Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tayview Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Monifieth > Tayview Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Tayview Caravan & Camping Park
Marine Drive
Monifieth
Angus   (Browse area)
DD5 4GH
Tel: 01382 532837
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100+
Open: 06/03 To 30/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

Photos (11)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: 2chickens 1 review from this member

 Excellent site, clean and tidy lovely views, worth a visit, quiet and friendly, lovely place to stop.

Facilities not open due to COVID but lovely site to stay at 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Catarinabod 50 reviews from this member

 Pros: adjacent beach and town. Clean, warm facilities with hot water. Good for short break.

Cons: regimented fairly small pitches with no separation which might be a problem in summer, shower curtains, showers too powerful and push button.

We had a sea view albeit separated by a metal fence - there were spaces along the fence for larger motorhomes which would kill the view when busy.

Needs some planting to separate pitches. Not really a problem out of season as everyone inside their unit. Shame no free wifi.

Quite pricey at £23 for grass pitch. 


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Iancle36015mil 1 review from this member

 Absolutely beautiful and stunning caravan park. Reception staff so friendly and helpful.

Toilets immaculate clean. Shower block has central heating so your not cold coming out it.

I canít fault this caravan park in any way and will definitely visit again.

Would be nice if price was a bit cheaper per night but seemingly this is the going rate for October. Iím brand new to touring and was shocked at what sites charge per night. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: R Abbitt 8 reviews from this member

 A great location, right on the coastal path and few minutes' walk into Monifieth itself, where there is a supermarket, a few pubs/restaurants, and the bus service to Dundee and up the coast. Broughty Ferry is walkable along the coastal path. A few trees or some planting would help to break up what is quite a regimented layout, not helped by the unattractive metal fence between the site and the beach. However, overall it is a site with good amenities in a good location. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Barracudafish 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for 3 nights in March as the next door site hadn't yet opened for touring pitches. We booked and paid online. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We were allocated pitch 51 overlooking the river. The first day it poured so we took the bus outside Tesco ( a couple of minutes walk away) and took the 20 minutes journey into Dundee ( £4. 10 for 2 adults)

On the Sunday the sun shone so we had a walk along the fabulous beach and cycled into Broughty Ferry. The only thing with the pitch was that between you and the river is a footpath which is widely used and you can feel a bit like a goldfish in a bowl with many walkers looking into your van as they pass!

The toilets are very clean and warm although we didn't use their showers as we had our own. The pitches are gravel so also clean but I think that it may be a bit tight once an awning is up!

All in all, a very good site and close to a lovely beach and the town of Monifieth. Great for a weekend away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Eebo 8 reviews from this member

 A really nice site literally a stone's throw from the sea and about a five minute walk to the shops and restaurants of Monifieth.

Booking online was easy and hassle free and the girl at reception was helpful and very accommodating when I asked to stay for an additional night. Although my pitch was booked, she arranged for me to move to the tented area with a reduced price and free wifi for the additional night, which was very much appreciated. Wifi is normally £2. 50 for 24 hours.

Some of the touring pitches are on quite a slope and it was interesting seeing some caravans with their stabilising legs extended to the max, some with the addition of bricks.

The toilets were immaculate, with the only gripe being about the showers which were fitted with curtains, which resulted in the dreaded 'curtain creep' as you were using them.

The site is located right next to the railway station, which means train noise and although very few trains stop here, there is the opportunity to travel to nearby Dundee on the few that do, although there is an excellent bus service (number 73) which runs to Dundee every 10 minutes. The stop is outside Tesco, again about a 5 or 10 minute walk from the site.

There is a coastal path just outside the site, which is accessible by a locked gate, the key for which is provided on check in and there is a snack bar at the exit gates, which although the food was okay, the service was atrocious and I wouldn't go back.

Overall a great site, very convenient for the coastal walk and an ideal stop for a day or a night out in Dundee with friendly and accommodating staff. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rangers 1972 2 reviews from this member

 My wife and I have been to tayview on numerous occasions. It's a fabulous site. Spotless. A lot of work has went into making the fantastic site it is. The facilities are immaculate. Very helpful staff. Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 3Scotties 9 reviews from this member

 We visited with our Motorhome, only for one night on the occasion of dropping our son off to Uni at Dundee.

Our only disappointment was that we could not stay longer!

We found this site whilst searching for site options on ukcampsite. Co. Uk and chose it over the Caravan Club CL site options and other sites in the area because of the location, proximity to Dundee and the fact it was coastal with direct access to a beach for the dogs.

Initial pre-booking contact with the site to ask questions was excellent, they came across very friendly.

Booking on line was straightforward, price compared to Caravan Club sites was slightly higher but in line with other privately owned sites. They have to make a living and they obviously have invested, maintain and are developing the site. On hindsight £25/n including dogs given the quality of the site, pitch location & standard was good value.

The hard standing pitch we were assigned was excellent, it has a gravel section and monoblocked section with sea view, hook up with water pipe at power point. The caravan pitches seem to have individual power, water & grey water drain. There was pleanty grass pitches too.

Welcome - was great, we were running very late due to roadworks, phoned in and finally didn't get there until 5mins before the office shut. Their attitude was helpful, understanding & welcoming.

Showers and facilities were excellent with a smaller toilet & dishwashing area near our pitch.

On site cafe was a great addition, we has a bacon roll in the morning to save time. It was excellent and the staff friendly. When we left at 10 on the Sun am it was buzzing with passing trade of dog walkers sitting outside in the sun having a coffee.

Past reviews - some older ones were inaccurate of the sites current condition so ignore them, go visit yourself with an open mind.

Locality - local shops within walking distance including a well known supermarket

We hope to return soon, the Wx was mixed with sun & overnight rain, but that only added to the enjoyment of the vitit hearing the rain on the roof and tucked up cosy inside.

Thanks and keep up the good work, the maintenance standard of the site.

Overall it was really excellent and the warm welcome was really appreciated. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hellodolly 1 review from this member

 Spent a couple of nights there in a tent with friends who were touring Scotland.

The staff were friendly and the toilets/showers were spotless.

Tesco and a great chip shop are a ten minute walk away as well as a couple of local pubs which were friendly.

Just outside the grounds is a playpark and sandy beach when tide is out.

There is a footpath/cycle path which takes you into Broughty Ferry one way, Carnoustie the other way. The walk into Broughty Ferry (30min walk) was lovely running along the banks of the River Tay, plenty of pubs and places to eat there. The only negative about the path is that when sitting outside the tent the public can look right in.

At night you can listen to the waves breaking on the shore a stones throw away but there is an early morning train which rumbles past which gave me a startle.

CCTV does give you the feeling of security.

It is quite a large site with static and touring caravans, it also has small wooden chalets, all and all, I was very pleased with my stay and my friends said it was one of the better sites they had stayed at. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesley Butler 1 review from this member

 We have been coming to Tayview for a few years now. Every time we go it gets better and better. We have always had a warm welcome from Arlene or Gill and have found them to be very accommodating. We were offered a fully serviced hard standing pitch with perfect, uninterrupted views over the river Tay during our recent stay. Brilliant! The caravan park is really well maintained and toilet block is clean as a whistle! There are superb walks to nearby broughty ferry and direct access to the beach and local shops, take aways and restaurants within 5 mins walk. There is a play park across the road. Would be even better if there was a small play park on site for younger children. Can't wait to go back. 😉 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tayview Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tayview Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tayview Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Monifieth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6404 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement