Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park Reviews

Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park
Main Street
Wheldrake
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 6AH
Tel: 01904 448500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 1st March To 2nd December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
                9/10 from 72 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rich and Jeanette 4 reviews from this member

 This is our 3rd and longest stay, (7 Days), on this very nice relaxing site, the owners are great host's and there to greet you when you arrive, and on site every day at sometime during the day. Nice views over the lake which I fished on for the first time and had some nice roach, bream and 3 nice carp, shall be back for more. Its close to the park & ride to nip into York for the day. The village pub is under new ownership, family run and a friendly bunch they are, and now do lunch time meals and Sunday Lunches, which we had, very nice it was too, 7 each. A highly recommended site for a quiet weekend or longer. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barklay 13 2 reviews from this member

 Our 4th or 5th visit to Westerly. If you are looking for peace and quiet, no children, lovely amenities then this is the place. You are always greeted on arrival with a smile and a Hello, shown to your pitch, a brief chat about how the lake is fishing, and then left to your own devices. A freezer is provided for those in tents, which is great. Toilet and shower facilities are kept clean and are ample for the size of the site. The owners are perfect hosts and will continue to visit them for the foreseeable future. My only regret is that I am not able to take my pal Barklay (my dog). If I had found the site a couple of years earlier then he would be allowed to come with us. He is such a well behaved dog, I just hope that Barbara and Geoff will have a change of heart on this, as we would not wish to go anywhere else if he could come. Would love to give you 11 out of 10 but for not being able to bring my pal x 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shirley753 1 review from this member

 The site is spotless. Showers free and not bad condition. Fishing is good the surroundings are peaceful. Village within walking distance. Owners friendly and helpful. The only down fall is that is states on website that they have had to make decision not to let dogs on site that have not been on before. When we arrived there were a lot of dogs on site this telling us that the site is very clickie. Dogs yapping on a morning is worse than kids crying. It is obvious that you would be lucky to get a place at the front of the lake this is for regulars as this is where all the dogs were. But overall the site is very nice. Not sure yet if we would come Again. 
Management response: There were 3 dogs on site during your stay, and these were with visitors who had stayed with us before. July is a busy time and the bookings for those lakeside pitches were made in the springtime


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mick1981 1 review from this member

 Wow, just got back from two great days staying at this place, weather was on our sides but what a lovely little escape this turned out to be, nice peaceful site with good amenities.

The Owners were great, welcomed us at the gate and showed us our spot, great customer service and very friendly.

Onto the fishing, good size lake with plenty on pitches to choice from, been a beginner I was a little worried if I was doing it right of if I could catch anything at all! But the fellow anglers next to me were very friendly and give me some great advice and helped me out loads and did end up bring in 10+. Was very pleased with the full weekend, I will hopefully get to return to this place. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Darran1967 3 reviews from this member

 Love this site.

Fishing is excellent having many double carp in the spring fed lake.

Toilet block is kept very clean.

Not much on site but then there is a bus stop at the entrance to the site which takes you into the City of York.

The owners are fantastic owners who will show you to your pitch if you are new to the site. They are very friendly and they will give you an update on how the lake is fishing.

There is a pub and shop in the village of Wheldrake which is about a 20 minute walk away.

Good value for money. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ianarayner 9 reviews from this member

 Just back from 2 nights cycle camping on this lovely site. The owner met us at the gate, showed us our pitch, gave us some info and left us to it.

The location is excellent, well kept, level pitches looking over the small lakes. Most of the other residents were in caravans and seemed to be regulars, but were all very friendly without being intrusive. The toilet block & showers were spotlessly clean, with free hot water, although pressure was variable depending on how many people were using them.

The village has a well stocked shop, and the beer in the pub was good. Unfortunately they weren't doing evening meals while we were there, so had to get a taxi to Thorganby, (20. 00 return), the Jefferson Arms was superb. The Swallows nest golf club restaurant does meals, but you need to check that A, they are actually open and B, they don't have a function on. Site is handy for York and the surrounding villages are brilliant for cycling through.

Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Connor09 2 reviews from this member

 Visited here for a weekend lovely site feels like you are a million miles from any where. Well kept site round a nice lake, owners very nice helpful and friendly. The only niggle is lighting, it was pitch black going to shower block light comes on when you get there but very dark getting there. Toilets nice and clean would go back again very chilled weekend. The village is a 10 minute walk away and very nice. Shop is well stocked for every thing you might need. There is a pub but we didn't try this. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cpt Glide 5 reviews from this member

 Goeff and Barbara work hard to keep this site looking its best and could not have been more friendly and welcoming. Facilities are well kept and spotlessly clean.

Flat pitches with hardstandings that have some grass growing through which makes it look like a big lawn. Fresh water fill, chemical disposal and waste water disposal, (if you have a mobile waste tank), all available. In a motorhome you may need a pipe to dump grey water into the drain, as you can not drive over it.

I am not a fisherman but even I could see that the fishing was very good and chatting to the people they said they could catch a variety of fish using different methods.

We stayed for nearly 3 weeks as we had given up our house to our family with grand children, and although we live in the village we did not know this jewel was just around the corner.

As mentioned handy for York, designer outlet, tesco etc.

We stayed when the the weather was awful with record rainfall, Silverstone GP nearly called off because of the ground and Great Yorkshire Show was.

On the site a couple of puddles formed but went very quickly and it was never a problem moving vehicles/units in the site, even with the awful conditions.

Wenlock Arms pub is just up the road (15 min walk)past the local, well stocked village supermarket and post office. The pub has had a number of different managers so I can not comment on what it is like now.

If you don't mind a short drive try the food in the ST Vincent Arms in Elvington

Will we go back or recommend, most definitely. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suealan2 3 reviews from this member

 A peaceful, friendly, well kept mature site. Geoff & Barbara do everything possible to enable you to enjoy your stay.

Toilets, showers, washing up area well kept. A laundry room would be very useful, especially for the fisherman's clothing. I understand the electrical power to that block is at its limit.

It's a beautiful site in a great location. Fishing is 1st class. Very easy to visit York with 'Park & Ride' close by. We liked it so much we booked 2 weeks next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rich and Jeanette 4 reviews from this member

 This is a very nice site, just chilled out for 3 days as it turned out to be first dry sunny camp this year. Nice flat pitches, clean toilets/showers

Etc. This is our second visit, Geoff and Barbara, {the owners}, are very welcoming and approachable. There is a lake for fishing, which I must try next time, we saw some very nice carp being caught.

The Designer outlet is about 10 mins away which is ideal for Park and Ride into York, 2. 50. This is a quiet, relaxing and friendly

Site, which we will be returning too again. Thanks to Geoff and Barbara for providing a lovely site and making us welcome again. 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5706 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement