Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Green Acres Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Green Acres Caravan Park Reviews

Green Acres Caravan Park
High Knells
Houghton
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA6 4JW
Tel: 01228 675418  or  0772 034 3820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 71 Reviews
                10/10 from 71 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Deveron Chef 6 reviews from this member

 This is a fabulous adult only site, very peaceful, large pitches and very reasonable pitch fees.

Christine does a brilliant job keeping it so tidy and facilities so clean. A friendly welcome and very helpful. Very well situated to visit Carlisle and exploring the area.

We stayed twice on our trip to the south from Aberdeenshire, the first visit 5 nights on the way down and then just 1 night on our travels back. We will certainly be back.

Sally & Neil Bailey 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: FindlayMac 7 reviews from this member

 We were heading down to a site 9 miles from Blackpool, so decided to have a one night stop at this site to break the journey. After reading all the fantastic reviews we selected this site.

Absolutely delighted with it & will most definitely use it again, perfect no complaints at all.

The owners deserve credit for running such a well maintained site with great facilities. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Plinsky 15 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for one night on our way back from Scotland. WOW! everything is just perfect.

Fully serviced pitch for 21, spacious and levelled. Facilities immaculate, site immaculate, dog walk superb, owners very friendly and helpful. 1mile from M6 but could not hear any noise at all.

Cannot fault this site at all. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tracekessy 1 review from this member

 Only spent 2 nights at this little gem of a site and will definitely be returning when we visit the lakes. The site is lovely and peaceful and the pitches are level and the site is excellently cared for. The toilets and wet rooms are immaculate and the free wifi in the information hut is greatly appreciated. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mondeocort 38 reviews from this member

 We would like to concur with many of the previous reviews regarding the layout and maintenance and beauty of this site. Very well kept, spacious pitches, plenty of water / waste points and extremely tidy all round. The dog walk as described to the letter by the owner was boggy in places so definitely a boot walk as opposed to flip flops but a nice walk all the same if not the only real dog walk from the site. The access from the motorway was fabulous and we didn't really encounter any road noise. We would have liked to have sat out but unfortunately mother nature was not kind to us and it pretty much rained for our little visit all the time but the site drained very well, no puddles at all on the very level pitches. My only gripe was the reviews of panoramic views and views of the fells. We couldn't see anything but blanket grey skies. We would have had to probably sit on the roof of our motorhome to get a view even on a bright sunny day. Not sure whether that was down to the meticulously pruned hedging or the weather or our choice of pitch but we did miss having a view. Bathrooms were extremely clean and checked very regularly, pricing of this site, well, a bargain I think and overall, we cannot fault it. We would only visit again for 1 or 2 night stop overs as we are not ones to be in and out in our vehicle driving everywhere for shopping / visiting nearby places of interest etc and do feel that dogs walks would be limited and do take you on the not busy but locals drive to fast access road from the motorway to outlying villages. The owner was very welcoming and extremely friendly, an ideal stopover for us but not a long stay site. Horses for courses that though as if you have a caravan then jumping into your car to sight see in the area is very easy and if you are cyclists then the same would apply. We like to walk from site and found this could be limited. 10/10 for the site and facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sheila174 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely lovely site and everything was immaculate. I've already recommended it to a friend. Nice and handy for Carlisle and was easy to find. Would go again. There are some lovely fruit trees which were full of fruit - plums, apples and pears and the owner was really nice and very helpful. There's even 'proper' showers. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cleocairn 13 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, well kept site in a great location. The owners are helpful and welcoming. We were on a serviced pitch so didn't use the shower room but the new ones looked lovely. Had a nice lunch at the Near Boot in Houghton. Also an Organic farm shop, Susan's Farm in Houghton where we bought some delicious meat. Carlisle is within easy reach as is parts of Hadrians Wall. The pitches are a good size and the whole site feels very open. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stanziman 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely small site in beautiful open countryside with amazing panoramic views. Just a short hop from motorway but very quiet and tranquil. Site was immaculate with large hardstandings and grass between each. Well sheltered with beautifully manicured hedging. Hookups and water near at hand, and toilets/showers were amongst the very best we have encountered. Its obvious that the personal touch of the proprietors is making the difference to every part of this brilliant site 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Flyte111 1 review from this member

 What a beautiful site, the pitches, grounds & facilities are immaculate. The owners are very friendly and eager to help in any way they can. We stayed a week before having to return home(reluctantly). We will return soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Josie+steve+bazil 27 reviews from this member

 Just back from 6 nights staying at Green Acres. Chose this site as it was adult only and near to Gretna as we had a wedding to go to midweek. An immaculately kept site. A credit to the owners. Everything has been thought of. There are two areas separated by a hedge with hard standings. The site has a lovely open feel as all the pitches face a grassed and planted central area. There was a car/ caravan wash available. , also a summerhouse with info and books and DVDs to borrow. This is where you can go to use the wifi. The facilities looked immaculate although we tend to use our own in the van, especially as we had a fully serviced pitch. The dog walk was also very good. A lot of thought has gone into this site and the owners should be proud of their efforts.

I feel I have to mention in my review that it is very close to the M6 motorway and therefore there is constant background traffic humming, day and night. I know there is absolutely nothing anyone can do about it, but I have read on other reviews, about the peacefulness of the site, and yes, the site itself is, but if you're expecting perfect peace and quiet, you won't get it! 
Management response: Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Green Acres Caravan Park. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

In response to your comments regarding noise from the motorway we would like to point our that it was actually from farm contractors gathering crops in the surrounding fields. This only occurs at certain times of the year and we hope this didn't spoil your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Green Acres Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Green Acres Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Green Acres Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5677 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement