Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tayview Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Monifieth > Tayview Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Tayview Caravan & Camping Park
Marine Drive
Monifieth
Angus   (Browse area)
DD5 4GH
Tel: 01382 532837
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100+
Open: 06/03 To 30/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 68 Reviews
                8/10 from 68 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jdwilson 1 review from this member

 Stayed for two nights at this site, wish it had been more, but we had already pre-booked another site elsewhere. Site had great views, lovely clean toilets, showers and dishwashing facilities.

People were so friendly and helpful. Must thank the chap from Airdrie who came to our rescue when we had problems with our indicators on the van when leaving the site.

Great for walks, you can walk right into Broughty Ferry and it is all on the level. Main shopping area only a few minutes walk away.

Great little eating place on site with very freshly cooked food, all in all first class site and will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: N2frgdonna@hotmail. 1 review from this member

 Nice site and family friendly.

Toilet blocks clean and plenty of hotwater.

Large play park next to site and lovely beach walks. Short walk to the town with good amenities stores etc.

Staff friendly and helpful and fellow campers made us feel welcome. Will definitely be returning and will be spreading the word to our friends.

Also good value for money, and a good food van on site, sit in or takeaway.

Not far from Dundee for site seeing and shopping.

Arbroath is close by with a nice harbour as well. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: F+A+E+B 2 reviews from this member

 We have mixed feelings about this site. The site is fantastically place- on a beautiful part of the coast, great views and easy walking for all thanks to an excellent coastal path. The site is also well placed for the town and has a great children's play area just outside it's gates. The site has a relaxed atmosphere and The Hut serves great, well priced food.

We did however find the key system an irritation-it requires forward planning if 2 people of the opposite sex wish to use the showers or someone has gone out with the dogs, someone else wants a shower etc.

Possibly this system could be looked at now the site is gated. And if you wish to get rid of your rubbish, fingers crossed it's a good day as its a bit of a trek to the bins. The showers were clean enough and a lot of them, but they are very small/narrow.

I would recommend this site for a short stay, mostly because of it's location, but we personally would find it a rather bleak site in poor weather on a longer stay and have been on far superior sites for the same money. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jam Mar 5 reviews from this member

 Having been on site last year, we returned again this year, to be once again, impressed by this site.

They have upgraded some areas ie. Individual shower trays, additional bathroom lighting, reduced the temperature of the water, heating in the toilets etc etc (all suggestions from previous campers!). How many sites do you know where they actually listen?? Arlene commented that they are continually taking on-board suggestions, which is great!

We are just back from the Easter Weekend there, where they put on Easter activities for the kids, and it was great to see all the 'wee faces' as they headed off on the Easter egg hunt! Real family fun!

We've went on about this site so much that some of our family members came along to join us in their caravans and tent. A first time for all of them, and they were just as delighted with the site as we are!

A site with everything on your doorstep. We are going back shortly for our third time this year! 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: V6miggy 1 review from this member

 Stayed here last year with a tent. Have now upgraded to touring caravan. The facilities were very good last year and have improved this season. The shower blocks are very clean, tidy and warm. Showers are hot and powerful and consistently so. Bin and wash up areas are also clean and well maintained.

The Van now has a seating area where you can take advantage of an extensive menu at very reasonable prices. All food is cooked fresh and the desserts are all home baked. The lemon meringue pie was lovely. Although unlicensed, corkage is available at 2 for a bottle of wine.

Reception staff are friendly and helpful and telephone numbers for reception are published in the welcome pack, which can save trips back and forth to reception.

Television reception is very good if you aim your aerial away from the sea and have it flat. Internet is also available on the site at 3.50 a day or 20 a week. It is good quality connection and logon to the cloud is very easy and provided upon check in.

Overall a friendly site with very good amenities. AAA+++ :) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ferd 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for over a week. Brilliant site on the seafront. Clean toilets and washing up area and all well maintained generally. Everyone was helpful with advice on what to do and for information on the locality.

Has a Sustrans cycle path running alongside which goes for about 27 miles! you can easily walk to Broughty Ferry for a day out. Buses run to Dundee every 10 minutes from the main street two minutes from the site.

Dundee has interesting Museums. Discovery Centre was a very worthy visit and there are the usual Malls to browse if the weather is bad.

We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Goresand 1 review from this member

 A long way from Somerset to visit the Open Golf Championship, but a super site for our stay. A warm welcome from Arlene and assistance from the staff to position our van was a good start.

Other reviews of this site were used to choose it and we were not disappointed. The ever-changing views across the estuary were delightful and not too obscured by the security fence that abounds the public footpath beside the site.

The toilet block and laundry/dishwashing facilities were always clean with unlimited hot water. Being 'pensioners' we did not use the adjacent play park but it appeared to be very popular. A short walk to the local shopping area provided a range of small shops and eateries, as well as a Tesco store, which provided for our needs.

The Monifieth golf links are within walking distance and there are other courses nearby. Camperdown municipal course at Dundee was a favourite.

Would love to return if only it was not over 450 miles from home. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sushiguru 2 reviews from this member

 Spent a weekend here trying out our new tent.

The site is large and open, right on the edge of the river Tay; however, there is a tall fence running around the perimeter of the site since a public footpath passes on the other side, so it's not a case of wandering off the pitch and onto the shore, you have to go to an exit gate and work your way around - only a minor inconvenience.

The toilet block and dishwashing facilities are excellent, and the site overall is very clean and tidy. Mostly touring caravans, I think we were the only tent on-site when we stayed.

The railway track runs right alongside the site, so if you're bothered by railway noise then this isn't the site for you - that being said, the last train is before midnight and the first isn't until 7ish, so you can get a decent night's sleep.

We didn't venture much beyond the site and the beach, only stopping for the weekend, so can't comment on the surrounding area, only to say that the local Tesco is within walking distance. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JulieandCate 1 review from this member

 We have been back for a week after a week's camping in Monifieth and we still wake up every morning wishing we were back there! The site is situated in a perfect place for walking, cycling, shopping and eating. Tesco's is within walking distance but better than that are the lovely village-type shops selling fresh bread, dairy and fruit and veg. The Blue Marlin is a lovely local restaurant selling fresh fish and seafood. You can walk for miles fron just outside your tent.

The toilets and showers were always clean and well maintained and the water always warm. The tent pitches are to the back of site and are serviced by a portacabin with loos (strangely 2 for men and one for women!) and a sink for washing up. This was useful, particularly if you are caught short in the night.But remembering your toilet key is a hassle sometimes.

No review mentioned the train line behind the site. I think the reason is because you stop hearing the trains after a while.

Overall, we had a great stay and can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 185 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night because we were touring. Helpful and friendly check-in. The site was OK, nothing special. Slightly over-priced but I guess we paid for the beach front location and views of the sea. A bit cramped in the far corner where we got the last EHU on a July Saturday, beside the caravan storage area. One ladies and one gents toilet in an old portacabin, plus pot wash (always queues for all of these), but it had a fridge for those without one. No showers - they're in the new block further away which we didn't use. Through a locked gate to get to the beach (so the dog was happy) - we were told to keep the gate locked to stop folk with tents walking in without paying. Trains run regularly on the line behind the site and start early: mainly for this reason, I wouldn't come back, as I prefer quieter sites. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tayview Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tayview Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tayview Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Monifieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2639 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement