Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tayview Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Monifieth > Tayview Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Tayview Caravan & Camping Park
Marine Drive
Monifieth
Angus   (Browse area)
DD5 4GH
Tel: 01382 532837
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100+
Open: 06/03 To 30/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 68 Reviews
                8/10 from 68 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 61 to 68                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Janeshirlaw 1 review from this member

 We were here for the easter weekend. My husband John and I had a great time. Everything is close at hand. Tesco's, pub, chipshop and chinese, everthing you need
We went to Dundee for the day by bus, the bus's are every 10mins. The site was very clean. The toilets were also clean and the showers were lovely and hot. Would certainly recommend it.
You can walk along the beach, and there is a snack van at the camp site selling everything 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fiji Kid 2 reviews from this member

 My daughter and I (and our dog) visited and stayed at Tayview for three nights. We found the site to be clean and very well kept. The facilities are great with free hot water (and lots of it), laundry, washing up area and water points dotted along the area where tents and camper vans are sited. My daughter quickly made friends with other children. Our dog enjoyed himself too particularly with the beach just over the fence!

Apart from being clean etc. The site also offered picnic tables which were available for whoever wished to use them. This we found to be wonderful since we didn't have a table of our own.

Being 'novice' campers, our pegs were bent in no time due to the rather rocky surface, the lady in the office, Arlene, lent us what we needed (at no cost). We returned the pegs prior to leaving and she didn't mind that we had bent some!

It's great lying in your tent at nights listening to the sound of waves on the beach. Just like home.

We will visit Tayview again, and we have already recommended the site to some of our friends.

PS.

We weren't at all put off by the sound of the trains.

There is a great Indian takeaway nearby as long as you like all your meat tandooried! All the local shops, pub(s), park, pitch & putt and beach are within walking distance. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redphonedeb 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 9 days at Tayview and loved it. Arlene the Customer Service Manager was very friendly and made us feel really welcome, she took time to look for information for us about places of interest and stuff for our boys.

I'm not sure it was very fair of Naisi to give such a negative review after only one night.

There is extremely easy access to the beach as the main gate area is open plan. We actually found the green fence inspired because it was green and quite finely made so the view is unbroken, it could have been a very ugly metal chain link or even trees and shrubs that obscured the view. As campers we are not able to competely secure our belongings so having a good fence is a bonus and it stops people just wandering into the park from the footpath.

Being in a tent without electric hook-up meant that we were positioned farthest from the main gate, even so it took less than 5 minutes to walk to the main gate and only 8 minutes to walk to Tesco (I timed myself) and I don't walk very fast.

The toilet and shower block were excellent, new and cleaned every day, with endless hot water, soap, paper towels and electrice hand dryer. As mentioned in a previous review Arlene has definitely got things in-hand and the improvements are ongoing, I've been assured that the outside of the toilet blocks are about to be repainted in a more attractive colour. We were there in gale force winds last week and don't remember noticable movement in the toilet block!

There were also excellent facilities for dishwashing again with endless hot water - great.

The railway is close running alongside the campsite but only 3 trains a day actually stop at Monifieth and all the rest took only seconds to speed past. As a family of trainspotters we actually found this an added bonus. For any train fans thinking of staying at Tayview these are the trains that we saw: DMU's, 125's, Voyager's, sleepers pulled by Class 67 and the occassional goods.

I think that just about covers what I think about Tayview only to add that I competely agree with all of the positive reviews that went before, I had read them all before we went and that helped me choose.

Thanks again to Arlene and the owner of Tayview we will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nalsi 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night with electric hook-up 2 adults one dog £16. Asked if there was direct access onto beach from site was told yes! Only to find that entire site enclosed by a rather off putting green wire fence. Access onto beach via main gate furthest point from where hook-ups were. This is not a problem for the agile but have old dog who would have been asleep before reaching main gate. Also off putting was the adjacent train track, heard first train around 6am. Toilet blocks ok but do move in the wind.

Nice view if you can get used to the fence!

Close to all local amenities, if you like golf there's plenty of it. Not for everybody. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: All Screw 1 review from this member

 Warden & owner of this site were 1st class during our 4 day stay at the weekend. Pleasant & helpful during our initial enquiry the week before, at check-in and on departure.

Toilet & dishwashing/laundry area facilities were excellent and clean during our stay. We were able to pitch our tent on a touring pitch with electric hook-up. Site was relatively busy during the weekend with no problems / noise experienced. Whole site was clean and well maintained with some nice static plots.

Surrounding amenities were ideal with a Tesco & Farmfoods only a 5 min walk away. A few pubs were also in the same area as was a chip shop, Indian, Chinese and a Thai restaurant. No kids play park on-site but there's no need as opposite the site entrance there's 3 tennis courts, bowling green, huge adventure play park and putting green. If you feel like a stroll there's a coastal path that runs right along the perimeter of the site boundary towards Broughty Ferry & Carnoustie.

You can't blame the site for the weather we had but its a coastal site so sea breeze is unavoidable. All in all a great friendly site which we shall return too. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sam+2 2 reviews from this member

 Spent the bank holiday weekend at Tayview. Lucky enough to get glorious weather. The site was really busy but despite this we didn't feel crowded & never had to queue for a shower.

We visited this site many times last year and always found the staff friendly & helpful. On our return this year we were delighted to find many improvements had been carried out. The main being the installation of lights in the tourer section, major improvements/ extension in the laundry and dishwashing facilities, extra paths and ramps. Many improvements are minor- duckboards and extra hooks in the shower cubicles, washing up bowls & drainers, improved signage throughout the site, collectively they all add to an improved holiday experience.

Some improvements are still required, like screening some storage areas & a bit more painting. I understand that Arlene, the new Customer Service Manager, has these and several other improvements on her 'to do list'. I look forward to seeing the continued improvements being carried out under the watchful eyes of this very helpful and welcoming manager. Nothing is too much bother for her.

On the doorstep you have everything most families need- a beach, playpark, tennis courts, putting, pubs and surprisingly a good selection of shops and takeaway food outlets. You are also only a short distance away from Dundee and in the opposite direction you have Arbroath & for the serious golfers the internationally famous Carnoustie golf course.

We won't be golfing but we will be back next bank holiday weekend! 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Magz + co 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights. Probably glad it was only for two as I wouldn't rate this site as being geared up for tents. Small tent area, we ended up pitched in with tourers.  Toilets and showers ok, but showers could do with being updated.  Only one sink in laundry room for washing dishes.  We had to find this, no signs up to tell you where things were. 
Plus side near town, shops, Tesco, chippie, chinese, indian. Next to beach, public playpark outside site, which kids loved.  Although depending on age of kids I feel you could not let them wander off to this by themselves. Staff pleasant, laid back, always happy to help. 
Price not too bad - £12 per night for 6 man tent incl EHU.  Think price for smaller tent is less.  Overall view ok for couple of nights wouldn't rush back. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karenozz59 3 reviews from this member

 Been visiting Tayview for 3 yrs now. A very relaxed site in a great spot. Tesco, Farmfoods, chip shop chinese, indian and pubs all in walking distance and beach on your doorstep. A good public play park for kids just outside the site gates. Good toilets and hot showers cleaned every day. BBQ allowed. Site fees very reasonable. A great site to explore Dundee and Angus area 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 68     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tayview Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tayview Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tayview Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Monifieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2219 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement