Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tayview Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Monifieth > Tayview Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Tayview Caravan & Camping Park
Marine Drive
Monifieth
Angus   (Browse area)
DD5 4GH
Tel: 01382 532837
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100+
Open: 06/03 To 30/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 68 Reviews
                8/10 from 68 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Effnboots 16 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome (get a welcome pack with code to loo, key to beach gate etc), also provided us with levellers as pitched on slight hill, dog friendly, great outlook over Tay and good basic clean facilities. Beach right on your doorstep which was great for our dogs but not a family type beach. Typical edge of town/city site although big still nice and quiet and clean. Handy for Dundee and surrounding area. Walking distance to shops, Tesco etc. Didn't eat out so can't comment on that side of things. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dunomhains 1 review from this member

 We've just returned from our camping trip and had a great time the camp is very secure which helped me to relax on my first camping trip for nearly 40years. On Arrival we had a warm welcome and run down on the area and what it had to offer. There is a very good cafe called the van diner which does amazing fish and chips. Ann who keeps the place Spick and span is also very friendly and helpful. So on the whole I would highly recommend tayview we can't wait to go back again 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TracyReid 1 review from this member

 After reading reviews my 14 yr old son, myself and our dog stayed at this lovely site. I was impressed with the attention to detail such as a baby bath available should you need it and a close toilet block for campers. It was great to have a large fridge freezer, indoor sinks and 2 cookers available for us too.

There was always hand towels, soap, toilet roll and no queues.

Whilst chatting to other campers they said that the trains (mentioned in other reviews) are part of the attraction to the site. Their children desperate to pop thought the lockable gate to 'see the trains' and play on the beach. We did hear the trains until 11pm ish and they didn't wake me up in the morning. Slept soundly until 8am, bliss.

A fantastic site for dogs with lovely walks near by, we visited; Monikie country park and hired kayaks for £5 each per hour on the lochs including buoyancy aids ( and wetsuits if you like), we also found the walks at Comrie country park good. Both had good play parks for younger children and Monikie was particularly good for teens with an arial assault course, pico sails, flying fox etc.

Lovely staff, Will definitely return.

Ps turn down union street and then 1st or 2nd right (depending on your height restriction) and you will find it no problem. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Naepace 4 reviews from this member

 We, being 2 adults and 2 kids (4 & 7) stayed at Tayview for 2 nights during the first weekend in July. The first impressions of the site are lovely (sun always helps !) A nice flower lined drive on the way up to reception and well maintained looking buildings. We were given a warm welcome and directions to our pitch which was easy to find and well-marked. There are 2 camping areas, one with EHU among the touring caravans and the non EHU area at the far end of the site (nearest to the gate out to the beach). The pitches were in excellent condition with short, well maintained grass. However, hidden below the lush surface greenery lies the surface of the moon ! Please, please make sure you have rock pegs. I had some but not enough and ended up with a number of banana shaped Deltas as a result.

The location is great, you are literally yards from the fine sandy beach. There is no ‘direct’ access to the beach due to the fence that surrounds the campsite. However, you are given a key when you check in which allows you through a gate and straight onto the beach. The site is not huge so you wouldn’t be any more than a few minutes to walk to the gate from any pitch. Only downside of a beach location? Yep, wind. The actual wind appeared to be a few mph stronger than those forecast by Netweather ! although it caused us no significant issues, I’d believe it could get very, very windy here. About a 100 yards from the site is a very large playground which caters for all ages. Only negative would be the fact that it is outside the site you do get the odd group of ‘neds’ using the area as a hang out. It’s no big deal they were easily ‘hunted’. A reasonable sized Tesco’s and a number of take-away’s and other shops are only a 5 minute walk into town.

The main shower/toilet block (by reception) was kept very clean and was never very busy during our stay. The showers, although the push button type, were hot and powerful. There is a ‘portacabin’ type arrangement in the camping area which has toilets and a dishwashing area which includes a large fridge freezer for customer use. Access to these areas requires a PIN entry which you are given on arrival. There is a laundry area with washer/dryers, we never used them but they are token operated. I think they were £2. 50 a pop (no idea if that is expensive).

Only real niggle is a train track runs right across the back of the site. They run from around 06. 30 to 23. 30. Whilst it is true you barely notice them after a while during the day, you certainly do at night/early morning.

The pitch cost me £24 + £2 for EHU per night with a £10 refundable deposit for the barrier and gate keys. Between the beach, playground and nearby attractions the kids had a ball here and we would certainly return…. As long as the wind forecast is favourable…. And ideally during a train strike ! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: StuBelAberdeen 14 reviews from this member

 Spent the May holiday weekend at this great wee site. Hard to fault it in any way, great views, good walks, family run, excellent facilities, well maintained and friendly place, well worth the £ 22 per night. I highly recommend it, give it a go.

Monifieth isn't such a high spot but Broughty Ferry along the road is a great place with loads of pub, restaurants etc. We went to the The Ship Inn one evening for dinner - very good, well worth a visit. The Anchor for lunch - again very nice. Dundee City is a also short trip away with plenty to do.

In short give Tayview Site a try - it's hard to beat you won't be disappointed ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andyboylester 7 reviews from this member

 My wife and I and our seven (count 'em) children stayed at Tayview for six nights. We are an awkward bunch, we don't like too much organisation on site, such as clubs and entertainments, but we DO like good quality facilities, like laundry and showers. Tayview is, in my 'umble opinion, just about perfect. The pitch was fairly flat and not stony.

It did rain a fair bit during our stay, and the ground suffered, but we didn't get flooded, and it was never a big issue. There is no on site playground for the kids, but there is an excellent playgroung about a hundred yards from the site. The only thing stopping you landing on the beach if you fall out of bed is a fence, and the beach itself is great. The Munchkins loved exploring the tide pools and the rocks, there are vast swathes of sand when the tide is out, and when the tide is in, the beach slope is so gentle your knees are still out of the water 15 or 20 feet out, great for two year olds, less so for surfers, I guess.

The toilets where kept very clean (thanks Jill) and the showers where hot and powerful (operated by push-button, but nothing is really perfect).

We didn't spend much time locally, but there are plenty of supermarkets within driving distance, and one within a short walk of the site. We don't do pubs, so can't help you there. There are a few good NT places to visit locally, and Dundee itself is a great city.

There is a small cafe on the site, doing Jacket potatoes etc, and some really decent coffee.

We wish we could have stayed longer, but there you are, life goes on.

A big cheer to the owner, who made us feel very welcome. A big boo hiss to the mossies who came out at night and annoyed us a little, but we didn't see a single midge the whole time. Really, that alone was worth the price. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stellamaris 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weeks break at Tayview, Arlene was very informative on the area and told us about discounts arranged with other local companies.

The parks location is ideal, right on the coast where we lay at night listening to the lapping waves of the north sea. Many lovely walks in the area with all of them being on the flat so perfect with people with any mobility issues.

The main facility block could not be faulted, maintained to a good standard and plenty of hot water when showering.

There was also a small facility block on the other end of the site, however this could be doing with an uplift as sockets where hanging of the wall, sections of walls parting in the ladies toilet. However these few faults could quickly be corrected.

The One and only complaint was with fellow users whereby at the weekend a lot of tourers which are stored on the site are brought out for use, we had the family from hell next to us, family of 6 with kids running around their van and ours with a broom, then a dirty rag.

On the other side we had a large tent that had different visitors at it daily and at one point 4 cars parked at it. And lastly, constant ignorance from other campers with no respect to privacy, whereby there was constant walking over pitches and pass windows and doors of caravans and tents.

Its a pity because with a little extra supervision from Arlene and her team this could quickly be corrected as at no point did I ever see and policing being carried out. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sadkate 9 reviews from this member

 Largely a great site but the experience was marred by the unbelievably stony tent field. Strange thing to focus on, I know, but it did really take the shine off our experience.

The location is lovely, right on the links in front of the sea in Monifeith and within walking distance of Broughty Ferry and easy public transport or driving to Dundee. It's right on a brilliant traffic free cycle path along the coast. There is a lovely beach park with bowling, tennis, skate/bike bowl and brilliant playground right next door. There is a little diner selling ice creams and nice ordinary food to eat in or takeaway at the edge of the site.

The facilities were clean and tidy all over. There is a small block with 3 toilets and a dishwashing sink and food prep right next to the tent area. It's pretty ordinary but the main facilities about 70 yards away are big, new, clean and well equipped.

Trains run close past the site but noise isn't really a problem as they stop overnight and you can hear the wind and the sea anyway.

The service was friendly and helpful. The touring pitches looked spacious. I think if you need hookup for a tent they put you in one of those.

For me this is a perfect site in terms of location and facilities but, sadly, I honestly don't think I would book again because of the stony ground. I honestly didn't get a single peg in first time and ended up having to move the whole tent to get the four corners in. We saw other campers struggling with the same issue. My tent goes up in 10 minutes flat at home but it took the best part of an hour. Shame. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Aliciar31 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely stay in one of the litl lodges. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by Arlene.

The lodge itself was amazing, it was much more than I was expecting. It had two single beds with bedside drawers which was great for keeping clothes, a fridge, tv, kettle with coffee and tea, a mirror and a table and chairs.

The beds were very comfortable and we had a great night sleep. The toilet and shower blocks very really clean and spacious.

We took a drive into broughty ferry which only took a few minutes by car.

There was plenty of lovely shops, restaurants and pubs. We would definitely visit here again especially to a little lodge. It was a lovely relaxing holiday and great value for money. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Valjin 5 reviews from this member

 My wife & I (both 65++) booked in for 1 night on our way south, with the intention of staying longer - as we really wanted to explore the area (I have childhood memories of visiting my aunt in Dundee) - if we liked it. We left the next morning. At reception we were left with the impression that the person dealing with us had much more important things to do.

The site itself was crowded and cramped with everyone on top of their neighbours - and the family next to us were indeed the neighbours from Hell - they argued incessantly at a volume that was a wonder to behold, with language that can best be described as 'colourful'. Oh! for wardens patrolling!

The bins are so far away you need to take a pack up and access to the beach is barred by a fence with gates strategically placed as far away as possible.

On the plus side - yes there is one - the location is superb. Easy access to local shops, bus & train services and the Van (a nearly on site eaterie) serves really superbly cooked food.

The facilities are clean and well maintained, but don't go to them if you are in a hurry - you will have to queue up. I do not like to write a negative review but in this case I have no option.

We will definitely not be returning. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tayview Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tayview Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tayview Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Monifieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1350 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement