Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Lower Weare > Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping Reviews

Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping
Turnpike Road
Lower Weare
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS26 2JQ
Tel: 07484 113033  or  07484112985
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 62 Reviews
                9/10 from 62 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (28)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicjones 1 review from this member

 We had an absolutely brilliant stay at Watersmeet, despite some slightly ropey weather! The owners, Kath and Mark, are the best - friendly, helpful, great sense of humour and a pleasure to meet. They've got a great local knowledge too so good to consult on the best kind of cider!

The site is lovely - flat, big pitches with a beautiful view of the Somerset Levels and Crook's Peak. The toilets were always clean and well kept and the shower was the same. Fire buckets and wood are available from the site which was great too - allowed us to sit out and weather the chill (well, it is British Summer Time!). The site's just off the main road so there is sometimes the distant rumble of cars but it's still very peaceful.

If you fancy a dip, the River Axe is just a few minutes walk across the fields and has a couple of access points where we took down a blow-up canoe which was brilliant for a float down stream with a cold beer - very picturesque.

Electric hook-ups are available although if you can go without, it might be better as you can get a more secluded spot. Not that it matters really, the site is big and even when it was full, there was plenty of room.

The Lamb Inn, five minutes walk up the road, is okay if you're desperate for a pint but to be honest the beer garden's a bit grotty and the staff have a touch of the 'anti-grockle' mentality about them which is a shame when they essentially have such a captive audience close by. We stopped in for one but decided to walk on up another 10 or 15 mins to the New Inn at Cross which was much better (good food, good beer, nice staff).

Lower Weare itself is in a good spot for exploring - Cheddar and Axbridge within a few miles and Wells, Weston and Glastonbury if you fancy a slightly longer trip. And of course - no visit is complete without a trip to Wilkins Cider Farm near Wedmore. Honestly - you must go, I promise you'll have one of the best afternoons of your hols.

All in all - 10/10 and we will defo be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cambo81 1 review from this member

 We had a brilliant Jubilee weekend at Watersmeet.

Perfect directions so easy to find and Kathryn was around to meet us as we arrived.

Both Kathryn and her husband Mark were lovely and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful over the weekend, bringing wood, telling us about the area, taking away our rubbish, etc.

The campsite itself is nice and flat and even fully booked there's lots of space. Very good value for money too.

Two horses were in a separate field for most of the weekend which was nice!

The campsite is on a working farm so generally lots of animals around and about.

The loos were always clean and had loo paper. The shower is 20p for 2 minutes and always hot and good pressure. Was never a very big queue, I think because there were quite a few motorhomes when we were there.

We did a bit kayaking in the small river which was fun!

The nearest pub is a 5 minutes away but isn't great to be honest. Definitely worth walking 20 minutes to the New Inn at Cross, nice staff and good food.

The nearest shop is a BP garage which has basics plus some fresh veg, drinks etc.

Generally, camping in this part of Somerset is perfect for exploring lovely villages, caves, pubs, cider, cheese, the list goes on! And Watersmeet is a great location with splendid views and lovely owners. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John and Mandy 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantstic welcome from Kathryn, Easy to find on the main A38, (sign a little small so keep your eyes peeled) beautiful surroundings, well maintained level site, with good hard access road, with large pitches, 10 with hook ups, our 2 Jack Russell's were made to feel very welcome too by Kathryn and her own Jack Russell, 'Spice'. The Toilets and Shower very clean, and a good size power shower too, with ample hot water (9 minutes for 1) but you can have a swift shower for as little as 20p, (Beware don't put your money in, until you're sure that nobody is filling their water container, as it draws pressure from the shower unit, and it stops until they finish filling up) We had a nice peaceful relaxing week, hedge around the field shelters you from any wind, and also you can buy logs and a fire lighter and borrow a brazier for a nice log camp fire if you want to sit around after a nice BBQ. We will definitely be going back regularly, and Kathryn also came over to us the night before we left to say goodbye and thank us and to see if we had any problems. Whilst a family would have a great holiday based here, (we were only a couple)there is little for children to do on site, although Kathryn did say children could use her own families trampoline in her garden, and there is plenty of room to run around 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Limpit 2 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 days here at the end of may, everything was clean, the one shower was fine though 20p did not last long, there were only about 4 other units on site so facilities were adequate, I don't know if 1 shower would be sufficient for many more people.

No road noise, owner friendly and present around site. Pub up the road not open after about 9.30, we found the white hart, old coach road cross, pleasant, opens around 4pm and doesn't close!

plenty to visit around the area, berrow sands good for us with 3 dogs.
Cheddar reservoir a nice walk, glastonbury tor, superb views followed by a stroll round town.

The camp site was all level & easy access, the owners only took it on last august & have worked hard to get it up & running. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Snakey 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from an absolutely wonderful long weekend at this camp site. The owners are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them even though they were in the middle of the lambing season.

The facilities are more than adequate with clean toilets and a large shower room. The camping field is flat and well mown with well spaced out electric hookups.

The site is very well positioned for Cheddar, Wookey Hole, Weston Super-mare and a 50 minute drive to Bath which is well worth a visit especially the Roman baths.

Pub a short stroll away and a garage for essential bits and bobs about 1/2 mile away, Tesco store at Burnham on sea and also Wells

There were flame pits to use if required and bbq's are also permitted.

The pitch fees were very modest given the location.

I would recommend this site to anyone wanting a no frills quiet holiday. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tuffythedog 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our Easter break at this site.

Booking was easy and emails returned very quickly.

Set in the farm, which has sheep, a few cows and horses with a lovely view of the surrounding hills. We booked a tent pitch with EHU, at the bargain price on 12 per night.

The site was easy to find and is access by a large gate, this made us feel very secure at night and we left our tent knowing it would be safe in the daytime.

The pitch was very flat and well drained, as such the tent was easy to pitch and had loads of space in which to do so.

The owner was very helpful and made us feel very welcome, letting us pitch at leisure and checking up on us later to make sure we were OK and to answer any questions.

There is a new shower room at the site, which is one of the best I have seen, just like being at home with lots of space and a proper screen and big enough so you have place to dry without getting your clothes wet.

Toilets were always clean and fully functional, as was the disposal point and clean water facilities.

Overall we were very pleased with this campsite and would recommend it to anyone looking for a base to explore the county and enjoy the delights of the country.

There are a few pubs locally within 5 minutes walk, and a garage just a minute away for any necessities and of course petrol, but we opted to enjoy Weston Super Mare and Burnham on Sea, which are only a small drive away.

We shall be returning as soon as we can. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wildlifewarden 6 reviews from this member

 We have just had a wonderful relaxing time at this site, helped by the good weather. The site was in the process of updating the toilet and shower block all seems fine in that direction. We used our caravan facilities so were not affected. The access into this level site is easy, straight up a recently stoned drive, ending in an ample turn around area. The views were stunning and for those who like walking you could go in all directions, easily choosing between level walks or harder hill climbs. In any direction you are not short of good choice, for places to go, nearby Burnham allowed dogs on the beach which was helpful. The river Axe runs through the farm so will suit those who like to bring a canoe. The owners were very friendly and keen to make you feel welcome. Should you be unfortunate to pick a very wet week because of the nature of the ground on the Somerset levels you may well need four wheel drive to pull your self off the field, but we will see as we most certainly intend to return. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikew4895 9 reviews from this member

 Tent, 2 people, 1 car. 8pn

This site was pretty basic. A very warm welcoming from the owner

The views of the surrounding hills are quite amazing!

They had a portable cabin style toilets. The guys had 3 cubicles and urinals and the ladies just 1. A little strange I thought but it wasn't busy so no problems. The toilets were clean

The lady offered us to use the power shower in the house. There is a 50p charge. I didn't use this but the house looked nice so I'm guessing the shower would be too

The lady has a fire basket which she allowed us to use at no extra cost. We did have our own wood etc though

There is a pub 2 mins walk away. We opted for the pub a 3 mins drive away as the lady said it was nice. Which it was

I would definitely use this site again 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daisy1sit 2 reviews from this member

 This site is well positioned to enjoy the local countryside and walks. The view of the hills is excellent and lovely to wake up to each morning. The site is flat, well drained and has good electric hook ups. The toilets are in a portakabin so fairly basic but adequate and clean.

The owner, was very welcoming even though we arrived a day late due to problems with the road electrics on our van. We would have stayed longer if we had not got other commitments so I'm sure we will return next year. I believe there are plans to put showers in making this a good site for tents as well as vans if this happens. All in all a very positive experience. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robdor 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in our touring caravan during September 2011. This site is easily found being immediately accessible from the A38 just south of Axbridge.

The road noise was barely evident even to us as light sleepers. It comprises of a large almost level field bordered by trees & bushes. The views of the Mendip hills were quite stunning.

The toilets were clean & other amenities were very good. The site owner was most friendly & helpful.

There is an amazing variety of things to do & see in the area & we intend to return in due course. 


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Watersmeet Farm Caravan & Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lower Weare      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3034 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement