Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park Reviews

Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park
Main Street
Wheldrake
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 6AH
Tel: 01904 448500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 1st March To 2nd December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
                9/10 from 72 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Puddingface 3 reviews from this member

 After a long drive from Bristol, the owner Barbara met us at the gate, showed us our pitch, gave us some information and left us to set up.

We were travelling with our friends and were able to pitch next to each other very close to the edge of the lake.

This is an adult only site. 7 miles from York, you can easily spend a few days exploring this lovely city.

Park and Ride runs from the designer shopping centre, just up the road into the city centre. We used this to avoid negotiating the one way system adult return ticket was £2. 80, buses run every 15 minuets, great value.

There is a huge car boot sale at the racecourse on Saturday mornings

The village is a 10 minute walk away, there is a well stocked shop for every thing you might need.

There is a pub, that has live music on Saturdays and a quiz night on Wednesdays

The whole site is well maintained and the lake is beautiful and kept the husbands entertained for hours fishing.

You have the option of buying a weekly or daily fishing ticket, reduced price for campers,

We were lucky enough to have perfect weather.

On site facilities are kept immaculate separate showers with plenty of hot water and toilets and also a good washing up area.

Local Information is kept in here. There is also a book/ magazine swap bookcase - great idea.

This site is perfect for a relaxing break and for anyone who fishes. It's a beautiful site in a great location.

Barbara and Geoff are very friendly and work hard to keep the site well maintained 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ivor5051 2 reviews from this member

 After driving over 200 miles from Bristol with our friends, you hope your caravan site meets your expectations, and this one did just that. We were met at the gate by the owner Barbara who showed us to our pitches by the lake, good as we are keen anglers. She pointed out where the toilet block was, where your water is and all what we needed to know. When we asked to pay she said after your journey get yourselves sorted and pay her later.

The site was clean and tidy as was the toilet block, with nice hot free showers, There is a washing up area, and information room, on whats on in the area, we soon started to feel relaxed here. On the fishing we were soon catching some nice roach, perch, and a few bream. The village of Wheldrake is just a ten to fifteen minute walk, nice village pub, food a bit expensive, cant comment as we did not eat there.

There is also the village stores/post office for your bits and pieces and your paper. Just down the road is the park and ride for York, which we did use, best way to see york. The outlet shopping is next to the park and ride, We had excellent weather for our ten days here which did help, Geoff and Barbara have worked hard on this site to get the balance right, and it has worked.

I wish this site was nearer to Bristol I would leave my caravan on site. Thank you both very much. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Yackers 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Westerly Lakes for seven nights from the 26th July 2014. This was my first trip to North Yorkshire with the folding camper and I have to say that we struck it lucky finding this gem of a site, as it had everything we were looking for and it exceeded our expectations in every way.

The site is beautiful, clean and perfectly located for visiting York, as well as access to the other larger roads to visit other areas of Yorkshire. There is a bit of road noise but this is not a problem and not too loud. Besides, the only way to get zero traffic noise is to find a site in the middle of nowhere where the access is likely to be restricted, and I know what I prefer.

The facilities are spot on. The washing up area is large, there are plenty of showers (which are free) and toilets, and everything is kept immaculately clean. The owners clearly take pride in their site and the people who use it are the sort of people who continue to keep it nice.

The pitches are flat, spacious and the hard standings mean that motor homes can use awnings with sewn in ground sheets. This also benefited us as we have a modified motor home awning with a sewn in ground sheet we use for our camper.

The feature point of Westerly Lakes is obviously the fishing lake, which is full of fish. Fishing can be a bit “hit or miss” but this is the case with all fishing lakes. I spent a lot of time on the water and there were a couple of days when I only caught a couple of fish, but the other days I caught plenty. When the lake starts to fish it really kicks off. The quality of the carp is second to none, and boy do they put up a scrap. If you are after 20lb – 30lb carp you won’t get them here but if you want to put a bend in your rod and catch carp 10lb – 20lb (and plenty of them) Westerly Lakes is perfect.

I have just thought I haven’t said much about the site’s owners, Barbara and Geoff. Both are really nice people and can’t do enough for you. If you’re struggling with the fish Geoff is the man to see as he will give you plenty of tips and advice to help you get a few on the bank. The best thing about the owners is that whilst they are friendly and will come over and speak they also give you space and let you get on and enjoy your holiday as well.

In conclusion I can’t praise Westerly Lakes any higher, and out of all the sites I have found and stayed on it is the best one, although Wyton Lakes comes a very close second.

Everything at Westerly is spot on and if you are thinking of going for a visit I suggest you stop thinking and get booking. I was at Westerly Lakes for one day before I was booking a pitch for the 2015 season. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suealan2 3 reviews from this member

 Our 4th summer fortnight here & as always peaceful, comfortable & very welcoming. Barbara & Geoff do everything to make your stay a pleasure. Toilet/shower block always well kept. Grass well kept. Pub & small shop nearby.

So easy to get in & out of York with the Park & Ride every 10 mins. Avoid rush hour though as even P & R gets gridlocked at times! Gym & swimming pool 10-15 mins. Away. Pool has large water chute which goes outside for part of its' journey. Very well equipped gym.

We have booked again for next June we always enjoy it so much.  


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ENOCH 29 reviews from this member

 Arriving at the site during a typical Yorkshire thunderstorm, we were met at the gate by the owner, pleasant and welcoming, and more than happy to show us to our pitch, (a thunderstorm will not permit standards to fall). The location is superb, you can, space available, pitch lakeside, or slightly behind the units alongside the lake, fortunately for us a lakeside pitch had been arranged prior to arrival. Waking up on a morning to open the front blinds to see the ducks, Moorhens with chicks and the early start anglers adds to the ambience of the location. The site is well laid out and has a clean toilet and shower area, pot washing area and information area. The site is within easy walking distance of the village which has a local pub, supermarket and post office, local buses are available to travel to York, or the Park and Ride is a short drive away. The fishing on site is superb with various species of course fish and large Carp, fishing is additional to site fees, discounted for residents, day tickets are available for visiting anglers. The owners are around through out the day, working to maintain the site to a high standard and talking to the residents and visiting anglers. Westerly Lake is a site that we will return to as often as we can, whether to fish or to visit the local area. The wife suggested that I reviewed it to a lower degree otherwise it would become too popular and we may not be able to book a pitch, the owners deserve full credit for a superb venue, being excellent hosts and providing excellent fishing, as other reviews have stated. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Woogal 3 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic campsite, with friendly (but not pushy) owners, great fishing, peaceful, and very clean. Watching the wildlife is fantastic, it feels like you are in the middle of nowhere but York is just up the road on the park and ride.

I have been here many times and so would say to those “carping on” (sorry couldn’t help myself had to make the pun) about the regulars getting on the lake pitches it is first come first served. I have not always managed a lake side pitch, unless I have booked months in advance, which is why I now book our next visit before we leave ( that said there are no bad pitches on the site so I will book even if we cannot get lake side). 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Alastairandalice 9 reviews from this member

 What a lovely spot, very peaceful, we had the whole place to ourselves even though it was nearly Easter time! The facilities were fine with the largest shower and toilet cubicles I have ever seen.

Only a ten minute drive to the park and ride at designer outlet, loads of free parking and no height barrier, although its a tight turn into the carpark so LWBs take care, mind you the buses go in that way so it should be doo-able.

Will we be back? sadly not, expecting our first child at the end of the month and this is an adults only campsite. Probably something to do with falling in the lake and annoying the fishermen who keep themselves to themselves on the other side of the lake. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richardsdee123 9 reviews from this member

 Great weekend of caravan and fishing. Well kept site and lake, good fishing. Clean toilet and showers, plenty of hot water. Great hosts make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. A short walk to the village shop and pub, . Reasonable priced pitch. Just got home and ready to book our next weekend now. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Subrigr 1 review from this member

 Our second visit to Westerly Lake, it was just as lovely and peaceful as last time. Great atmosphere amongst fellow caravanners/fishermen. Husband fished in the beautiful lake this time, caught his biggest fish ever-happy hubby. Went into York via Park n Ride - super! it couldn`t have been any more convenient. Thanks to Geoff and Barbara for making us so welcome, keeping facilities so spotless and allowing us to have another lovely relaxing 3 days, returning next year. Cant`wait! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debbiedivacat 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely site !

This was our first visit to Westerly Lake and it won't be our last. As other reviewers said the owners are very welcoming and they maintain the site to a high standard. The toilet and shower block is well maintained and there was always plenty of hot water.

My husband enjoyed his fishing and there was a nice ambiance between all the people fishing, checking out what each other had caught and comparing tactics !

The site is very convenient for going into York and also the Shopping Centre. Barbara and Geoff very helpfully have a information stand and leaflets with post codes for your sat nav.

From talking with other caravanners during our stay it was clear that the site has lots of regulars and we will certainly be joining them. 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3367 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement