Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Pitlochry > Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site Reviews

Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site
Bridge Road
Pitlochry
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH16 5NA
Tel: 01796 472882
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 155
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 75 Reviews
                8/10 from 75 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

 Toilets were sparkling clean, hair-dryers were powerful & electric sockets are provided.

Shop on site which sells all the basics, cannot fault it.

We never seen a play park on site.

Our pitch was beside the statics. There is no outlook the statics they are very bland, only problem was a constant banging from one of the statics which we thought was a child running around at all hours of the night & early morning.

Great site for access to theatre, fish ladder & 15 min walk into town.

I doubt we will return as the site was lacking something. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 199 reviews from this member

 Stayed 2 nights to minimise the cost of attending a conference at a nearby hotel.

Positives: We were put beside and below the road: a bit noisy with traffic when the Theatre finished, but the short cut up the bank was handy if slippy.

Outlook onto the row of (mostly unoccupied) statics wasn't pretty, but the grass was kept neat and the surrounding hills are an attractive view.

Toilet block is dated but the floor was always wet with bleach when I went, so it's kept clean if smelling institutional. In a block next door there were individual rooms with toilet and bath, or toilet and shower, which would suit people wanting privacy.

We said on check-in that we had a dog - there is a dog area on site but you have to ask, you're not told about it and it's not shown on the site map; the back road south or left immediately outside the gate was quiet enough and closer.

Pitlochry has lots of good walks - some start in, or enjoy, the grounds of the Atholl Palace Hotel; others skirt the golf course up in the hills. Pitlochry shops will fill an afternoon easily. We had one fabulous autumn afternoon to play golf at Pitlochry golf club (welcoming, good food, stunning views).

Negatives: When booking, the site wanted a hefty deposit to deter a no-show. Odd that you can't pay by credit card on arrival, at such a large site - you need more cash than you'd normally carry if you're staying any length of time, or find your cheque book.

Too many signs threatening that you'd be 'expelled' from the site for various trivial misdemeanour's: very heavy-handed, but we saw no-one patrolling anyway. Mobile phone coverage varied from nil to unreliable: a bit of a nuisance as we couldn't contact people at the conference. We sent a text late afternoon that got delivered in the middle of the night, so we weren't popular!

The acid test is whether we'd stay here next year, and yes we would as it's convenient. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wsseaman 67 reviews from this member

 Stayed here one night, cost was 20. 50 for 2 adults, 2 dogs and elec which we felt was a little high considering it was late Sept.

A big site with a lot of statics and lots of site rules posted up everywhere! Our original pitch was allocated overlooking the backs of the statics but we managed to find an alternative pitch which gave us some lovely views.

We found the site to be a bit unfriendly towards dogs, with notices everywhere asking you not to let your dog foul anywhere on site. Similarly, there is no dog walk on site either.

We were told there was a nearby recreation ground we could let the dogs run on but it had just been used for an event and was extremely muddy so this wasn't an option.

It was a short walk into Pitlochry which is a very nice town. We would not stay here again having 2 dogs. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for three nights on way from far north. Our third visit. Given a pitch at the far end of the site opposite the tent area - where our son was pitched. Lovely open outlook if a bit exposed. Site facilities are good, although there is only one Chemical Disposal Point at the top of the site for over 170 pitches. It was a long walk from our pitch at the other end of the site!

Pitlochry town is a ten minute walk from the site and offers a good selection of shops and restaurants. (Can recommend Victoria's - not cheap - but good!). The town is still living to some extent on its Victorian splendor with the main street buildings having covered walkways with hanging baskets adding a touch of colour. Oh yes, almost forgot, it boasts two distilleries and a micro-brewery!

The Festival Theatre hosts some top rated acts, whilst a drink at the Port na Craig Inn opposite is very pleasant. Continue with a walk alongside the salmon leap, then through the power station over the dam and you come out at the top of the town. There are also several pleasant short walks around the town and area.

Alas the weather did what it often does - rained after two days - for 36 hours solid. Having been marooned when the Tay burst its banks on a previous visit, we decided to head south a day early. There was no refund, so our stay had cost a net of 32 a night!

This is a good site in a lovely town giving access to a picturesque area - if you get good weather. We will come back - but will check the weather forecast first! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elder13 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic site I head here loads of times per year. The staff are very good and better once they get to know you. A home from home for me and looking forward to heading there in April. Ideal walking distance to the town only ten minutes.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ruthven64 9 reviews from this member

 Lovely well kept site on the edge of Pitlochry with just a short walk to town, the theatre, the river, the famous salmon ladder and dam and Loch Faskally. Excellent facilities, very clean, not too far from any of the pitches and even has rooms with a bath!

Very well stocked shop which seemed to open early and shut late and very friendly helpful staff.

Only one wee minus for us. Our pitch was close to the shop and the site entrance so we were aware of traffic coming and going and woken early by the arrival of the baker's van and the slamming of his van doors.

Not sure if this would suit families with children as there didn't appear to be anything for them to do on site. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sharronm1 2 reviews from this member

 A definite 10/10 site will be back only stayed for a night but wished wed stayed longer.

Took 3 kids and two dogs and we all loved it.

Peace and quiet, well maintained. The best loos and showers I've ever seen.

Worth the money for us at 23.00 a night, been to other sites paying this much and this is the best yet.

Beautiful scenery and weren't all crammed in plenty of room around van and everyone was really nice.

kids loved the little stream and the ducks and my dogs loved the walk in the forest 2 minutes up the road.

Shops, pubs and restaurants pricey in pitlochry but there's a chippy which serves huge chips on the main street which we loved. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: J Menzies 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a week at Milton of Fonab. Its a lovely site with great facilities, hot showers (only thing is the water needs to be on for longer than 15 seconds) and shop is well stocked and the staff are friendly.

The weather wasn't too bad for the time of year. The site is also very handy for theatre( lots of different shows on),the restaurants and Pitlochry town centre. A very varied selection of shops and cafes.

Its worthwhile a visit when the Highland games are on. Will definitely being going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ScottKay69 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights with no ehu. The park itself was clean and well looked after, the toilet and shower facilities were spotless.

Situated roughly half a mile from The Main Street where there are nice pubs, places to eat with some shops.

The views are amazing with Ben Vrackie in the distance also some nice walks roundabout, there's also the dam with the salmon ladder.

Only thing I didn't like about it was that the tent pitches were rather tight for a 4 man tent, other than that we had fun. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ronnie Mckibbin 1 review from this member

 Just returned having spent three nights under canvas with my 11year old son experiencing his first camping outing.

One word says it all - fantastic!We had the most wonderful time even if the weather was mixed but the scenery alone compensated for that.Facilities were perfect,great showers.Site beautifully kept,lovely grassy area to play,dogs kept on leads,perfect.

Shop had all the basics you need even smash potatoes!

Staff were most helpful and pleasant.Already planning to go back.

A very happy father and son. 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pitlochry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4169 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement