Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park > Reviews

Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park
Main Street
Wheldrake
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 6AH
Tel: 01904 448500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carol and andy 3 reviews from this member

 Just having acquired a new caravan we just wanted to try out for 1 night. As andy fishes this would be ideal for a visit. We found the camp site to be very boggy and had to have our car towed off the pitch.

When we parked it was difficult to stick to the hardstanding as it had grassed over but to be fair to the owners, we had recently had snow and rain before we went, so it would be unfair to mark the site down because of this.

Andy found the fishing to be excellent (must have been as he sat there in the pouring rain for hours). The shower and toilet block was quite cold but the showers were nice and hot and very clean and fresh smelling. We would visit again but would like to see the site in the summer.

Just 1 little gripe, dunno what it was, but 6. 45 am gun shots firing constantly through the day, which was annoying 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angiesluck 4 reviews from this member

 Its a nice size lake, quiet and laid out ok and the owners seem nice and friendly but the facilities are much to be desired.

As a camper I expect to have nice clean facilities after all you wouldn't go in a B&B or hotel and think it was ok to have them in the state they were when we were there. The toilet block needs a lot of TLC as they obviously only get a quick flick over but that's about it as you can see from my pictures. If a bit more time and effort was put in to update and clean them to a satisfactory state I would give more stars.

Why not a 5 star, well it seems from our experience they are biased against tents and even trailer tents as they wont place you near the lake to fish they obviously prefer caravans or motor homes it seems. What makes me say that, well when the owner tells you that the available ones nearest to the lake on our arrival are season holder pitches so not able to be put on them but later they put caravans there and then only to find out after speaking to the caravan owners that they themselves are not season holders just people who come a couple of times a year then you wonder why a tent or a trailer tent wasn't allowed to go there when they were vacant on arrival and so should be first come first choice cos after all they said they 'don't save' pitches for anyone! well I beg to differ on that one or they are just biased like I said regards tents. Would we go back, humm probably not. 
Management response: The lakeside pitches are hard standing and not suitable for tents, but we do allow touring trailer tents on the lakeside. None of the lakeside pitches are occupied by seasonal visitors, we have only eight seasonal pitches and these are all at the back of the site.

Like the majority of popular caravan parks we have a pitch booking system and a bookings diary, our lakeside pitches are purely touring pitches and allocated when a booking is made, regardless of whether a visitor is new to the site or a regular visitor. Therefore a pitch may be empty when somebody arrives but already booked from the following day by somebody else.It would be chaos to allow visitors to pick any vacant pitch that they liked on arrival!

Barbara and I do our best with the toilet facilities, and they are checked regularly throughout the day. Unfortunately sometimes they are left in a 'less than satisfactory state' and the only way to deal with this would be to check the toilets after every use, which is not possible.

Fortunately the majority of our visitors let us know if there is something that needs attention, and we always deal with it straight away.


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gbillson 2 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site. Very welcoming from the phone call to book, on arrival and throughout the weekend. We arrived on the Friday night and after being shown to our pitch which was nice and level we hooked up and walked to the local pub in the village about a 10 minute walk, there is also a shop in the same village too.

Had a nice meal in the pub and walked back.

Saturday we had a great day pleasure fishing, my wife doesn't fish but we had a good time and she caught more than me!

On the Sunday we drove the motorhome about 15 minutes to Yorkshire outlet where they have a designated coach area and you are allowed to park your motorhome and then it was only £2. 90 for a return bus to York.

Overall a great place to visit with local amenities in walking distance and nearby parking for the local city.

We booked our next stay while we were there :) 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happyfisherman 10 reviews from this member

 Westerly Lake is a lovely lakeside site set in a quiet village not far from York and all major services and roads. Excellent facilities and large pitches, ours actually overlooked the well stocked lake which gave the feeling of real tranquillity and peace.

The owners Geoff. And Barbara are a pleasant helpful couple who were friendly towards all the campers/clients. We unfortunately had to leave a week early due to a bereavement and found Barbara and Geoff to be very sympathetic to our loss. We really enjoyed what transpired to be a short stay but will be returning. Highly recommended also for the fishing.

Paul and Christine Hurley 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tinwolf 8 reviews from this member

 This is a really nice site, we have camped here before but we took our new motorhome this time.

It`s very quiet and there`s a nice view across the lake for most pitches on this small site.

Plenty of hot water in the nice clean toilet block.

We met Geoff on arrival who led us to our pitch. We had booked a hard standing but unfortunately the hard standings have been grassed over and there is no hard access to the hard standing from the access road. There had been a lot of rain in the days before we arrived so we got stuck trying to get onto our 'hard' standing. Geoff straight away got his little tractor to help us. He also had to tow us off the pitch at the end but he was there as we were packing up in case we needed this service so very helpful.

The hard standing is quite small so we were walking through muddy grass when moving around our pitch, also there are no paths to the toilet block so again we were walking through muddy grass to go for a shower etc.

Geoff did say he`s looking at creating hard access onto the pitches.

It`s about a 30 minute bike ride to the local park and ride to York along a quiet road but then there`s a mile to go on the A19 which can be quite busy and there`s no path to ride on although the A19 is quite wide. Also it`s a short ride to the Yorkshire air museum at Elvington which was right up my street.

As I say a really nice, quiet site but a problem if it`s wet. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Twolees 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned after a 8 day stay at this adult only caravan site, was met on arrival by Barbara the owner lovely lady, was shown to our pitch which was right next to the pond, my hubby was made up he could get brews and beers without much effort,

toilets and showers were very clean, plenty of hot water anytime during the day and night, loads of information on places to see and do in the utility room, the site was not that far from York we had a day out there one day, hubby enjoyed the fishing and caught plenty of fish, met some nice people and everybody was friendly on site easy to find,

there was a shop and a pub a short walk from the site, a lovely quiet site really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back, 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Rich and Jeanette 4 reviews from this member

 Just had another peaceful & relaxing week on this lovely little site. Arrived after being stuck in traffic due to an accident, to be greeted with an offer of a cuppa while we were setting up from a lovely lady which we eagerly accepted, and very nice it was too. And that is the way it is at Westerly Lake.

Its quiet not over crowded and very friendly, and the owners Barbara and Geoff nothing is too much trouble, and they are happy to have a chat and help if there's a problem, ie lending cable extension for electric hook up. Cannot recommend this site enough well worth a visit.

Will be coming back shortly for a few days fishing. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Puddingface 3 reviews from this member

 After a long drive from Bristol, the owner Barbara met us at the gate, showed us our pitch, gave us some information and left us to set up.

We were travelling with our friends and were able to pitch next to each other very close to the edge of the lake.

This is an adult only site. 7 miles from York, you can easily spend a few days exploring this lovely city.

Park and Ride runs from the designer shopping centre, just up the road into the city centre. We used this to avoid negotiating the one way system adult return ticket was £2. 80, buses run every 15 minuets, great value.

There is a huge car boot sale at the racecourse on Saturday mornings

The village is a 10 minute walk away, there is a well stocked shop for every thing you might need.

There is a pub, that has live music on Saturdays and a quiz night on Wednesdays

The whole site is well maintained and the lake is beautiful and kept the husbands entertained for hours fishing.

You have the option of buying a weekly or daily fishing ticket, reduced price for campers,

We were lucky enough to have perfect weather.

On site facilities are kept immaculate separate showers with plenty of hot water and toilets and also a good washing up area.

Local Information is kept in here. There is also a book/ magazine swap bookcase - great idea.

This site is perfect for a relaxing break and for anyone who fishes. It's a beautiful site in a great location.

Barbara and Geoff are very friendly and work hard to keep the site well maintained 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ivor5051 2 reviews from this member

 After driving over 200 miles from Bristol with our friends, you hope your caravan site meets your expectations, and this one did just that. We were met at the gate by the owner Barbara who showed us to our pitches by the lake, good as we are keen anglers. She pointed out where the toilet block was, where your water is and all what we needed to know. When we asked to pay she said after your journey get yourselves sorted and pay her later.

The site was clean and tidy as was the toilet block, with nice hot free showers, There is a washing up area, and information room, on whats on in the area, we soon started to feel relaxed here. On the fishing we were soon catching some nice roach, perch, and a few bream. The village of Wheldrake is just a ten to fifteen minute walk, nice village pub, food a bit expensive, cant comment as we did not eat there.

There is also the village stores/post office for your bits and pieces and your paper. Just down the road is the park and ride for York, which we did use, best way to see york. The outlet shopping is next to the park and ride, We had excellent weather for our ten days here which did help, Geoff and Barbara have worked hard on this site to get the balance right, and it has worked.

I wish this site was nearer to Bristol I would leave my caravan on site. Thank you both very much. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Yackers 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Westerly Lakes for seven nights from the 26th July 2014. This was my first trip to North Yorkshire with the folding camper and I have to say that we struck it lucky finding this gem of a site, as it had everything we were looking for and it exceeded our expectations in every way.

The site is beautiful, clean and perfectly located for visiting York, as well as access to the other larger roads to visit other areas of Yorkshire. There is a bit of road noise but this is not a problem and not too loud. Besides, the only way to get zero traffic noise is to find a site in the middle of nowhere where the access is likely to be restricted, and I know what I prefer.

The facilities are spot on. The washing up area is large, there are plenty of showers (which are free) and toilets, and everything is kept immaculately clean. The owners clearly take pride in their site and the people who use it are the sort of people who continue to keep it nice.

The pitches are flat, spacious and the hard standings mean that motor homes can use awnings with sewn in ground sheets. This also benefited us as we have a modified motor home awning with a sewn in ground sheet we use for our camper.

The feature point of Westerly Lakes is obviously the fishing lake, which is full of fish. Fishing can be a bit “hit or miss” but this is the case with all fishing lakes. I spent a lot of time on the water and there were a couple of days when I only caught a couple of fish, but the other days I caught plenty. When the lake starts to fish it really kicks off. The quality of the carp is second to none, and boy do they put up a scrap. If you are after 20lb – 30lb carp you won’t get them here but if you want to put a bend in your rod and catch carp 10lb – 20lb (and plenty of them) Westerly Lakes is perfect.

I have just thought I haven’t said much about the site’s owners, Barbara and Geoff. Both are really nice people and can’t do enough for you. If you’re struggling with the fish Geoff is the man to see as he will give you plenty of tips and advice to help you get a few on the bank. The best thing about the owners is that whilst they are friendly and will come over and speak they also give you space and let you get on and enjoy your holiday as well.

In conclusion I can’t praise Westerly Lakes any higher, and out of all the sites I have found and stayed on it is the best one, although Wyton Lakes comes a very close second.

Everything at Westerly is spot on and if you are thinking of going for a visit I suggest you stop thinking and get booking. I was at Westerly Lakes for one day before I was booking a pitch for the 2015 season. 


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57786 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement