Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park > Reviews

Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park
Main Street
Wheldrake
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO19 6AH
Tel: 01904 448500
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suealan2 3 reviews from this member

 Our 4th summer fortnight here & as always peaceful, comfortable & very welcoming. Barbara & Geoff do everything to make your stay a pleasure. Toilet/shower block always well kept. Grass well kept. Pub & small shop nearby.

So easy to get in & out of York with the Park & Ride every 10 mins. Avoid rush hour though as even P & R gets gridlocked at times! Gym & swimming pool 10-15 mins. Away. Pool has large water chute which goes outside for part of its' journey. Very well equipped gym.

We have booked again for next June we always enjoy it so much.  


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ENOCH 29 reviews from this member

 Arriving at the site during a typical Yorkshire thunderstorm, we were met at the gate by the owner, pleasant and welcoming, and more than happy to show us to our pitch, (a thunderstorm will not permit standards to fall). The location is superb, you can, space available, pitch lakeside, or slightly behind the units alongside the lake, fortunately for us a lakeside pitch had been arranged prior to arrival. Waking up on a morning to open the front blinds to see the ducks, Moorhens with chicks and the early start anglers adds to the ambience of the location. The site is well laid out and has a clean toilet and shower area, pot washing area and information area. The site is within easy walking distance of the village which has a local pub, supermarket and post office, local buses are available to travel to York, or the Park and Ride is a short drive away. The fishing on site is superb with various species of course fish and large Carp, fishing is additional to site fees, discounted for residents, day tickets are available for visiting anglers. The owners are around through out the day, working to maintain the site to a high standard and talking to the residents and visiting anglers. Westerly Lake is a site that we will return to as often as we can, whether to fish or to visit the local area. The wife suggested that I reviewed it to a lower degree otherwise it would become too popular and we may not be able to book a pitch, the owners deserve full credit for a superb venue, being excellent hosts and providing excellent fishing, as other reviews have stated. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Woogal 3 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic campsite, with friendly (but not pushy) owners, great fishing, peaceful, and very clean. Watching the wildlife is fantastic, it feels like you are in the middle of nowhere but York is just up the road on the park and ride.

I have been here many times and so would say to those “carping on” (sorry couldn’t help myself had to make the pun) about the regulars getting on the lake pitches it is first come first served. I have not always managed a lake side pitch, unless I have booked months in advance, which is why I now book our next visit before we leave ( that said there are no bad pitches on the site so I will book even if we cannot get lake side). 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Alastairandalice 9 reviews from this member

 What a lovely spot, very peaceful, we had the whole place to ourselves even though it was nearly Easter time! The facilities were fine with the largest shower and toilet cubicles I have ever seen.

Only a ten minute drive to the park and ride at designer outlet, loads of free parking and no height barrier, although its a tight turn into the carpark so LWBs take care, mind you the buses go in that way so it should be doo-able.

Will we be back? sadly not, expecting our first child at the end of the month and this is an adults only campsite. Probably something to do with falling in the lake and annoying the fishermen who keep themselves to themselves on the other side of the lake. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richardsdee123 11 reviews from this member

 Great weekend of caravan and fishing. Well kept site and lake, good fishing. Clean toilet and showers, plenty of hot water. Great hosts make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. A short walk to the village shop and pub, . Reasonable priced pitch. Just got home and ready to book our next weekend now. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Subrigr 1 review from this member

 Our second visit to Westerly Lake, it was just as lovely and peaceful as last time. Great atmosphere amongst fellow caravanners/fishermen. Husband fished in the beautiful lake this time, caught his biggest fish ever-happy hubby. Went into York via Park n Ride - super! it couldn`t have been any more convenient. Thanks to Geoff and Barbara for making us so welcome, keeping facilities so spotless and allowing us to have another lovely relaxing 3 days, returning next year. Cant`wait! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debbiedivacat 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely site !

This was our first visit to Westerly Lake and it won't be our last. As other reviewers said the owners are very welcoming and they maintain the site to a high standard. The toilet and shower block is well maintained and there was always plenty of hot water.

My husband enjoyed his fishing and there was a nice ambiance between all the people fishing, checking out what each other had caught and comparing tactics !

The site is very convenient for going into York and also the Shopping Centre. Barbara and Geoff very helpfully have a information stand and leaflets with post codes for your sat nav.

From talking with other caravanners during our stay it was clear that the site has lots of regulars and we will certainly be joining them. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rich and Jeanette 4 reviews from this member

 This is our 3rd and longest stay, (7 Days), on this very nice relaxing site, the owners are great host's and there to greet you when you arrive, and on site every day at sometime during the day. Nice views over the lake which I fished on for the first time and had some nice roach, bream and 3 nice carp, shall be back for more. Its close to the park & ride to nip into York for the day. The village pub is under new ownership, family run and a friendly bunch they are, and now do lunch time meals and Sunday Lunches, which we had, very nice it was too, £7 each. A highly recommended site for a quiet weekend or longer. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barklay 13 2 reviews from this member

 Our 4th or 5th visit to Westerly. If you are looking for peace and quiet, no children, lovely amenities then this is the place. You are always greeted on arrival with a smile and a Hello, shown to your pitch, a brief chat about how the lake is fishing, and then left to your own devices. A freezer is provided for those in tents, which is great. Toilet and shower facilities are kept clean and are ample for the size of the site. The owners are perfect hosts and will continue to visit them for the foreseeable future. My only regret is that I am not able to take my pal Barklay (my dog). If I had found the site a couple of years earlier then he would be allowed to come with us. He is such a well behaved dog, I just hope that Barbara and Geoff will have a change of heart on this, as we would not wish to go anywhere else if he could come. Would love to give you 11 out of 10 but for not being able to bring my pal x 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shirley753 1 review from this member

 The site is spotless. Showers free and not bad condition. Fishing is good the surroundings are peaceful. Village within walking distance. Owners friendly and helpful. The only down fall is that is states on website that they have had to make decision not to let dogs on site that have not been on before. When we arrived there were a lot of dogs on site this telling us that the site is very clickie. Dogs yapping on a morning is worse than kids crying. It is obvious that you would be lucky to get a place at the front of the lake this is for regulars as this is where all the dogs were. But overall the site is very nice. Not sure yet if we would come Again. 
Management response: There were 3 dogs on site during your stay, and these were with visitors who had stayed with us before. July is a busy time and the bookings for those lakeside pitches were made in the springtime


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Westerly Lake Fishing And Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59829 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement