Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping
Turnpike Road
Lower Weare
Axbridge
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS26 2JQ
Tel: 07876 615344
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 15
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Antonius 2 reviews from this member

We stayed on this campsite for three days during August. The site is in a large, flat field on this working farm and has fantastic views of the Mendips. Despite being just off the A38, the site is really peaceful with just a little traffic noise but this did not disturb us.

The site is ideally placed for accessing the West Mendip Way (there is a public footpath from the site) and exploring local towns such as Axbridge and Cheddar. The Strawberry Line cycle trail is just over a mile away and provides an interesting glimpse of the railway heritage of the area. There is an excellent pub, the New Inn at Cross (about a mile away) which provides great food and beer.

The site has a good clean toilet block with separate ladies and gents plus a shower (takes 20ps).

Kathryn and Mark, the owners, were very friendly and helpful and their farm-produced sausages are not to be missed! This is a great little site and we will certainly re-visit.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Farmwhippet 1 review from this member

Lovely peaceful site (despite just being off the busy A38). Simple toilet/shower block which was always well stocked and very clean. Only one, spacious shower unit but never saw a queue as the site is not very big. Stunning views of the Mendips. Owner was very welcoming but not intrusive. Had a really relaxing stay. Extremely good value for money.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GILLYKMIV 1 review from this member

15 of us stayed here as a group of friends for a festival nearby, good clean power hot shower, a spot to wash up and separate loos. Field nice and flat small and well off the main road so nice and secure. I think there were 11 EHU, and then half the field for basic set ups. Excellent prices and they were not inflated for the bank holiday weekend. Kathryn the owner was lovely and regularly checked we were all okay without being intrusive. We would all go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Piebald pickles 9 reviews from this member

A very flat, well kept field, with a basic but very clean toilet block, with one unisex shower. Shower takes 20ps or 1 corns, and was lovely and warm, and was a decent size. Views over the field was stunning, short walk to the local pub, circa a mile cycle to the strawberry line. Petrol station in the village, with all the basics required.

Short journey to cheddar gorge, a super day out.

A little road noise can be heard, but didn't affect us as light sleepers, as long as the windows were shut.

Axbridge has a super pub, with outside seating, and a quaint tea room

Grass was kept short. Hook up was great

Thank you Kathryn for allowing us to stay

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derekcbr 62 reviews from this member

We loved this site. The owner was most helpful on arrival because although she wasn't there she had put on a plan of the campsite where we were to pitch. The ground, although grass, was level and firm and was no problem. It was well kept and short. Not far from the M5 so an easy reach for Cheddar etc. But still quiet at night with little road noise. A great spot for exploring this wonderful area. When you meet the owner she is so amenable and helpful. The toilet facilities are basic but extremely clean and tidy and the showers are hot although you have to pay. 20p 10mins 40p 20mins etc. A very quiet site, no 'red coats' and children games etc. , but a really great, quiet site, with great views, a site to chill out, and with reasonably priced pitches this is a perfect site for those who appreciate a well kept, clean and inexpensive c. C. C. Site. An added bonus. Next door is a great fishing lake!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kennythekingfisher 3 reviews from this member

What can we say ? another fantastic stay at watersmeet farm, Kathryn and mark the usual friendly hosts (nice to catch up again) disappointed not know about Kathryn's sausages until just read about them on other reviews must try them next time ? think we said before that this is a brill stay as very quite and relaxing, take a drive to Wilkins cider farm and stock up for a night round the camp fire drinking cider and eating local cheese (also purchased from Wilkins). Can't wait until next trip (prob end of June)

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Derekcbr 62 reviews from this member

I think I will be repeating what has already been said so I just add to the excellent reviews for what is a small well run/organised site. The sanitary block is small with a shower which takes 20p's and is quite adequate in size and really clean and tidy. I do believe they are cleaned everyday. The camping field is level with an area for hook ups and tents. A really lovely site. Highly recommended

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amanda summer 3 reviews from this member

Hello My Daughter, Dog and I stayed her for our holiday this year and its fantastic place to see all the sights Somerset has to offer as its not far from any where, The site was clean tidy, lovely shower, nice toilets clean, EHU is 16 amp which is great, The owners Daughter rides her lovely horse in the field right in the campsite which was lovely to watch, family were lovely, Dog friendly, Little sink area for washing up, Basic but lovely campsite defo go next year for longer this time from Amanda, Summer and Slug the dog.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shabbycamper 3 reviews from this member

This was my second visit to Watersmeet Farm, and I can thoroughly recommend the site.

Plenty of space, flat and well kept field.

Clean well maintained shower/toilets -showers take 20p pieces/1 coins.

The site is in beautiful location with views of The Mendips, short drive to Axbridge and Cheddar, and not far to Weston Super Mare and Brean beaches.

It's a great base for walking and cycling too.

Kathryn is very welcoming and accommodating and I can thoroughly recommend her home grown sausages!

The local pub, 5 mins walk, is also worth a visit, good traditional hostelry with free wi-fi.

The Almshouse Tea Shop in Axbridge is very well worth a visit too - friendly service, great food and fabulous cakes!

Overall great experience, will return.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dragonforce 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at Watersmeet for the fourth time the week after Easter. Booking was easy as Kathryn replied within a few hours of me texting and gave us one of the pitches I requested. Pitches here are a good size and what we like about Watersmeet is there is plenty of room. They do not try and cram lots of units in to maximise profits. We have a folding camper with awning and bedroom extension and get this in no problem. In fact our stay this time was the quietest yet. We had the Site to ourselves for four nights. Toilet and shower facilities are simple but always very clean. Although only a single shower in the four times we have stayed there has never been a queue. Kathryn supplies logs as it's nice to be on a campsite that allows campfires, providing they are in a brazier or pit which they supply. Hidden away behind the toilet block. We also tried some of her sausages which she has been making for a year or so and they are really good.

Our 3 kids enjoy being here because there is plenty of room to kick a ball around, play rounders, fly kites or as we have done take a boat down to the river that flows through the farm and spend a few hours on the water. This year my boys took their goal out the garden and Kathryn let them keep it set up in the middle of the field as it was quiet. The boys loved this and played till it got dark and it was time to get the campfire going. With the units being set up around the perimter if you have young children you can keep an eye on them. This is less important for us now our children are older.

If you have a dog this site is ideal as you can walk through the farm and once you are over the river there are plenty of fields to walk through. Dogs are welcome here providing you clean up after them.

There are other factors that make this site ideal. There is a good dog friendly pub called the Lamb a five minute walk away. Another 20 minutes away at Cross and another very nice pub called the Swan in Rowberrow. All do good food and real ale. We can get to Cheddar in 10 minutes, Weston in less than 20 minutes and Glastonbury about 30 minutes. It's also really easy to reach from J22 of the M5 but you do have to keep a close eye out for the site as you come into Lower Weare.

Kathryn does not tolerate campers who make a mess or who are not considerate to other campers so I know we can arrive here and have a peaceful time enjoying a great view of the Mendips while drinking around a proper campfire. On a clear night the stars are seriously impressive as there is very little light pollution so if you are into astronomy this site could be worth a try.

Although there is no shop on site this is not a problem as five minutes from the site is a BP station with a shop included which stocks the basics. There is also a farm shop 2 minutes drive for your fresh meat and veg.

We shall be returning for a fifth time next year without a doubt.

Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2457 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1016