Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park Reviews

Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park
Main Street
Wheldrake
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 6AH
Tel: 01904 448500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 1st March To 2nd December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
                9/10 from 72 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jm0910 1 review from this member

 We had a great weekend at Westerly Lake, the toilet facilities have just been renovated and are very clean and well maintained.

Jeff and Barbara are very pleasant and helpful. The local pub is within walking distance and serves very nice bar meals. The designer outlet is a short car journey away which is a pleasant day out and also has park and ride into york city centre.

Electric hookups are available on all pitches and and most caravan pitches are hard standing. The Lake is also extremely well kept and stocked and the large fish are caught frequently. We have booked to return in a few weeks time. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gill W 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from another visit to Westerly and couldn't leave without booking the next visit. This is such a lovely site and a real credit to Geoff and Barbara who are the owners not wardens. Setting is idyllic, I can feel the stress of everyday life leaving me as we turn down the drive and more so as the lake comes into view.

Although only a short distance from York, this is a lovely peaceful, adults only site. A lovely lake with some good fishing, pitches have hardstanding though awnings are on grass.

The garden centre at the entrance has closed now but there is a local shop /off-license/post office and pub an easy 10-15 minute walk away and supermarkets around.Bus service into York from the village or one of the many Park and Rides.

New toilet and showers up and running, improvements continue to be made and more shelving etc planned than when we were there, dishwashing area undercover and plans to include more worktops and a fridge too.

We first found this site when the previous owner had it and are so pleased that they have managed to make so many improvements without spoiling the site at all, for example they have added the hard standings but not left great slabs of concrete to spoil the appearance. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sandram9898 40 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a second visit to this site, finally toilet blocks have been renovated, although while we were there they were not quite finished, some small teething problems, leaking pipes in the shower no mirror in the toilets, but these are all in the process of being done. It would have been nice to have a socket in ladies or even a hairdrying machine, (don't mind paying 20p for hairdryer) especially when it is -7 in the morning and you have to come out of shower block with wet hair. Another small gripe, there is no path to the ladies toilet which was extremely muddy and I felt really guilty bringing mud into the lovely new shower block.

Husband and son went for fishing which was really great, we had a lakeside pitch, which was hard standing. When we were leaving we reversed off the side of the hard standing onto the grass awning area which was soft after torrential rain, and got stuck in the mud, but the warden was extremely helpful and pulled us out.

Having said my little niggles, this is a brilliant site as it is adult only, and lovely and peaceful, wardens are great and really helpful and friendly. We will definitely be returning for a third visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hal1myer 2 reviews from this member

 Very good location and ideal to get away from it all. The owners are very friendly and do a good job maintaining the site. The site is situated on the edge of a fishing lake and poplar with anglers. Facilities on site are basic but adequate. Ten minute walk to centre of beautiful village where a small supermarket and good pub is situated. Found the bar meals really good.

Would definitely go again didn't want to go home! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happy camper 55 2 reviews from this member

 Had a good two nights at Westerly Lakes

Very relaxing quiet unspoilt just what we needed.

No children's noise, local pub walkable 1O mins, shop was fine for our needs,another pub a short drive away.

Maps and brochures were in the toilets for local attractions.

Toilets clean and fresh.

York easy to find used the park and ride,

Geoff and Barbara made us very welcome.

Only one criticism I wished the electric points were at the back not in the front as the late night toilet stop was a little tricky over the hook up wire. The tent next too us were a little noisy at 3am but were adequately dealt with the next day. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Plucky13 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely camp site. Very quiet, if you want a lively site this is not for you.

A large group with 2 large tents turned up while we were there and they were asked by the owners (Barbara and Jeff) to keep their music and noise down as they had had a few complaints( not from us). The group admitted to us they were expecting it to be a bit livelier so they left the next day.

The site is well equipped with electric hook ups, nice hot showers, toilets, inside washing-up areas(they even provided washing-up liquid). The owners Barbara and Jeff are very friendly and efficient and only too pleased to help if possible. They still have more plans for improvement in the near future.

The fishing lake is well stocked and kept my hubby busy for the full week-end giving me time for retail therapy at the Designer Outlet and York itself. There is a Park & Ride to both from Wheldrake

There is a costcutter shop in the village with Post office inside.

The Wenlock pub is a must for fabulous meals at very reasonable prices.They also do a Sunday Carvery. The food was hot,freshly cooked and the place was very clean and tidy.

We have just booked to go again for a week in September. Can't wait ! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ali-oh73 8 reviews from this member

 We booked in here at the last minute and managed to get a spot for a 2night stay Fri/Sat. Barbara met us at the lodge and showed us to our pitch, situated at the very end of a rectangular field away from the lake but with a little bit of shelter from the terrible wind and rain. Some parts of the filed were water logged, just in front of our pitch and near the rubbish bins but Geoff was busy trying to drain it and other than in these areas, it was good to pitch if a little muddy but that couldn't have been avoided given the torrential weather!

This is an adult only site.

We paid 14 per night for a pitch without electricity, a little more than we are used to paying for this part of Yorkshire but the onsite lake attracted us!

Facilities were clean, spacious and close to hand. 2 showers, 2 sinks, 2 toilets (each for Mens and Ladies) The showers were good with an additional space for getting dressed, coathangers and wall hooks were added for extra storage of clothes,belongings etc.

Separate pot washing area with 2 sinks and drainage racks so no queueing. Very clean and spacious yet again.

Only negative (very minor however) with facilities was there were no plug points in the toilets for hairdryers etc so with the rain as well, I was left with wet hair for some time! Pitches are available with electrical hook ups but we've never needed this before so will possibly request for a pitch with this facility if we come back here again.

Small convenience shop at the entrance to the site but more choice is avialable at Costcutter, about a 10minute walk away to the left into the village of Wheldrake.

Opposite Costcutters was the village pub (I think it was called Wentlock Arms) which served excellent food, very much needed after our wet arriveal and set up! Huge portions and cheap prices meant we visited here twice and enjoyed the local 'entertainment' of karaoke on the Saturday night. A pleasant pub with a very friendly atmosphere!

Geoff and Barbara were very friendly and we would definitely consider another stay here for its location. We took a walk in the local woods, a 10 minute drive out of the site, and it was full of wildlife and horseriders, fellow walkers etc.

The lake itself on the site is for anglers only. I wanted to take a walk around the lake and see the ducks/rabbits/birdlife etc but there was a polite notice up asking people not to walk around the lake out of respect for the anglers, this should perhaps be noted on their site as it was the lake that originally attracted us to this site. Nevertheless, we still enjoyed our stay and recommend this for its peaceful location with helpful and friendly owners. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: JACK85 1 review from this member

 Adults only site, which is very quiet and clean. Electric hook up available next to lake and is ideal for any angler with an abundance of fish available to catch on your doorstep. Shops and pub about 10 minutes walk away in Wheldrake village. Chinese takeaway who deliver on site if you are sick of BBQ'S. Toilet and shower facilities functional however the owners are doing a refurb for next season. Cost 17 including electric and no extra charges for pets a night which is Good value.Fishing 4.00 for one rod and 6.00 for two rods per day extra.

Summary:

The site is well looked after and the owners are always around to assist. The fishing is excellent and the setting is very quiet and peaceful. Shopping is within 10 minutes walk although expensive, so would advise a good supermarket shop before you arrive or be prepared to travel for cheaper rations. No doubt plenty to see and do in the area, but not really promoted by the owners but if you are an angler you probably would not be bothered anyway! 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Markvic 3 reviews from this member

 Good clean facilities, plenty of space for turning etc, although a little scary at times as you are very close to the edge of the lake!

The whole site is well maintained and the lake is beautiful. There is no on-site shop but there is one just outside the main gate at the garden centre next door.

The owners were very obliging and helpful. We had a few problems with our water pump at the time and they hunted out phone numbers and all sorts for us. Also came to the aid of our neighbours in the pitch next door who were having electrical problems. They happily lent a hook up cable to them.

Very close to York itself and all its sights and shopping. A Tesco is just up the road and a Park and Ride runs from there into the city centre. We used this to avoid parking problems.

Oh, and finally, the fishing was really good. My only session produced two sizeable carp in two hours or so. Guesswork but one would be close to 10lb and the other was some way over.

On the whole, great site, great fishing, great area. Would definitely go back providing its not as windy next time! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Flashgordon 14 reviews from this member

 Just spent two brilliant days at this site. Adults only and away from any road noise. The site owners could not be more helpful or friendly, in fact the whole site is something dreams are made of. The fishing is superb, from the usual silver coarse fish up to the big monsters in the Carp world.
The site has pitches for 20 units, all on their own hardstandings, and with a very generous space between your neighbour, and with EHU. The pots washing facilities are first rate, large clean sinks and drainers with unlimited hot water, all the hot water on site is included in the fee. The Toilet block is clean and serviceable if not more than a little dated. The only problem comes when more than one person is using the hot water, whether it is in the female toilet area, the male toilet area or the pot washing, it cuts the flow rate drastically and makes taking a shower a little precarious. I would have thought that for the nightly rate charged an uninterrupted supply of hot water whilst taking a shower is not to much to expect.
Having said that, we shall definitely be returning to this site for further stays. Only sorry that this one was so short due to other commitments. 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5873 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement