Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Green Acres Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Green Acres Caravan Park Reviews

Green Acres Caravan Park
High Knells
Houghton
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA6 4JW
Tel: 01228 675418  or  0772 034 3820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 71 Reviews
                10/10 from 71 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jondy376 58 reviews from this member

 We received a lovely warm welcome on arrival, the pitches are hardstanding with plenty of room between the caravans. The showers and toilets were spotless and new wet rooms are brilliant, A great on site dog walk around a small wooded area, The site is on a working farm, the grass between pitches is well maintained. A great location for visiting the area or for a break from a long journey with being located only about 2. 5 mile from junction 44 of the M6. Carlisle is about 4 mile away, We walked in to Carlisle with our dog and caught the 179 bus back to Houghton Hall (2 each and dog free), then just a 20 mins walk back to the campsite. We all loved this site and will go back one day 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ken Carol 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site. Very friendly, all staff especially Christine. Very impeccable site. Great for walking and not too far from village, about 1. 5 miles away. We will return very soon. Thank you for a peaceful and relaxing stay. Keep up the good work. Ken and Carol xx 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marramc48 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed overnight whilst travelling south. Conveniently located within 5 mins of M6 Junc 44. It is a very pleasant and well looked after site with good clean facilities. The owners were very friendly and helpful although they were busy gardening on our arrival. Dog owners are very well catered for with a well cut walk around an adjoining field and a shorter wooded walk through a gate off this field. The site is level and has a token operated car/caravan power washer adjacent to the entrance. It is situated less than 10 minutes drive from Carlisle city centre and is conveniently located for visiting the Solway Coast and Hadrians Wall. At 17/night including EHU it is extremely good value for money! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Merielbrown 1 review from this member

 Stop-over to and from Scotland.

Easy access from M6.

Warm welcome on arrival.

Beautiful setting.

Very well maintained, nicely set out quiet site.

Plots all nicely spaced out with EHU.

Toilet block and showers spotless with hot water.

All other facilities easily accessible.

Power washer on site. If you feel the need to give your caravan/ trailer a spring clean. Yeah right!

What else can I say? We can't rate it highly enough. This site cracks it. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grandot 1 review from this member

 A beautiful site with immaculate facilities, Well laid out with good sized pitches. We had a problem with our car and Christine the owner was most accommodating as we had to keep changing the booking. This site is well situated near the M6 and close to the Lake District with all main shops close by in Carlisle. This site is very peaceful and friendly with an excellent dog walk. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Corusowls 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site with lovely facilities, peaceful, relaxing atmosphere. Christine was very welcoming and helpful, pointing out the information points that were available to us, we can recommend The Near Boot for a meal, reasonably priced and plenty of it. We will be going again x 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cha cha 2 reviews from this member

 We got this site from recommendation from another sorce, and they could have done any better if they had tried. We were looking for somewhere quiet to relax and this site is the best yet. We stayed for 1 week and Christine who runs the site could not have more helpful and pleasant on our arrival, we got a map and directions to our pitch and she asked if we had a motormover, no I replyed, she then told me to take another pitch because it would be easier to park a twin wheel base unit (little bits like that make it so much easier). The site is quite small but just nice, and very well kept, spotless is an under statement 5*, it is also quiet at all times of the day, just what we were looking for. 5min off the M6 and you there and a 5min drive to a big Asda and everyother shop you need. If your looking for a relaxing holiday this is it, we will be back :-) Well done everyone for there hard work on keeping this in tip top condition. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dandylyon 13 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site at the end of September and for most of the week were the only ones in area where we were pitched as the other caravan's seemed to be seasonal so we felt as though we had the site to ourselves! The facilities were reasonable for the size of the site and were complimented by 2 new wetrooms which greatly enhanced the quality of facilities on offer. Nice little site to visit for this area of the coast 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steven cross 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed on here for two weeks and found the site to be a quiet peaceful haven. Can't fault the site its a very reasonable price for such a well kept clean and tidy site. Being only about a mile from the motorway its an ideal stopover for Scotland, but its a real pity to only stay for one night. The surrounding countryside is very pretty and the roads are empty and quiet. Christine works hard to keep everything clean and tidy and we enjoyed our stay. The Asda is close for food and local pubs are good. We enjoyed a meal in the Golden Fleece which is a bit pricey but is a cut above normal pub grub. Carlisle is very close by but lacks a little charm, much better to visit Hexham. The area is great for cycling and walking, some of the paths don't appear to be used at all. To sum up a great site and an area neglected by visitors in favour of the lake district, but one not to be missed if you like peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stuart l 90 reviews from this member

 A nice little site conveniently situated about 4 miles east of Carlisle and Jnt. 44 of the M6. Adults only it has 30 pitches of which half are reserved for seasonal use. Also three tent pitches without hook-ups. All caravan pitches are hard standing.

We were greeted by Christine and quickly checked in. At 17 a night (but 2 extra if you use an awning) the fees are very modest.

The pitches are around the sides of two grass squares which makes pleasant outlook. There is a small toilet block with a shower in each side. These showers are rather cramped, but don't despair as there are two new 'wet rooms' on the end of the block. These are lovely and have shower, toilet and wash stand with plenty of space.

Carlisle city is easily reached, as is a large retail centre with an equally large Asda store just off the motorway junction.

There is a garden centre and tea room about a mile from the site, whilst Solway Aviation Museum is just a little further in the same direction.

This site could make an excellent base fro exploring Carlisle and the Border lands, as well as a stop over en-route from north to south (or vice versa).

Would definitely use again if going that way. 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Green Acres Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Green Acres Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Green Acres Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5634 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement