overflowing and not been emptied in a long time,

The flies and the smell spoilt it for me

But hopefully this will be rectified

And yes we will return

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Helen wright 7 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site over the Easter Break, very nice, quite too, nice large pitches with hard standing. Easy to fill and empty grey. The weather was dry and some sun, and not too busy so a peaceful break. The toilet are clean and there is gallons of lovely hot water. Reception staff friendly and knowledge always helpful. Would use again.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Marley37 4 reviews from this member

Well see my comment from last year and add pygmy goats a nice touch otherwise situation normal still being nice to the spiders I swear there last year's webs. Urinal blocked for two days lovely paddles had by all, and still compromising on the loo paper even followed the cleaner in as she left and several rolls were missing.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marley37 4 reviews from this member

What a pity we have visited this site for a number of years and I swear the cobwebs in the communial block are the same ones.

The cleaner wants to be sent down the road and a new one employed not replacing toilet rolls and leaving both dispensers empty is unforgivable especially after being told to replace them by reception.

The disabled facilities sadly need completely upgrading in both blocks they are not fit for purpose no drop down rail and troublesome locks which if you have mobility issues are not ideal.

That said the site is in a lovely location and the reception staff need medals for all the running around after the cleaner.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jolf 3 reviews from this member

I stayed here for 3 nights with my wife and 2 children (9 & 4)

I'd been before a couple of years ago and enjoyed it, so thought I'd go back.

I'm not interested in the fishing side of things at this site, I went more for the space available for the children to play.

Stayed in 'field 5', which is a good size, and they put the units around the edge of the site, so there is a large area for everybody to have room to play in the middle.

Although it was during the school holidays, you never felt as though anybody was on top of you.

There is an adequate play park for the children, though we didn't use it much.

The toilet/shower blocks are ok. Floors get a bit muddy, and although there are mops, people don't seem to clean up after themselves, so maybe they need cleaning a bit more regularly.

The staff at the shop/reception couldn't be more helpful and friendly, they really are a credit to the site.

The shop has a few bits and bobs that you'd be likely to forget, at reasonable prices.

I re-froze some ice packs at 10p each, also I charged my mobile phone for 1.

The only issue we had was with a large party of Polish Anglers.

They were over the opposite side of the field, and on the first night they arrived they were up (drunk)shouting at the top of their voices until about 3am.

I understand that people in groups want to have a bit of a laugh, and to be honest, I wouldn't have minded if they'd quietened down at midnight. I'm a heavy sleeper, and struggled to get asleep with the noise.

Mentioned it to the lady at reception and she couldn't be more apologetic. She explained the site had recently lost their site warden in a tragic accident, and that she'd have a word.

In fairness, whatever she said obviously worked, as they were completely silent by about 10pm the following night.

I was impressed with how this little issue was dealt with, and I would definitely come back here.

Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Wiltshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3860 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019