Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Primrose Cottage Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Primrose Cottage Caravan Park
Golden Hill
Whitstable
Kent   (Browse area)
CT5 3AR
Tel: 01227 273694  or  07958 503078
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
                9/10 from 50 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Getaways 1 review from this member

Lovely small well kept camp site, very clean toilets and showers. Owners really nice and friendly couldn't do enough for you. Easy walk into Whitstable town and a Tesco very close to site. There is a good local bus service that enables you to travel along the coast and into Canterbury on day tickets.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dusters 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 4 night stay at primrose cottage caravan site

On arrival we met the owner Brian who was very welcoming & friendly.

He helped us set up our caravan as we are newbies.

The site was very clean & tidy as are the shower blocks.

Tesco is just 5 mins to walk.

We hope to go back next year.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Harry23 1 review from this member

We have just come back from a 5 day break staying on this lovely campsite. My husband had been in hospital with gastroenteritis 3 weeks earlier, so we thought we could go somewhere local for a break. He wasn't too well when we were there, but every morning, the manager Brian always asked if there was anything he could do, even said he would drive us back if needed. You couldn't find a nicer person, so I just want to say thank you so much as our stay at you park was made nicer because of your friendliness. I would recommend to stay hereto all my friends.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T5Bilbos 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a short stay to do some cycling in the local area. If you want to do the Crab and Winkle Way or the Oyster Bay trail this site is perfectly located.

Brian the owner is a real salt of the earth type who makes you feel so welcome and relaxed.

In my opinion this site is an absolute gem.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cherokee497 1 review from this member

Been coming to Primrose cottage for the last three years mainly long weekends and Brian is always happy to accommodate if at all possible. This is a 'Darling Buds of May' site so do not expect regimented hard standing 'Caravan Club' type pitches, but what you will get is a lovely laid back peaceful site looking out over the Thames estuary (albiet in the distance) with some of the most amazing sunsets.

A large Tesco superstore is just 5 minutes walk away (But Brian can offer you fresh eggs and essentials from his small shop).

The toilets are always clean and tidy (do not expect 5 star heated loo's with radio 2 playing) you are there because you like the tranquil setting and go away feeling 'yes that was a good couple of day's away' and you will return.

In the time we have been frequenting Primrose Cottage we have seen many returning families.

Whitstable is about a 25 minute walk (there is a hill) but we usually get a taxi (around 5. It would probably cost you that in parking charges)

There is no play area for children but is safe enough for them to ride bikes around and play together.

Looking forward to the next visit.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Torinson 1 review from this member

Clean small site, Brian is very friendly and helpful. Very relaxed atmosphere, happy for you to extend your visit is you want to and no pressure about money.

It says views of the sea, we couldn't see it but didn't really matter. Also, it says flat pitches but some are on a slight slope. Took our telescope as I was hoping to stargaze, unfortunately site is on a main road and next to a housing estate so not very dark! I must say, even though its next to a main road the noise isn't to bad, and having a Tesco in walking distance was very handy!

Overall a pleasant site, showers and toilets always clean and close to a few beaches and places to visit. We had a lovely time, thank you :-)

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: PaulLisa 1 review from this member

Just back from a weekend, on a last minute decision to camp for the weekend. We called the site, the owner sounded very nice and said he didn't take bookings, so just roll on up and he would put us on his site, no problem. On arrival, the owner was very laid back said we could pick our choice of pitches, took a real interest in our 42 year old VW camper and told us all about himself being very interesting and asking us to see his restored Morris Minor. The campsite was very friendly clientele, with great clean facilities, hot shower, hot water to wash dishes etc. Well looked after and would highly recommend for a small, quiet friendly site. On our departure, our VDub decided not to fire up, so the owner very kindly assisted us with his tractor first of all trying to jump start and then insisted on towing us with the tractor to get us a jump start. We were so grateful for his kindness and off we went. A genuine nice guy.

We will be back.

The little shop he runs has essentials, milk, drinks, fresh eggs, t bags etc. Right next door a 24 hour Tesco.

We ate at the Monument, a pub nearby, about 20 mins walk, good food, reasonable prices.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DeborahH 1 review from this member

Had a brilliant visit to Primrose Cottage, cannot fault this site in any way. The toilet/shower block are kept immaculately clean. The site is a just a 15 minute walk away from Whitstable centre and there is a Tesco only two minutes away for any shopping needed. The campsite is peaceful and quiet and I would not hesitate to recommend it, we will definitely go back.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bahhumbugessexgirl 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night due to the high score and previous reviews on here.

I have to agree with all the other comments about the owner, he's really friendly and welcoming. No rush to check in (which is signing your name in their book) and an offer of home grown tomatoes and apples.

Several previous reviews did mention road noise. I seriously underestimated their comments. Understandably it does depend on the level of road noise you are used to, so personally for me, living in a very rural area, the proximity of the busy road was an issue and I wouldn't visit that site again.

There were plenty of toilets and showers in not the most modern of blocks. Although the floors and ceramics were obviously cleaned regularly, there were some serious cobwebs around the ceilings and light fittings that hadn't just formed overnight. Again, personal preference but I prefer to not dodge spider webs and cobwebs as thick as silk when needing to go.

Other reviews have mentioned a sea view. We walked around the site on a lovely sunny day with good visibility and could see no sea. Please don't imagine sitting by your unit watching the boats in the distance.

There is a 24 hr tesco next door which is handy. The walk into town takes about 20 mins. Although we walked back several of the other campers said they needed to get a taxi as it is up a fairly steep hill.

Whitstable was lovely as other reviews have mentioned.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steffie19 1 review from this member

Had a lovely four days at this campsite. The site is very well looked after. The owner is very nice and relaxed. We pitched just before it started raining and given how much rain fell the next day I can safely say the site drains very well! The showers and toilets were always clean with hand wash and toilet paper plentiful. The showers were hot and did NOT require tokens, as some reviews have stated. There is even a hair drier in the ladies. There is a laundry room and a washing up hut too. The Tesco is very handy, open 24 hours, and the centre of Whitstable is about a mile walking, so not too far at all. Children are very welcome on the site and there is enough room for them to run around. The road next to the site is a little noisy but you quickly forget it is there. We very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2144 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019