Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Pitlochry > Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site Reviews

Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site
Bridge Road
Pitlochry
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH16 5NA
Tel: 01796 472882
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 155
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 75 Reviews
                8/10 from 75 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sandraf 1 review from this member

 The campsite is within easy reach of the town, only a 5-10 minute walk depending on pace. The areas surrounding the pitches are very well maintaine, with plenty of space and picnic benches. The toilets and shower facilities are the cleanest I have ever encountered, better than some of the 5* hotels I've stayed in. The area around the site is well lit even at night, with enough light to feel safe walking around the site but not enough to keep you awake at night - well balanced. The staff and visitors were very friendly, the shop was reasonably priced with everything you could possibly need - would recommend their morning rolls, perfectly fresh and tasty! Yum rolls on bananna!

While we were in the area we visited another site Fas**ly which seemed over crowded, quite muddy and not entirley as it was made out. So glad that they were full as we would not have had the pleasure of staying at Milton of Fonab. What a site. This has been a great experience, which I would recommend to anyone wanting to camp near Pitochy and look forward to a repeat visit.

The only thing I would say is if your looking for the wireless internet connection you may struggle in some places but if your that desperate just walk up towards the shop. Overall the best place I have ever stayed Well Done guys! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Don22 1 review from this member

 Booked last minute with this site. Got their last caravan. Arrived late on the Saturday, van was all ready for us and what a cracking van it was. Had a great week decided to stay for another week, they managed to keep us in the same van. Site is clean and healthy, numerous shower blocks are immaculate any time of day or night.
The little shop was always well stocked. Loads of rabbits and ducks for the kids to see.

5 minutes walk to Pitlochry.

A fantastic location for touring / sightseeing Scotland.

It was a pleasure staying hare and we'll be definitely staying here again. 10 / 10 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BOB-D 17 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights the shower/toilets were very clean. Well stocked shop, free wireless internet but some times hard to connect. Pitches are all level, and are a good size. Only a short walk to Pitlochry. This is one site I would come back to without any hesitation. The only downfall is that there is no park for the kids to play. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fenboy 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed 5 nights from 12th June. There have always been plenty of rabbits on this site and I've been going here on and off since I was 10. So that's 28 years.

This year we had a dog and she was fine. I suppose it depends on breed and upbringing etc.

Site still up to standard although I mentioned last year that I thought prices were getting high for what you get. I suppose as you are near town this is to be expected. Weekends tend to get busy as they now seem to have a number of permanent touring vans on site as well as the field of statics.

Pitlochry what to say? 2 distilleries, you can walks to both if you are adventurous. Hydro power station to visit, fish ladder and dam, hillside garden near theatre, Great theatre, good shopping and food. Plenty of good local walking and cycling. Forest walking at The Hermitage, Killiecrankie and many other fairly local sites.

Don't forget the Highland Night on Mondays, this is held on the rec or in doors if wet. See posters for details, they get put up almost eveywhere. Enjoy

Cheap, compared with Cambridge, fuel at Perth. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pam mcc pig 5 reviews from this member

 I agree the showers & toilets are super & spotlessly clean, it's also good to have shop but, we were unfortunate in being greeted on our arrival by an aggressive although efficient receptionist.
We were disappointed to find that our only view was of a continuous row of statics resembling army barracks!

During our stay we wittnessed a young lost child unable to find his way back to his static as there was nothing to indicate any differences. This could be solved by issueing young children with a wrist band with the static pitch number they are resident in, on the band or the statics could have an animal shaped transfer on each end.

Having said this the site is very convenient to the town, and as motor home owners our needs are different to campers in caravans, tents or Statics. We have stayed at this site a couple of years ago but, I can not remember the unsightly statics or the other field having such small pitches, we will not be returning to this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happy+Chappy 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, within walking distance of town. Shower blocks very nice. Staff nice. BUT, we booked whilst travelling. We were on a hard standing with awning, which was allocated for us. There was less than a car width both sides, between our unit and the next. This is as we all know a fire hazard. Our own fault, too tired / hungry to walk back to reception and complain. To be fair some others had a slightly wider gap.
The site is overun with rabbits, which drove our dog crazy. Unfortunately because of these two negative things we left early, only staying 2 nights instead of 4.
Worth noting: During the summer on Monday's at 7.45pm there is a Highland Night on the nearby recreation field where you are entertained by pipe marching bands, dancers and singers for 5 ea. You can take your car on the field and sit in your car and watch it. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bcam 13 reviews from this member

 Very very nice site just outside Pitlochry, with good sized pitches, the site is divided into different sections, i.e vans with awnings, no awnings no kids, no awni,gs. I'd never heard of this before but it seems to work well.

The toilet and shower blocks were spotlessly clean with cubicles including toilet shower and sink , in another section of the site there are cubicles with baths for you to have a good soak !

There is a good wee shop onsite which has free dvds and videos for you to use, site staff were very friendly and helpful.

A 15 minute stroll will have you in pitlochry centre, lots of wee gift shops and a couple of pubs, we ate in Drummonds just under the railway bridge good food and a very friendly welcome.

Definately recommend this site for beautiful views and peace and quiet! 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lindjemp 28 reviews from this member

 Just came back from this site - have used it in the past as its handy as you can just walk into Pitlochry - now has free wireless internet access. We loved the bathrooms as well (showers are alright but cant beat a soak in the bath!)Loos were spotless - you can hear some traffic noise from the main road but its minimal. Nice site if you just want peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fenboy 13 reviews from this member

 Been going here for over 20 years. Up to usual standards but I feel getting a bit pricey compared to others for the money. However great for Pitlochry, easy walking to town, fish ladder dam, pubs, restaurants, distillery etc.

Fishing available on site to residents.

Easy access to main road, for north south travel.

Showers and toilets upgraded a couple of years ago and are good, small shop seems to stock most things if not there's a co-op in town.

Level site with some hard standing and hookups. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bob Scout 13 reviews from this member

 Very easy to find from the directions.
A decent sized pool of water where the caravan was supposed to go but we managed.
Site is advertised as well drained. I Know exceptional rainfall had been experienced but a few pitches need to be leveled off. Showers and toilets are excellent, I like the idea of a small cubicle with the toilet, shower and wash basin and a seat. Beware! the power of the shower will knock you off your feet!
The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
A bit of a walk into town for anyone with mobility problems, but we found that the local taxi's are quick and reasonable.
Blair Atholl distillery only 5 minutes walk away.
Recommend the Spice of India restaurant, we had a superb meal there, also The Mill, but beware, although they say you don't have to have a meal at The Mill they still pester you. If you like whisky there are about 60 behind the bar, so much and so little holiday!
Pitlochry is a beautiful little town and there is lots to do in the area.
We left the car behind and took the train to Inverness for the day and missed the only heavy rain they had on the site all week.
Also recommend The Fishers Hotel Scottish evening on a Thursday 9pm to 11pm. A great Holiday would go back anytime. 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pitlochry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4915 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement