Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Lower Weare > Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping Reviews

Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping
Turnpike Road
Lower Weare
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS26 2JQ
Tel: 07484 113033  or  07484112985
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 62 Reviews
                9/10 from 62 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (28)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kennythekingfisher 3 reviews from this member

 This was our 2nd visit to watersmeet farm and this time we took more people with us and they agree this site and the owner are just fantastic.

Nothing is too much trouble, very friendly and helpful. If you going to stay in Somerset you have to stay here. We are already planning our next trip for the end on may and cannot wait to return.

The site is clean, the shower block is always spotless, delightful walks along the river and its great to be able to sit round the camp fire at night drinking the local cider (wilkins is a must visit) ask the owner for details.

20 min away from Cheddar gorge, Weston super mare.

Top marks to this site and top marks to the owners. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dfearnley 1 review from this member

 Our visit to watersmeet was our first ever camping experience. My wife and I went with our 2 children and 2 dogs. We were supposed to stay for three nights but due to us been first time campers we made a few mistakes on what we should have taken and after one night had the worst back ache ever due to not taking something to sleep on, BUT we learnt a great deal of what we need for next time. The site owner extremely welcoming. The toilet block / shower were so so clean excellent! the camping field itself was a great size and clean and tidy. We were lent a fire bucktet from the site owner so we could have a fire and also bought logs etc at a very reasonable price. The location is really peaceful and great views. I will definitely be revisiting properly pre pared next time as it was a great experience. I would recommend. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lozh 3 reviews from this member

 Upon arrival the owner greeted us at the gate. We had our pick of pitches on a very well drained field. The view of the mendips from the pitch was fantastic. The walks from the site are very good- Axbridge, Cheddar gorge and Crooks peak etc. The food at the Lamb Inn (2 mins walk) very good & New Inn about 15 mins walk.

This a working farm and at the time lambing was in progress and the owner took time to show us around and we were lucky enough to see lambs being born

Did not use the facilities but checked them out and found them to be very clean and adequate. We will definitely return and cannot fault the hospitality 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DandT 25 reviews from this member

 This was our first caravan outing having had a campervan previously. The hard-standing area was small but perfectly level and the whole site is set in flat farmland with the Mendip Hills forming a beautiful backdrop.

The owners were extremely friendly and helpful - they pointed us to some lovely walks on the ridge of the nearby hills - and the ambience of the site is quiet and peaceful. Unlike many sites the local wildlife, especially birds, is varied and there even seems to be a resident Kestrel! With luck you may also get a glimpse of Fallow Deer early in the morning.

The toilet block is small but clean and and in reasonable condition despite having suffered a little from the recent appalling weather.

The site is close to the main road and there is a little road noise but it's not obtrusive or a problem. The location is excellent for visits to the beach at Burnham or Brean and the towns of Cheddar, Wells and Glastonbury. (Be sure to wear some flowers in your hair!)

The local pub is a short walk but we chose to eat at the New Inn at Cross, a couple of miles along the road towards Axbridge. Very nice and the food is very good.

Our dogs also enjoyed the site and the local walks.

All in all a lovely little site with very welcoming owners in a good location. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tim.cooper5 8 reviews from this member

 Just had 6 nights at this lovely small campsite.

As already mentioned in other reviews, very friendly and helpful owners, who really made you feel welcome, with plenty of local knowledge.

As it was winter we wanted hard standing. There is a large area of hard standing of which the owners only have three units on at any one time, which gives plenty of room.

The hard standing looks quite recent, as the water drained very well, which was good as we had a lot of rain while we were there!

A very user-friendly chemical disposable point, and it was nice to have a pipe on the water point which was just the right height to fill up your aqua rolls.

A garage near by which sold most things, you could get to it by safe pavement walking.

Lovely views from the site.

Can't comment on the toilet/showers as we always use our own facilities.

Plenty of walks from the site, also a cycle track nearby on an old railway line, which we did one day.

We were going to say at the CC site in Cheddar, but they were full, which on hind site was a blessing as we wouldn't have found this site.

Would definitely do a return visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jjas2007 6 reviews from this member

 We used this sight as an overnight stop off on the way down to Cornwall. The sight is located approximately 10 minutes from the M5 and so we booked for convenience rather than anything else initially.

After arriving on a freezing cold night, we were warmly greeted by the lovely owner on her Quad bike. She directed us to our pitch, and gave us some local information regarding pubs, shops etc.

Well, what a lovely surprise we got in the morning! The views of the surrounding hills were beautiful, and despite being close to a main road, it was very peaceful.

There is a shower and toilet block which were basic but clean. The shower was 20p for about 2 minutes, which was adequate, (just remember to put your coin in when you are actually ready to get in, the scramble to strip was not amusing!)

We couldn't really comment on the local amenities as we had to get back on the road quite early, which was a shame because we would have liked to have explored a bit more.

I would definitely use this site again and at 12 a night for 2 adults with EHU, I feel it was good value for money. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wooliepig 3 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant and welcoming campsite, we arrived at 6pm Sunday and were shown to our pitch, our friends joined us and a last minute addition to our party was readily welcomed without any hassle.

The campsite is near Cheddar, Wookey Hole and Weston Super Mare and on a nice road for a touring caravan to access as some other locations are situated on windy small roads.

The shower / toilet block is kept clean and for 40p a nice 4 minute refreshing shower (20p for 2 mins) was great!

The nearby pub was ventured to Sunday night at 6. 50pm to be told they shut at 8 - menu was a very limited choice however was very nice and after a little banter and chit chat with landlord we had an enjoyable hour!

When we got back we sat around the fire pit which wood can be purchased for from site - very nice touch!

We ventured to The New Inn at Cross on the Monday night. All we can say is yum yum and a lovely landlord. All in all our visit to this neck of the woods was very enjoyable and hope to visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tipi-camper 3 reviews from this member

 A lovely site on the River Axe. The farm entrance is right on the main road so we had some reservations when we arrived but the site field is set well back so there was no noise at all.

The toilets are clean and although there is only one shower it is really quite luxurious.

Access to the river for canoeing/kayaking is just over a little bridge on the farm.

All perfect. We will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tuffythedog 11 reviews from this member

 A return visit for us and we are so glad we visited again.

Warm welcome, friendly, cheerful and helpful site owners.

Clean hot shower and toilets.

Flat well drained pitch.

Pleasant views of the surrounding countryside.

Within easy reach of Burnam-on-sea and Weston Super Mare, as well as loads of National Trust sites within a short drive.

Bargain of a site - what else could you ask for!

One of my favourite camping sites.

We look forward to returning next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lise212 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in summer and thought it was lovely.

The toilets were clean, as was the shower (yes there is only one but it is a small site)

Electric hook ups are available although we didn't use them and had more room as a result, not that the EHU pitches are too small but we had effectively the entirety of one end of the field to ourselves.

The owners are friendly and helpful and the site is peaceful despite its convenient location to the main road. All at a bargain price what more can you ask? 


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lower Weare      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3415 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement