Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Green Acres Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Green Acres Caravan Park Reviews

Green Acres Caravan Park
High Knells
Houghton
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA6 4JW
Tel: 01228 675418  or  0772 034 3820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 71 Reviews
                10/10 from 71 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freyja 56 reviews from this member

 Stayed for the first time on 5th June 2015. Adults only site. Lovely site, friendly owner. One field for touring caravans, 15 pitches hard standing £15. 50 per night. Pick a pitch. The next field looks like for seasonal pitches. The next field was hosting a rally. No EHU here. Thinking about putting my caravan on this site for a few weeks. We are looking at sites to pitch for the season and this is first on the list. Very clean showers and loos. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ibell1946 2 reviews from this member

 What a gem, just got back after a lovely weekend at Green Acres, we loved the peace and quiet of the site. We both work with children so it was so nice to be on an adult only site and have a relaxing time without them. Before we left this morning we booked up for ten days in August, We had one of the fully serviced pitches, (at a very reasonable price) which makes life that little bit easier

The toilet block is superb with two unisex spacious rooms that have a large shower +toilet and hand basin and also a hair dryer, there are another smaller ladys and gents shower rooms in the same block that are kept immaculate by the owner of the site.

Hadriens Wall, Carlisle and Gretna Green are just a few miles away and it is a short drive to the beautiful Lake District. As I said earlier, what GEM! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robertsonnigel 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in May 2015, Very convenient for Carlisle and surrounding area.

Lovely quiet site, clean and well kept. Laundrette was very useful and easy to use. Shopping just across the motorway with Mega Asda and cheap fuel.

Dog friendly with a good walk. Stayed here for last few days of walking Hadrains wall. We would recommend this site.

Happy to stay here again. Easy access, short distance from motorway junction. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lexon dude 1 review from this member

 This was our first visit to Greenacres, and on arrival we were greeted by Christine who was excellent and very professional. The site itself is excellent there were no faults that I could find. Pitches were good, all hard standing and a good size. We were on a fully serviced pitch of which there are three. Layout of the site is ideal, a lovely large grass area in the centre which is kept nice and tidy. Toilet block is superb looks like new. There is also a laundry and a car / caravan wash which works with tokens that you get from reception.

All in all this is a first class site, and we will definitely be back and soon.

Thank you Christine for a excellent site and welcome, and will see you again real soon.

D. Clarkson. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smarksmith 27 reviews from this member

 This site is located just a couple of miles from J44 of the M6 making access incredibly easy. It is/was a field adjacent to the High Knells farm which is the easiest thing to look for on some mapping software as 'Green Acres' isn't always found. The site was created by the current owner/operator Christine and her husband in the late 90's and changed to adult only in 2007 (if I remember correctly), as Christine told us 'Best thing we did for the site'. The site is really peaceful and located down a private driveway so you can't even hear the 1 car an hour going down the access road, and you would never guess it was so close to the M6. This location is excellent either for stop overs going to/from Scotland or long stays to visit the surrounding areas.

Molly the dog is the friendliest, happiest little thing ever. She loves to come and say hello, although the owners try to stop her being “a nuisance” (which, if you’re a dog person – you would see she’s no such thing!)

On arrival you pull into a small layby halfway up the drive and nip into the office/reception located in the house. I was greeted warmly by Christine who took our fees (Cash only) and explained the site layout and offered us a choice of the fully serviced pitches (there are 4 of these) we had booked and her recommendation of which one to have. We arrived on their first day of the season (1st April) so it was very quiet the first night. They seem to hold quite a few vans in storage and have an adjacent field that appears to be for mostly seasonal vans, as these vans are not left on pitch all year they do not look like tired permanent residence, like some sites we have been to, so unless you saw them come out of storage you would never know.

The only 'improvement' to the site that we noticed was the heating, or lack of it, in the toilet/shower block. Although this is not an all year site, the temperature in the borders is not always the best and the beautiful bathrooms become a bit of a let down because the condensation created from having a shower is immense, even with window open and fan on.

The facilities - The toilets are immaculately kept and the 2 bathrooms are both practical and well decorated just like a bathroom at home - no hold your finger on the button showers or cheap plastic partitions - free flowing hot showers, glass screens and even proper hairdryers. The black water disposal is at ground level making it easy to use and there are plenty of water and grey water points around the site. There is a pot wash area, laundry, tourist information hut and even a car and caravan washing area.

The pitches are all level hard standing with individual power points so no long cables required. Mobile signal on EE and Virgin is OK but not fantastic. This was our first trip out with a new Milenco 900 aerial (or should I say flying saucer) and we got 142 channels on freeview.

You are 5 minutes from a large asda, which was nice, and Morrisons, which we didn't rate, is a couple of minutes further on towards Carlisle. The centre of Carlisle is definitely worth a visit, nice market house and really nice butchers called Cranstons. Carlisle castle is a good touristy thing to do as well. Gretna Green is only 15 minutes away, and the Black Smiths is definitely worth a look round (www. Gretnagreen. Com)

In summary, this is a really nice peaceful site with lots of things not too far away, we would definitely return here again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gazdebpas 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this beautiful peaceful site over the Easter period. Lovely level pitches with lots of room. Great little walk for the dog, and very clean loo and showers. It's ideal for trips to the lakes which we did, it would also be good for visiting Scotland. We will visit this wonderful site again in the near future as really enjoyed the peace and quiet ! Many thanks Deb Gary and Molly the dog

️Ps

Maybe one suggestion would be a duck board in the new showers to help keep clothing dry when changing 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackieboy1 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a n excellent week at Green Acres and we will certainly return. Christine keeps the site very well kept and the toilet block is immaculate the two bathrooms are brilliant and there was never a queue the pitches are flat and the grass is kept short in short a BRILLIANT site. Well done Christine 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Strathlinn 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a fabulous weekend at Green Acres. The site was exactly as described, lovely level pitches around a beautiful large grassed area in the middle. The facilities were excellent, with extremely clean, modern shower areas and the whole park is kept in immaculate condition. We are very hard to please in terms of a good caravan site but Green Acres is definitely up there with the best of them. The location of the site is also excellent, being only about 5 minutes drive from the M6 and easy access to the whole of Cumbria and beyond. We will definitely be returning to this site next year for a number of visits throughout the year. Very well done to the owners who have got it absolutely spot on in providing a great site. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patsyruss 1 review from this member

 Christine is wonderful and keeps the site immaculate also cannot do enough for you we loved it so much 2 weeks later we went back with friends of ours. It is so easy to get to and from Scotland staying there it just only a couple of miles off the M6 so simple. The site has all you you need, and so quiet it is great Christine is on hand if she is needed at any time. We will be back 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gingerferret 5 reviews from this member

 This site is a real credit to Christine the owner who works really hard to keep Green Acres looking immaculate and clean.

The toilets are always spotless and well equipped with paper and soap, the two full bathrooms are a real bonus and really private.

The site has very level hard standing pitches with either just electric or fully serviced pitches but whichever you choose all amenities are close by.

The site is ideal for touring The Lakes or Southern Scotland or if you want to stay local Carlisle has a lot to offer, a lot of people just stayed one night on there way up to Scotland has it is near the M6 but I must add we only heard road noise once when the wind was really bad and blowing in our direction and it was only a low hum not enough to be a bother.

All together a really lovely and friendly site that I would highly recommend. 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Green Acres Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Green Acres Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Green Acres Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6396 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement