Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Pitlochry > Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site Reviews

Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site
Bridge Road
Pitlochry
Perthshire   (Browse area)
PH16 5NA
Tel: 01796 472882
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 155
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 75 Reviews
                8/10 from 75 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jakki54 5 reviews from this member

 Selected this site after driving past on a previous visit to the area.

Telephone booking for two nights. After the initial booking in and the receiving of the obligatory list of rules we were brusquely directed to our pitch. Sadly that was the start of the decline. The spacing between units is minimal giving the feeling of being somewhat cramped. To hear your neighbour snoring is not a good start! Toilet and shower facilities adequate. Push button showers that my husband advised only lasted approx 10 seconds at best. Only one chemical toilet disposal point which is located at the far end of the park in the next section - quite a distance to carry a full toilet cassette. Whilst dogs are accepted on this site they appear not to be entirely welcomed. There are two official on site dog walking areas. Alarmingly and unknowingly, the one we used is an unfenced, multi levelled area of rough ground that opens straight onto the Logierait road! When I checked we had the correct dog walking area the staff confirmed its position and are fully aware of this safety issue! Dog owners be aware of this potentially fatal problem, especially those who's dogs are exercised on extending leashes.

The positives to this site is its location and its beautifully manicured grass in an otherwise characterless site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 605 reviews from this member

 Spent a few days on this site while touring Scotland.

Location

A ten minute walk from the lovely town of Pitlochry. It's definitely worth a visit - great pubs and a great atmosphere. The surrounding countryside is stunning and a good base for Loch Tay and Rannoch.

Facilities

Generally well maintained, though quite dated. Well stocked shop on site.

Price

Around £23 per night for two people with electricity.

Great site! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Drummsman 4 reviews from this member

 This is a very well maintained site which is very convenient for Pitlochry. Of all the sites we stayed in on our trip to Scotland, this was the only one to allocate us a pitch. This is quite useful when you are in a motorhome as you not worried about losing it if you go out. Although the town centre is fairly close it rained for most of the arrival day and we were able to drive into town without worry. A nice touch is free wifi, charged for at most other sites. As somebody else mentioned, the serried rows of statics are a bit soulless. Maybe some variety in colour or appearance might improve the look of the site. Within walking distance are the Bells distillery and the hydro-electric dam, both worth a visit. The washing facilities were very clean and well appointed. There was a small shop selling the basics although better shopping in the town was not far away. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Annadg 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here twice - one night on the way up to Orkney and two nights on the way back, and will certainly use it again.

The staff are friendly, there is a good shop if you need it (lovely fresh rolls !), as other people have said, the toilets are sparkly clean and there are very good showers or baths if you want them.

On the way back, the first night it rained. And rained. And rained. And rained. And all the next morning, so we were very grateful for the free wifi so we could get some work done while waiting for it to pass. We then wandered up to the dam, which was amazing !

We went into town - Pitlochry is quite a tourist trap but is delightful - it has a permanent Christmas shop, with some lovely bits and pieces, some excellent places for coffee and we like the Westlands Hotel, where we used to stay in pre-motorhome days. We went there for an evening meal and it was really nice, friendly and good food.

There is lots to do in the area - we can recommend the Erdradour distillery and next time we go we plan to visit Blair Atholl.

The site is also very well placed for visiting the Pitlochry theatre.

The only downside I could see is that there really doesn't seem to be much for children to do - but for a site for adults it's great ! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 636 reviews from this member

 Just 1/4 mile out of Pitlochry town a big site, well set out in 3 areas. The best pitching is on the main two fields but these are only for those using awnings. Staff are efficient with quick check in - note they don't take cards - cash only.

The other area is around the edge of the statics. Smaller pitches but quiet and near to the showe / bath cubicles. The only gripe here is the chem toilet is nearby - not a problem itself, more that there is a constant stream of cars from the other pitching areas driving down to empty their toilets. Car after car first thing, and its really not that far to walk.

There is a big toilet / shower block on the main areas. Very clean, good hot water, hairdryers and the only minus is 30 second push buttons on the showers. The smaller block by that statics is individual bathrooms with baths or showers. Heaters, hairdryers and kept immaculately. Good shop on site open 9am to 9pm and has a good range.

Town is very pretty, outdoor shops, gift shops and plenty of eateries. The Heather Jewellery workshop is really worth a visit.

We paid £21 per night on the non awning pitches. A really good site that's well kept and handy for town. Would recommend a visit here. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 69 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 3 nights on this site. The situation is great, on the edge of the town, so an easy walk in, with great views of the surrounding countryside. However I found the pitches all a bit cramped.

The toilet block was spotless, plenty of hot water and free hairdryers. There was a good sized shop which was open for long hours. There is no children’s play area which seems a bit odd on a site of this size.

It felt a bit soul less, perhaps because of the huge field of identical, bleak statics. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susan43 4 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we have used this site, the first time with a campervan the second with a tent and three grandchildren, 4, 5, and 6.

This is a clean, with electric hook ups on all pitches not too crowded site with a small shop for milk, rolls and the wonderful 10p mix of sweets. Our grandchildren enjoyed the freedom of this very safe site going to ‘the shop’ still in their pj’s for breakfast goodies and when the arguments started the 10p mix.

We found there was no need for a play park ours and the other children found plenty to keep them occupied and socializing with other children, no need for computer games and the TV, they used their imaginations & camp friendly ball games, though we were lucky the weather was lovely.

We had fun one afternoon with a murder mystery 'Treasure Trail' taking us all round Pitlochry, with convenient pit stops, at a play park and then on to a café with coffee, cakes, ice cream, wine and time to dally at the salmon ladder and then finishing opposite a nice restaurant for our evening meal { we did not get it correct, right weapon but accused the wrong person)

If we have one criticism it’s the fact that you cannot book a pitch for a tent, you feel a bit worried on the journey that you won’t get your preferred camp site.

We will use this campsite again.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Woozel 2 reviews from this member

 Very well organised and clean campsite. The toilets were spotless and I noted that they also had baths which is quite rare for campsites. Excellent laundry facilities too.

Sadly, we were somewhat disappointed with the pitch we were provided with as our only view was of a row of static caravans which reminded us of an army barracks.

We were only staying for one night but we would have been very disappointed if we had booked for longer to be met with this view. I don't know if these pitches are cheaper than the others but I feel that they ought to be.

The campsite extended into another field where I think the campers had a better view of the very pretty surrounding countryside.

Other than our dislike of the pitch we were given, we did think that the site was well managed and very clean. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Binwaitin 5 reviews from this member

 Well this was our last stop from out visit up to the top of Scotland. We were on are way back down to Dundee and stopped off here after reading the reviews and when we got there it looked very nice if not a bit posh.

Reception staff member was not the most welcoming I've arrived at, not to say they were rude or anything, I just felt like a bit of a number as oppose to a valued customer

Anyway on we went to our pitch it was at the back close to the wash room which was good, but a lot of people going past all the time and no tv signal where I was pitched, I think because it was so close to the trees

The campers were nice friendly types. Good views. Very well kept grass pitches

Toilets were the best we have see thus far, super clean but the toilet disposal was a little far from our pitch, so might be a challenge to some to carry the cartridge that far

Overall I would rate this site 9 out of ten for the toilets, well kept grass pitches and good views once you get past all the caravans that is

Bad points I would say toilet disposal, a little far from motorhome pitches. Staff could be a little more friendly on arrival as I find this goes a long way for them to get a return visit. It is a little deer

It would be a recommendation from me if your in the area and looking for somewhere to camp 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sprite 94 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Milton of Fonab Site. This is an outstanding site for a number of reasons and we will definitely be returning.

We were very impressed with the high standards at this site. We found the staff helpful, particularly in relation to a personal request regarding pitch location and they worked continuously to ensure the grass was kept short and the toilet blocks immaculately clean.

Lovely flat layout with good sized hardstanding pitches, plenty of space between caravans and grass around the site.

Dog owners are requested to keep their dogs on leads at all times on the site, which didn’t seem to pose a problem for anyone and is great for us as we have 2 shy little dogs and it felt perfectly safe for them.

The toilet block nearest to our pitch was modern, spacious and had plenty of toilets and shower cubicles which consisted of a shower (with push button for plenty of hot water), toilet and small sink.

There were also additional full size sinks and hairdryers which were free to use. Larger sinks were also available for washing dishes. We walked across to the other toilet block which looked slightly older but was immaculately clean too.

There were several “small individual bathrooms” consisting of a full size bath, toilet and sink. This site had a very peaceful feel about it, even although we occasionally became aware of the traffic from the A9 it was very much in the background and didn’t bother us at all.

Nearby (about a 10 minute walk/ 2 minutes in the car) is Pitlochry which has places to eat, drink and a variety of shops. Personal favourites – 3 charity shops, a butcher up a side street where we bought our food for the BBQ, next door to this was a shop selling home made venison pies, steak pies etc which were very tasty.

On the main street was a shop selling freshly baked fruit scones, a Chemist, a hardware store selling all sorts (from caravan kettles to wind breaks) and a shop selling all kinds of whisky and other general items.

We loved this site and will definitely be returning to explore the location further. 


Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Milton Of Fonab Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pitlochry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4821 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement