Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park > Reviews

Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park
Main Street
Wheldrake
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 6AH
Tel: 01904 448500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jennie P 3 reviews from this member

 This is a brilliant peaceful site. Barbara and Geoff could not have been more helpful, they even lent us an electric cable as ours wasn't quite long enough.

The shower block is lovely and clean and has good shower space. If you want a peaceful week with no hassle. This is the site for you! We are not fishing people but we enjoyed seeing some of the big fish that the fishermen were catching.

The pitches are all flat and quite sheltered.

The Costcutter shop is a short walk away and stocks everything you could need and the local pub is now open again.

Will definitely book there again! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pjannp 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned home after spending 11 nights at this fab site ( by the way pub has just reopened)

we were greeted by Geoff and shown to our flat pitch over looking the lake.

Toilets and showers were always spot on thanks to Barbara, also nice little touches fresh flowers and free hand soap in ladies, and free washing up liquid in washing up area.

Geoff was always visible and working none stop to keep site clean and tidy.

As for the fishing good catches by all, and large fish caught, we certainly enjoyed how close the park and ride into York was around 5 mins drive from site.

Also good stocked shop in village within walking distance. All in all a great site. Well done Geoff and Barbara. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Michaelangela 15 reviews from this member

 Nice level site, well located although local pub has closed down. Toilets/showers well kept but could really do with a footpath and some lights to the gents, ladies has a detector light on approach but only lasts 5 seconds until going off and once past this in the direction of the gents there is no light at all.

Other than that, quiet & peaceful with nice views of the lake, not personally into fishing but if you are we saw some good fish being caught.

Plenty of local amenities with the York designer outlet a couple of miles away which is also the York park & ride which is convenient and cheaper than parking in York.

Site fees we thought expensive at 19 a night. Plus I noticed that if you fish too, add another 4 a day 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swollenhelmet 2 reviews from this member

 Second visit to Westerly Lake and once again we were not disappointed, made very welcome on arrival and shown to plot by the very friendly lady owner. We had a beautiful view out over the lake which was gently lined with willow trees which reach down to just touch the water surface as well as offering a much appreciated wind break for the site.

Fishing is as always very good here at Westerly and you can guarantee to catch anything from Roach and Rudd with pole or float to all manor of good bream and Carp with all course fishing methods, including method feeders and ledgers. One of the few ponds I know where the bait restrictions are in volume as opposed to entire baits. Geoff always on hand to advise what baits are working currently and where is providing the best fishing for the species you are looking for, alternatively you can fish like I did from right in front of my van and spent time sat in the awning with the rods not 5 meters away.

Facilities are very good with separate showers and toilets and also a good wash up area and waste disposal.

Wheldrake Village offers a friendly local pub doing good home cooked meals at reasonable prices and the local shop was equipped for essentials but Tesco is only 10 mins away and is huge.

All in all a very friendly, clean and tidy site with great facilities and Fishing, no kids is rigorously adhered to so the site is very peaceful with beautiful views across the lake. Highly recommended for either a simple chill out or a fishing trip. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: T25DUB 12 reviews from this member

 If you like fishing, this place is spot on. We stayed three nights on a pitch right next to the lake which meant I could fish from our pitch. The lake is well stocked with plenty of carp and roach. I only had bread and sweetcorn but caught plenty of fish. Rules are kept to a sensible minimum and all the facilities were very clean and regularly topped up with loo rolls etc. The drive into the city centre was about 10 minutes but the location of the site was very rural and peaceful. The local village is a ten minute walk and has a costcutter / post office. Owners are friendly and helpful and have clearly put in a lot of hard work to make this a good quality site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hal1myer 2 reviews from this member

 2nd time visit to this peace haven. As ever Barbara and Jeff are welcoming and keep the site immaculate. Freezer in washing area is ideal for icepacks.

This park feels like a 2nd home and it was our first visit with electric hook up.Our lead wasn't long enough but Jeff saved the day and lent us an extension. The local pub is good for a stroll and local shop has essentials.

Looking forward to another trip later this year 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adria532 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home from a 3 night stay at this site and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location for visiting York is ideal with the park and ride close by. It is a very relaxing place to be.

Geoff and Barbara are excellent owners and couldn't be more helpful and kind. The facilities are well designed and are always clean. The site operates a full recycling system. We really liked all the extra touches like washing up liquid in the pot washing room and books and magazines to borrow.

This is a great site for anglers the lake is well stocked and well maintained. We would definitely use the site again. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jm0910 1 review from this member

 We had a great weekend at Westerly Lake, the toilet facilities have just been renovated and are very clean and well maintained.

Jeff and Barbara are very pleasant and helpful. The local pub is within walking distance and serves very nice bar meals. The designer outlet is a short car journey away which is a pleasant day out and also has park and ride into york city centre.

Electric hookups are available on all pitches and and most caravan pitches are hard standing. The Lake is also extremely well kept and stocked and the large fish are caught frequently. We have booked to return in a few weeks time. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gill W 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another visit to Westerly and couldn't leave without booking the next visit. This is such a lovely site and a real credit to Geoff and Barbara who are the owners not wardens. Setting is idyllic, I can feel the stress of everyday life leaving me as we turn down the drive and more so as the lake comes into view.

Although only a short distance from York, this is a lovely peaceful, adults only site. A lovely lake with some good fishing, pitches have hardstanding though awnings are on grass.

The garden centre at the entrance has closed now but there is a local shop /off-license/post office and pub an easy 10-15 minute walk away and supermarkets around.Bus service into York from the village or one of the many Park and Rides.

New toilet and showers up and running, improvements continue to be made and more shelving etc planned than when we were there, dishwashing area undercover and plans to include more worktops and a fridge too.

We first found this site when the previous owner had it and are so pleased that they have managed to make so many improvements without spoiling the site at all, for example they have added the hard standings but not left great slabs of concrete to spoil the appearance. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sandram9898 40 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a second visit to this site, finally toilet blocks have been renovated, although while we were there they were not quite finished, some small teething problems, leaking pipes in the shower no mirror in the toilets, but these are all in the process of being done. It would have been nice to have a socket in ladies or even a hairdrying machine, (don't mind paying 20p for hairdryer) especially when it is -7 in the morning and you have to come out of shower block with wet hair. Another small gripe, there is no path to the ladies toilet which was extremely muddy and I felt really guilty bringing mud into the lovely new shower block.

Husband and son went for fishing which was really great, we had a lakeside pitch, which was hard standing. When we were leaving we reversed off the side of the hard standing onto the grass awning area which was soft after torrential rain, and got stuck in the mud, but the warden was extremely helpful and pulled us out.

Having said my little niggles, this is a brilliant site as it is adult only, and lovely and peaceful, wardens are great and really helpful and friendly. We will definitely be returning for a third visit. 


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59339 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement