Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Pitlochry > Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site Reviews

Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site
Bridge Road
Pitlochry
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH16 5NA
Tel: 01796 472882
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 155
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 75 Reviews
                8/10 from 75 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nellyford 2 reviews from this member

 Reasonably level site with EHU and decent spacing

Twenty minute walk to centre of Pitlochry and ten minute walk to the Festival Theatre

Midgies and even more midges as site is by the river

Well stocked shop and chippie van on a Friday night. What more could a body ask for?

Too few showers and wash up facilities.

No towels or soap in the shower/toilets.

Nothing supplied to clean the pot wash up or the shower and basin after use.

Pitlochry itself is past its sell by date but its always worth a wee trip to the House of Bruar and the Festival Theatre and the scenery is outstanding of course. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rooftent90 2 reviews from this member

 Well kept site, friendly welcome, good hot showers. Short walk into Pitlochry centre. Close to riverside walks and hydro-electric station. Will use this site next time we're in the area. Well kept site, friendly welcome, good hot showers. Short walk into Pitlochry centre. Close to riverside walks and hydro-electric station. Will use this site next time we're in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Graham Haddow 19 reviews from this member

 Well looked after site which took a bit of finding. Signposting could be better. Facilities were a bit strange and dated but adequate. As a dog owner I'm still looking for the dog walking areas because where we were sited (no. 15) the areas were miles away. I also think that some of the signs about being thrown off the site if dogs do the toilet are very unfriendly and unwelcoming. 25 for one night is the most I've paid travelling around Scotland this summer. For that reason I won't be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jay Bay 12 reviews from this member

 This is a large well organised site on the edge of town, and a lovely walk into town. Reception was very friendly and helpful however having spent nearly three weeks moving round Scotland I got a bit of a surprise at the cost at 25 for a moterhome with hookup.

We were allocated a space which was quite near the entrance. The facilities were in the next section.

I found the facilities a bit odd, each one a mini bathroom with toilet, wash basin and shower. There was a lack of hooks for clothes in the shower room. There were individual bathrooms, with baths also available at the bottom of the site. There is a small shop on site and it opens until 9.

The site and facilities are clean and well maintained, but I thought the showers were odd.

The chemical disposal was also odd and not easy to use. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 We have visited Pitlochry several times and always head for Milton of Fonab site. It is large and has both tourers and static units, but is a reasonable safe bet 'on spec' if you get there early.

Has both hard stands and grass pitches. At short notice we were allocated a grass pitch, but that was fine, being virtually opposite the toilet/shower block. The outlook in all directions gives you the impression of a plateau in high valley, and is lovely.

It is but a short walk into Pitlochry town with its range of tourist and other shops. The one thing it really lacks is supermarket - it only has a modest and fairly limited Co-op. Don't forget the 'Highland' evening on the recreation ground on a Monday evening from June to early September. Bells distillery is also just at th end of the road!

AS a base, Pitlochry cannot be faulted, providing road, rail and bus access to many parts of the lower Highlands.

This is a family site, although it should be noted that there are NO children's play facilities.

Fonab is undoubtedly the best site in the area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Terryinalicante 1 review from this member

 We have toured both NZ and Canada in RVs and found all the sites well up to expected standard and never felt the need to write a review.

However after our 2 days stay at this site we were so impressed with all the facilities that we decide to make our thoughts known. Fiona the owner was one of the most pleasant and helpful ladies that we have meet.

The shop is well stocked and the site is kept immaculate. We have never seen toilet/shower blocks where each one was a mini private bathroom. Add to this free fishing and the surrounding area with the fish ladder and river side pub really made our 2 days stay 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Imcs308712 5 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site & find it very convenient, as it is very close to Pitlochry Theatre, & also within walking distance to the town of Pitlochry, either by a short walk along the road, or a longer one if you go by the fish ladder & dam, which is good exercise, as you have steps as well as inclings along that route. You can enjoy a meal in town & then have a nice walk back to the site.

This time the toilets were better, last time there was a lot of small flies & spiders in them, but as there are comment slips available, we filled one in. ( so many folk put complaints in reviews, but never bring them up on site)the grass is well kept & with hard standing pitches for motorhomes/ caravans, so no grass pulled in on your feet.

We took a walk round the whole site which is in two sections, & this gave us a chance to talk to other people on holiday & exchange ideas of other sites for one another to visit.

With all the large static homes in one area, & they all have individual picnic tables beside them it looks very organised.

Pity some of the people who use it don't take notice of speed limit on site, as it is a family friendly site !.

Will definitely be using it again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fotojet 5 reviews from this member

 Very large camping, nearby the village of Pitlochry. About 20 minutes walk to the village one way and 15 minutes walk to the distillery of Blair Athol the other way. There was a small shop on site at the reception. Toilets were clean, but quite a walk from our tent pitch at the far end of the camping. In the evening the camping was loaded with rabbits. Unfortunately you can't choose where to pitch. I thought it was a bit expensive for what you get. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dave 418 37 reviews from this member

 Yes this is a large site with lots of statics and unoccupied caravans but it served well for what we needed, an overnight break on route up Scotland. The staff in reception were friendly and gave us all the information we needed. The toilets were a little tired but clean and usable. We were able to walk into town n 20 minutes for an evening meal and a short break from the van. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vmccar 24 reviews from this member

 This is an extremely large site, flat and immaculately kept, but as some have said, a little soulless / featureless.

Despite its size there are loads of loo blocks and one is never far away.

The dog walk is a very small patch of grass no bigger than a very small garden which is a bit poor given the notices warning that you will be evicted if you exercise your dogs anywhere else - so not really that dog friendly although lots of parks walks and open space in Pitlochry itself.

We found ourselves very close to the vans next door which, given the lack of features and vegetation makes it feel lacking in privacy.

It is handy for Pitlochry as only 15 mins walk into the centre.

We only stayed one night as we were not that keen on the site. 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pitlochry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4249 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement