Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tayview Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Monifieth > Tayview Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Tayview Caravan & Camping Park
Marine Drive
Monifieth
Angus   (Browse area)
DD5 4GH
Tel: 01382 532837
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100+
Open: 06/03 To 30/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 68 Reviews
                8/10 from 68 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dolfinack 1 review from this member

 Staff were very friendly and accommodating. 35 minute drive from St.Andrews for golfers. Nice site, clean and warm toilets and showers. The ground was quite hard so I would recommend making sure you have sturdy hammer and stakes! The site is right on the coast and did suffer from fairly high winds when I was there, as it is fairly exposed to the breeze off the sea, and you could hear the waves when trying to nod off. Some might like that of course! Nice place, I would use the site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jam Mar 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite in July 2010, our first time with our new unit, and new awning! After being shown to our pitch on a really windy day. Suddenly a chap named 'Colin' appeared and asked if we needed any help with our awning. 5 mins later, there were 3 guys (Colin, Adrian and ?) on hand to help out! The awning was up in no time at all, and what a friendly crowd!

The on-site facilities were excellent and the family, who run the site, work really hard to make you feel comfortable.

If I could possibly suggest anything that could be improved, it would be in the new toilet blocks area - *to add additional lighting in the shower area (cos it was a wee bit dark), and also have a shower or bath, with suitable controlled temperature, for ease of bathing children. But hey, with everything that was on offer, we had absolutely no complaints.

We had a beach view, and a fabulous walkway just outside the gate, which was really suitable and safe, for our 5 year old and dog. Tesco is 5 minutes walk, as well as a good variety of other local shops. A brilliant safe, children's play area is a 2 minute stroll, and I could go on and on about this site.

It is also not overpriced! In todays climate, more and more sites are becoming increasingly expensive with even more rules and regulations.

After many years of camping and touring with our previous motorhome, we were really touched with the team work of this family, the good old-fashioned 'family values' of this site!  


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ruthven64 9 reviews from this member

 This site has the potential to be a great one and might very well be in low season but compared to others we have stayed on and visited it was pretty poor and pitches were undefined. Grant you it is in a lovely location on the estuary and a great place for birdwatchers and beachcombers but at this time of year don't expect a peaceful seaside break.

Arriving in the middle of the Scottish school holidays we expected it to be busy but we felt like we were living in a small town! After waiting in reception for what seemed like an eternity and with no apology, the lady couldn't find our booking, we were given a teeny pitch squashed in amongst tents, having paid the motorhome rate not the tent rate and advised 'it's not really the best pitch but you can ask for a better one next time'! Why weren't we advised that on the phone so we could then choose if we wanted to proceed with booking?

The main shower/toilet block looks like a large shed from the outside and sadly no better inside. The loo area was badly lit, not much good if like me you like to contemplate for a few moments with the newspaper and cubicles were on the cramped side, finding ourselves banging into the toilet roll holder as we tried to extricate ourselves. And the 'damp mop' smelling shower cubicles on offer were no better.

We recommend you take a carrier bag into the shower cubicle for your clothes, towel etc as there were only a couple of small hanging hooks and anything left on the floor got saturated, including shoes. No little shelf for shampoo etc and for those with young children.Beware.The shower and tap water was very hot!

There were no on site recycling facilities and that there was only one refuse collection area. Also if you wanted to dump your grey water/chemical waste when leaving the site you either had to carry it a fair distance (assuming you are at far end of site) or go out of the site barrier and drive back in the in barrier to get close to the facility!

Make sure you are well stocked up on gas. It was not possible to persuade anyone on site outwith the office hours to issue gas no matter how urgent, they had also run out of the most popular size for motorhomes at the busiest time of year and in addition they stock Flogas.Once bought you can't exchange for Calor.

One plus is 'The Van', lovely freshly prepared hot and cold food and their fish n chips is a real treat. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ray+Mary 1 review from this member

 This must be the friendliest and most helpful site we have ever stayed on. Clean, tidy and beautiful views. I explained we were going into Dundee to attend a concert but we didn't want to take our motorhome.

Arlene found us the bus times and where to catch the bus - a great help! There is even a food van (The Van) on site, we started off by having a breakfast (cooked beautifully, just ignore the chefs version of how they catch haggis!) and very good value for money.

This site is to be highly recommended and we will definitely be back to visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Namron 1 review from this member

 We loved this campsite and stayed for four nights. Wonderful location with views across the Tay and the beach at our doorstep. The children's play area (just outside the site) was exceptional and all of the children, from 2 years to nearly 13, adored it.

The facilities were great and the manager, Arlene, extremely helpful in sorting out our complicated booking. We were particularly grateful to the kind couple who helped us put up our tent!

'The Van' was grand, very friendly service and you can even 'phone in your orders in advance. Local food and good value for money. (He even sells rock). Some interesting shops in Monifieth, especially the 'House of Memories'. We will be returning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trookie 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. Great value for money. Safe and secure for children. Excellent play park within minutes from the site. Toilets and showers were brilliant - very clean and lots of hot water.

The Van which is on-site provides great food at excellent value for money prices. Large Tesco close by along with various take-away food places. I would certainly recommend this site and will go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Norsenanny 1 review from this member

 Very good all round campsite with excellent facilities and friendly atmosphere. Toilets and showers were clean and warm, and the owners were helpful and friendly. Plots well spaced and in a quiet area. In a very good location for site seeing around that area, with easy access to the city of Dundee and it's surrounding attractions. Will be going again. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Londonjean 1 review from this member

 Arrived on the friday for two days,reception very helpful and informative. Toilet blocks very clean and tidy, lovely play area just outside entrance to site.close to shops.on site catering

The van; is first class great food at great prices,even made me vegetarian breakfasts,all food homemade and cooked to order great service with a smile.great location for trips out near to dundee, st andrews and carnoustie.will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bikerchick44 1 review from this member

 A very good site with very helpful staff,quiet at night.First class veiws of tay estuary,play area for kids just a short distance away,tesco just up the road.
We had a very good bank holiday weekend.Even the weather was good,not sure campsite and its staff can take credit for that,but you never can tell they sorted everything else we asked, 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carolinemike 2 reviews from this member

 An absolutely fantastic site!

We stayed here for 6 nights in August and had a great time. The site owners were lovely, friendly and helpful and it was a pleasure to have them staying in a caravan opposite us - it really made you feel like they were there with you if you needed them - not that we had anything to complain about.

The site itself is well presented and very spacious with a stunning view over the Tay. It is situated so you feel off the beaten track yet within minutes you can reach all the local amenities. Most importantly, as anyone camping for a number of days will agree, the shower and toilet bock was the best I have ever seen. It was exceptionally clean and spacious and the showers had constant hot water.

This is the first time I have been to Scotland in years and was very pleasantly surprised at both the quality of the local attractions and how little they cost for family tickets. My only negative is that we couldn't stay longer and this site is a real family friendly fantastic place to stay. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tayview Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tayview Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tayview Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Monifieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2578 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement