Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Primrose Cottage Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Primrose Cottage Caravan Park
Golden Hill
Whitstable
Kent   (Browse area)
CT5 3AR
Tel: 01227 273694  or  07958 503078
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
                9/10 from 50 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mariners2 1 review from this member

No booking required - turned up on Saturday for a one night stop and were delighted. Easy to find and Brian was great - helpful and quite a character.

Had no trouble with the road noise mentioned in other reviews and had a lovely view of the sunset. Fairly level grass site, and no problem with facilities - handy washing up place, toilets/showers clean.

Tesco not in view so not intrusive but very handy for an unplanned weekend away.

Whitstable is about 30 minutes walk down the Crab&Winkle Path and is a great place - like the British seaside towns used to be, but with a modern twist - craft markets, foodie places galore and a real buzz. Would bring bikes next time - very handy for cycle paths.

A lovely relaxed feel to this site - more informal than some larger sites we have visited.

We will definitely return - and the cockerel was silent, not that it would have worried us, as we keep chucks at home anyway!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hilts70 1 review from this member

Agree with other people that it is a friendly, well maintained small site. And Whitstable is great.

But the reality is it looks over a major A road, and if you camp on the front lawn you will hear and see traffic all the time.

The owner was very amenable and let us pitch around the corner from it and the difference was incredible. But surrounded by houses and with the TESCO hypermarket around the corner it is a very urban camping experience. So I'd recommend going for a cheap way to stay in Whitstable, but not a country experience.

I also think 15 is steep when you have to pay for showers as well, and although the blocks are clean, the water pressure is pretty poor and the supply of water runs out if you don't get in quick. A complaint you might overlook if you weren't forking out your own cash for it.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vanalan 8 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our stay on this site and found the owner and his wife most helpful and pleasant.

We left the Camper on site and either walked or caught the bus into Whitstable from outside the nearby Tesco (very convenient and not at all intrusive).

We deliberately avoided the bank holiday weeks and found the site very quiet and relaxed and the nearby road unobtrusive.

It has very good, really clean toilets and showers and a convenient dish-washing 'hut' for us campers. The touring site is next to the static caravan site also run by Brian but don't let this put you off as the two are quite separate.

Whilst we were there, the cockerel you may read about in other reviews was was far too lazy to crow and never bothered us once.

What was also good was that virtually every pitch got a good amount of sun during the day, well it was an exceptional May!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hebby73 1 review from this member

Excellent site, very very helpful owner,

Toilets and showers very clean, beautiful sunsets over the sea,

Very handy for Tesco store, very central for visiting Whitstable, Canterbury, Faversham and Turner Gallery Margate and Herne Bay.

Lots of good pubs in Whitstable with good food and real ale with local brew Whitstable Ale. We will definitely return.

The cost of 17.00 per night was good value although showers cost 20p considering today's electricity prices was reasonable.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chilli-p 12 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night on a trip round north Kent.

Very little to add to what's already been said. Although the site is next to a main road, and a large Tesco, it was quiet (even the crowing of site cock was muted).

The owner was friendly and very laid back, and we had to pay the groundsman when we left. Ample facilities for the size of the site, although the showers need tokens. All clean and nice.

Very handy for visiting Whitstable.

Would we use this site again. Yes.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Joelewes 8 reviews from this member

Pleasant site on the outskirts of Whitstable. Its about a 20 minutes walk downhill into town which has all the facilities you would expect in a seaside town. Obviously, its a walk up hill back! The site is next to a massive Tesco although you wouldn't know it but its very handy for food etc. The pitches for motorhomes form a small part of the site which is mainly laid out with permanent pitches for static homes. It is grassed and fairly level with electric hook-ups. The owner is very friendly and helpful. Cost was 17 per night including EHU and there were tokens for the showers (20 pence each - two are more than enouugh for a good shower). It was very quiet when we went. Facilities are good but there is no shop - but with a Tesco next door they don't need one - but they do sell eggs from the on-site chickens. There is a main road next to the site but the noise wasn't intrusive.

Whitstable itself is very nice and there a numerous walks. There are pubs a-plenty and some quite up market gastro pubs. We had fish, chips and mushy peas at one for 15 and it was pretty poor. Tiny piece of fish with bone dry chips, strange tasting tartare sauce and mushy peas made from ground up gardens peas. Stick to the fish an chip shops!

All in all a good site and well recommended. And Whitstable is well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: THE GLOBETROTTERS 11 reviews from this member

Visited Primrose Cottage last weekend in our motorhome. Immacuately kept grounds, showers, toilets etc. Sue and Brian were lovely, helpful and pleasant people and my husband had to actually go to Brian to pay our site fees. We had wonderful views of the bay and watched beautiful evening sunsets. Tesco just a 2 minutes walk away - what a bonus!

Couldnt complain about the noise from the road as it wasn't that bad. As for the cockeral well, come on, this is the country, what more does anyone expect?

Will definitely visit this site again and as its fairly local to us anyway we look forward to our next visit. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Londoncaravaner 1 review from this member

Such a lovely peaceful well maintained site. Toilet and shower facilities are spotless and the local Tesco is very handy indeed. A place to let the kids run free, with chickens walking around and a well stocked site shop (with eggs from the chickens!) There's no club house - but that doesn't mean that there's not a nice atmosphere on site with friendly neighbours.

It's only a 10 min walk to the nearest pub (that serves lovely food) and a 15 min walk to the High Street and beach. Perfect for a trip to Whitstable and if you manage to go, we'd recommend the Salt Marsh for a Sunday lunch - amazing!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrissiwake 7 reviews from this member

A real mixed review. Like other reviewers we too found the site to be well maintained; the grass was kept immaculate, the toilet blocks clean and with ample facilities and the little shop well stocked. The owner was friendly - although very quick to take your money off you!

We were only stopping for one evening to try our new tent out, and for this or an overnight stop the site serves its purpose. I definitely think that 14 a night for no scenery, electric hook up, noise and still having to buy tokens for shower block is on the steep side though.

But. It's not camping! With Tescos round the corner (admittedly convenient), more lights than Blackpool illuminations and the view from your tent being either a housing estate or busy A road. It is also not child friendly with steps (no gate) from the tent area down onto the busy A road.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Itschaos 5 reviews from this member

We couldn't fault it. Spotlessly clean toilets, grounds very well kept, everyone so friendly there. Little shop for basics, Tesco just round the corner.

Not too far from Whitstable and Herne Bay sea front. It was recommended to us and we will definitely recommend this camp to everyone. We shall be going back again.

Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1396 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019