Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park > Reviews

Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park
Main Street
Wheldrake
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 6AH
Tel: 01904 448500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mick1981 1 review from this member

 Wow, just got back from two great days staying at this place, weather was on our sides but what a lovely little escape this turned out to be, nice peaceful site with good amenities.

The Owners were great, welcomed us at the gate and showed us our spot, great customer service and very friendly.

Onto the fishing, good size lake with plenty on pitches to choice from, been a beginner I was a little worried if I was doing it right of if I could catch anything at all! But the fellow anglers next to me were very friendly and give me some great advice and helped me out loads and did end up bring in 10+. Was very pleased with the full weekend, I will hopefully get to return to this place. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Darran1967 3 reviews from this member

 Love this site.

Fishing is excellent having many double carp in the spring fed lake.

Toilet block is kept very clean.

Not much on site but then there is a bus stop at the entrance to the site which takes you into the City of York.

The owners are fantastic owners who will show you to your pitch if you are new to the site. They are very friendly and they will give you an update on how the lake is fishing.

There is a pub and shop in the village of Wheldrake which is about a 20 minute walk away.

Good value for money. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ianarayner 59 reviews from this member

 Just back from 2 nights cycle camping on this lovely site. The owner met us at the gate, showed us our pitch, gave us some info and left us to it.

The location is excellent, well kept, level pitches looking over the small lakes. Most of the other residents were in caravans and seemed to be regulars, but were all very friendly without being intrusive. The toilet block & showers were spotlessly clean, with free hot water, although pressure was variable depending on how many people were using them.

The village has a well stocked shop, and the beer in the pub was good. Unfortunately they weren't doing evening meals while we were there, so had to get a taxi to Thorganby, (20. 00 return), the Jefferson Arms was superb. The Swallows nest golf club restaurant does meals, but you need to check that A, they are actually open and B, they don't have a function on. Site is handy for York and the surrounding villages are brilliant for cycling through.

Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Connor09 2 reviews from this member

 Visited here for a weekend lovely site feels like you are a million miles from any where. Well kept site round a nice lake, owners very nice helpful and friendly. The only niggle is lighting, it was pitch black going to shower block light comes on when you get there but very dark getting there. Toilets nice and clean would go back again very chilled weekend. The village is a 10 minute walk away and very nice. Shop is well stocked for every thing you might need. There is a pub but we didn't try this. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cpt Glide 5 reviews from this member

 Goeff and Barbara work hard to keep this site looking its best and could not have been more friendly and welcoming. Facilities are well kept and spotlessly clean.

Flat pitches with hardstandings that have some grass growing through which makes it look like a big lawn. Fresh water fill, chemical disposal and waste water disposal, (if you have a mobile waste tank), all available. In a motorhome you may need a pipe to dump grey water into the drain, as you can not drive over it.

I am not a fisherman but even I could see that the fishing was very good and chatting to the people they said they could catch a variety of fish using different methods.

We stayed for nearly 3 weeks as we had given up our house to our family with grand children, and although we live in the village we did not know this jewel was just around the corner.

As mentioned handy for York, designer outlet, tesco etc.

We stayed when the the weather was awful with record rainfall, Silverstone GP nearly called off because of the ground and Great Yorkshire Show was.

On the site a couple of puddles formed but went very quickly and it was never a problem moving vehicles/units in the site, even with the awful conditions.

Wenlock Arms pub is just up the road (15 min walk)past the local, well stocked village supermarket and post office. The pub has had a number of different managers so I can not comment on what it is like now.

If you don't mind a short drive try the food in the ST Vincent Arms in Elvington

Will we go back or recommend, most definitely. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suealan2 3 reviews from this member

 A peaceful, friendly, well kept mature site. Geoff & Barbara do everything possible to enable you to enjoy your stay.

Toilets, showers, washing up area well kept. A laundry room would be very useful, especially for the fisherman's clothing. I understand the electrical power to that block is at its limit.

It's a beautiful site in a great location. Fishing is 1st class. Very easy to visit York with 'Park & Ride' close by. We liked it so much we booked 2 weeks next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rich and Jeanette 4 reviews from this member

 This is a very nice site, just chilled out for 3 days as it turned out to be first dry sunny camp this year. Nice flat pitches, clean toilets/showers

Etc. This is our second visit, Geoff and Barbara, {the owners}, are very welcoming and approachable. There is a lake for fishing, which I must try next time, we saw some very nice carp being caught.

The Designer outlet is about 10 mins away which is ideal for Park and Ride into York, 2. 50. This is a quiet, relaxing and friendly

Site, which we will be returning too again. Thanks to Geoff and Barbara for providing a lovely site and making us welcome again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Juliesh 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here in our folding camper for 3 nights over the jubilee bank holiday. The site is very well maintained with close cropped grass, very clean and tidy. Very good recycling facilities, lovely and clean free hot showers, which could do with being a bit more powerful. Book library and lots of tourist info available. Local events posted up.

Nice pot washing room with good sized sinks, plenty of hot water, drainers and washing up liquid provided.

We were fortunate to get a cancellation directly by the lakeside. We don't fish and this is the first time we'd visited this site so bears out that lakeside pitches are not kept for regulars as a previous comment.

All in all a very peaceful, well kept site handy for York and the designer outlet. Would not hesitate to stay here again. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Subri 1 review from this member

 Wow - what a fantastic peaceful site. We thoroughly enjoyed the friendly welcome, the lovely lakeside setting, the spacious and spotless toilets and showers, all absolutely faultless.

The lovely walk into the village was just a comfortable stroll and the nice pub and shop supplied us with a welcome beer, and ices for the walk back (it was a very hot weekend!).

We completely relaxed for the whole weekend, bliss! We will definitely be back as soon as we can.

Well done to Geoff and Barbara for all their hard work, they deserve to be proud of their lovely site. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JaquiVander 4 reviews from this member

 A peaceful, well kept, clean site with excellent facilities. Owners obviously work hard at keeping the site pristine. The local amenities are perfectly adequate for a short stay.

We felt the price a little expensive at 19 but the fishing was good (extra charge) even hubby managed to catch a few corkers! The only small complaint would be that lakeside spots are kept for regulars and on the three occasions we stayed we were directed to the back of the site when there were spare places next to the lake. This has put us off visiting again to be honest 
Management response: All the pitches on the site are booked on a first come first served basis, and this person will only have been allocated a pitch away from the lakeside because the lakeside pitches were already booked, and from a date which overlapped the reviewers stay, they should have noticed that the lakeside pitches although empty when the reviewer arrived, became occupied during their stay


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43271 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement