Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Green Acres Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Carlisle > Green Acres Caravan Park Reviews

Green Acres Caravan Park
High Knells
Houghton
Carlisle
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA6 4JW
Tel: 01228 675418  or  0772 034 3820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 71 Reviews
                10/10 from 71 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Monkeeno1 7 reviews from this member

 1st time visiting this site we loved it we stayed for a week. This site is an adult only site Great little site the facilities are spotless the owner Mrs brown is such a lovely lady and very helpful.

There is an amenity block it is spotless very modern and bonus FREE SHOWERS its got all you need to do your business.

There is recycling point as swell lots of wonderful views and dog walk area

Highly recommended if you like quite sites only just up the road from the m6 jut 44 so great access. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dorset Dumpling 4 reviews from this member

 Great location for a stop enroute to Scotland or visiting Hadrians Wall area. Paid 15 inc electrics, it was so good we stopped there again on the way back from the Highlands. Shower rooms as modern & good as home. Whole site clean, tidy & well kept with a lovely peaceful rural feel to it. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tyrone 18 reviews from this member

 We stopped at this lovely quiet site to see if it was suitable for stop-overs on Scottish trips. It certainly is due to its good M6 access. Moreover it is worth longer stops as well. The owner is very friendly and helpful, the pitches are level and well spaced out. The toilets/showers are excellent and the site itself is VERY quiet.

We visited Hadrian's Wall and Lanercost Priory and had a great time. We hope to return for a longer stop. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ray Ayr 4 reviews from this member

 Ideal site being very quiet, small, well organised, lots of space with an open central area. Absolutely no traffic noise. Adult only site. The owner couldn't have been more helpful.

Facilities were excellent particularly the three, free showers, two of which were recently installed as part of wet rooms. No queueing. Recycling and waste disposal could not have been easier.

We valued its central location because the area has so much to offer. Cycling from the site itself or further afield on the Solway coast. Walking on Hadrian's Wall easily reached via lovely Brampton. Carlisle is only 3 miles away for a recommened visit or for shopping etc. Cross into Scotland which is very close or take a trip into the attractive Northern Lakes. Green Acres is a great touring centre. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chubbles 1 review from this member

 This is a little 'chill out' caravan site! Just returned from our second visit - this time we stayed for a week. It is immaculately kept and the owner, Mrs Brown, is welcoming and friendly. The caravan pitches are all hard standing and there are fully serviced pitches if you can't be bothered to collect or empty water. There are two unisex loos and shower rooms that are spacious, and the original block with two loos and a shower in each. Of course, there is a dish washing area and a laundry. Also, plenty of recycling and dustbins.

The site is near enough to access the motorway, but very quiet and peaceful. You need transport to visit anywhere and the nearest pub is a couple of miles away. This is an adult only site, so if you need a break from work or family it is perfect! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Firstclass67 38 reviews from this member

 Very clean and quiet. There are now more loos and showers and they are free. Very clean loos and well kept site but very quiet, being adult only.

10 minutes away from Carlisle and there is a big Asda not far from the site now.

Nice site, but I'm not sure if I'd go back as very disappointed with the owner's attitude. I had paid for 4 people as we had our 2 grown up children with us. My son is 6ft and no longer fits easily into the fixed bunk, so we put up a tiny tent behind the van. To my surprise she charged me an extra 14 for the 2 nights. I could understand it if it was for extra people, but I'd already paid for him!  


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Norrisg 31 reviews from this member

 This is a reasonable site for a stop over on the way to/from Scotland, not far from j44 with easy access.

The pitches are all level and gravel based, with a camping field as well. The dog walk is handy and well mowed but very short. The facilities are new but only one loo and shower (50p with a clingy curtain) in the gents.

Owners pleasant and helpful good pub is a drive to the village and there looked to be nowhere off site to walk to, so very much a drive in/out base.

Some people looked to be staying a few nights - but I cant see anything other than one night here personally. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 182 reviews from this member

 Scenery wouldn't draw me back (dead flat plus pylons), but it's an excellent stop-over site that we would use again. Close to M6 but out of earshot: very quiet. Widely spaced pitches, and the whole site very neat, clean and tidy. Good value for money, take 50p coins for the showers. Ample off-lead dog walk area, a pity some leave it to others to pick up after their dogs. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sidbern 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site with the added bonus of now being adults only. Absolute peace and quiet and yet only 5 minutes from the M6 Junction 44.

All pitches are hardstanding and well spaced out so plenty of room to sit out.

Absolutely spotless shower block and we never had to queue for the shower.

There is a laundry on site although we didn't use it.

Much to my husbands delight there is a power wash on site to clean your car or caravan.

There is a really good dog walk on site which is accessed by walking through the seasonal tourers site - once again this is very peaceful and quiet.

There is a massive garden centre about a mile down the road and I can definitely recommend the homemade pies from the farm shop.

To sum it up this is a superb little site with very friendly owners and we will definitely be returning soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angela999 11 reviews from this member

 Recently had a 2 night stop over at this park, it's handy and easy to find from the M6 Junction 44. We found it was a good base for walking Hadrian's Wall and about 3 miles from the centre of Carlisle.

The grounds are well maintained, however it is a very quiet park. (Apart from the Wasps)

The toilets are clean, however only 2 in each block with 1 shower, which is rather small and no good for wheelchair users and was rather busy in the morning.

Showers 50p for 10 mins.

Laundry has a washing machine and a tumble dryer,

Washing Machine 2.00 and the dryer 1.00 for 40 minutes.

Overall a very quiet site with well maintained grounds, not recommended if you have children who like to play outside.

A good base for exploring Hadrian's Wall and North Cumbria. 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Green Acres Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Green Acres Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Green Acres Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carlisle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6172 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement