Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Pitlochry > Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site Reviews

Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site
Bridge Road
Pitlochry
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH16 5NA
Tel: 01796 472882
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 155
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 75 Reviews
                8/10 from 75 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs Bell 1 review from this member

 Just had our first towing experience to Milton of Fonab for a Mon -Fri break. Found site very friendly from arrival to departure. Toilet / shower facilities spotlessly clean considering site was very busy. There are bathrooms on site which have toilet, sink & bath which was ideal for us as we had a 1 year old and not very easy taking into the shower.
There is a little shop and the kids enjoying going to see the lady in there who was also very friendly. Site situated in an ideal spot, not too far into the town to walk or the other attractions in Pitlochry. Very happy with our break
 


Date of Visit: March 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MCTRACEY 1 review from this member

 Had a midweek and Easter weekend break with our tourer at this wonderful site. The site was almost full at Easter but it was so quiet you would never have known it. The cleanliness of the site was of a very high standard. The shower/toilet block was spotless and the individual shower pods were great with plenty of room to move and not get your clothes wet.The only fault is you have to press the shower button every 20/30 secs to keep the water flowing and be warned the water can get too hot. The shop was well stocked and open from 8am to 9.30pm.

Ideally situated, the site is about a 10 minute walk from town. There are lots of shops,pubs and eating places to suit all tastes. There is plenty to do in and around Pitlochry. The Festival Theatre is 10 mins away and if there are no performances scheduled during your visit,it has a lovely art gallery,cafe and gift shop.Just up from the theatre is the Ladder Dam where you can watch salmon swimming up river to reach their spawning ground.

The whiskey distillery is 5 mins from the site and a gems workshop next to the tourist information centre at the entrance to the town.
A bit further away is Perth, about 20/25mins drive. Take a drive along the shores of Loch Rannoch, the scenery is breathtaking. The snow was still on the peaks when I was there it was wonderful.
This was my first visit to the area but it will not be my last, Milton of Fonab is a winner with me and I will definitely be going back. 


Reviewer: Susan43 4 reviews from this member

 August 2005
We have just spent a lovely long weekend at Milton of Fonab site; we stayed in a campervan on the area with the static caravans. We cannot speak more highly of the cleanliness of the site; the shower pods which included toilets were fantastic, (one criticism has to be a camper who did not bother to wash the rubber foot mat and use the supplied mop to swab down the floor after they had finished) The location of the camp is just a short walk into Pitlochry where there is not a M & S or BHS to be found, lovely. We wished we had first looked at the notice board beside the reception and adequately stocked shop because we missed a Ceilidh.

 


Reviewer: Bella6 2 reviews from this member

 August 2004
Have stayed on this site a couple of times previously and have always found it excellent, I think it's great to have a shower in a tiny little shower room where you can dress and undress without geting your trouser legs sopping wet! They won't stand any nonsense which is definatly a good thing, the A9 nearby never bothered us, I understand what other reviews have said about the the site not being great for children but there is a massive recreation field not 10 minutes walk away. Word of warning for dog owners we have only found 2 pubs in the whole town, neither of which let dogs in, but the moulin inn (1 mile) up the hill does and the food isn't bad either. 


Reviewer: Cuprager 2 reviews from this member

 July 2005
The campsite is well organised and well run. The toilets and showers are well looked after and more importantly - plentiful! We didn’t need to queue at all to get in.

The pitch was in a nice location though it was a little cramped. The woman who ran the place was very efficient, a little too much really as she came across as being quite grumpy!

The site is in a great location, close enough to town to walk in. Far enough away that you are not bothered by any town type noise.

Pitlochry is a nice town, plenty to see and do. I would go back...
 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Paullynn 14 reviews from this member

 May 2005
We were the only tent on site and were asked if our tent was a large one, may be as a consequence of the prevous reviewers actions. We thought this was a nice site though a little more expensive than others we have stayed at. We thought the facilities were excellent, rooms with baths, toilets and sinks in for example.
The pitches were marked out and were a bit muddy and we were amongst the caravans and campervans, but there were pitches available without hook up which were in their own little area. We would use this site again. 


Reviewer: Astroscot2 1 review from this member

 May 2005
Im afraid I have to go against the grain on this campsite. It your going into the town then its handy but it has real downsides as far as I'm concerned. On arrival you are provided a map to show your pitch, we arrived at our pitch which had clear marked borders and numbered, the campers across from us were jammed in and I mean you could not swing a cat! Our pitch, if my tent could fit on it did offer some nice views towards the town, however the sound and view of the A9 a few hundred yards away was not so good. If you had kids where were they to play? you have no space around you at all. I seems that at some point the owners decided that getting as many tents/caravans onto the property was more important than having some space around you, c'mon this aint camping! We asked for a refund and drove away
 


Reviewer: Daviemac2202 1 review from this member

 July 2004
Went here last year. Kids loved the place and out of all the camping holidays we have been this is the one that they remember the most.
But me and my wife thought that the pitch sizes were a wee bit on the small side or maybe just because we have a very large tent.
And the only other thing is that we found that the showers were too hot !!!!!!!!! yes too hot my poor bum ? not much of a complaint but there you go but all the good things easily make up for the bad will be back. 


Reviewer: Margriet 1 review from this member

 September 2004
I heard some good things about this campsite and wanted to stay there, but I was not allowed on this campsite because they don't take people on a motorbike.
I am a fourty year old woman, travelling alone, camping with much love for many years in Scotland, but this kind of non-hospitality was to weird to understand. The owners of this campsite should put a big sign that bikers are not welcome on the road and on their website, to save people with good intentions the trouble to go there! 


Reviewer: Oliver, Hamburg 1 review from this member

 July 2004
Very good site for both caravans and tents. Excellent clean facilities with spacious showers. The town centre is within walking distance (10 minutes).

But only couples and families are allowed on the site! Bookings in advance can only be made if you pay by postal order (which can take some time)!

In the evening you can take a walk to the salmon fish ladder on River Tummel and have a look on the "fish counter"! ;-) 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pitlochry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4043 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement