Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Wiltshire > Calne > Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes Reviews

Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes
Stockley Lane
Calne
Wiltshire   (Browse area)
SN11 0NQ
Tel: 01249 810943
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 82 Reviews
                7/10 from 82 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeanette 67 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a long weekend at this site.We found it to be well managed spacious and above all clean. The pitches were all spread out we had tons of room with the bous of the park too.

I t was peaceful, tranquil and relaxing, the fishing was fab. Even for Grandad whom came to visit us at the site for a day and enjoyed his day by the lake.

A nice site and well run,showers were ok but ran a little cold, washing up was ok too, as was the walk to the loo.

We will be going back soon but have the rest of the uk to see too.

Well done Blacklands you have a fab site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helsbells2 3 reviews from this member

 Visited Blackland Lakes for a weekend as a trial run for our main camping holiday in September. Wanted to go somewhere not too far from home (1.5 hours) so would could test all our new equipment.

Site location was great for local attractions; we managed to get loads done in a weekend (much more that we had planned). The site itself was nice with a very small shop (supermarket was short drive away so we used that).

The toilet block near our field (block 2 I think they refer to it as) was ok but it felt like it could do with a really good clean Ė I think all the wood made it feel a bit unclean. The water temperature was ok although sometimes went a bit cold which is not ideal when trying to shower a little person that doesnít really like showers! There is a mother and baby / disabled room but when I looked in it looked quite dark and dirty so we didnít use this.

The person on reception was very friendly and the Blackland Lakes website was very useful. Managed to find out about local attractions before we left so we could plan our time at the site. They also listed take away places that delivery Ė we didnít make use of this but is the kind of thing that would be really helpful if you were staying for longer.

Would consider going back to the site if we were going to the area but think the toilet block needs to be looked at before we do! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Patty40 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in June for 2 nights, arriving late on the Friday night, we went to check in on the Saturday morning but had to wait an hour for someone to open the Reception, there was a sign on the door 'back in 10 minutes' to be told we could park anywhere.

We had a look around but the site was fairly full so stayed on the late arrivals area for the weekend. The showers and toilets were very basic, but adequate. The site was well maintained and everyone seemed very friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Blackland Lakes 2 reviews from this member

 Our amenity buildings are not new but are completely functional and we do our best to maintain high levels of cleanliness, but at a very busy period the standard may have fallen below our usual level, for which we apologise.

At times of high demand, the water pressure can drop which can affect the showers on a temporary basis. We are constantly seeking to improve our facilities and our main shower building has undergone a thorough refurbishment in the Spring of this year.

In the current season, 72% of our visitors are either returning to us or are recommended by a friend. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cashman156 2 reviews from this member

 I spent a weekend here at Blacklands lakes from 2. 7. 10 to 4. 7. 10 in my campervan and thoroughly enjoyed my stay there.

The staff were very easy going and friendly, although we had an allocated spot we could basically pitch up anywhere we wanted all with electric hook ups.

The whole area is beautifully green with shady trees, the 3 lakes and a peaceful air to the place.

An on site shop provides all the basics (a bit pricey though!) and Calne is a 5 min drive up the road should you need to re-stock.

We ordered an Indian Take-away the first night we stayed, they'll deliver to the gate but the time limit is set to 11pm (very nice it was too !)

Plenty of fresh water and waste services close by. The shower / toilet block nearest the main entrance was Ok and did what it says on the tin, but could have been better cared for and serviced more frequently, but this didn't spoil my visit.

There is also a large undercover BBQ / party area near on of the lakes by area 9 that would be great for a large group staying there to get together.

Recommended in my opinion and would go there again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camperman101 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a long weekend here and were a little disappointed.

The facilities were there as described but in poor condition and not cleaned. The toilets and shower blocks were cold, damp and generally unkept. There were several broken toilet seats most of the cubicles had no paper, several of the doors did not close (they had warped) had no lock and or were missing handles.

The showers were average the pumps and thermostats were not working too well meaning we had to endure hot then freezing water temperatures. Worst of all they were not washed or mopped once in 4 days despite cleaning equipment being 'on show' so by the end of our stay the floors were covered in mud (local fisherman also use it as there are several lakes) and there was loo paper pulp everywhere. The toilets and showers are also not a place to go if you don't like spiders there were some monsters living in webs that had been there for what looked like years!

I know the above sounds bad and I hope it is an isolated lapse of standards due to lack of staff supervision or maybe because its the end of the season, as overall the site is peaceful and very attractive. Its in a great location and we can recommend the Bengal curry house near Sainsbury's in the town. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Orkidork 1 review from this member

 I have visited recently with my family and was welcomed by the friendly receptionist. The opening hours are now 8:30-8:30 every day which I believe is very reasonable. The campsite itself is well equipped with washing facilities. Although the showers are dated they are well functioning and clean. The only negative thing I could think about is that the leisure centre and campsite should be joined together in one company as for campers to be able to use facilities like they once were able to. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Irons 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from here after a 5 night stay and I loved it

It is a quiet site surrounded by trees with a really good dog walk with plenty of doggy waste bins which is always a bonus

The toilets and showers were always clean with plenty of toilet paper ,a good washing up area and a launderette .There is a small shop with the basics but if they don't have what you need there are a couple of supermarkets not far away and a little P.O just a short walk away

We found a Chinese take a way that delivered and they asked us to put some menus in reception ,the young lad there didn't even know they delivered so he had a meal from them one night ( the food was nice )

There are a couple of pubs in the area which we didn't go to but our friends did and they said they were good

Within driving range of all the sites of interest so we had a great time and would go back if in the area and I would recommend it 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julie-pooley 4 reviews from this member

 Thought the site was ok. Was very muddy but that was right at the end of the season so to be expected.

The facilities were ok too. Plenty of showers, toilets and washing up sinks.

There was a wooden playground within view for the kids to play and plenty of ponds to fish in.

Our main problem was that the shop was never open when it should have been.

I would probably return but during the high season when the pitches were looking better. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nicelady60 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for one night to break our journey, although site looked busy and could go anywhere you wanted, I do find websites are very misleading as this didn't look anything like pics I had seen, also if the person in the office concentrated on us as customers she wouldn't have made the mistake of overcharging us, she was more interested in chatting to the young man.

Shop didn't have milk etc as she said it was end of season,this was September 19th.

Didn't bother using showers or loos as all looked run down from outside.

When we arrived at site we had to ring a mobile number and wait 10minutes before someone arrived to let us onto grass and I had pre booked well in advance.

So I don't think I will be returning to this site in the future. 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Blackland Lakes Campsite And Fishing Lakes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Calne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wiltshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5003 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement