Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park Reviews

Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park
Main Street
Wheldrake
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 6AH
Tel: 01904 448500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 1st March To 2nd December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
                9/10 from 72 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Juliesh 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in our folding camper for 3 nights over the jubilee bank holiday. The site is very well maintained with close cropped grass, very clean and tidy. Very good recycling facilities, lovely and clean free hot showers, which could do with being a bit more powerful. Book library and lots of tourist info available. Local events posted up.

Nice pot washing room with good sized sinks, plenty of hot water, drainers and washing up liquid provided.

We were fortunate to get a cancellation directly by the lakeside. We don't fish and this is the first time we'd visited this site so bears out that lakeside pitches are not kept for regulars as a previous comment.

All in all a very peaceful, well kept site handy for York and the designer outlet. Would not hesitate to stay here again. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Subri 1 review from this member

 Wow - what a fantastic peaceful site. We thoroughly enjoyed the friendly welcome, the lovely lakeside setting, the spacious and spotless toilets and showers, all absolutely faultless.

The lovely walk into the village was just a comfortable stroll and the nice pub and shop supplied us with a welcome beer, and ices for the walk back (it was a very hot weekend!).

We completely relaxed for the whole weekend, bliss! We will definitely be back as soon as we can.

Well done to Geoff and Barbara for all their hard work, they deserve to be proud of their lovely site. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JaquiVander 4 reviews from this member

 A peaceful, well kept, clean site with excellent facilities. Owners obviously work hard at keeping the site pristine. The local amenities are perfectly adequate for a short stay.

We felt the price a little expensive at 19 but the fishing was good (extra charge) even hubby managed to catch a few corkers! The only small complaint would be that lakeside spots are kept for regulars and on the three occasions we stayed we were directed to the back of the site when there were spare places next to the lake. This has put us off visiting again to be honest 
Management response: All the pitches on the site are booked on a first come first served basis, and this person will only have been allocated a pitch away from the lakeside because the lakeside pitches were already booked, and from a date which overlapped the reviewers stay, they should have noticed that the lakeside pitches although empty when the reviewer arrived, became occupied during their stay


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jennie P 3 reviews from this member

 This is a brilliant peaceful site. Barbara and Geoff could not have been more helpful, they even lent us an electric cable as ours wasn't quite long enough.

The shower block is lovely and clean and has good shower space. If you want a peaceful week with no hassle. This is the site for you! We are not fishing people but we enjoyed seeing some of the big fish that the fishermen were catching.

The pitches are all flat and quite sheltered.

The Costcutter shop is a short walk away and stocks everything you could need and the local pub is now open again.

Will definitely book there again! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pjannp 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned home after spending 11 nights at this fab site ( by the way pub has just reopened)

we were greeted by Geoff and shown to our flat pitch over looking the lake.

Toilets and showers were always spot on thanks to Barbara, also nice little touches fresh flowers and free hand soap in ladies, and free washing up liquid in washing up area.

Geoff was always visible and working none stop to keep site clean and tidy.

As for the fishing good catches by all, and large fish caught, we certainly enjoyed how close the park and ride into York was around 5 mins drive from site.

Also good stocked shop in village within walking distance. All in all a great site. Well done Geoff and Barbara. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Michaelangela 14 reviews from this member

 Nice level site, well located although local pub has closed down. Toilets/showers well kept but could really do with a footpath and some lights to the gents, ladies has a detector light on approach but only lasts 5 seconds until going off and once past this in the direction of the gents there is no light at all.

Other than that, quiet & peaceful with nice views of the lake, not personally into fishing but if you are we saw some good fish being caught.

Plenty of local amenities with the York designer outlet a couple of miles away which is also the York park & ride which is convenient and cheaper than parking in York.

Site fees we thought expensive at 19 a night. Plus I noticed that if you fish too, add another 4 a day 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swollenhelmet 2 reviews from this member

 Second visit to Westerly Lake and once again we were not disappointed, made very welcome on arrival and shown to plot by the very friendly lady owner. We had a beautiful view out over the lake which was gently lined with willow trees which reach down to just touch the water surface as well as offering a much appreciated wind break for the site.

Fishing is as always very good here at Westerly and you can guarantee to catch anything from Roach and Rudd with pole or float to all manor of good bream and Carp with all course fishing methods, including method feeders and ledgers. One of the few ponds I know where the bait restrictions are in volume as opposed to entire baits. Geoff always on hand to advise what baits are working currently and where is providing the best fishing for the species you are looking for, alternatively you can fish like I did from right in front of my van and spent time sat in the awning with the rods not 5 meters away.

Facilities are very good with separate showers and toilets and also a good wash up area and waste disposal.

Wheldrake Village offers a friendly local pub doing good home cooked meals at reasonable prices and the local shop was equipped for essentials but Tesco is only 10 mins away and is huge.

All in all a very friendly, clean and tidy site with great facilities and Fishing, no kids is rigorously adhered to so the site is very peaceful with beautiful views across the lake. Highly recommended for either a simple chill out or a fishing trip. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: T25DUB 12 reviews from this member

 If you like fishing, this place is spot on. We stayed three nights on a pitch right next to the lake which meant I could fish from our pitch. The lake is well stocked with plenty of carp and roach. I only had bread and sweetcorn but caught plenty of fish. Rules are kept to a sensible minimum and all the facilities were very clean and regularly topped up with loo rolls etc. The drive into the city centre was about 10 minutes but the location of the site was very rural and peaceful. The local village is a ten minute walk and has a costcutter / post office. Owners are friendly and helpful and have clearly put in a lot of hard work to make this a good quality site. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hal1myer 2 reviews from this member

 2nd time visit to this peace haven. As ever Barbara and Jeff are welcoming and keep the site immaculate. Freezer in washing area is ideal for icepacks.

This park feels like a 2nd home and it was our first visit with electric hook up.Our lead wasn't long enough but Jeff saved the day and lent us an extension. The local pub is good for a stroll and local shop has essentials.

Looking forward to another trip later this year 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adria532 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home from a 3 night stay at this site and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location for visiting York is ideal with the park and ride close by. It is a very relaxing place to be.

Geoff and Barbara are excellent owners and couldn't be more helpful and kind. The facilities are well designed and are always clean. The site operates a full recycling system. We really liked all the extra touches like washing up liquid in the pot washing room and books and magazines to borrow.

This is a great site for anglers the lake is well stocked and well maintained. We would definitely use the site again. 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4635 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement