Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Primrose Cottage Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Whitstable > Primrose Cottage Caravan Park Reviews

Primrose Cottage Caravan Park
Golden Hill
Whitstable
Kent   (Browse area)
CT5 3AR
Tel: 01227 273694  or  07958 503078
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Hume 17 reviews from this member

A nice little campsite. The owner Brian very friendly. Showed us his old car in the garage that he has restored to a very high standard. Shower/toilets all good. Good location. Nice to have tesco nearby. Whitstable was not one of my favourite places to visit. My husband enjoyed it. Don't be put off by my comments, try it for yourself you may enjoy it like my husband did. The cockerel didn't bother us.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nomad66 15 reviews from this member

We've just returned from this site after staying a few nights end enjoying the last of the good UK weather.

The site is quite small, all the facilities are clean, in working order and included in the price. The owner is friendly, helpful and genuinely seems to enjoy having people stay at the site.

The site is located on the outskirts of Whitstable next to a busy main road and Tesco superstore. You can't see it from the site and neither bothered us. In fact, it is very handy being able to quickly nip out and get some thing. The road could probably a bit noisy during the day, but this is not a site to spend all day in. The town, harbour and sea-front are just too nice for that and the road quietened right down at night.

We walked into the quaint old fishing town to sample the pubs, cafés, independent shops and restaurants. Whitstable is a little gem of a town, very rare in SE England and seemingly unspoilt by modern shopping centres and national brands.

Canterbury is just a few miles away and easy to reach by public transport or car. If you decide to drive, use the park and ride service. It's cheap and frequent. The city centre car parks are pay-and-display and expensive, especially at weekends.

Sites like this are rare in the UK. Usually they are stuck out in the country which means a drive into the nearest town. Personally, I'd like to see more sites like this one.

Will we return - definitely.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andyturton 1 review from this member

OK, the site is next to a busy main road.

OK, the cockerel wakes you up at some ungodly hour if you're not used to it.

BUT. We had a great couple of days at this site.

A small size with everything within easy reach - drinking water, wash up facilities, toilet / shower block, small site shop. Toilets and showers lovely and clean and plenty of hot water. Felt really safe for the kids to run around and make some new friends. A really friendly owner too who has an amazing vintage car in his shed that he's renovated - worth a look!

An easy 30 minute walk into Whitstable using part of the Crab and Winkle Way. Make sure you walk back up Church / Castle Street on the way back to the site and stop off at the The Monument pub. Great food and beer and a lovely beer garden with chickens, rabbits and a play area for the kids - Saturday night is steak night!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marina24 2 reviews from this member

We went into the reception and met Brian the owner, he showed us where we could pitch up for our stay. We were charged £19 a night for hook up, not bad price compared to some greedy sites! The site is pretty, clean and well kept. Showers hot and free! Wash up room, there is a laundry room too. No club house or pool equals less noise. Tesco is 2 min walk away. The cockerel is not that bad! after all it is in the countryside. There are ducks and a safe pond too. Would recommend this site. It's lovely. Whitstable is a lovely place to visit. We will use this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J+PW 4 reviews from this member

We drove up on Wednesday looking for a site for a few days. The owner couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Stay as long as you want, he said £17 a night for 2 in a tent. We didn't need a hook up but there were plenty.

The site is just the sort we like. Showers, toilets, washing all clean and free. A gently sloping field that didn't bend your pegs and a nice relaxed feel to it. Not much of a view, but we were spending the evenings in Whitstable for the oyster festival and it only took under 15 minutes to ride our bikes back up from the town beach. Even though we're old and had consumed far too much beer, cider, muscadet and oysters.

It's where I would stay if we were to return.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KTMKent 1 review from this member

Just spent a few nights at this site with some friends. The area for tents is well kept and the owner very friendly and helpful and the location for Whitstable is ideal, 20-30 minute walk. Also very close to other seaside resorts such as Herne Bay and Broadstairs.

Other reviews stated that it was £18 per night for tent and 2 people; we were charged £6 for the tent and £6 per person regardless of age, so £36 per night for us, which I thought was a bit on the steep side. However, you no longer have to pay for showers as some previous reviews state.

I also found the showers dirty and the water pressure awful. The cockerel will also keep you awake, as will the road noise unless you are a very heavy sleeper.

My view is the site is fine for a few nights, but with just a little bit more effort the owner could make this a fantastic site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mgsmum123 1 review from this member

First visited this site 5 years ago and it hasn't changed at all. Camped on main part of field at back of chicken run. Cockerel could be quite vocal early mornings but hey your in the country!Field is well kept and other campers/caravaners were all friendly.

Toilet blocks and showers kept clean. Showers use tokens at 20p each and requires 3-4 per shower. Plenty of bins around site and emptied daily and handy washing up facilities on field. Laundry room has 2x washing machines at a cost of £1. 50 per use and 1x dryer at cost of £1. 50 for 20mins, washing still very damp and decided to hang up on clothes line as would of cost a fortune to get fully dry. Well stocked shop for essentials and gas. Tescos 2 mins walk away.

Whistable harbour 3 miles away and is lovely. Herne Bay is 5 miles away with stoney beach and is very commercialised with arcades along sea front. Ramsgate, Margate and Broadstairs are within easy reach with lovely sandy beaches.

Overall enjoyed our stay but prices have rocketed costing £18. 00 per night for 2 people + £2. 00 for each extra adult or child. Considering cost of showers/laundry facilities and being near main road which could be noisy feel it is getting expensive for what it is.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Popsicle 1 review from this member

We decided to go to Whitstable on a whim at 5.00 on a sunny Saturday and the owner was really friendly and squeezed us in, when I say 'squeezed us in' I really mean it. We were less than 2m from our neighbours on each side - we appreciated this as it meant we had a pitch for the night but if we were planning on staying for a few days it would be way too cramped. There were a mixture of families and groups of younger people, the families were the noisiest, with a group of families near us singing Abba til about midnight! We didn't mind as felt it could just as easily have been us if we'd gone away with our friends. There is a decent shop in the office (didn't discover it until we were leaving having been out of the site to the Tesco on the corner!). I really liked the chaotic feel of the site, my husband doesn't want to go back!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pegtent 8 reviews from this member

Picked this site as it was near Whitstable, etc. First impressions of the site were that it was beautifully kept, Brian was very cheerful and friendly.

It looked like a very small site with predominantly caravans. I could see no other tents. However, we were offered a pitch on the very front lawn (which sloped) with a view over the main A road which was extremely noisy.

Got as far as getting the tent out of the back of the car, looked at my daughters face who said 'I can't sleep here, it's like being on a motorway' and I have to admit it was.

Had read the reviews regarding road noise and thought we would probably be ok, and you probably would have been were you in a caravan.

If you choose this site for its location, make sure you pack ear plugs. For me, I'm afraid it wasn't what we wanted.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fun in the sun 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, really really friendly and relaxed.

Needs more pictures of site todo it justice.

Showers and loo's very very clean and cleaned regularly. Will defo go back. Three families went and all had a great time.

Nice and close to Whitstable great fish and chips. Tesco extra right next to camp site which is great for extra needed bits.

Fresh eggs on site and a cockerel! All in all would recommend.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1402 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019