Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Lower Weare > Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping Reviews

Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping
Turnpike Road
Lower Weare
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS26 2JQ
Tel: 07484 113033  or  07484112985
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 62 Reviews
                9/10 from 62 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (28)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Derekcbr 80 reviews from this member

 I think I will be repeating what has already been said so I just add to the excellent reviews for what is a small well run/organised site. The sanitary block is small with a shower which takes 20p's and is quite adequate in size and really clean and tidy. I do believe they are cleaned everyday. The camping field is level with an area for hook ups and tents. A really lovely site. Highly recommended 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amanda summer 3 reviews from this member

 Hello My Daughter, Dog and I stayed her for our holiday this year and its fantastic place to see all the sights Somerset has to offer as its not far from any where, The site was clean tidy, lovely shower, nice toilets clean, EHU is 16 amp which is great, The owners Daughter rides her lovely horse in the field right in the campsite which was lovely to watch, family were lovely, Dog friendly, Little sink area for washing up, Basic but lovely campsite defo go next year for longer this time from Amanda, Summer and Slug the dog. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shabbycamper 3 reviews from this member

 This was my second visit to Watersmeet Farm, and I can thoroughly recommend the site.

Plenty of space, flat and well kept field.

Clean well maintained shower/toilets -showers take 20p pieces/1 coins.

The site is in beautiful location with views of The Mendips, short drive to Axbridge and Cheddar, and not far to Weston Super Mare and Brean beaches.

It's a great base for walking and cycling too.

Kathryn is very welcoming and accommodating and I can thoroughly recommend her home grown sausages!

The local pub, 5 mins walk, is also worth a visit, good traditional hostelry with free wi-fi.

The Almshouse Tea Shop in Axbridge is very well worth a visit too - friendly service, great food and fabulous cakes!

Overall great experience, will return. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dragonforce 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Watersmeet for the fourth time the week after Easter. Booking was easy as Kathryn replied within a few hours of me texting and gave us one of the pitches I requested. Pitches here are a good size and what we like about Watersmeet is there is plenty of room. They do not try and cram lots of units in to maximise profits. We have a folding camper with awning and bedroom extension and get this in no problem. In fact our stay this time was the quietest yet. We had the Site to ourselves for four nights. Toilet and shower facilities are simple but always very clean. Although only a single shower in the four times we have stayed there has never been a queue. Kathryn supplies logs as it's nice to be on a campsite that allows campfires, providing they are in a brazier or pit which they supply. Hidden away behind the toilet block. We also tried some of her sausages which she has been making for a year or so and they are really good.

Our 3 kids enjoy being here because there is plenty of room to kick a ball around, play rounders, fly kites or as we have done take a boat down to the river that flows through the farm and spend a few hours on the water. This year my boys took their goal out the garden and Kathryn let them keep it set up in the middle of the field as it was quiet. The boys loved this and played till it got dark and it was time to get the campfire going. With the units being set up around the perimter if you have young children you can keep an eye on them. This is less important for us now our children are older.

If you have a dog this site is ideal as you can walk through the farm and once you are over the river there are plenty of fields to walk through. Dogs are welcome here providing you clean up after them.

There are other factors that make this site ideal. There is a good dog friendly pub called the Lamb a five minute walk away. Another 20 minutes away at Cross and another very nice pub called the Swan in Rowberrow. All do good food and real ale. We can get to Cheddar in 10 minutes, Weston in less than 20 minutes and Glastonbury about 30 minutes. It's also really easy to reach from J22 of the M5 but you do have to keep a close eye out for the site as you come into Lower Weare.

Kathryn does not tolerate campers who make a mess or who are not considerate to other campers so I know we can arrive here and have a peaceful time enjoying a great view of the Mendips while drinking around a proper campfire. On a clear night the stars are seriously impressive as there is very little light pollution so if you are into astronomy this site could be worth a try.

Although there is no shop on site this is not a problem as five minutes from the site is a BP station with a shop included which stocks the basics. There is also a farm shop 2 minutes drive for your fresh meat and veg.

We shall be returning for a fifth time next year without a doubt. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Madspangle 1 review from this member

 Having just spent the weekend at Watersmeet Farm I can definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet break away with stunning views. The facilities on site were lovely and clean and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. It is the perfect base for visiting Cheddar, Weston and the surrounding area. Can't wait to be able to use this little gem of a site again! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Artymandy 24 reviews from this member

 We missed the sign, twice, but it is there if you look properly!

Very friendly welcome.

Large field, with only a few units pitched so everyone had plenty of room. No noise and amazing views of the hills made this a great site to stay on for my daughter and I.

Facilities were very clean, well lit and useable. There was one unisex shower - which was very large and well laid out, this would be a problem if the field was full, but we could see when it was occupied and plan accordingly.

We walked to the local pub across the field- we didn't eat but the food we saw looked very good. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cjboocock 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a fantastic five night stay here

Fantastic view of the mendip hills very quiet campsite

Very flat field which is very well drained it rained most nights but there was not floods, mud patches

The owner is very friendly and always willing to help

Toilets very clean and kept spotless although sometimes the hand towels and the soap need replacing a bit more often

The shower room needs a couple more hooks or a shelve to put your clothes on when using the shower

Will definitely return again the kids enjoyed the trampaline

Very good prices 15 per night with ehu

If you do stay there the lamb inn serves the best food try the homemade beef burger

If using a sat-nav to get there don't come of at junction 21 use j22 instead much easier and quicker to get there 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emma Cook 5 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site for a back to basics, relaxingly quiet stay in a stunning location. Large field with both electric and non electric pitches. The toilet block and 1 shower was adequate for our needs. The owners were very friendly and accommodating.

There was a nice pub serving great food only a short walk away and a garage shop selling all of the basic needs.

The only downside was no plumbing for the washing up sink so we had to resort to a kettle - but in the grand scheme of things that's nothing!

We enjoyed our 3 night stay and would use it again! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robbiec 3 reviews from this member

 Great little site facilities spotless Katherine lovely helpful lady nothing to much trouble, shower good value for money.

One small point against no pot wash but not major issue would like to say thanks and see you next year.

Fire pit good for keeping midges away handy for cheddar and surrounding area try the Waterloo arms excellent steaks. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SneekyPeeps 15 reviews from this member

 We were on our own at this site and it felt quite quiet and empty. The site itself is very nice and if other people had been there it would have been very pleasant. Horses, sheep and cows where about and it was a very busy time with the lambing. Owner was very nice, could have more toilets and showers ( Only 1 shower ) as I should imagine that there would be a bit of a queue when site really busy. No play area for children, toilets and shower nice and clean, all in all a very pleasant site. 20p for 2 min shower I felt was a bit steep but apart from that I was happy. A word of warning, you could easily miss the sign for the farm, its quite small so keep your eyes peeled ! 


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lower Weare      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3425 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement