Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tayview Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Monifieth > Tayview Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Tayview Caravan & Camping Park
Marine Drive
Monifieth
Angus   (Browse area)
DD5 4GH
Tel: 01382 532837
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100+
Open: 06/03 To 30/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 68 Reviews
                8/10 from 68 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lodgewoman 1 review from this member

 We had one of our best holidays at Tayview. The site is small, well run and ideal for the family. The toilet and shower block were immaculate and there was plenty of hot water. The laundry was very reasonably priced with great equipment. The manager Arlene was fantastic a true camper herself she was full of great tips to make our first family caravanning holiday a great success. Thanks also to Jill and Adrian for the use of their son as a playmate to our two! This park can only go from strength to strength with we believe, further enhancements in the pipeline.The view out over the Tay was fantastic, the beach, perfect play park and promenade(just outside the site gate) made for a new adventure everyday. No need for the car as the town centre of Monifieth was also just a small walk away with supermarket, Chip Shop Indian takeaway (both excellent!)post office, newsagent etc etc etc. Another handy thing is that 'The Van' is open for snacks and meals by day and early evening (take way) and is just behind reception: the food and service was brilliant and offered good value for money.

We will be back, and will recommend to all! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shazir 1 review from this member

 First camping trip in a few years. Found the reception warm and friendly Arlene provided excellent information on surrounding area with lots of ideas on where to go with our 5 & 6 year old kids. Lovely toilet/shower block always very clean with lots of hot water. Great laundry room again always very clean. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and enthusiastic! In tent area there is a small portacabin which provides ladies and gents toilet as well as dishwashing facilities, this was so useful for during the night with the kids. The site is was very well presented with a good access road through the site with speed bumps and 10 mph speed limit making it safe for the kids on their bikes. 2 mins from the site is a fabulous adventure play park which would entertain kids of all ages. The site overlooks the Tay so plenty to do on the sandy beach and in the rock pools. Fabulous walks and cycles for the kids. There is also a great food VAN on site which provides lovely home cooked food at reasonable prices, 'the van' also offered child portions and was so helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back as there is so much to do in the surrounding area's Arbroath and Dundee. Thanks Arlene and your team we had a great time. See you next time! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Angela999 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed here booked 3 nights but only lasted 2 due to the wet weather in July 2009.

A very quiet site, lovely if you are just looking to chill out.

We where looking right over the sea, and not put off by the metal fence that surrounds the park.

We didn't use the food van that is on the site, but did see plently of people eating from it.

Toilet blocked was very clean, showers a bit grubby early morning but that is expected when busy first thing and people don't clean up after themselves.

My hubby told me that there is only 2 shower blocks in the gents and could do with another. He found that the water from next door shower was running into the one he was using and it was running over his feet, which was an unpleasant experience, this is the only negative I can say about the park.

Handy for Tesco which is a short walk to and the wee local shops.

Also has a children's play area just outside the park.

It also has a clean indoor dish washing area with laundry facilities, didn't use the washing machines or dryers so didn't see the cost for them.

The railway line is running alongside the site, but didn't bother us.

Overall if you are looking for a peaceful few days then this would be the place to visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ronlee 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site in June and although the weather was a bit naff the site was lovely.

The fascilites are excellent with the shower block spotless with really nice hot water.

The lavatories are also kept lovely and clean with paper towels and hand driers.

The views are excellent and not marred by the security fence in any way.

The beach is very clean and provided excellent walking for our dog.

The town itself provides lots of shops & pubs and the Chinese takeaway is excellent and clean.

They also have a very good chip shop, Indian takeaway and a good sized Tesco's.

The staff at the site are very accommodating and helpful and we would recommend this wonderful site for families and couples alike for a very enjoyable stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sullivan2007 25 reviews from this member

 The tent area is quite small, at the very back of the site (past a lot of statics), on quite rocky ground (we needed metal pegs, but not heavy duty rock pegs). Right next to the water, so quite breezy at times – no sign of midgies! It is also edged by the caravan storage area, which isn’t the greatest of atmospheres.

A portacabin sits between the tent area and the caravans. Dishwashing area – intermittent, not very hot, water. One ladies toilet, one gents toilet and a gents urinal. The main block is situated between the caravans and the statics – though there is a wee tent area next to it (fits about four 2-man tents). Decent laundry/dishwashing room (with hot water!), a gents shower/toilet block and a ladies. Key needed to access everything. Showers were poorly lit and not brilliantly clean. Push-button for 15 seconds of water types, water was warm. One of the 5 showers was big enough for a chair, another was the ‘disabled’ shower – very large, but with only a curtain across, not a door. No family bathroom, nowhere suitable for cleaning up a baby – we put our 14 month old in one of the laundry sinks after an attempt at a shower. One set of bins – next to the main block, no recycling facilities.

Two things redeemed this place for us. Firstly, the location is lovely. Although there is a big green mesh fence surrounding the park, you still get lovely views across the Tay (and the feeling of security, given that you are in a town, made it worth it). Out the back gate (again, you have a key for this), 30 seconds and you’re on the beach. Lovely for making sandcastles and when the tide’s out, peering into wee rock pools. We spent a couple of hours just digging holes and shell collecting. The second thing is The Van – a great fish and chip (and other things) cabin placed just behind the reception at the site entrance. Fresh fish caught locally, sausages from the local butcher, friendly service and good prices! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Sam+2 2 reviews from this member

 I first used this site in early 2007 with my first ever tourer and before I knew it I had a static caravan here. The site has changed a great deal over the last 2 years and all for the better. My last review (May 2008 was just before I bought the static) mentioned the improvements already made and the 'to do list' that Arlene the Customer Sevice Manager had made. That list must be pretty short by now because the improvements have been constant. On each new visit we play 'spot the difference' to see who can notice the most changes.

This is really a lovely quiet clean site near the beach and everything a family needs for a holiday- playpark,tennis, golf, bowling, Tesco, Farm foods, butcher, bakers, several take aways, pubs and restaurants all within a few minutes walk plus easy travel to the local tourist spots. (Remember to visit the site office to pick up leaflets with money off vouchers)

The site now has 'The Van' run by Duncan & his wife where you can get all day breakfast, fish & chips, hotdog, ice cream etc. I found it simpler to keep the menu by the cooker & to put Duncan's mobile number on speed dial!

So far we have visited 4 times this year. On our first visit we arrived 30 minutes before the Easter Party started needless to say the unpacking waited. What a brilliant day everyone had. Several large gazebos were set up with tables & chairs and laid out with things for the children & adults to do - eggs to decorate, pictures to colour in, quizzes and items to use to decorate bonnets. Great party food, easter egg hunt then the judging of all the various competitions. This was a great way to get families from the tourers, tents and statics all mixing together at the start of the season. The event was mainly funded by the site owners with token contributions from parents in the form of raffle tickets. Arlene really throws herself into organising these events & it is great to see them being so well attended.

The improvements on the site are too many to mention individually but I will mention that I am aware that the old toilet block at the far end of the site has been spruced up & reopened. I haven't personally used them but have heard good things as I understand the campers find this a great benefit (especially during the night) as it saves them going all the way to the shower/toilet block.

Any contact with the site staff has always been friendly & very helpful. Most of my contact has been with Arlene who can't do enough for all the site customers even to the extent of lending out her obliging husband to demonstrate to the novice how to change a gas cylinder, drain the boiler or connect up to the electrics!

The only downside for some is the closeness to the railway track. A new wooden fence has reduced any noise but even before that went up many people come back time & time again, have seasonal pitches or statics so it clearly doesn't bother everyone.

I will be back this weekend then 3 weeks at the end of the school holidays so hoping for good weather and of course our usual warm welcome. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krispi1977 1 review from this member

 I stayed at Tayview for 10 days in May & loved every moment of it! Being a first time camper & single woman traveller, this campsite is fantastic with the security of the fence (which doesn't spoil views) & being able to contact Arlene at any time on her mobile. I had a lovely warm welcome by her and had great advice from her on where I should pitch my tent, given that the weather can turn very quickly on the coast I chose the Cottage Garden which is lovely, quiet & near all the facilities.

The facilities are great! Especially the washing/drying machines and the oodles of hot water for washing dishes and showering and the shower / toilet block are kept lovely and clean. Also if you can't be bothered to cook, The Van has a great selection of hot and cold food & drink which has great service! Highly recommend the bacon butties & steaming hot cuppa teas!

The site is in a fantastic location as you are only a couple of minutes from Broughty Ferry where I recommend you pop into the Fishermans Tavern for a bite to eat or a bevvy or two or about 15 mins from Dundee centre. Monifieth also has it's hidden gems such as House of Memories, the beach, great kids play area & other gems for you to find. If like myself, you enjoy taking off for the day, then go & explore the gorgeous breathtaking views of the Grampian Mts.! You are only 72miles (approx) from Balmoral, even less from Glamis Castle where the Queen Mother grew up, Glen Clova/Glen Doll & the Glenesk Valley where there is the great Retrest Folk Museum & further down from it, a great 'flat' hikers trail to the Queens Well towards Mt Keen (3033ft) - make sure you where boots or good shoes, although 'flat' it is still a proper hikers trail though worth checking out as the views are stunning! or pop over the Tay Bridge & visit St Andrews!

I basically spent a superb 10 days exploring wee bonnie Scotland in my car & the campsite location is fantastic to enable you to do so and I will most definitely be returning here to Tayview in the future!

Huge thank you to Arlene & her team plus The Van for making my stay really special! :o) 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenniferfrc 1 review from this member

 My Partner and our 2 kids stayed at Tayview for 2 nights in a tent. We found the Site to be lovely and all the staff were very friendly especially Arlene who went out of her way to help us.

We were near the toilet facilities as we had 2 young kids. The toilets and showers were really clean (toilet block does not move in the wind) and always tidy as was the laundry etc.

There is no shop on site but that doesn't matter as you have tescos but there is a food van that provides hot and cold food and drinks. We ate out of the van a few times and the food was lovely and they were very helpful with portions sizes etc for our young kids.

The site itself was very clean and there is a huge adventure playground 2 minutes from the site as well as the beach being a stones throw away. The views are lovely and the fence that another person mentioned being horrible is not, Its green and in no way hides the view.

The beach is lovely and clean too and you can walk for ages.

There is a local tescos and farmfoods 5 minutes walk away, And broughty ferry is a few minutes drive and is lovely just for a walk around.

I certainly will be returning to Tayview for a holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saskia11 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site. We only stayed one day but wish we had longer. Our tent is fairly large so was charged £22 (4 adults and 1 child) slightly more expensive than other sites we have visited but for one night it was worth it.
The site is very well kept and the manager Arlene could not have been more welcoming. It was such a pleasant change to be greeted by a smiling face and someone eager to ensure that everything was to our satisfaction. We had our 3 year old grandson with us and he loved the nearby adventure playground ( a short walk from the site ) and the beach which is a stones throw away. There are also tennis courts nearby which are owned by the local council.
The toilet block was clean and had ample free showers with hot water and the washing up water was free and piping hot. Nice clean laundry with washing machines and dryers. No on site shop but there is a Tesco within walking distance to stock up with essentials.
We will def return to this site before the summer is over and have no hesitation in recommending it to others. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Garryth 1 review from this member

 Booked for 3 nights from 22nd May, very quiet site pitched right on the shore lovely views on to the river tay. Toilet and shower block spotless. Town of Monifieth small but nice pubs.
Not far from Arbroath good coastal drive and Dundee is only 3 miles in the other direction. Good bank holiday for us, wife was thinking of pitching the caravan there for the season. Staff on site very helpful. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tayview Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tayview Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tayview Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Monifieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2498 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement