Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park Reviews

Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park
Main Street
Wheldrake
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 6AH
Tel: 01904 448500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 1st March To 2nd December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
                9/10 from 72 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: D + S Ball 2 reviews from this member

 This was my first experience of tenting since army bivouacs in the 1960's. Things seem to have changed a bit! We shared a tent with my daughter and partner at Westerly Lake, York, and we all agreed it was a fantastic few days.
The facilities were good without being ostentatious, toilets were clean, showers hot, washing up facilities good. We were located in a secluded corner of the main site, sufficiently away from the caravans to give us our own space.
There was a shop in the garden centre which supplied all necessities, whilst the village pub did the most amazing food. We visited it at lunchtime for what we imagined would be a snack, but the quantity and quality was excellent for the price.
However, the highlight had to be the fishing on site. My wife broke her personal bests for both carp and bream, whilst my daughter, who had vowed never, ever to fish, finished up landing a 10lb plus carp!
The couple who own the site were helpful and charming, but the icing on the cake for me and Sue was the fact that this was an adult only site, consequently no kids to mither you and to run wild. I would recommend this site to anyone who fishes, and wants a peaceful break in close proximity to York and its surroundings. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sandram9898 40 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 nights at this site, small and friendly with only 20 pitches. Husband and son went for fishing, which they said was really good. Wardens are friendly and helpful. The only downside to this site was the shower and toilet blocks, although they are clean they could definitely do with updating or replacing. Shops are about 20 minutes away but there is a garden centre close which supplies basics. We will definitely be returning again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johno32 5 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 5 day break, the site was lovely, neat and tidy and the people were very friendly.The toilets were not brilliant and when me and my daughter went for a shower found them to be just a trickle(struggled washing hair in them), but on saying this they were very clean.My son in law did say that the mens showers were fine(so we blamed him for getting the water first)! There had been a lot of rain so the grass was sodden,we were paddling in the awning but the owner said he is putting in drainage and hard standing over the winter, which should sort that problem. The site is 5 mins drive from park and ride so is ideal for site seeing, and the designer outlet was fab! On the whole the site was very basic, but lovely and clean and extremely peaceful, my husband enjoyed the fishing in the evenings, we will be revisiting this site once the drainage is done 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Annette13 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a lovely weekend stay and the surroundings were idyllic. It was quiet, but very friendly and the local village is just stunning.

The owners were lovely and very welcoming, we had visitors for one day and they were also made welcome, and what's more it was free for them to visit. They were so impressed with the site they are now looking into booking in for themselves!.

The toilet block was a bit basic but very very clean and tidy, and the owners have a list on the wall to tell you what improvements have been made and what they plan to do in the future, and they also ask for suggestions which was great to see.

There probably could have been a bit more information on what to see and do around the area, but they do provide you with a leaflet on where the local shops are and where to walk your dog.

On the whole we had a great time and we will be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AGAR 1 review from this member

 This is where my camping and fishing experience began, the fishing was very good even on poor weather conditions it was satisfactory in fact I enjoyed it that much I can't wat to return
The owners (geoff and barbara) were really nice people an they had all the time an patience in the world (i thankyou both personally for that)
The place was very clean an tidy and well looked after, super market only a 10 minute walk away plus a pub if you fancy a beer (we took cans an plenty lol). The other campers staying there were sociable to. The showers and toilets only basic but very clean with free water both hot an cold so get your selves off an enjoy your stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dixc 7 reviews from this member

 First visit for a 5 night stay & found owners very helpful & friendly & always seemed to be working on some area of site. Grass well cut & whole site looking 'trim'.Could have benefitted from having info etc available for 'things to see & do' for newcomers.

Toilets small but clean

Small garden centre/shop at entrance quite well stocked with cheap plants & ample supplies for a quick restock from shop.

Fishing is £4 for 1 rod £6 for 2 - no boilies!

Pleased to have found this site & will certainly return - often! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oops a daisy 5 reviews from this member

 What a lovely quiet site. The owners are so friendly and helpful. Beautifully kept and clean with decent sized pitches. I only stayed for 1 night and would definitely return. There is a garden centre with small shop next door ( did not visit this so do not know what they stock ).
This is a great site for people who like to fish in a beautiful tranquil setting. Looks like it has mainly been geared up for caravans in the past as currently no dish washing area but this is on their list of improvements planned so I am sure will be completed soon. Constant hot water available in the toilets with magazines and books to borrow too. Adult only and dog friendly ( on a lead ). Not far from the York Designer Shopping Outlet. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Breeze 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed overnight only. However, I wouldn't hesitate to go back there, and in fact I am hoping to revisit in the near future for a slightly longer stay. This site owners were very friendly and helpful.

The site is over 16 only due to the fishing lake. There appeared to be a lot of anglers who were also staying on site. This made for a very peaceful atmosphere. During the night there was hardly any sound apart from the local bird population, who were very vocal! We didnt venture out apart from to exercise the dogs, so I cannot comment on the local area. I understand there is a local supermarket in the village, and the garden centre at the site enterance offers lots of things too.

The site is a bit basic, having only showers and toilets at the moment. Both were very clean, with little touches added. There are plans to add facilities and general improvements, and when things have been completed they are ticked off the list, which was on display. Some of the future plans involve adding a washing up point and extending the shower block (there were only 2 in the ladies, but it never appeared to get busy) as well as general improvements to the site.

Dogs are welcomed, but must be kept on the lead at all times, mostly out of courtesy for the anglers. This was generally observed whilst we were there. But there is no real area to exercise them in, on the site itself, which is a bit of a draw back. However, the owners of the site do give dog owners a little leaflet telling them where dogs can be exercised locally, which was handy and the dogs really enjoyed the walk.

Overall, an enjoyable visit, well worth another one but for longer. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nemo 3 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site the owners were very relaxed  and made us feel very welcome. Fishing brill ! toilets basic but OK, showers were hot and clean. Shop at end of drive stocks basic supplies and Costcutter only 10mins away in village.
Owners only been in a year and already making vast improvements. We are visiting again this weekend!
Adults only as the lake is open access.
10 minutes to Designer Shopping Mall by car. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janet1 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with very hospitable owners.  The village of Wheldrake was absolutely beautiful.  Our pitch was just alongside one of the lakes so we were able to watch all of the avid anglers at work.  However, there were signs saying "respect the anglers.  Do not walk around the lakes" which we thought was a bit uncalled for as it was an adult site.  We would have liked to have gone for an evening stroll around the lakeside.
 
The toilets/showers were basic but clean.  We would have liked to have seen more hooks in the shower cubicles on which to hang our clothes.
 
Well stocked shop at the end of their drive.
 
Apart from the Bank Holiday weather, which wasn't very good, we had a lovely time and would definitely recommend the site to others. 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5737 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement