Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Pitlochry > Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site Reviews

Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site
Bridge Road
Pitlochry
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH16 5NA
Tel: 01796 472882
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 155
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 68 Reviews
                8/10 from 68 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: S Risk 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here just after COVID-19 lockdown was eased. Was a bit wary but I shouldnít have been. Received an email detailing how to check in contact free. Given pitch number and directions.

The toilet and shower blocks were immaculate. They seem to have employed someone to just clean them all day long going between the buildings. There was also anti bac spray and disposable cloths in every cubicle. And hand sanitizers everywhere. 👍🏼

The site itself is lovely. Pitches are a fair size. Itís only about. 15 minutes wall into town. Lots of nice walks around for dog lovers.

Will defo be back 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Catarinabod 54 reviews from this member

 Pre-booked online for 1 night stopover. Easy to find close to Pitlochry centre and great spot for riverside and other marked walks.

Facilities in touring area in a dated building but clean and warm. Shame about push-button showers. Our pitch was allocated and quite small but enough for 1 night.

Free wifi was a bonus. At £25 it was the most expensive of the 6 sites booked on our campervan tour.

Plenty of walks in the area, signposted (although we did lose our way but rejoined by accident!).

Nice town, interesting hydro and dam. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: KBKed 21 reviews from this member

 A quiet site with good facilities. Some of the pitches were a bit on the small side and quite close together.

It is an easy walk into Pitlochry where you will find many bars, shops and restaurants.

There are also other walks in the surrounding countryside. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Zackyboy 16 reviews from this member

 Have stayed at this site before, we have never been disappointed. Although the site is quite large with a number of seasonal vans and larger vans to rent, we have always found the site to be fairly quiet and always clean and tidy.

The site is within a ten minute walk to the Theatre and around twice that to the town. There were ample facilities which were always kept clean and tidy. Although a bit pricey, can't really fault this site. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Delzer 9 reviews from this member

 Have heard so much about this site from my friend I just had to visit. For being such a big site it was quite peaceful. Donít think it would be the same in the summer.

Facilities were spotless with plenty toilets and showers and hairdryers, I believe the oldest shower/toilet block is getting renovated before they open next season.

Lovely walks and a few dog walks on site. Can walk from site to town which is good if you want to have a wee drink. The theatre is just a short walk away which has a cafe.

A wee fish and chip van visits on a Friday. We didnít use them but seemed to be very popular and people were queuing before they were ready to open.

A great wee shop on site and staff very friendly. A beautiful place to visit. Excellent location if you like fishing.

Will definitely be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mmad 15 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site. Well stocked shop. Friendly staff. Decent shower block, although showed some signs of heavy use after Scottish school holidays.

Never had to queue for a shower which is always a bonus. Of the pubs in Pitlochry we found the Old Mill the best. Handy for A9. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jimagallan 11 reviews from this member

 Great site, have visited a few times now. Toilet blocks seem to have been renovated recently.

Always well kept public areas. Itís only a small walk to all shops, pubs and restaurants. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Smart Family 51 reviews from this member

 Another nice visit to this site.

We returned to this site a year after our last visit. The reception was friendly and informative. We were allocated a large hardstanding pitch with great views of the surrounding scenery.

It was disappointing to see the main toilet block although always kept clean was still looking tired and old and in need of upgrading. On the positive side the toilet/shower blocks near the river have been upgraded and look well, here's hoping the older block gets the same treatment, long overdue for such a big busy site.

The motorhome service point is one of the best iv'e seen. Good free WiFi is available and the on site shop is very good and well stocked. An easy walk into town with a massive selection of shops and cafes and pubs. There are plenty of good and varied walks in the area which was great for our dog.

We will return. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: McCarron 13 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site, booked for 3 nights online in advance with no issues, you need to call once booking ref email is received to leave deposit via credit/debit card. Not the cheapest of sites we have stayed at, price is season dependant and pitch type dependant with extra to pay for full awning.
Easy access to site, sign posted once entering Pitlochry from the South off A9, just after petrol station turn left.
Check in was quick and pleasant, good parking at reception, pitch allocated by owners and we were happy with the one we got with nobody next to us and everyone who was on site having a few empty pitches between them but I guess that is time of year dependant, March 2018 at time of review and very quiet with half a dozen other tourers and some seasonals on site, but at least it was sensibly considered. Site map given to show site and facilities. Site is spread over 2 fields separated by small stream, one area behind reception is primarily for Static caravans and seasonal pitches, the other over bridge is mainly for tourers and seasonal pitches. Reception has well stocked shop for groceries etc, calor gas is also available. There are 3 toilet blocks spread over the site, one with modern individual bathrooms with shower or bath/sink/toilet/paper towels, next to the Laundry. The other 2 blocks are more dated, with shower and toilet cubicles, liquid soap and hand dryers. All were kept clean during our stay with loads of hot water. The Laundry is located in old stone building and has 3 washing machines, 3 tumble dryers, iron and ironing board, 4 sinks and an old mangle wringer! There are 2 motorhome service points with drive over drainage and water. There are 2 CWP/Elsan points, one at central toilet block and other to rear of laundry. There are 2 dog walk areas, one tiny one behind the toilet block, the other a decent large field with a dog bin for waste at top end of tourers field. Dogs on leads at all times which looked to be adhered to whilst we were there, but we all know there are only some of us who consistently comply :-) Good walks off of site for dogs.
The site has had recent upgrade to its hook-ups all new with 16Amp standard plug and RCD. The owner is also upgrading various grass pitches to Hard standing and added 2nd motorhome service point this season (2018). There are a mix of grass and hard standing pitches, hard standing are mainly very level, well drained and weed free. Grass pitches were a bit damp but its March, varied on levels but mostly good. All pitches are of good sizes and have designated boundaries with good spacing between pitches. Tarmac roads around all of the site to pitches.
Views from the site are very pitch dependant with some overlooking an open field across to the A9 others with views up to the hills behind Pitlochry. Noise from the A9 main road was not bad and didn't disturb our sleep considering it is reasonably close.
You can walk into Pitlochry in approx. 15 mins, turn right at reception, left at tee junction and follow signs to Festival Theatre, cross suspension bridge and follow uphill to get to town. Alternatively go into theatre for cafť and visit, or continue to dam and fish ladder to see the salmon climb at the viewing chamber (when in season), cross over dam and you get to visitor centre to see how dam was built and history of Hydro Power in Scotland. Great cafť with good food in visitor centre. Out of visitor centre main door, turn right and go down 100 steps to river and follow path back to suspension bridge, alternatively follow out of visitor centre uphill to town main street.
There is another walk up to ancient monument from site, turn left at site entrance and follow road under A9, monument is sign posted. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Greg M 38 reviews from this member

 Writing a review for this site is difficult after seeing it's g;owing reviews as we are definitely not nit pickers.

Firstly we had been spoiled by some stunning views from previous campsites.

After calling ahead two days earlier we arrived to find we were not sited in the touring park but facing a row of static caravans and amongst some seasonal caravans.

Both toilet blocks from this position were quite a distance away in the touring field, not the end of the world but not pleasant with the heavy rain we were having.

What we did find off putting was behind our unit was a hole in the fence to the main road which was well used, and twice late at night there were a group of young men cutting through who sounded like they had had a good drink. Not to mention others walking past our window looking in as we were eating.

Also despite there being signs all over the site about dogs on leads the seasonal people near us obviously felt they were exempt.

In fact when we arrived there was dog mess right next to the van which I nearly stepped in when setting the van up.

We also had a cat onboard but could not let him out much because of the unleashed dogs.

Had I been staying longer I probably would have seen the lady at reception about being moved but the site was full to be fair to them and I doubt there would have been a space elsewhere.

The town of Pitlochry is a manageable walk away for two old wrinkies like us. In fact it is a very pleasant little town and well worth a visit.

The shower block and toilets that we used were well looked after and always clean despite the site being full. Also a laundry that we didn't use.

Drinking water and bins were quite close.

The on site shop carried most essentials as well.

The phone signal was good (Virgin) as was tv reception on my Avtek aerial.

This was the most expensive site we stayed at whilst in Scotland but sadly our experience was not that great.

Would we return?, probably if we could get in the touring field. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pitlochry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7340 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement